Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭ingo1984

Graham wrote: »
    ok this is the part I don't get.

Unless the UK decide to be incredibly neighbourly and send a bunch of vaccines our way I don't see how our vaccinations will run anywhere near the timelines as the UKs.

I guess we might be able to opt-out of the EU program and attempt a free for all vaccine bidding war against our larger EU neighbours. Not sure how well that would work out.

Or are you suggesting we only copy the UK dates and ignore the fact they they plan to have everyone over 18 offered a vaccine by the end of July?

The reason the government are so insistant on following the EU vaccination program is because the EU are paying for it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Boris is a buffoon but jesus christ, unlike some of our mob he has seemed to actively want a way out of it, be it seizing the vaccines weeks before our clowns or giving clear road maps to get out of it.

There have been a few posts along these lines this afternoon.

Nobody so far has been able to suggest where/how should we have 'seized' vaccines?

ingo1984 wrote: »
    The reason the government are so insistant on following the EU vaccination program is because the EU are paying for it.

Nothing at all to do with the fact we were in a much stronger bargaining position collectively?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

It’s not that the eu made a mess of procurement, it’s that the uk did such a good job. If everywhere had taken the UK approach we would be in no better position than we are, perhaps even worse, as supply is still limited and the EU have actually secured a far more significant proportion of vaccine already distributed than average. Canada, Australia and many other developed countries are significantly behind the eu in supply

We are doing better than some and worse than others. I think we all know that or at least I would hope so.

The AZ fiasco left a sour taste in a lot of people's mouths but pfizer also missed their target by a good bit as well. Anyway, let's see what happens over the next month or two and if we actually get the vaccines in the numbers we are being told.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭brickster69

ingo1984 wrote: »

The EU only negotiated the deals. Each member state pays for its vaccines, delivery and % of all up front costs.

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

copeyhagen wrote: »
    what municpal are they in? Madrid?

it was a genuine question

let me rephrase that, theyre in Barcelona or Madrid.

when theyre allowed open their pub this week or next, wil lthey open? and whats your opinion on that>? with cases still higher than ours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

We are the only country in the world to have wet pubs closed for what will be well over a year by the time they reopen. Unless you want to count the 2 weeks outside Dublin last September.

The wet pubs in the north have been closed for longer. I've told you this before. Have you checked everywhere else in the world? Probably not if you haven't even checked part of the same island.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

TheDoctor wrote: »
    As I’ve said before, someone really needs to warn the UK about the UK variant

Is there a theory that it doesn't exist?

I'm all ears. Seriously. I wouldn't believe them if the government told me water was wet after all the Covid lies and half truths we have had over the last 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Cats out of the bag now. People are wide awake to govs incompetence. Gov have better announce a proper plan in the next few days or it's all over for them, people are sick of them.

There's a few elements that are no longer in the control of the Government

The progress abroad
    The likelihood that our numbers in hospital will fall fairly rapidly over the coming weeks
    The growing realization that severe lockdowns are futile and do more harm than good.
    The inability for media to maintain the hysteria on potential deadly variants.
    The collapse of trust in media as more people recognize the complete lack of balance and relative to what they are seeing in their own lives.

As that old saying goes, "you can fool all the people some of the time and some of the people all the time, but you cannot fool all the people all the time.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭bluelamp

I actually give up following our lifting. I'll be going to Belfst in April when the shops re open, I'll be going every weekend in May when the pubs presumably re open.

I'll be delighted for the UK and NI if this goes to plan.

Will UTV be in Victoria Station in Belfast to shame all the passengers on buses from Dublin, like RTE were doing with UK arrivals in the airport I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Penfailed wrote: »
    The wet pubs in the north have been closed for longer. I've told you this before. Have you checked everywhere else in the world? Probably not if you haven't even checked part of the same island.

Ah but Pen, the north isn't a real country ;)

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

There's a massive difference between the UK, Great Britain (which excludes the north) and just England. It's not a tiny nitpick. It's just wrong.

It's Westminster that makes decisions on and pays their version of PUP, so while Sturgeon and Drakeford might have been able to boost their profiles with adjustments to restrictions along the way, they will nonetheless have to follow England in regard to bringing restrictions to an end.

The people of Scotland, Wales and NI won't tolerate continuing restrictions if England is out of lockdown with similar numbers. And Drakeford and Sturgeon are going to do everything they can to avoid their respective regions failing to vaccinate at the same rate as England.

So yeah, while there are parts of UK governance that are devolved, it's entirely reasonable to believe that the UK will work in concert when it comes to ending the restrictions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

Lundstram wrote: »
    Just came on to post pretty much the same spiel except this was Matt Cooper's show this evening. He had two idiots on, again didn't catch their names nor do I care 'cos everyone seems to be an expert on these radio miseryfests.

One of the rambling idiots was asked did he think the vaccines would end this, no he said because the Brazilian variant is not covered by the vaccine. No evidence presented nor was he asked to explain himself. Just free rein to spout the usual bullsh1t.

The other idiot laughed at the UK's optimism and dismissed their timeline. He also said Boris is rolling the dice to save his career after the huge numbers they had last year.

So all in all, a cheerful drive home.

Matt Cooper rivaling Claire Byrne for the virtue signaller of the year. He has a texter ranting at him for not questioning the guests and he replied in a pretty angry manner, he said "we can't pretend these aren't issues, I don't want to lead listeners astray". Coming out with that after letting two morons ramble on unabated was pretty ironic.

Did you catch Anthony Staines saying the commonly held belief that most of the 1000 January/ Feb dead were on deaths door was false, that many had "40, 50, 60 years" left.

Dr Staines implied on national radio that (average life exp is 82 I believe?) in the last few months plenty of fit and healthy people in their 20's, 30's and 40's dropped dead within weeks.

He did not provide numbers, percentages, an explanation of how few of the 1000 really were not on deaths door to begin with. Just hyperbolic exaggeration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

bluelamp wrote: »
    Of course Northern Ireland will follow England.

The DUP will follow no matter what - and Sinn Fein certainly won't be the ones seen to ruin the party.

They have nearly half a million vaccines administered in the North. Playing a blinder - and well done to them, really hope it all works out, it will give us all a bit of hope.

They haven't followed them at any stage. The DUP haven't followed them for many things (abortion, same sex marriage, etc., etc.) and SF are an all-Ireland party that would be more inclined to follow Dublin. I do hope it works out too though.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

let me rephrase that, theyre in Barcelona or Madrid.

when theyre allowed open their pub this week or next, wil lthey open? and whats your opinion on that>? with cases still higher than ours?

I'm not going to confirm the location but I can tell you they will be opening in absolutely accordance with local/national restrictions.

If the rules state no service at the bar, tables minimum 2m apart, 2 customers from the same household per table, closing at 6pm, then that's exactly how hospitality will operate.

Hospitality businesses know there will be regular visits from Guardia Civil/Guardia Civil/Policía Nacional/Municipal. Any breaches of the current regulations will result in closure of the premises for up-to 3 years and a substantial fine.

Unlike here, Spain doesn't really go in for the notion of 'policing by consent'. The approach to compliance oft lauded on this thread would not end with a funny video anecdote to post on Facebook afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

Graham wrote: »
    I'm not going to confirm the location but I can tell you they will be opening in absolutely accordance with local/national restrictions.

If the rules state no service at the bar, tables minimum 2m apart, 2 customers from the same household per table, closing at 6pm, then that's exactly how hospitality will operate.

Hospitality businesses know there will be regular visits from Guardia Civil/Guardia Civil/Policía Nacional/Municipal. Any breaches of the current regulations will result in closure of the premises for up-to 3 years and a substantial fine.

Unlike here, Spain doesn't really go in for the notion of 'policing by consent'. The approach to compliance oft lauded on this thread would not end with a funny video anecdote to post on Facebook afterwards.

ok, so thats fair enough. they will be allowed open this week or next, and they will, to keep their business afloat etc.

meanwhile, your own Countries pubs arent allowed open until who knows when, and your in favour of them being kept closed with the possiblity of them losing their business. while our case numbers are lower than theirs.

ok gotcha, thanks for clarifying that, remind me to ignore everything that comes out of your mouth from now on.

meanwhile, your own Countries pubs arent allowed open until who knows when, and your in favour of them being kept closed with the possiblity of them losing their business. while our case numbers are lower than theirs.

Perhaps if our approach to compliance was more like the Spanish model, we too could relax restrictions sooner.

I'm not sure our regulars already referring to Ireland as a 'police state' could cope to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

Any talk of easing the 5km distance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,413 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

eeepaulo wrote: »

It said on the news that that's likely to remain for March and April.

They haven't followed them at any stage. The DUP haven't followed them for many things (abortion, same sex marriage, etc., etc.) and SF are an all-Ireland party that would be more inclined to follow Dublin. I do hope it works out too though.

In fairness I think the DUP's faith based rejections of Gay marriage and abortion aren't exactly comparable.

With half a million vaccinated up there already I don't see them twiddling their thumbs staying locked down for no reason.

Sinn Fein will choose the populism route as always and support opening up (as public opinion is beginning to lean than way).

I hope I'm right, because even if we aren't doing as well, I'd rather see success somewhere.

eeepaulo wrote: »

We will hopefully have a better idea tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Summer2020

Bunch of absolute morons. 3-4 more weeks to sort out hotel quarantine. Absolutely pathetic stuff, in the meantime Brazilians can waltz in and it’s basically up to their own goodwill whether they quarantine at home or not.
    Govt aren’t going to be able to keep a lid on the anger much longer.

Summer2020 wrote: »
    Bunch of absolute morons. 3-4 more weeks to sort out hotel quarantine. Absolutely pathetic stuff, in the meantime Brazilians can waltz in and it’s basically up to their own goodwill whether they quarantine at home or not.

It's a year too late. And this new found hate of Brazilians won't free the world of covid.

Vaccines are here, time to move on and plan for the future rather than get angry about what we could have done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

It’s truly pathetic. I wish I could vote in a foreign government

Trump for Taoiseach !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Look at May even - international travel on the 17th May - I might just book my holiday and fly out through Belfast!!!

Erm Hellrazer you might want to read the UK spiel.again :pac:

"International travel possible"
    "The government will determine when international travel should resume, which will be no earlier than 17 May,”

https://www.reuters.com/article/uk-health-coronavirus-britain-travel/uk-foreign-travel-curbs-to-stay-until-at-least-mid-may-idUSKBN2AM22X

The infographic has a number of similar qualifiers - I personally wouldn't be booking any tickets too soon tbf ...

I read a lot of the UK road map as bread and promises of circuses at some point possibly

Boris is heging his bets and counting his chickens and keeping his fingers and toes crossed..

Now don't get me wrong if they get half that pulled off on the dates they claim - it will be all tickety boo and fair play to them.

Though do have to laugh at some of the crowd cheering for the UK government when the facts are that the UK restrictions have been stricter than here to date.

How would we have survived there at all? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Xaniaj

Summer2020 wrote: »

I emailed a query to the newly elected Minister of Health back in July regarding the lack of quarantine for tourists coming into this country. I received a response after two months (I had half forgotten the email!) which was a copy/paste of some relevant info but included the line 'There is ongoing and close consideration given by the Government to policy in relation to overseas travel.'

Here we are 8 months later and still no mandatory quarantine. It was a disgrace then but its absolutely farcical that we're a year into this pandemic and we still haven't gotten that right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,655 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

The regulars in this thread were excoriated, as dregs of society, for months on end, by a cohort now determined to see the UK’s roadmap fail. More so on the main thread.

There’s something wrong with that.

I wish the UK the very best of luck, because we need them to succeed. This is our only shot at normality.

I now realise that virtue signalling has nothing to do with concern for others.

When you think about it, those most in favour of returning to normality, use life and survival rates to suppose their argument.

Those mostly in favour of restrictions, need death to support their argument.

Isn’t there an irony in that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Virtue Signaling is intellectual narcissism...a shallow minded one dimensional thought process fed by media, an industry riddled with shallow minded individuals who are as smart as they are principled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Grueller Baby

But sources in Government Buildings insisted the Irish plan will not contain dates as research shows compliance with restrictions drops when dates are given.

Ah you just have to laugh at how pathetic we are.
    Fair play to other countries for embarrassing us.