Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Schools closed until March/April? (part 4) **Mod warning in OP 22/01**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

You need to read the comments more. I find your comment extremely patronizing.
    I never compared beign a parent of two secondary teachers to parenting primary and secondary school children either.
    Your children shouldn't cause you stress.... if that's the case it's you has the problem ...
    You aren't a teacher yet you have commented...and as regards people who have no kids commenting on a situation....I take it if you went with your child to a
    paediatrician would you not take their advice if they didn't have kids?

The whole situation is causing stress, not the children. Nobody said their children are causing them stress or 'complained' about their children. You need to read the comments more.

A paediatrician trained for years in the health of children specifically compared to a random person with no apparent experience on the topic posting on the Internet???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Parenting is parenting and working is working. Both are great in their own ways but really, unless you're on a farm or some such, never the twain should mix. People trying to go both at the same time is of course highly stressful, if it wasn't everyone would be taking their kids to work all the time, changing nappies on the muinteoir's desk, giving a maths lesson around the boardroom table, kicking a football around the work carpark and reading stories at the accounts desk. At the moment that's what working people are trying to do. Neither is getting the attention they deserve but both job and kids are highly demanding. How could it possibly be anything but stressful. People are doing the best they can and should be commended not knocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭deiseindublin

@History Queen - I've seen it here again and again. Poster with post March 2020 registrations to give their black and white bigoted views. Why the need to reregister if you are really here to discuss reopening schools.

Just ignore, it's infantile pranking, and not worth replying to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Crocodile Booze

I get the impression some posters think the schools are closed just for the Craic and not the fact there's a once in a generation pandemic happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

I get the impression some posters think the schools are closed just for the Craic and not the fact there's a once in a generation pandemic happening.

Sitting at home all day drinking wine and having cheese boards while watching Netflix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭JP100

Parents are now very much in the realisation that teaching children is nowhere near as easy as many would have had you believe before this pandemic. Hopefully, after this pandemic when teachers address concerns to parents about their little Johnny in school, such concerns will be taken that bit more seriously by the parents. In the process better understanding it from the perspective of the teacher and the classroom rather than always believing little Johnny is perfect and that the problem is always with somone or something else rather than their wonderful little Johnny. I'll not hold my breath on it but hopefully that is one good thing that comes out from this pandemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭jrosen

JP100 wrote: »
    Parents are now very much in the realisation that teaching children is nowhere near as easy as many would have had you believe before this pandemic. Hopefully, after this pandemic when teachers address concerns to parents about their little Johnny in school, such concerns will be taken that bit more seriously by the parents. In the process better understanding it from the perspective of the teacher and the classroom rather than always believing little Johnny is perfect and that the problem is always with somone or something else rather than their wonderful little Johnny. I'll not hold my breath on it but hopefully that is one good thing that comes out from this pandemic.

Relations between teachers and parents is something we should all try and work towards bettering. Imo its not good enough. However parents are not teachers, we are not equipped to do the job in the same way as a teacher is so its an unfair comparison.
    The parents who have no respect or regard for the teachers opinions imo are unlikely to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Warbeastrior

A number of SNA's have started back in the special schools today and they have said the only thing that has changed is the 50% capacity. Still no proper masks or PPE.

Did anyone expect any different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

Have the principals forgotten to order them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

Not surprised by this at all.

And the mass testing they speak of will continue to be the farce it always was when it comes to schools

Did anyone expect any different?
    Very true. Its an absolute disgrace.

Lillyfae wrote:
    Have the principals forgotten to order them?

A lot of principals most likely don't have the money to order them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭penny piper

Deeec wrote: »
    Penny I did read your post and I found it very insulting to parents. My children do not cause me stress - homeschooling while doing my job from home is causing me stress. Its the situation that is stressful not my children. I have primary school children and thats why I replied to your comment. You dont have primary or secondary children so really you cant comment on what parenting is like in this pandemic. Of course I would listen to a paediatrician because they are a professional doing their job - dont know what you mean by this comment.

My comment was not at all insulting to parents...
    You haven't read my previous posts relating to what i initially wrote and then you commented ad hoc...read back.
    I'm sorry but it doesn't matter if you have primary/secondary children everyone has an opinion ....hence why I used the paediatrician [they might not have kids] as an example.. (alot of insults on here towards teachers yet thy are professionals) just because you don't have children doesn't mean you can't comment. You don't know what my profession is either and you also assume I have 2 30plus secondary school teachers...there are alot of younger teachers as well...

jrosen wrote: »
    Relations between teachers and parents is something we should all try and work towards bettering. Imo its not good enough. However parents are not teachers, we are not equipped to do the job in the same way as a teacher is so its an unfair comparison.
    The parents who have no respect or regard for the teachers opinions imo are unlikely to change.

The constitution recognises parents as the primary educators of their children and it is a role that unfortunately some parents take much much less seriously than others. Teaching their children is somebody else's problem and somebody else's job entirely which is a pity and a great detriment to theses children. Teachers will come and go but the parents are the one constant in the lives of the children.

As for your other point, yes relations between parents and teachers should always be worked upon and kept very good. I just hope that after this pandemic that when a school addresses a concern that they may have about a child in school, that some parents who wouldn't have previously done can now better see the problem from all angles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭Deeec

I really don't see why some people have children...the majority of parents on here just seem to complain about their children...the hard work....no time to do anything with them.....blah blah......

Just because someone hasn't children they are not exempt of having an opinion on the subject.....

I'm a mother of two secondary teachers and I enjoyed/still enjoy any time I might have with them......that's what a parent is...

Penny this is the post I replied to you on. I am still taking it as an insult and a very ill informed post. I think you should read what you posted again. I did not insult teachers in my reply to you. I apologise if you found my post patronising - I did not mean to insult you. Sorry for assuming your children are in there 30's.

I dont want to discuss this any further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

jrosen wrote: »
    Relations between teachers and parents is something we should all try and work towards bettering. Imo its not good enough.

I posted before that this forum is in no way representative of the relationships I, or colleagues, would have with parents. It's not even close to representing them.

Plenty on here just for a moan and a stir.

At PTMs or on the street I'd chat to parents I'd meet- have a laugh, ask how the kids who've gone on to college are doing, enquire over their child's sporting pursuits or congratulate them on an achievement of their children I may have heard about etc.

Very few of these kinds of interactions represented here.

Generally, you'd experience very positive interactions bar the odd one every few years.

Next time I bump into a quare one I might ask what their boards username is :)

I posted before that this forum is in no way representative of the relationships I, or colleagues, would have with parents. It's not even close to representing them.

Plenty on here just for a moan and a stir.

At PTMs or on the street I'd chat to parents I'd meet- have a laugh, ask how the kids who've gone on to college are doing, enquire over their sporting pursuits or congratulate them on an achievement of their children I may have heard about etc.

Very few of these kinds of interactions represented here.

Generally, you'd experience very positive interactions bar the odd one every few years.

Next time I bump into an quare one I might ask what their boards username is :)

You're living in la la land. Parents and schools/teachers interactions are just like life in general. Some good, some bad and some just plain indifferent.

You're living in la la land. Parents and schools/teachers interactions are just like life in general. Some are good, some are bad and some are just indifferent.

Thanks for that JP.

I have imagined experience, things getting worrying for me now.

Thanks for that JP.

I have imagined experience, things getting worrying for me now.

You have your own personal experiences, others have their own personal ones too. Hence my point about life in general, some good, some bad, some indifferent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

A lot of principals most likely don't have the money to order them.

The money isn't coming out of their own pockets, they were supplied with budgets to purchase them.

You have your own personal experiences,

In La La Land, according to you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 146 ✭✭Neagra

Stateofyou wrote: »
    Yet Trump made it so far.... :pac:

you do understand trump might be many things but a ****e businessman he is not.
    deutsche bank are his primary lender and they are a serious bank for serious people.
    trump is an asset striper, a vulture.
    trump is an ultra capitalist - you may not like that most public sector workers dont - and he has been very successful for himself.

do you also believe philip green is a **** businessman?
    the guy has made himself a multi millionaire out of asset striping but left thousands out of work and with their pensions gone.

i have no problem what they have legally done. more power to them both.
    the private markets need vultures to separate the wheat from the chaff.

Darwinism - the most important lesson young people are not taught anymore in irish education.

In La La Land, according to you

Please stop deliberately misquoting me. It was pointed out to you that you're living in la la land in the context of trying to speak for everyone and in spite of others own personal experiences in this very thread. Things are largely grand for you, that's great and well done and all that but that is not the situation for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭hesaidshesaid

Sitting at home all day drinking wine and having cheese boards while watching Netflix.

And affairs. Don't forget the affairs.

Please stop deliberately misquoting me. It was pointed out to you that you're living in la la land in the context of trying to speak for everyone and in spite of others own personal experiences in this very thread. Things are largely grand for you, that's great and well done and all that but that is not the situation for everyone.

Glad you brought up misquoting. Did you use the term 'la la land' or not? Or did I imagine it?

I described my experience and that of my colleagues.

Where did I speak for everyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Glad you brought up misquoting. Did you use the term 'la la land' or not? Or did I imagine it?

Tbh I would be surprised if your experience is not the norm. You could probably count the falling outs with parents you've had any year in a few fingers. And anyway it's not like teachers are desperate for friendship with the parents or visa versa. So long as people are civil and respectful of each other that should be enough. Better than that is a bonus.

You first of all, deliberately misinterpreted the context of the post. Second of all, you're awfully defensive about others giving a perspective different to your own on here. Thirdly, I can't help you with any of the latter, so moving on and because this thread has already been derailed long enough with you only wanting to see and hear what you would like to see and hear.

And affairs. Don't forget the affairs.

Forgot about the gossiping as well.

You first of all, deliberately misinterpreted the context of the post. Second of all, you're awfully defensive about others giving a perspective different to your own on here. Thirdly, I can't help you with any of the latter, so moving on and because this thread has been derailed long enough already with you only wanting to see and hear what you want to see and hear only.

I wasn't speaking for everyone, you decided I was and dismissively described ny opinion as coming from "la la land".

This is clearly going nowhere. Bye