If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Is there any real and genuine reason why during a pendamic and we have people WFH or laidoff, people cant apply in good time to renew a document that lasts 10 years?

It should be obvious to most adults that it may require a longer period of time to deal with. Leaving your passport run down is entirely on the applicants head

Tbf, they've been closed for most of the last year, and likely dealing with giant backlogs as a result. Anyone who's passport has expired in the last 4-5 months and probably the next 4-5 months hasn't really had an opportunity to apply unless they were doing it months in advance (which I doubt anyone does - I'd imagine most apply in the last 6 months of it). You could probably have applied in September for one and not got it yet and probably won't get it until June at the earliest I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,167 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

there is, albeit in your own home and subject to certain conditions being met on arrival

That's self isolation - big difference!

dmcsweeney wrote: »
    To be honest I'd get over the tests just to get out. As long as the fines are gone I'm happy. Just need to feel the warn Italian sun this year :cool:. I'm guessing the testing and quarantine will still be there, but at least it'll keep the Joe Duffy listeners off our cases.

There is no quarantine right now - they're only debating it still and if it was brought in wouldn't apply to Italy so you'll be grand in the summer. I also don't think they'll be able to legally bring it in so they'll just give up. Mandatory hotel quarantine is too much for this government.

Fines will be gone as 5km limit will be well gone by July also.

At worst we'd have PCR tests which I'm happy with.

That's self isolation - big difference!

Not really, its just a different word
    titan18 wrote: »
    Tbf, they've been closed for most of the last year, and likely dealing with giant backlogs as a result. Anyone who's passport has expired in the last 4-5 months and probably the next 4-5 months hasn't really had an opportunity to apply unless they were doing it months in advance (which I doubt anyone does - I'd imagine most apply in the last 6 months of it). You could probably have applied in September for one and not got it yet and probably won't get it until June at the earliest I'd say.

You see thats the issue, we have been in this for a year, its not new and anyone that allowed their passport to run that short only has their own lack of planning to blame. The delay is 3 months so no, some that applied last September will not be waiting until June.

There was also nothing stopping people from applying, only the processing and issuing was delayed. You could apply for a passport no problem

There is no quarantine right now - they're only debating it still and if it was brought in wouldn't apply to Italy so you'll be grand in the summer. I also don't think they'll be able to legally bring it in so they'll just give up. Mandatory hotel quarantine is too much for this government.

what difference does a 5km limit on exercise make to international travel?

Yes it is:

Self isolation at home for 2 weeks with no checking on you etc.

vs

Mandatory hotel quarantine whereby you're not allowed out

BIG DIFFERENCE.

what difference does a 5km limit on exercise make to international travel?

is that not the legal basis for fining people €250 driving to the airport currently? you're leaving your 5km radius for non-essential purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Are the fines at the airport not under a different offense? Reason i ask is the 500 euro vs the 5km 100 euro fine.

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Are the fines at the airport not under a different offense? Reason i ask is the 500 euro vs the 5km 100 euro fine.

I'm not actually sure.

But i do believe there will be no fines after May/June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I’m going abroad by hook or by crook come august. Already booked, I’d rather be dead in ten years of living than another 40 years of this politically guided gick.

Best of luck and gold stars all round to the rigid rule followers, logic has left the building a long time ago.

Logical thing to do would be to help suppress the virus so that we can open up. Not to feck it all away and endure extra months of otherwise unnecessary lockdown because a few people can't wait a couple of months to go off on a jaunt

It seems to be a pattern on here in general that the ones who moan about lockdowns the most, do their best to ensure that they continue. That is where the logic is lacking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭Acosta

The border is a very large political issue as I am sure you are aware. Its a delicate matter that could see a return to serious violence in the north. You cant just ignore thousands of people that are legally citizens of Ireland and travel on our passports.

Im not saying I disagree that closing the border isnt a sensible move if we are going to vilify travel, just thats its not that simple

I don't want the border to be closed and would be disgusted if it was. Nor do I think there's any chance it will ever happen. I was just pointing out how ridiculous it is for the opposition to be grandstanding looking for the government to shut airports when we have an open border with another country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

You see thats the issue, we have been in this for a year, its not new and anyone that allowed their passport to run that short only has their own lack of planning to blame. The delay is 3 months so no, some that applied last September will not be waiting until June.

There was also nothing stopping people from applying, only the processing and issuing was delayed. You could apply for a passport no problem

So 3 months delay, you apply in September, they closed in October so 1 month of that delay is gone. They reopened for 2 weeks in December. 1 and a half months. They won't be reopening until April at the earliest, and I reckon it'll be May. Add 1 and half months on to that reopening date and you're coming to June.

You could have applied in September and your passport was expiring today and you still haven't got it and you still won't for several months. If you applied with over a year on your passport left, you send them your passport so they can cancel it so you wouldn't even have that if you did it that early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

As I've stated earlier the travel fines for the airport (€500) are not linked to the Level 5 restrictions. They can still be can be in place at any level as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

As I've stated earlier the travel fines for the airport (€500) are not linked to the Level 5 restrictions. They can still be can be in place at any level as far as I know.

Belfast has 2 airports with international flights.

The 500 has no basis going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Wallander

As far as the EU is concerned, fines for international travel can only be justified if non-essential travel around the country is also penalised.

This is from the EU's latest travel policy recommendations:

The high level of community transmission in most Member States means that travel will continue to pose a particular challenge. All non-essential travel, especially to and from high risk areas, should be strongly discouraged until the epidemiological situation has considerably improved, particularly in the light of the outbreak of new variants. Given that the risk of infection or transmission is similar for domestic and cross-border travel, Member States should ensure coherence between the measures applied to both types of non-essential travel.

https://www.consilium.europa.eu/media/48122/st05716-en21-public.pdf

This may be a reason the increase in fines to €2000 hasn't materialised yet (another being that it's clearly excessive!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Wallander

These variants seem to be not quite as scary at second glance as some would believe, no?

THE US BODY responsible for approving vaccines has said the jab developed by Johnson & Johnson is highly effective in preventing severe Covid-19, including the South African and Brazilian variants.

Documents released by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) show that vaccine efficacy against severe disease in large clinical trials was 85.9% in the United States, 81.7% in South Africa, and 87.6% in Brazil.

https://www.thejournal.ie/johnson-and-johns-vaccine-covid-19-effective-5363944-Feb2021/

Wallander wrote: »
    These variants seem to be not quite as scary at second glance as some would believe, no?

THE US BODY responsible for approving vaccines has said the jab developed by Johnson & Johnson is highly effective in preventing severe Covid-19, including the South African and Brazilian variants.

Documents released by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) show that vaccine efficacy against severe disease in large clinical trials was 85.9% in the United States, 81.7% in South Africa, and 87.6% in Brazil.

https://www.thejournal.ie/johnson-and-johns-vaccine-covid-19-effective-5363944-Feb2021/

Yes - I always believed they were being over hyped my the media and some government representatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,069 ✭✭✭✭josip

Does that mean they will have to be rescinded or whatever you do with out of date legislation at some stage?
    If they remain on the statue books, then any guard at the airport who's having an off day, could conceivably fine you for going on holidays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭IQO

IQO wrote: »

Darren izn't gud at spelingz

Expect =/= except

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,858 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

IQO wrote: »

Pushing the 2 doses, an attempt to keep the Brits out?

It appears to be presented as if it is a relaxation, but on reading, it seems more like they are increasing restrictions for some people. Not relaxing existing ones for others. Unless I have that wrong. I'm basing it on what was tweeted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

ITV: Britons can travel to Greece for summer holidays with or without vaccine, tourism minister says

All Britons - whether they have had a coronavirus vaccine or not - will be allowed into Greece for a summer holiday, the country's tourism minister has told ITV News.

Haris Theoharis said Britons who have had the Covid vaccine will be able to travel to Greece and will no longer be required to self-isolate upon arrival.

Those who have not been vaccinated will require a negative Covid-19 test before travelling to Greece.

ITV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

RobitTV wrote: »
    ITV: Britons can travel to Greece for summer holidays with or without vaccine, tourism minister says

All Britons - whether they have had a coronavirus vaccine or not - will be allowed into Greece for a summer holiday, the country's tourism minister has told ITV News.

Haris Theoharis said Britons who have had the Covid vaccine will be able to travel to Greece and will no longer be required to self-isolate upon arrival.

Those who have not been vaccinated will require a negative Covid-19 test before travelling to Greece.

ITV

And Spain will follow. But [insert EU country here] will tell people that sun holidays in another EU country are not advised but a recently non EU country can happily go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Going to be the exact same setup around Europe as last Summer. But with more areas Green. However that’s heavily caveated from an Irish citizen’s perspective hoping to go on holidays in the EU:

1. As with last Summer, all non essential travel will be strongly advised against by the DFA.

2. AFAIK the €2,000 fine for non-essential travel is NOT linked to Level 5. So even if the country is Level 2 in July that €2,000 fine will still be in place.

3. Government plan to tighten the reasons for “essential travel”. E.g dental appointment etc. Not done yet but could happen.

4. While I don’t think it will happen, a lot of the public still want full hotel quarantine for anyone coming into Ireland. The government don’t want to go that extreme and have their list of dangerous countries. But public opinion could sway them into it. And if that clicks into gear in say late March/early April, with all the hassles that it has caused I can’t see that just being lifted after 6 to 8 weeks in time for the Summer season.

So an awful lot of unknowns ahead. I wouldn’t be putting all my eggs in the ECDC traffic light travel map in the hope that “Oh Yay we’re green and so is Spain so I’m off on my holliers”. Definitely won’t be that simple with our government, the general public pressure on government and NPHET.

And someone can just get ferry over to Larne from Britain and drive to holiday anywhere in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

RobitTV wrote: »

ITV

Makes sense to their economy that relies so heavily on foreign tourists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Boulevardier

I am finding the debate about the mandatory hotel quarantine bill confusing on one point.

The Health (Amendment) Bill provides for mandatory hotel quarantine for people from affected countries, currently 20 in number.

Does the bill give the government the power to flexibly add countries to the mandatory hotel quarantine list, or would doing so require further legislation?
    I presume the former is the case but it may be that the government is stupid enough to take the latter option.

I ask this as someone who does not necessarily support mandatory quarantine for all arrivals, but I believe we should have a law that enables us to do so for any country we wish at short notice.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭mmclo

I am finding the debate about the mandatory hotel quarantine bill confusing on one point.

The Health (Amendment) Bill provides for mandatory hotel quarantine for people from affected countries, currently 20 in number.

Does the bill give the government the power to flexibly add countries to the mandatory hotel quarantine list, or would doing so require further legislation?
    I presume the former is the case but it may be that the government is stupid enough to take the latter option.

I ask this as someone who does not necessarily support mandatory quarantine for all arrivals, but I believe we should have a law that enables us to do so for any country we wish at short notice.

The SI gives the power to the Minister to add countries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭General Toilet

The list of countries will be updated by SI.