Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Boggles over here with his faux-concern about protestors being tarred with the wrong brush :pac:

Just Norman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,537 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

It's not about championing the bunch of organisers, it's about calling for the end of draconian the end of lockdowns
    Do you not see the difference?

by joining with them you give them legitimacy whether that is your intention or not.
    lock downs and restrictions will end when it is actually safe for them to do so, it's that simple, nobody wants them to exist for any longer then is actually necessary.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 144 ✭✭decreds

We'll likely be in lockdown into 2022.

They have managed to convince people, who are perfectly healthy that they are sick by testing them with tech that was invented 30 years ago (PCR) and they must now take a vaccine to be healthy again.

I'm impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

BLM protests for some black guy in a different continent in the middle of a pandemic in which we knew little about = Okay, work away lads.

Protests to ease restrictions for what we know now to be a mild virus with over 99% survival rate = You're all loons and nutjobs.

What a strange little country we live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

by joining with them you give them legitimacy whether that is your intention or not.
    lock downs and restrictions will end when it is actually safe for them to do so, it's that simple, nobody wants them to exist for any longer then is actually necessary.

No, they’ll end when enough people demand they end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Whiplash85

The govt are doing a fine job of radicalising moderate people. If we are facing a summer of more draconian restrictions than last despite the fact that we have 6 or 7 vaccines, mandatory quarantine, and compulsory mask mandate that wasn't in place for most of last years summer it does make you think. Most of vulnerable and elderly will be vaccinated by end of Q2 but yet there seems to be no end game. Instead we are now told that we must watch out for new variants. How do you put a time frame on that...
    You don't have to affiliate with the 5G, Bill Gates microchip brigade but the locking up a healthy population brigade are now crossing the rubicon in terms of craziness too. And you need to let your voice heard. When history is written and your children read in their history books about the pandemic in Ireland in 2020 - 202X, you can always say I tried to make my voice heard and didn't just complain about it to strangers on an Internet forum. It can be anything. Write to your TD if you cant protest in person. If you don't well we will all be back here again next Autumn/ Winter.

Another thing, if enough people go to this protest and don’t like the cut of the gib of the organisers then they will organise their own protests next time.
    There’s people from the left, right and middle, sensible people and the lunatic fringe who all want the end of lockdowns. I don’t want them to be political but if no one goes nothing will happen anyway.

Lundstram wrote: »
    BLM protests for some black guy in a different continent in the middle of a pandemic in which we knew little about = Okay, work away lads.

Protests to ease restrictions for what we know now to be a mild virus with over 99% survival rate = You're all loons and nutjobs.

We've been completely brainwashed/programmed by the messages pumped out by the media.

They sure do hate when racism is highlighted.

Triggers them something fierce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

Protesting was always on the cards at some point. There were mask protests last year when they were made mandatory in shops and on public transport. But, if cases start going up and lockdown is increased further, I don't think people will be sympathetic to the cause.

Boggles wrote: »
    Of course it is, if you are circulating their "flyer" and attending their "protest" you are promoting their lunacy.

But like I said let us know how you get on.

I’ve been radicalised boggles, not by the protest organisers but by our health authorities, government and media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

So your solution is if you can't beat them join them?

The restrictions have brought the cases down from 8000 per day to the current level, but we are still having cases in the hundreds every day.

So sick of reading the constant whinging here about how long the restrictions have been going on for, when the very reason the level hasn't been lightened is because of rampant non-compliance. Look what happened after Christmas when they lifted restrictions for a couple of weeks.

Now more and more here are saying they're going to just give up and do whatever the **** they like. And they'll wonder in 3, 4, 5 weeks time, why the numbers are going up again, and the restrictions have to be continued.

Its very disheartening for anyone who is vulnerable to read this, especially when the vaccination programme has been started and there could be an end in sight.

But sure, "other people are not your concern". I honestly give up.

I complied constantly... it made no difference. Christmas we met two people... that was it.

I did not add to this issue, others did, so now I could care less,

In honesty I have a small circle of friends and zero family here and will still be in the required.... but if others do it... good luck and enjoy yourselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Around my neighbourhood safe to say people have packed it in

Several gatherings in homes, roads busy. It’s coming to an end folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

decreds wrote: »
    We've been completely brainwashed/programmed by the messages pumped out by the media.

Stay at home Save Lives

It is simple and powerful, repeated everywhere, pushed everywhere...

Now people think it is dangerous for Grand parents to hug their grand kids...I hope those of you who have succumb to hysteria will one day hang your heads in shame, denying Grand parents a hug from their grand kids is something I'll never get over, that took a lot of hysteria to get us there!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

MeeHole really shot himself in the foot over the past few days :pac:

Mehole’s mumbling This week has been the nail in the coffin, there’s little doubt about it in my mind.

I recommend people watch the 1970's film The Hamburg Syndrome ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hOjDL2FX0_8)

A "pandemic" breakouts out but no healthy people actually die from it and people are forced into lockdown and wear masks etc. The media repeat how serious it is on a daily basis but in reality no one is actually dying from it.

Those who don't believe in it and refuse to take the vaccine are swiftly to "quarantine camps" and the rest are vaccinated.

There is a scene in it where the elites behind the plan are at a party and are gloatingly dumbfounded by how easy it was to pull of, they laugh over using distractions such as "liberalism", "racism" and "environmentalism" made it too easy.

I'm not one for tinfoil hat theories but this is worth a watch.

Stay at home Save Lives

Now people think it is dangerous for Grand parents to hug their grand kids...I hope those of you who have succumb to hysteria will one day hang your heads in shame, denying Grand parents a hug from their grand kids is something I'll never get over, that took a lot of hysteria to get us there!!!

#holdfirm.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Sounds like the path to lower case numbers alright :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,537 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Boggles over here with his faux-concern about protestors being tarred with the wrong brush

Every protest group in history has had its loons and extremists, including Black Lives Matters' "trained Marxists" and smattering of black supremacists. That doesn't mean those groups didn't have an overall good cause and sentiment outside of the extreme few.

No protest movement would have gotten anywhere if everyone had stayed home for fear of being tarred with the same brush as the loons.

yes, but we aren't talking about a group who are wanting to bring some sort of genuine change for the genuine good, are we.
    we are talking about a group who believe in conspiricy theories, who are protesting because nobody will listen to their conspiricy theories.
    we then have others who are unable to deal with and face up to the situation we are in, because they are genuinely unable to do so or because they are just out to cause trouble for some political motive.
    the ones out to cause trouble do not listen to facts, listen to alternative facts and conspiricy theories and twist facts to suit their narative.
    they want us to implement a strategy that has already failed and causes much much more damage over all because they think some how they can jump in and save us from sensible politics.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Graham wrote: »

Well, no one is stopping you from hiding under your bed, you should be safe there!

Another masterstroke has been the ramp up in cancel culture, it has invoked fear in the majority of people to question any of this lunacy at fear of being cancelled and ridiculed in public.

A distant relative is a strength and conditioning coach for a team in England, all the players take the knee and share the same old covid "stay apart to stay together" bs on social media but in person they don't believe it any of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭C.O.Y.B.I.B

That's great as long as people are being smart about it . I'm happy to socialise with one or two People who like myself are working from.and not mixing with others as I know we are all in the same boat .
    All these people who day it's coming to an end seem to forget that while we control.how far we travel and who we mix with , we don't really have a say over schools, sports,kids activities, holidays etc.. We could end up as a nation of house parties who are the pariahs of Europe and banned from Spain,Greece etc..
    Personally if I the government days wear a green jumper for a 2 weeks and we'll reopen golf courses , I'll do it . I need my normal back , but that gets further away with every person who "dangerously" bends the rules

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Graham wrote: »

So what? We are at level 5 now so who cares if they rise, we'll still be at level 5.

If you're scared, stay under your bed.

I just don't give a sh1t anymore.

And I make no apologies for that.

Who did that?

1000's of dead Grand Parents = fine

Not hugging them = I'll never get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 ErnieG

No, they’ll end when enough people demand they end.

They’ll end when other nearby countries end theirs. What the govt is saying now about May and June means nothing. As Belgium, the Netherlands, Germany, France end restrictions we’ll follow. Probably with about a 2 week lag to the most conservative of that group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭WhiteMemento9

You love making up a narrative and then posting it as some factual thing. There was absolute outrage over the BLM protests in Dublin. I can easily dig up threads to support the widespread condemnation of those protests happening during coronavirus.

As usual, though you don't let the truth or facts getting in the way of your posts.

Stay at home Save Lives

It is indeed. It plays on the sub conscious mind, note how these messages are always in the background and may be red/blue as the mind has been conditioned to view those colors as authoritative.

The main message or purpose of a talk or advertisement will not specifically state those words but it is always in the background. It is powerful and has clearly worked, i've witnessed grown men in their 30's wearing a mask walking down the road by themselves literally cross the road to avoid me on a near daily basis. ( i like to think it's due to covid fear anyway)

You love making up a narrative and then posting it as some factual thing. There was absolute outrage over the BLM protests in Dublin. I can easily dig up threads to support the widespread condemnation of those protests happening during coronavirus.

As usual, though you don't let the truth or facts getting in the way of your posts.

Yeah, easy to dig up threads as it's bound to have some rationale beings in there but i do not remember any outrage in the media over it whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭C.O.Y.B.I.B

Well, no one is stopping you from hiding under your bed, you should be safe there!

The thing is for a lot of people it's not about protecting themselves , it's about protecting others who are more vulnerable. I'd like to visit my parents and the only thing that's stopping me is the chance that I might infect them unknowingly not any government restrictions.
    Also the long term effects are something I've seen first hand and something I'd be keen to avoid