Who Watches the Watchmen (Our Chit Chat Thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 422 ✭✭quattro777

What would a €3000 watch end up costing after importing from U.S. or Japan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭2shea

Wibbs 2021
    Wibbs wrote: »
    +1, though I would say both dealers and buyers are very often different cheeks on the same malodorous arse.

Oh my god that's literally one if the best lines I've ever heard!! Hahah brilliant Mr Wibbs brilliant!

So funny but yet so true.

I would also add buyers are that bit worse as they have allowed these clowns of watch dealers to thrive by paying ridiculously over the odds for watches that are still in production.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Just market forces really, because of all sorts of factors. Noting wrong with that either. Nobody's being forced at gunpoint. Buy a Daytona or the kitten gets it! :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

A new AP, apparently a bargain in that realm, but the macro shots don't do it many favours. Dust, smudges, dial paint issues.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Lorddrakul

Just market forces really, because of all sorts of factors. Noting wrong with that either. Nobody's being forced at gunpoint. Buy a Daytona or the kitten gets it! :D

Hold on now: what kind of kitten?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭hitemfrank

Can I have the kitten instead of the Daytona?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭2shea

OmegaGene wrote: »
    the close ups of the AP are terrible, is the fella doing the voiceover trying to be the watch version of David Attenborough

He pretty much is at this point, however Sir David is never trying to sell us a humpback whale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭Fitz II

No way AP let it out like that, that been serviced by a greesy bufoon at some point.

There are paint issues too F, something a hamfisted watchmaker wouldn't be a part of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,105 ✭✭✭✭unkel

So the watch industry is full of ****, even the holy trinity produce poorly finished watches, fakes are now so good they can't be detected unless you send it in for service. It's all taking a lot of the glamour away, isn't it? :(

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

unkel wrote: »
    So the watch industry is full of ****, even the holy trinity produce poorly finished watches, fakes are now so good they can't be detected unless you send it in for service. It's all taking a lot of the glamour away, isn't it? :(

It's why microbrands are doing well too at even the sub 2000 euro region (Monta etc.) - it's like repurposing the factories that could be making really good fakes to be making really good original work.

And look - most people aren't looking at watches under a loupe… "A" grade is no visible issues at 30cm (Longines and most micros) "AAA" grade is no visible issues at 10cm (Omega/Rolex etc) - or so my factory partner tells me.

I'm sure even AP has a cutoff on "acceptable" qc - macro, just like 4k - shows up all the "imperfections" that we don't see in daily wear.

unkel wrote: »
    So the watch industry is full of ****,
    Kinda U, though all luxury/veblen industries are full of it to some degree or other
    even the holy trinity produce poorly finished watches,
    And/or the market has become ever more anal over things that don't actually matter . Something that tends to happen as costs of involvement rise. Grand Seiko hurts the Big Three in dial finishing and isn't so far off in movement finishing and for significantly less investment, but the Big Three have far more cache.
    the fakes are now so good they can't be detected unless you send it in for service.
    That is a worry alright. And it's only going to get worse.
    It's all taking a lot of the glamour away, isn't it? :(
    It is, but on the other hand U, so long as you get out before the market stagnates or softens(or buy a forever watch) I can see it as a good thing too. If the shine and hype goes off it in the mainstream and the flippers/fashionistas drift away the market and the hobby should hopefully calm down to pre 2010 levels. I think the vintage market is in more trouble as supply is by definition finite and unless a load of hoarders and investors sell off I can see it remaining pretty stagnant.

I hadn't looking in on the TZUK forum for ages since my account was apparently constrained for some reason :confused: but looking at it today and there seems to be more talk of homages, Seiko, microbrands with some Omega and Longines content. A year ago it was looking much more like the Rolex forum, so there does seem to be some drift going on. Personally speaking? If I owned one of the "hot" Rolex models and it wasn't going to be my forever watch I'd be looking to offload it at the current price levels and looking into a watch at the higher levels, probably in precious metal and something that will be a fine timepiece after the dust has settled. Lange would probably be top of my list.

I have two trinity watches (for now) and both are flawless, and I have had them at huge magnification and there is not an atom out of place. The "warm fuzzy" feeling of these watches is real and the attention to detail is amazing. I simply would not accept a flaw on one personally, they are too expensive. I think that there being one or two out there with flaws that may well not be manufacture flaws but service flaws doesnt really take away from them, and certainly is not a convenient excuse to get easy serotonin hits from multiple less desirables (assuming your real goal is to have one).

Paul Thorpe (whom I dislike intently generally) put it well. the 2-5k budget is "danger money" thats where you settle for something cause you can get it but end up feeling empty and loosing money.

Fake sure, they are a pain in the ass, but that people are willing to spend money to pretend to be an owner is also a backhanded complement and further enhances the intangible benefits of having the real deal. Bless their hearts. What fakes are doing is making the real deal more expensive, cause you have to go new, trusted dealer and pay the premiums

Microbrands are doing well cause they are cheaper, a high tide raises all ships, without the trinity (plus Rolex and probably minus VC) driving the market this choo choo train would be stationary (pun intended).

Of course the industry is full of sh1t...its selling luxury and ornaments that serve no purpose except to pose. And before you come in Wibbs vintage is the biggest shower of posers out there. I am OK with that, I like that game and when you get down with that this becomes a lot of fun. But there is real quality differences. When people are over to buy watches off me or vice versa, and they try on a Rolex and then try on my AP they all without fail cannot figure out why the AP is so nice. It just has a depth of design, finish and poser chops that is immediately obvious. It was the same when I tried on 836bets patek. I just looked at it and though "ok, well thats ruined Rolex for me"

Having said that AP is RO and ROO the other models are all dogs. Patek is better at dress watches as are VC, AP is a sports brand. Yep its full of sh1t but we all love the smell of out own dont we.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

I'm looking for a navy / khaki Tudor-style nato strap for one of these: https://eu.ingersoll1892.com/collections/collections/products/the-trenton-swiss-made-t07601?_pos=2&_sid=f0e731813&_ss=r

I can find loads in 20mm and 22mm, but I cant find one in 24mm (I assume Tudor's arent made in that size). Could anyone point me in the right direction?

Here's an example of what I'm talking about, in case not clear.

https://www.etsy.com/ie/listing/853399281/premium-single-pass-tudor-nylon-watch?ga_order=most_relevant&ga_search_type=all&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_search_query=tudor+strap&ref=sr_gallery-1-6

Ebay has a few, but standard basic Natos The Monkeyswag ones are nice enough quality. Better than the basic sort anyway. I've had a couple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Ebay has a few, but standard basic Natos The Monkeyswag ones are nice enough quality. Better than the basic sort anyway. I've had a couple.

Thanks. I mention Tudor as the ones I've seen mentioned as "Tudor-style" seem to have a different look to them than standard Nato's; they seem thicker / different fabric pattern.

It's most likely in my head, and makes no difference at all.

Thanks. I mention Tudor as the ones I've seen mentioned as "Tudor-style" seem to have a different look to them than standard Nato's; they seem thicker / different fabric pattern.

It's most likely in my head, and makes no difference at all.
    Ah no I know the type you mention. Closer weave, shinier. There were copies of the Omega/Tudor style out there, but haven't seen them in a while. I think it's because we hit peak NATO strap a few years back and they're not as popular these days so lower demand.

Fitz II wrote: »
    Fake sure, they are a pain in the ass, but that people are willing to spend money to pretend to be an owner is also a backhanded complement and further enhances the intangible benefits of having the real deal. Bless their hearts. What fakes are doing is making the real deal more expensive, cause you have to go new, trusted dealer and pay the premiums
    Well that's what the industry hopes will continue, but the more "it's could be/probably a fake" hits the mainstream - and it has considering the recent flood of how to spot fakes and how "good" they are getting", it is - this will hurt brands and the industry. Especially as those premiums rise.
    Of course the industry is full of sh1t...its selling luxury and ornaments that serve no purpose except to pose. And before you come in Wibbs vintage is the biggest shower of posers out there. I am OK with that, I like that game and when you get down with that this becomes a lot of fun.
    The poser/fashion factor has become significantly more in play over the last few years and it's all too easy to project that onto the wider buying market, or even why others are into watches, or what purpose they serve people. For you they may be ornaments that serve no purpose except to pose, but is not close to being a universal thing, it's a particular trend that was always there to some degree, but has grown significantly over the last ten years, and indeed yes including the vintage market post Hodinke .

The pose factor is pretty much down to Rolex and Patek to a lesser degree. The rest have feck all recognition among most people out there. Rolex, Casio, Seiko, Omega to some degree would be your lot(in the past TAG, Breitling and IWC might have been in the mix). Vanishingly few would know AP or VC. Bloggers and Tubers are getting more men into such things but it's a recent thing. That bloke on youtube who didn't notice his expensive bracelet wasn't running after a drunken golf outing for the three days he was wearing it would have been roasted in the comments for that a few years back. It's very much a trend and fashion of the moment and trends and fashions have a habit of changing and the more rapid a rise, the more likely. Doubly so if the costs of engaging in such and arms race keep going upwards.

Now there has been talk of a "bubble" forming, especially with Rolex and that segment does have some commonalities with bubbles; fast rising valuations in the secondary market, a perception of rarity driven by the market and the brand, new buyers coming in in droves, buyers becoming more speculative about current/future values and flipping on that basis(and dealers being evangelical about "investments"), a feeling that this trend will always go up and always has(it might not and it hasn't) and everybody and his dog becoming aware of the market.

I personally don't think there'll be a crash, more of a resetting of the market as the fashion moves on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,376 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Teddy Baldassarre did a video a week or so ago on the reactions of the younger generation to watches/brands.

Okay it's selective but probably fairly accurate.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4gaiFsgeO1k

Edit: BTW the girl who knows all the luxury brands is Teddy's OH, she has her own channel that's about women's style (I think).

The Blancpain isn't getting much love. :D The originals are far more balanced looking, less I dunno Eurotrash with cash or something. The brand engraved on the side is just tacky in my humble and they do look like a cheap watch in the flesh. Too shiny or something. The vintage Daytona... I can sort of see why they didn't sell very well back then. If you compare it to competitors at the time it is kinda bland as feck. The ones post 1990 down to today are much more interesting to just look at. "Douchebag Flex" :D The Lange got a fair few thumbs up. It's interesting that for a few of the non watch people it was the cheapest part, the strap that let a watch down. Plus without knowing the brands and just going by the look and feel in the hand some really cheap watches were seen as better than or the same as much more expensive watches. An Orient and a Tudor confused one guy who reckoned they were close in value and couldn't make up his mind which was the more expensive.

I've kinda seen similar with non watch people who commented on watches I've worn. Comments are rare, but when they come it's not for the expected watches and there's been a definite gender diff in comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,376 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

By coincidence one of my favourite YTers Tim at 'Case back watches' today has a review of the Vostok Amphibia Classics 170548 & 49.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2zTRTXEWtrc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The 2 part caseback is so the gasket isn't damaged when you take it on and off. Just learned that one on youtube yesterday

So tried on my friends Navitimer. Just cant figure out these watches, they are massive but dont wear too bad at all, the dial is the fussiest thing of all time but its somehow pretty. What are peoples thoughts on Navitimers? They are fairly expensive too

PXL-20210129-125450134.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,847 ✭✭✭✭893bet

I have a soft spot for them. A navitimer was the first good watch that really caught my eye. Had a lot of lust for Breitling in general at that time. Ended up with a Colt instead as a first “good” watch and never got a Navitimer......

Long history with the model, back to the late 40's IIRC and for a time used the same Valjoux movement as the Daytona. Cool slide rule dial for help with navigation. A couple even went up with the Mercury pilots in the early days of Apollo. Breitling used to be much more on the radar and Navitimers were very popular, but for some reason of late seemed to have dropped off the map when people discuss this kinda pricepoint? Fashion I suppose. The dials seem to get an either/or reaction, love or hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I suppose some like the history and some think the dial is too busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Sort of random question but is there anywhere in Ireland that would consider renting watches? I have a friend who’s quite conservative with his money and would love to buy a nice dress watch (like JLC ultra thin/Patek Calatrava as two examples he’s mentioned) but would really like to wear it for a weekend/week to really know if he wanted to buy outright.

I have a feeling the answer is no or there’s zero market for it but just thought I’d have a quick check here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,105 ✭✭✭✭unkel

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

Lenny the musical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Time

Fitz II wrote: »
    So tried on my friends Navitimer. Just cant figure out these watches, they are massive but dont wear too bad at all, the dial is the funniest thing of all time but its somehow pretty. What are peoples thoughts on Navitimers? They are fairly expensive too

I think they're a classic piece along the lines of a sub or a speedmaster in that they're quintessential icons of their brand, and recognisable to anyone with even a passing interest in watches. The dials are very busy, but it has a certain elegance to them which is really noticeable when you compare them to something like the citizen nighthawk. I find they wear too high off the wrist though personally.