Cycle infrastructure planned for south Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

There is a house on strand road with a big sign saying "strand road two way not D4 throughway" and a link to a website which I thinks is called sandymountcycle4all.ie. What could it all mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,997 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

It is bad if you're Mannix Flynn.

It seems clear enough though that, mixed in with some weak and bad-faith arguments, this is probably closer to the heart of the objections: that once it goes in they won't be able to get rid of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,070 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

tomasrojo wrote: »
    It is bad if you're Mannix Flynn.

It seems clear enough though that, mixed in with some weak and bad-faith arguments, this is probably closer to the heart of the objections: that once it goes in they won't be able to get rid of it.

I wouldn't deny that at all.

In setting no metrics for success, actually no metrics at all, through their shambolic process, the CC set it up as a fait accompli. Only a fool would buy that this was ever going to be a trial.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,419 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

PaulieC wrote: »
    There is a house on strand road with a big sign saying "strand road two way not D4 throughway" and a link to a website which I thinks is called sandymountcycle4all.ie. What could it all mean?

Does the sign have planning permission? Was there an environmental impact assessment done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,039 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Having been following this , well at a distance , why is Mannix involved ?

I thought he lived in city centre , or does he now live in Sandymount ?

Larbre34 wrote: »
    I wouldn't deny that at all.

In setting no metrics for success, actually no metrics at all, through their shambolic process, the CC set it up as a fait accompli. Only a fool would buy that this was ever going to be a trial.
    I've some sympathy for that position; I mean for any theoretical permanent change to an area. So far though, the feedback to most of these schemes around Dublin have been net-positive. At least as far as I'm aware. I don't really know what DCC had planned to measure success or failure of this scheme, but they've used surveys in the aftermath of other schemes:
    https://irishcycle.com/2018/06/16/bollards-in-drumcondra-stopping-rat-running-should-be-kept-says-local-residents-and-report/

thebaz wrote: »
    Having been following this , well at a distance , why is Mannix involved ?

I thought he lived in city centre , or does he now live in Sandymount ?

I suppose it is a Dublin City Council area, and he's a Dublin City councillor. But his interest does seem to arise from his general dislike of cycling infrastructure, and maybe cyclists.

I mean, this was quite a stretch, when talking about a rave in Oliver Bond flats:
    Cllr Flynn said it wasn't up to gardai to police last night's scenes as it took place in a Dublin City Council controlled housing estate. He said: "This is not something new. Dublin City Council reneged and betrayed and didn’t do their care of duty to the residents here. They refused to turn up last night to deal with this issue. It’s their estate - they’re responsible for the management of that estate 24 hours a day - not An Garda Siochana. An Garda Siochana have enough things to do. And the guards didn’t want to exacerbate the situation. And remember - Dublin City Council, which gets a billion euros of your money, just seems to be obsessed about putting cycle tracks down on the city when they’re unnecessary.
    https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/dublin-street-party-oliver-bond-18967696

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭daragh_

https://sandymountcycleforall.ie

Enlightening to say the least.

"The current DCC version of the Sandymount Cycle track (supported by the Green Party) will deliver an overall citywide increase in NOx levels of pollution in Dublin. This increased volume of pollution will not disperse as easily or as quickly as the the current lower volumes of NOx."

MUST. KEEP. CARS. MOVING. OR. EVERYONE. WILL. DIE.

This sort of thing turns up if you look for #NOx7688 on Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/ForStrand/status/1358895548623904771

They seem to be claiming that 7688 diverted motorised vehicles would mostly cram into the backstreets of Sandydmount, but would also mostly disperse around the city, raising NOx everywhere. Claire Byrne, Green councillor, points out that air-quality monitoring is part of the trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,761 ✭✭✭✭ted1

daragh_ wrote: »
    https://sandymountcycleforall.ie

Enlightening to say the least.

"The current DCC version of the Sandymount Cycle track (supported by the Green Party) will deliver an overall citywide increase in NOx levels of pollution in Dublin. This increased volume of pollution will not disperse as easily or as quickly as the the current lower volumes of NOx."

MUST. KEEP. CARS. MOVING. OR. EVERYONE. WILL. DIE.
    If they are upset about the NOX from cars. We better not tell them about the 3 power plants in ringsend...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,570 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

how is the cycle path intended to ferry people further on into the city centre? ringsend can be a bit messy traffic wise.

I presume as part of the greater network that Mannix Flynn must surely support! (Based on mannixflynn.com)

545082.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,039 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

tomasrojo wrote: »
    But his interest does seem to arise from his general dislike of cycling infrastructure, and maybe cyclists.

actually quite surprised he is so anti cyclists - I know he can be opinionated, but never struck me as a keen motorist - maybe he drives around city centre a lot - always thought of him a walker.

thebaz wrote: »
    actually quite surprised he is so anti cyclists - I know he can be opinionated, but never struck me as a keen motorist - maybe he drives around city centre a lot - always thought of him a walker.
    Yeah, I have no idea why he keeps coming back to this subject. I mean, that Oliver Bond quote was like a text-book idée fixe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,512 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Bike W@nkers gave me the laugh I needed that day, but cowardly anonymous abuse like the Mayor received is despicable, the actions of a pathetic moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Nothing wrong with more cycle paths but the Sandymount Strand thing was more about messing up motorists than anything else. I'm happy it has been stopped but it shouldn't have needed the Courts to do it.

Loose canons like Keegan need their wings clipped.

First Up wrote: »

Loose canons like Keegan need their wings clipped.

545092.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,512 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Bike W@nkers gave me the laugh I needed that day, but cowardly anonymous abuse like the Mayor received is despicable, the actions of a pathetic moron.

You come across as a really nice person. Yes that was sarcasm. How come you aren’t up in arms about the cost of relaying a section of concrete to fix it like you were about other costs earlier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Grassey

You come across as a really nice person. Yes that was sarcasm. How come you aren’t up in arms about the cost of relaying a section of concrete to fix it like you were about other costs earlier?

It'll probably have a plaque donated by STC over the weekend to commemorate the war. Sandymounts very own V-Day!

Perhaps it should be left as a monument to Keegan's failed folly. Either that or bolt in a set of Sheffield stands over it, so that only when its empty of bikes can the inscription clearly be read. That would be poetic wouldn't it?

No you're right, I'm not in the mood. See ye in 9 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭Lewotsil

Bike W@nkers ...........Mask slipping there @Labre34........stay classy

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,570 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

you can't **** while cycling anyway.

eh, so someone told me.

I won't post it here, but if you search
    rollerskating from:youngvulgarian
    on Twitter, you get a surprising anecdote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,623 ✭✭✭cletus

eh, so someone told me.

I thought it was about **** a bike...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,761 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Perhaps it should be left as a monument to Keegan's failed folly. Either that or bolt in a set of Sheffield stands over it, so that only when its empty of bikes can the inscription clearly be read. That would be poetic wouldn't it?

No you're right, I'm not in the mood. See ye in 9 weeks.
    Nothing has failed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Cosmos7

Diesel Dickheads

Wouldn't it be great if all decisions for road realignments were determined after a bit of a trial to see if it works out ok or not.

Petrol hell hole

Whilst out on the bike in strong winds I was one time almost blown off