If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Meghan & Harry: WE QUIT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Be right back

cnocbui wrote: »
    I heard she invited her father but that he declined and couldn't make it because he was having heart surgery. The half sister had spent the month prior, criticising Harry publicly. Obviously a very tactful thing to do if you want your long estranged half sister to invite you to her wedding.

Oh I know some of her relatives tried to make money out of it but what about her uncles, aunts etc who have stayed quiet? Just find it strange.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

Oh I know some of her relatives tried to make money out of it but what about her uncles, aunts etc who have stayed quiet? Just find it strange.

She also has rat bag uncles who talked shíte to the rags. Well one of them did. The other had nice things to say but gave up some photos. None of them have stayed quiet except her mother. She seems to have a small enough family (some people do, not everyone has large Irish families) but filled with enough arseholses to last a lifetime. I feel bad for her but at least she seems to have a lovely mam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,289 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

'It's not too late!' Meghan Markle's brother Thomas pens extraordinary open letter telling Prince Harry 'this is the biggest mistake in royal wedding history' - as he brands his sister 'jaded, shallow and conceited'

That's three down with own-goals. Well there's still the distant half cousins I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Stateofyou wrote: »
    She also has rat bag uncles who talked shíte to the rags. Well one of them did. The other had nice things to say but gave up some photos. None of them have stayed quiet except her mother. She seems to have a small enough family (some people do, not everyone has large Irish families) but filled with enough arseholses to last a lifetime. I feel bad for her but at least she seems to have a lovely mam.
    At least she has that in common with Harry :D

Ha you may be right there. :pac::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Be right back

That's three down with own-goals. Well there's still the distant half cousins I suppose.

This is a picture of her with her niece. Not sure why she wasn't invited.

Maybe she was there, in secret.

Maybe she was, who knows? Why keep it secret though?

Isn't her mother Samantha, the half sister from hell who wasn't invited? That would have been awkward

I think Samantha has been estranged from her kids for years. She comes across as a piece of work.

I wouldn't see any issue with her not inviting some of her family to the wedding, not everyone lived in The Waltons.
    We can't pick our family, unfortunately.

meeeeh wrote: »
    Someone did comparison how Megan was treated by press and how Kate was treated by press. This is not the original source but it's clear comparison.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/tiphero.com/british-press-meghan-vs-kate/amp/

I think British press is full of upper class snobs. I'm not sure weather it's racism or plain hostility towards anyone who doesn't fit their circle in either case they are pretty despicable. On top of that most of tabloid press lean towards conservatives and a Liberal Californian probably causes complete meltdown among them.

I roll my eyes at a lot of stuff they peddle, it's not my thing but their complaints about British press have merit. A lot of them are despicable crowd and one good thing from growth of social media is that it took away living from paparazzis. I don't read tabloids but I'm subscribed to The Times and even there some comments are just plain nasty and personal.

When you see it laid out like that it's obvious the British press-especially the Daily Fail- have had it in for Megan from the start. No wonder Harry was pissed off with the press.

It's the same on those never-ending royal documentarys they have on Channel 5, whenever she is mentioned most of the commentators will subtly put the boot in, but when it comes to Kate she is like a godess who can do no wrong.
    They were talking about her scenting the church for the wedding for eg and it was basically 'who does she think she is'. I didn't realise that Kate had done the exact same thing, none of them mentioned that.

Of course it's racism, jealousy and probably prejudice towards Americans too running in the undercurrents. They certainly didn't embrace her on her own merits, of which I think she seems to have in spades.

Comments here I reckon would be the same as seen in the Times; unnecessarily personal and nasty. They don't even know her and of course they don't know the full story. They just want to beat her/them down to scratch some horrible itch they have in themselves. When someone is doing well and is a lovely, successful, self assured, intelligent person and they themselves are not it's a huge resentment.

The rags are just a cesspool of the worst of human behaviour. That whole culture of gossiping about others and hating them for sport needs to go. Those are real people they tear to shreds. Remember Caroline Flack? What they do to people causes real harm. It sickens me to see it here, too. There's just no need for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,947 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

bubblypop wrote: »
    I wouldn't see any issue with her not inviting some of her family to the wedding, not everyone lived in The Waltons.
    We can't pick our family, unfortunately.

I'm just musing over who in my life would run to the Daily Mail had I started to date an heir to the British throne. Most in the immediate family would be grand but my mother is, bless her, a terrible inadvertent blabbermouth. The Daily Mail would have an endless supply of tidbits there! And I've a sibling who would cheerfully sell my deepest darkest secrets to the highest bidder. I've also a couple of exs from my Dickhead Phase that probably would have no crises of conscience selling stories.

Just as well I'm not dating a prince so :D

Neyite wrote: »
    I'm just musing over who in my life would run to the Daily Mail had I started to date an heir to the British throne. Most in the immediate family would be grand but my mother is, bless her, a terrible inadvertent blabbermouth. The Daily Mail would have an endless supply of tidbits there! And I've a sibling who would cheerfully sell my deepest darkest secrets to the highest bidder. I've also a couple of exs from my Dickhead Phase that probably would have no crises of conscience selling stories.

Ha ha! We all have more in common than we think. ;) :pac:

(But isn't that sad...also why being a politician would put anyone off)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

Of course it's racism, jealousy and probably prejudice towards Americans too running in the undercurrents. They certainly didn't embrace her on her own merits, of which I think she seems to have in spades.

Comments here I reckon would be the same as seen in the Times; unnecessarily personal and nasty. They don't even know her and of course they don't know the full story. They just want to beat her/them down to scratch some horrible itch they have in themselves. When someone is doing well and is a lovely, successful, self assured, intelligent person and they themselves are not it's a huge resentment.

The rags are just a cesspool of the worst of human behaviour. That whole culture of gossiping about others and hating them for sport needs to go. Those are real people they tear to shreds. Remember Caroline Flack? What they do to people causes real harm. It sickens me to see it here, too. There's just no need for it.

Exactly. I must say I've laughed out loud a couple of times when I read posts.. "Don't see any racism about Meagan, but.. " only for the the poster to go on and say how much they dislike her because of made-up judge mental nasty gossip they read in the rags. Lol. It's like hate for sale, and the sheep love it.

LOL. And it would be your selfish up-yourself fault if you didn't extend a wedding invite the sister who sold your teenage diaries for thousands to the media rags. Then the xenophobia hate would start.. another jumped-up Irish person with no place in the english elite.. banish the very thought! One would be horrified.. :D

“Female is real, and it's sex, and femininity is unreal, and it's gender.

For that to become the given identity of women is a profoundly disabling notion."

— Germaine Greer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,947 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Mr.Wemmick wrote: »
    LOL. And it would be your selfish up-yourself fault if you didn't extend a wedding invite the sister who sold your teenage diaries for thousands to the media rags. Then the xenophobia hate would start.. another jumped-up Irish person with no place in the english elite.. banish the very thought! One would be horrified.. :D

Imagine Rock-The-Boat with a load of toffs, and I'm sure I've a few who would be worse for the wear and not used to all that Bollinger and end up puking into some Earl's top hat. :pac:

Can only imagine that there must be zero craic at a Royal wedding. Everyone warned to be on their best behaviour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,068 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Can only imagine that there must be zero craic at a Royal wedding. Everyone warned to be on their best behaviour!

you don't think they have a dance circle? its not a proper wedding without a dance circle and elderly aunts shaking their booty to the delight of all. I reckon Princess Anne would be the first into the middle. She looks like she is a little raver on the quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭MoonUnit75

Maybe it's just because of the narcissism and lack of appreciation that royalty, whether you agree with the institution or not, is about the centuries old traditions and life of service, not your Instagram feed and media profile.

She doesn't seem to have ever understood that the royal family are supposed to earn their legitimacy through a life of public service. She seems to have thought it was like getting an upgrade to first class where people are paid to treat you like a special person even if you aren't.

MoonUnit75 wrote: »
    Maybe it's just because of the narcissism and lack of appreciation that royalty, whether you agree with the institution or not, is about the centuries old traditions and life of service, not your Instagram feed and media profile.

She doesn't seem to have ever understood that the royal family are supposed to earn their legitimacy through a life of public service. She seems to have thought it was like getting an upgrade to first class where people are paid to treat you like a special person even if you aren't.

Centuries of tradition involving self service.

MoonUnit75 wrote: »

What narcissism? They don't have IG or social media. But they do need some media coverage so to raise the millions they do for their foundation/charity work which in turn helps many (including animals/conservation work). What they don't need, no one needs, is to be torn to shreds making up lies to sell their trash. Why aren't you critical of that dynamic? Rag magazines/online profile's spreading fake news and hate and racism and what that does to society and to real people they target? They're the only one's harming anyone here.

Harry himself said Meghan signed up for a life of service, and that is what she wanted. He said they didn't give that up, whatever the other side's decisions, and that they will continue to live a life of service. Which they are. I think it coming straight from the horse's lips trumps what anyone else has to say about it when you don't even know them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭bitofabind

@Stateofyou do you know them personally?

bitofabind wrote: »
    @Stateofyou do you know them personally?

Eh no... that's why I quoted him directly? Obviously.

Harry himself said Meghan signed up for a life of service, and that is what she wanted. He said they didn't give that up, whatever the other side's decisions, and that they will continue to live a life of service. Which they are. I think it coming straight from the horse's lips trumps what anyone else has to say about it when you don't even know them.

I don't understand then, why leave the royal family?
    If they both want a 'life of service' isn't that what they had?
    But they left.......

So... you can actually watch video clips from speeches and interviews they have done where they literally explain this.

I prefer to listen to what someone has to say about their own life directly.

And it's not really for anyone else to understand or approve, is it? Any more than your life or your own personal decisions are? People will always talk. People will always disapprove and have something to say and stay small, preferring others around them are too. People will always be petty to downright nasty. They have to live their lives for themselves and family anyway, as we all do.

But they left.......

They want to do good works without the incessant media intrusion and character assassination. Even after the death of Princess Diana, the Levinson enquiry and the phone hacking scandal, the UK still can't bring itself to muzzle the gutter press like the DM. I believe the owner of the DM is richer than the Queen, so has undue, unwarranted and unconscionable influence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Going on James Cordon in order to "step back" from the media spotlight.

Pair of absolute spoofers.

Yep, said it before, for a pair that don't like/want media intrusion into their lives, they do court the media a bit too much.

Well there are different types of media coverage. Going on a show like Oprah for eg lets you give your side of the story. You know it can't be twisted to misrepresent you.

Whereas a rag like the Daily Fail have their own agenda and love to put the boot in to people without giving them the right to reply, because they know it will sell more papers and get more clicks.