Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham 2021 Antepost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

Slattsy wrote: »

It wont be me who decides he's too high in the handicap, Willie Mullins will do that ;)

So you don't have a clue what mark he should or will get or what is a 'good mark'

I ask because you have dismissed Duffle Coat because he would have too high a mark - this was after your logic of the trainer having another horse for the Triumph was shot down :D

Would it come as a huge surprise to you that Timeform has both horses on the exact same mark, RPR has only 1lb between them.

On my own figures - for what they are worth - I have Duffle Coat 2lbs above Saint Sam but that was before yesterday.

On m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

Hold fire on Prestbury Cup until decs lads
    Might not be the usual volumes travelling as usual this year outside of main races with all the hullabaloo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Coneygree

Hold fire on Prestbury Cup until decs lads
    Might not be the usual volumes travelling as usual this year outside of main races with all the hullabaloo

Era no time for negative Covid chat Roger, especially out of you!! Very few men could advertise NH racing as naturally as yourself.

The 28-0 whitewash is on, never mind the Prestbury. If anyone finds a market for that let me know. Definitely worth some pocket change! English horses are absolutely ****e this year for the vast majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Pogue eile wrote: »
    So you don't have a clue what mark he should or will get or what is a 'good mark'

I ask because you have dismissed Duffle Coat because he would have too high a mark - this was after your logic of the trainer having another horse for the Triumph was shot down :D

Would it come as a huge surprise to you that Timeform has both horses on the exact same mark, RPR has only 1lb between them.

On my own figures - for what they are worth - I have Duffle Coat 2lbs above Saint Sam but that was before yesterday.

On m

Elliott has more options having the top two in the Triumph. I don't know his plans for DC, but with Adagio winning so well lto DC will likely have top weight. Adagio was given weight and beating then won a grade 1. That's why I think DC goes Triumph. Its just an opinion. Your knickers are in a knot over it. I might be wrong!

Saint Sam will run here regardless of mark. I've obviously taken a punt without knowing his mark or even if he runs here. It's the ap thread.

As I've explained I'm certain this is the plan. We'll see what Mullins does. He'll make the call. I don't think he was meant to finish second yesterday! Or certainly that close to the winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭famagusta

Its short but it just comes in doesnt it?

Mullins could beat the english by himself at this stage

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Saint Sam has an Irish rating of 136 after the weekend. So could end up with 139/140 from the UK handicapper for the boodles.

Mick Pastor was top weight last year off 140

Elliott has more options having the top two in the Triumph. I don't know his plans for DC, but with Adagio winning so well lto DC will likely have top weight. Adagio was given weight and beating then won a grade 1. That's why I think DC goes Triumph. Its just an opinion. Your knickers are in a knot over it. I might be wrong!

Saint Sam will run here regardless of mark. I've obviously taken a punt without knowing his mark or even if he runs here. It's the ap thread.

As I've explained I'm certain this is the plan. We'll see what Mullins does. He'll make the call. I don't think he was meant to finish second yesterday! Or certainly that close to the winner.

Horse I took from yesterday for the boodles was Busellton if I'm honest. But not sure it will enjoy the Chetenham hill.

On a slightly realted matter, is the 'Boodles' the worst named race ever??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

The Mig wrote: »
    Saint Sam has an Irish rating of 136 after the weekend. So could end up with 139/140 from the UK handicapper for the boodles.

Mick Pastor was top weight last year off 140

I was on MP ap last year :pac:

Has to be the brown advisory plate merribelle stakes

I was on MP ap last year :pac:

Aramax won it off 138 so you could hope for a bit of leniency from the UK handicapper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭akelly02

why did blackbow finish so close to energumene ?

it was around 11-12, lengths, ran well actually

clearly wont be going to a handicap now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Has to be the brown advisory plate merribelle stakes

Andy Dufresne?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Coneygree wrote: »
    Era no time for negative Covid chat Roger, especially out of you!! Very few men could advertise NH racing as naturally as yourself.

The 28-0 whitewash is on, never mind the Prestbury. If anyone finds a market for that let me know. Definitely worth some pocket change! English horses are absolutely ****e this year for the vast majority.

You may give the French one if Easyland gets there.

akelly02 wrote: »
    why did blackbow finish so close to energumene ?

it was around 11-12, lengths, ran well actually

clearly wont be going to a handicap now

Has gotten a new mark of 154 so yeah that rules out the Grand Annual which I had assumed was the plan, does he take his chance in the Arkle? Maybe skips Cheltenham?

He probably deserves to line up in the Arkle, and remember he had Captain Guinness beaten all ends up in a novice hurdle last season, Allmankind for example is on the same mark of 154 and is a fifth of the price, if he goes to the Arkle and its a race that could fall apart somewhat with 2 or 3 frontrunners cutting each others throats, he could run into a place at a very big price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Has gotten a new mark of 154 so yeah that rules out the Grand Annual which I had assumed was the plan, does he take his chance in the Arkle? Maybe skips Cheltenham?

He probably deserves to line up in the Arkle, and remember he had Captain Guinness beaten all ends up in a novice hurdle last season, Allmankind for example is on the same mark of 154 and is a fifth of the price, if he goes to the Arkle and its a race that could fall apart somewhat with 2 or 3 frontrunners cutting each others throats, he could run into a place at a very big price.

He could still run in the Grand Annual.

Embittered untouched off 144 probably guarantees him the Grand Annual though. Was up with the pace the whole way around before BB and Franco stayed on past him.

Andy Dufresne?

No pat. Was replying to Pogues shíte race name suggestion of Boodles

You may give the French one if Easyland gets there.

True. I'm half hoping Uniketat comes over tbh although I think it'll be next year.

Absolutely he could, I really don't think it's a race for carrying a big weight, just from a cursory look at last years race, there were 6 horses rated higher than 150, 3 of them were pulled up and the other 3 filled 3out of the last 4 places of the horses that finished.

I also think that the BHA Handicapper will give a few more than what he got today and I don't think that Willie would be keen to have any novice running of that kind of a mark.

The entries and weights will be fascinating when they come out, we have all heard about the 'irish' tax and the extra few lbs that our horses receive in comparison to their Irish marks, I have a feeling after the last few years that we might see an 'Elliot' tax added as well, he has made a mockery of some of the handicaps and handicappers don't like that.

True. I'm half hoping Uniketat comes over tbh although I think it'll be next year.

Did you mention this one before Coneygree?

I have a recollection of someone drawing my attention to it previously but cant remember who/where and I know absolutely nothing about the horse or French form in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Earendil

Sky just gone NRNB all races.

Earendil wrote: »
    Sky just gone NRNB all races.

Any standouts spotted?? Will have a look later, but I always prefer is someone else does the work for me :D

Did you mention this one before Coneygree?

I have a recollection of someone drawing my attention to it previously but cant remember who/where and I know absolutely nothing about the horse or French form in general.

No idea but I've definitely mentioned him before. He won the other day in a race Easysland was supposed to run in. He nearly got caught at the end but he's a very nice horse. Think JP could pull the trigger on him too tbh. I don't think he'll come over with Covid and all but one to watch for next year for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Earendil

Any standouts spotted?? Will have a look later, but I always prefer is someone else does the work for me :D

Will have a good dig through later. AP not for me though. I've been hurt before.
    I'm a real lady now, not like that promiscuous strumpet Sluttsy :pac:

Can’t open any new accounts for Cheltenham because I’ve no valid ID. I’m sure the father and mother will be interested in 365s generous deposit offer though

I'm on my fourth B365 account, the joys of having a first name that can be spelt three different ways and of having two addresses :D:D

In fairness I find them the best bookie of any of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

Very interested in Mengli Khan for the Grand Annual
    Am I mad?

Very interested in Mengli Khan for the Grand Annual
    Am I mad?

Thought they were trying to convert it into a flat horse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Motivator

Embittered untouched off 144 probably guarantees him the Grand Annual though. Was up with the pace the whole way around before BB and Franco stayed on past him.

I thought Embittered’s run in the County last year was very good. Beaten by a Galway Hurdle winner and Saint Roi who I wouldn’t give up on just yet. If he goes for the Grand Annual I reckon he could attract huge money and perhaps be another Early Doors for Joseph. At the moment, his only entry is the Arkle but I suspect that will change and he’s 20/1 for the Grand Annual.

Thought they were trying to convert it into a flat horse?

Jumpers bumper in Kempton tomorrow, had a career on the flat before he went to Elliot.

Motivator wrote: »
    I thought Embittered’s run in the County last year was very good. Beaten by a Galway Hurdle winner and Saint Roi who I wouldn’t give up on just yet. If he goes for the Grand Annual I reckon he could attract huge money and perhaps be another Early Doors for Joseph. At the moment, his only entry is the Arkle but I suspect that will change and he’s 20/1 for the Grand Annual.

He is definely one of interest, a novice chaser who is rated 5lbs lower that his hurdle mark and his first chase was encouraging, never overly confident with Joseph's chasers however