Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beef price tracker 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,197 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Base price wrote: »
    I remember hearing about all sorts of shenanigans going on over that scheme. Fellas that applied for it never really reduced their production but transferred milk to a neighbours tank.

I take that with a grain of salt. Very few dairy farmers would low another farmer transfer milk into there tank. You be taking a huge risk regarding the quality of his milk and if he was adhering to withdrawal periods

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭1373

Jjameson wrote: »

The farming indo didn’t help by announcing that the factories were planning a 3 day kill next week and now farmers are flooding the factories with cattle. A god send for factories that were working hard to get cattle last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭jntsnk

It’s all a strategy with factories. Nothing to do with market prices. Drop the price , a week of rain at the wrong time, throw out a rumour of future bad prices and they’ll get as many cattle as they want. The factories are a monopoly, nothing will change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,851 ✭✭✭White Clover

1373 wrote: »
    The farming indo didn’t help by announcing that the factories were planning a 3 day kill next week and now farmers are flooding the factories with cattle. A god send for factories that were working hard to get cattle last week

That’s a fact. They were begging for cattle last week. There must be a big increase in supermarket sales to say they couldn't fill the gap from their own feedlots and could try another pull in a week or 2 when their own cattle are coming fit again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Good loser

Surely there's a much tighter monopoly in the sheep sector and that sector does not complain. There prices yo-yo much more.
    Also if you don't like the price don't sell to them. Try store cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

And the competition authority says there’s nothing to see here.

What exactly is there for the competition authority to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,831 ✭✭✭✭Water John

What exactly is there for the competition authority to see.

It would explore in a detailed manner the link between the price paid to producers and the retail prices. Special attention would be to where there seems to be little linkage between the two.

Water John wrote: »
    It would explore in a detailed manner the link between the price paid to producers and the retail prices. Special attention would be to where there seems to be little linkage between the two.

In Ireland,? because 10% of the production is used in Ireland the rest exported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,620 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Good loser wrote: »
    Surely there's a much tighter monopoly in the sheep sector and that sector does not complain. There prices yo-yo much more.
    Also if you don't like the price don't sell to them. Try store cattle.
    I haven't kept sheep in over 30 years but there is a huge differentiation in the value of our beef exports compared to sheep exports. We all know that GB born lambs have passed through Northern Ireland into the Republic for processing in export factories. In recent years there has been a multitude of triple deckers full to the gills with lambs heading South on the M1 outta Larne/Belfast.
    I always wondered how ye sheep farmers tolerated it. The same scenario would never have been tolerated with cattle farmers.
    Edit - maybe the beef committee had a louder voice than the sheep committee ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I haven't kept sheep in over 30 years but there is a huge differentiation in the value of our beef exports compared to sheep exports. We all know that GB born lambs have passed through Northern Ireland into the Republic for processing in export factories. In recent years there has been a multitude of triple deckers full to the gills with lambs heading South on the M1 outta Larne/Belfast.
    I always wondered how ye sheep farmers tolerated it. The same scenario would never have been tolerated with cattle farmers.

As a country we can't really be exporting millions of euros of beef in to England and weanlings/calves into europea and then stop lambs coming into Ireland.
    Those lambs will be competing in in europe whether they're killed in UK or Ireland.
    It's pointless whingeing about any of our customers unless farmers are prepared pick up the gauntlet and do their own processing and marketing.
    Farmers are even too lazy to castrate their lambs to make a better product, that's all they care about marketing/processing. Factorie don't care as long as they get a a margin.....
    Louder voice or not sheep has always been better pricewise than cattle, there should be a message there, I've often said on here that I wouldn't stand at the gates of a camolin, they're doing just fine.

The imported lambs weren’t enough to control the trade last year thankfully but when they are paying more to import live lambs than they are paying local producers (who have nowhere else to go) it is a blatant price control measure.

We haven’t a leg to stand on regarding labelling or the morals of trade as you point out. And if the lambs are cheaper then that’s the free market.
    In Ireland,? because 10% of the production is used in Ireland the rest exported.
    Ok lambs is one issue , what about beef?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Heard a few years ago where farmers tried bringing proof of this to Dept, where it’s was to be reviewed and they’ve got no response
    The same would happen if cattle from NI came south
    They’d be labelled Irish but ROI stock going the other way were Nomad
    As an older farmer told me the game was lost decades ago you either get on with it or get out

Char 0153, despite geographic advantages, stage of development of facilities, plant efficiency every factory has precisely the same quote within 24 hours. Yet the competition authority can find no evidence of collusion but no the less cannot decipher how or what base price is actually linked to.

Incredulous stuff but yes perhaps your right.

It’s simply “the market”. Too many cattle this week and the lucky consumers in ireland uk and Europe can enjoy 4% off retail beef week after next.

Beef Plan are badmouthing Irish beef again this week,, what would you expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭DBK1

Heard a few years ago where farmers tried bringing proof of this to Dept, where it’s was to be reviewed and they’ve got no response
    The same would happen if cattle from NI came south
    They’d be labelled Irish but ROI stock going the other way were Nomad
    As an older farmer told me the game was lost decades ago you either get on with it or get out
    You’re last sentence is the most accurate description there is of the beef scenario. The game was lost decades ago. In the 80’s to be precise. Charlie Haughey and his unbelievable hunger for money is what destroyed beef farming in this country. Larry only done what any good business man would have done and is still doing the same. At the end of the day he’s only out to make money for himself and that’s all any business owners aim is. The problem is that everyone else was asleep at the wheel and allowed it to happen. The IFA were the only substantial farm organisation at the time and they were either too innocent or too slow to realise what was happening and done nothing. Anyone that was involved in the IFA at the time should have their heads hung in shame now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭richie123

DBK1 wrote: »
    You’re last sentence is the most accurate description there is of the beef scenario. The game was lost decades ago. In the 80’s to be precise. Charlie Haughey and his unbelievable hunger for money is what destroyed beef farming in this country. Larry only done what any good business man would have done and is still doing the same. At the end of the day he’s only out to make money for himself and that’s all any business owners aim is. The problem is that everyone else was asleep at the wheel and allowed it to happen. The IFA were the only substantial farm organisation at the time and they were either too innocent or too slow to realise what was happening and done nothing. Anyone that was involved in the IFA at the time should have their heads hung in shame now.

Ah here its always something else or some one else's fault.larry has cattle flying at him lads produce at a loss subsidised by the eu and Larry is laughing.

Too much cattle in the country!
    We export 90 %
    In a position of weakness straight away.
    Even when we're paid to reduce numbers.bers we give out about it..for jazuz sake wake up and smell the roses.
    Too much of anything makes it worthless.

We don’t drink all the milk we produce!

And the price of milk is lower here than in France or uk

Char 0153, despite geographic advantages, stage of development of facilities, plant efficiency every factory has precisely the same quote within 24 hours. Yet the competition authority can find no evidence of collusion but no the less cannot decipher how or what base price is actually linked to.

Incredulous stuff but yes perhaps your right.

It’s simply “the market”. Too many cattle this week and the lucky consumers in ireland uk and Europe can enjoy 4% off retail beef week after next.

https://www.agriland.ie/factory-prices/heifer-factory-prices/
    When the cattle kill every week is under 30j and probably closer to 25k, you will see the price if cattle rise

Any links to what your referring?
    I don’t know where you find this stuff.. you seem to be stalking them looking to be offended!

The problem with this kind of abuse is that everyone suffers......some examples below. Processors would be very generous not to drop prices 20c jsut to show who's boss.

Brendan Kelly
    We all knew Larry and the cartel were going to pull the prices this week because they got loads of foreign beef in 2 weeks ago (more on this later) . It is up to every one of us now to ask is the beef with the bord bia logo on it Irish and make sure it is left on the shelves. We need to rise the prices in the marts which we are doing by asking in the retail outlets is the meat Irish.
    · Share · 3 d
    Mark Armstrong
    Bord bia logo only there to legitamise imported beef.

· Share · 1 d
    Brendan Kelly
    Whats new???. A few million for the Ifa. A few million for larry, a few million to the environmentalists, a few million for Bord Bia, a few million for MII A few thousand to Beef Plan, ICSA and ICMSA and they all say how great the scientifically supported standard is and that dead asses from a feed lot are now certifies grass fed beef with loads of omega 3.
    · Share · 1 d
    Pierce McCann
    A face that only a shovel could love
    · Share · 1 d
    Bobby Corboy
    Looks like he's fond of a good steak
    · Share · 1 d
    David Cummins
    No stranger to a fish supper the hoor. Keeping his paymasters happy.
    · Share · 1 d
    William Helen Fox
    What's new Brendan,factories are pulling the steer price down by 5c to €3.75c and hfs to €3.80c tomorrow for next week.
    · Share · 1 d
    James Carroll
    That bastard Healy and his big lying fathead. Cleaning up the **** at the expense of farmers. This photo should not be displayed anywhere as it upsets too many. 🥸
    · Share · 1 d
    Gerry White
    Larry's man and a Pure ****
    · Share · 1 d
    Tom Brenan
    Wasters
    · Share · 1 d
    John Fitzgerald
    They dont need in abp waterford.failm agreeing prices with farmers and not paying them the agreed price the place should be blocked again when this is over
    · Share · 1 d
    Adrian O Brien
    A realy ****ing bully
    · Share · 1 d
    Brendan Kelly shared a post.
    2 htFeSebSpruoiotarytn ogaltshuf eor07r:rS1aeugi2d ·
    Brendan KellyGrass Fed Cattle
    1 htFeSebSpruoiotarytn ogaltshuf eor23r:rS3aeugi3d ·
    I just heard that cattle prices were up again in Elphin mart tonight. There was a great trade with all animals up about 20 e a head. Farmers, Butchers, Nor… See more
    Ciaran Mc Caffrey
    Doesn't add up an the factories pulling them.
    · Share · 3 d
    Colm Clarke
    Ciaran Mc Caffrey theyll try to pull them.... if the farmer stands strong for a few days they'll rise them again.

I think you have lost the plot. No question about the quality of Irish beef, just a cartel of belligerent processors who are no good to employees producers or the general exchequer!

It's no coincidence that beef farmers are going with begging bowls to processors because of the personal abuse layered on the same processors,, Beef Plan will never make headway for that reason.
    Processors will do as they like and dispense the odd kick in the arse to those that deserve it,
    what percentage of those keyboard cowards actually sell to factories, very easy to be brave on the keyboard when you're ****ing up others lively hoods and not your own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭DBK1

richie123 wrote: »
    Ah here its always something else or some one else's fault.larry has cattle flying at him lads produce at a loss subsidised by the eu and Larry is laughing.

Too much cattle in the country!
    We export 90 %
    In a position of weakness straight away.
    Even when we're paid to reduce numbers.bers we give out about it..for jazuz sake wake up and smell the roses.
    Too much of anything makes it worthless.
    I don’t think you took up my post the way I meant it. I’m not looking for someone or something to blame, I’m pointing out exactly where the blame lies. I don’t know if you realise it but there was a tribunal and all about it.

I also agree with the second half of your post, we have too much cattle in this country. But how do we decide who the people are that should reduce their numbers in order for those that are left to make more from it?

I was originally responding to Hard Knocks line “you either get on with it or get out”. I’m at beef a while now, I have a system in place that suits me, suits my setup and suits my land. Am I making a profit? According to the accountant I am. Is it as big as my neighbouring dairy farmer? Absolutely not. Do I put in the same amount of hours labour as him? Again absolutely not. Would I like to be making more? Yes of course.

I think there is far too much control over beef by the one company in this country. As I previously stated that came to be in the 80’s and it’s impossible to see it changing any time soon. If that control by 1 man wasn’t there I still don’t think we would be millionaires out of beef but it should be a bit better. 20 cent a kilo makes a huge difference on a beef setup and is the difference in a profit and loss. We export most of our beef but we are competing in them markets with the same man who controls the beef in Ireland due to his UK and European set-ups. If that wasn’t the case there would surely be scope for a slight increase and it’s that little bit that makes it viable or not.

To make a long story short, unfortunately the man that gave that advice to hard knocks is right, all beef farmers have 2 choices, get on with it or get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

wrangler wrote: »
    It's no coincidence that beef farmers are going with begging bowls to processors because of the personal abuse layered on the same processors,, Beef Plan will never make headway for that reason.
    Processors will do as they like and dispense the odd kick in the arse to those that deserve it,
    what percentage of those keyboard cowards actually sell to factories, very easy to be brave on the keyboard when you're ****ing up others lively hoods and not your own

The negative impact on the economy and politics from the corruptive influence on the State by the beef industry has been longed known and reported on.

It has cost the country much more than the beef industry is worth.

You make it seem like a noble industry, which can only be a belief maintained by complete blocking of news for 40 years and more.

Is this about the beef plan vs processors or is your infatuation beef plan vs your beloved IFA?

In all the **** they spew they don't have an ounce of evidence, lies on top of lies. court cases on top of court cases, their inferences on the quality of meat is reducing the price, their abuse of MII personell is reducing the price of cattle.
    Thousands of cattle graded every month and all they can find is a dozen or so wrongly graded carcases in the whole year.
    You couldn't make it up
    And when they could finally think of nothing else they tried to close factories due to covid...... can you imagine the chaos if they got away with that

From what I remember of that time, only for Charlie Haughey a lot of farmers would've been destroyed too
    Why would IFA get involved, slurry tankers were going all through the closed period in places this year. do you want IFA to police that.......would you report them

We don’t drink all the milk we produce!

No but milk is unbelievable in terms of storage and the different products you can get from milk.
    Beef is a perishable product that has to be sold no matter what ...your always a price taker

I don’t think you took up my post the way I meant it. I’m not looking for someone or something to blame, I’m pointing out exactly where the blame lies. I don’t know if you realise it but there was a tribunal and all about it.

I also agree with the second half of your post, we have too much cattle in this country. But how do we decide who the people are that should reduce their numbers in order for those that are left to make more from it?

I was originally responding to Hard Knocks line “you either get on with it or get out”. I’m at beef a while now, I have a system in place that suits me, suits my setup and suits my land. Am I making a profit? According to the accountant I am. Is it as big as my neighbouring dairy farmer? Absolutely not. Do I put in the same amount of hours labour as him? Again absolutely not. Would I like to be making more? Yes of course.

I think there is far too much control over beef by the one company in this country. As I previously stated that came to be in the 80’s and it’s impossible to see it changing any time soon. If that control by 1 man wasn’t there I still don’t think we would be millionaires out of beef but it should be a bit better. 20 cent a kilo makes a huge difference on a beef setup and is the difference in a profit and loss. We export most of our beef but we are competing in them markets with the same man who controls the beef in Ireland due to his UK and European set-ups. If that wasn’t the case there would surely be scope for a slight increase and it’s that little bit that makes it viable or not.

To make a long story short, unfortunately the man that gave that advice to hard knocks is right, all beef farmers have 2 choices, get on with it or get out.

I understand what your saying.
    But you have to look at the bottom line.

The biggest buyer in the marts is the man himself larry goodman.
    You can't hit the biggest buyer saying how corrupt he is etc and then take his money in the ring.
    Even if he was as currupt as people say he is we'd be totally fcked without him.

He makes a serious money more so due to huge turnover on a very low margin business..than fleecing farmers in the market place.

If I have 50 cattle at 100 a head im at nothing
    If I have 5000 at 100 ...thats the difference.

its not get on with it,its get bigger...or get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭Jb1989

richie123 wrote: »
    I understand what your saying.
    But you have to look at the bottom line.

The biggest buyer in the marts is the man himself larry goodman.
    You can't hit the biggest buyer saying how corrupt he is etc and then take his money in the ring.
    Even if he was as currupt as people say he is we'd be totally fcked without him.

He makes a serious money more so due to huge turnover on a very low margin business..than fleecing farmers in the market place.

If I have 50 cattle at 100 a head im at nothing
    If I have 5000 at 100 ...thats the difference.

its not get on with it,its get bigger...or get out.

I agree with you , takeing his money then saying you didn't get enough, over and over again is stupid. The time spent giveing out about him surely could be put to better use.

Don't agree with, go big or get out, as a be all and end all mantra. The man with 50 u grade catlle will get more than a lad with 50 bad r's.

Its about quality as much as quantity, with diversication , if required.

You may think for some deluded reason you are doing the IFA some service with this nonsense but you need to move on.
    This stradegy is not going to bring guys back into the fold. There is a direct mandate from farmers for direct relentless confrontation of the cartel.
    If ifa don’t then the splinter groups are going to replace the old guard.
    The only presidential candidate to support the strikes is now the president.
    Beef price never got close to the industry coup of 3€ a kg. They are fighting hard now to stop 4€ being breached.

The strikes done europe and the uk farmers a service.

Cop yourself on if it's €4kg that's because it's the market price, you're brain washed by beef plan too, , processors'll drop the price if they want to.... look at the lamb price. No one's whingeing at the lamb factories and it looks like the price is rising again .Processors will do as they like.
    IFA'll keep doing as they always do no matter what splinter group is there, down through the years when people threatened me with the demise of IFA, I always said see if I care, we all have plenty to do at home we'll just go home and do it .....so seven years ago I did just that I went home and did it. That is the importance of IFA to me now so if you think i care now about IFA you're very wrong.
    Court cases and bickering is taking too much of Beef Plans time for them to be any good

Low margin my hole.

Typical Beef plan statement, you've no proof whether it's right or wrong and the joke isBeef Plan can't get proof either way
    God knows they've tried

Sterling, uk and European consumption has changed little. Retail prices haven’t risen and catering is non existent. What market are you referring to?
    You have seen ifa levy increases with all this beef plan terrorism I assume?

Why would prices rise with Beef Plan driving them down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭epfff

Would there be an interest in having a beef price thread on here?