Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham 2021 Antepost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Where’s klassical Dream these days ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Very interested in Mengli Khan for the Grand Annual
    Am I mad?

I mentioned him a while back. Its between himself and Embittered.

You're definitely stone mad though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    Where’s klassical Dream these days ?

Himself and Bennie have run off together and are running a restruant in Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Coneygree

Pogue eile wrote: »

Laundering Labaik's money in Marbella I hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Horse I took from yesterday for the boodles was Busellton if I'm honest. But not sure it will enjoy the Chetenham hill.

On a slightly realted matter, is the 'Boodles' the worst named race ever??

It’ll always be the Fred Winter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 naraicjul

On a serious note, anyone know what/how Benie is doing?

Is he going to Cheltenham? What race?

naraicjul wrote: »
    On a serious note, anyone know what/how Benie is doing?

Is he going to Cheltenham? What race?

They are sticking to the story that everything is fine and this was the plan similar to Quevega but who knows.

On the assumption that everything is ok, where do you go? If i was WPM I would be strongly considering runing Concertista in the Champion and leaving the Mares Hurlde to Bennie. They have the mares hurlde and mares chase convered so either Concertista to the Champion or Bennie to the Stayers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Worth creating a separate Handicaps - Cheltenham 2021 thread? Always love peoples angles on the Cheltenham Handicaps! @Slatts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭spuddiesal

Some good points above. I'll mention one horse before i make a point about WPM brigade. Surely Put the kettle on is overpriced @ 12's for the CC. I think it s unbeaten around cheltenham (might be wrong) Anyone agree?

OK, s i have been thinking about WPM brigade this morning. He stated at the xmas festival that he changed some of his methods to ensure they were all primed for xmas festival. Again, his horses were all in prime form at the weekend. Now in general i always tend to avoid Mullins horses until March/April when he cleans up.

I think it could be the opposite this year that his horses may not be at the same level they have shown in 6 weeks time. I am basing this only on a hunch but a strong hunch.

On the flipside, i think Big G will have a huge festival. I think the Morans in te past year have forked out a small fortune on some decent animals so a close eye will be kept also in the spring.

Anyway, i'm predicting 7+winners for him

The Big G is cleaning the Morans

spuddiesal wrote: »
    The Big G is cleaning the Morans

That's why Im convinced that Zanahyir will go to the Triumph and not the supreme, he will definitely wnat to win at least one festival race for them, they're a god send to him.

Is there actual talk of Zanahyir going to the Supreme?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Motivator

Coneygree wrote: »

If there is, it’s rubbish. The reason Gordon and Willie win so many races is because they put the horses where they have the best chance. They don’t take chances and play the “we’ll see what happens” game. The horse will go in whatever race Gordon thinks it has the best chance of winning.

I could never understand Willie being chastised for winning apparently soft Grade 1s with some horses. His job is to get horses to win races, not give Joe public the race he wants to see.

Pleanty of it and he has been blue on oddschecker for the last few days, as short as 7/1 with the NRNB firms

Motivator wrote: »
    If there is, it’s rubbish. The reason Gordon and Willie win so many races is because they put the horses where they have the best chance. They don’t take chances and play the “we’ll see what happens” game. The horse will go in whatever race Gordon thinks it has the best chance of winning.

I hope you are right as someone who is balls deep in Zanahyir for the Triumph, but the fly in the ointment if you like is the fact that Gordon could win the Triumph with his third choice never mind second choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

Did they bring Gypsy Island with them as a silent partner?

Being suggested on a few forums anbd podcasts since the weekend
    Also the possibility of Quilixious going to the supreme
    Not too many Juv's have gone that route but Gordon doesn't have an obvious chance as we speak in he supreme does he ? Presuming Ballyadam goes Ballymore

Being suggested on a few forums anbd podcasts since the weekend
    Also the possibility of Quilixious going to the supreme
    Not too many Juv's have gone that route but Gordon doesn't have an obvious chance as we speak in he supreme does he ? Presuming Ballyadam goes Ballymore

Quilixios isn't a novice so he can't go Supreme

Interesting, Kevin Blake mentioned the possibility of it on last nights BetFair podcast with Hugh Cahill and Tony Calvin...........

Won a race in France last March so his novice status is gone. Funny one how a juvenile isn't a novice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 naraicjul

Presuming Ballyadam goes Ballymore

Is this the word out there?

I think the Ballymore is much deeper than the Supreme, Ballyadam shouldn't switch. Supreme is fairly poor besides Appreciate It. Metier is second favourite for God's sake. And after Ballyadam you've the Triumph and Bumper favourites as next favourites for it.

With better suiting ground Ballyadam can definitely get closer to Appreciate It.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Worth creating a separate Handicaps - Cheltenham 2021 thread? Always love peoples angles on the Cheltenham Handicaps! @Slatts!

Probably a good idea but worth waiting until the marks are out could be the best thing to do?

Or just back every JP horse blind :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

He won a hurdle in France last March, although in fairness I am only guessing that is why he cannot be considered a novice.

https://www.racingpost.com/results/291/compiegne/2020-03-02/753038

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    He won a hurdle in France last March, although in fairness I am only guessing that is why he cannot be considered a novice.

https://www.racingpost.com/results/291/compiegne/2020-03-02/753038

It's funny how Quilixios isn't four yet he'll be racing with the big boys and girls next year whereas Sir Gerhard will be 6 entering his novice hurdle season.

They send them over fences in France as 2 year olds. They don't faff around.

But French NH breeds spit the dummy a few years earlier. You won't see many French breds racing in to their teens like Irish breeds and British home breeds.

It is kind of the same for juvenile hurdlers. I reckon if you don't give them a break after their 4 yr old campaign they tend to spit the dummy. They lose appetite for it. They get destroyed too young.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

But French NH breeds spit the dummy a few years earlier. You won't see many French breds racing in to their teens like Irish breeds and British home breeds.

It is kind of the same for juvenile hurdlers. I reckon if you don't give them a break after their 4 yr old campaign they tend to spit the dummy. They lose appetite for it. They get destroyed too young.

Yep. Wrong way to go about it. Horses lose their appetite for racing by the time they are 8/9.

Whereas Irish/English yokes are still sometime improving at that age.

I am at the early planning stage of buying a NH horse and won't be touching anything french

In saying that, the one (irish bred) i had a share in was no great shakes, and when i say no great shakes, i mean no great shakes! 1 win in 40 odd starts.

But oul Roger L said it was a dcent enough yoke, god love him. Obviously trying to humour me

Defi Du Seuil :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Yep. Wrong way to go about it. Horses lose their appetite for racing by the time they are 8/9.

Whereas Irish/English yokes are still sometime improving at that age.

I am at the early planning stage of buying a NH horse and won't be touching anything french

In saying that, the one (irish bred) i had a share in was no great shakes, and when i say no great shakes, i mean no great shakes! 1 win in 40 odd starts.

But oul Roger L said it was a dcent enough yoke, god love him. Obviously trying to humour me

Random question Stevey, did you along with a friend or 2 ever get a taxi to Punchestown races when Hurricane fly and Jezki were facing off from Busaras after the bus didnt turn up?
    That story about your horse sounds very familiar. Small world if we have met before :pac:

Don't buy a horse unless you don't need the money. Seriously, they cost a fortune to buy... then monthly fees... vets... jockeys.... transport... entries.... vets.... knobbling....feed......trainer fees.... After all that the phucker won't even recognise you.

Only buy one for the craic and be prepared to lose all your money.

If you are mad keen to have an interest have a look at a syndicate. It will cost you a lot less and you will get to meet new people and get a few days at the races out of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Random question Stevey, did you along with a friend or 2 ever get a taxi to Punchestown races when Hurricane fly and Jezki were facing off from Busaras after the bus didnt turn up?
    That story about your horse sounds very familiar. Small world if we have met before :pac:

Not me but i can guess it was a couple of others from the syndicate :D They'd certainly have the cash to get a taxi that far