Your line is weak but your point is strong: Liveline from 10th January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,346 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

Listening in now, been on a really busy building site the last week so haven't listened at all.

Joe is unbelievable how he manipulates this rubbish. No mention of personal responsibility.

Loves to talk about 90/95 years old as young but as soon as soon as an older person makes a decision that might be questionable, they've been 'taken advantage of' and 'didn't understand' etc.

Old people aren't all idiots. If they want to enjoy their hard earned money, have at it! It's theirs to spend or squander or squirrel or spunk on whatever they fancy. Just like young people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Missed todaze offering. Don't spoze anyone could put up a link to where duffy gets filletted plz ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Missed todaze offering. Don't spoze anyone could put up a link to where duffy gets filletted plz ?

I think Brendan starts about halfway in. I missed when he came on first.

https://www.rte.ie/radio/radioplayer/html5/#/podcasts/series/53

sligojoek wrote: »
    I think Brendan starts about halfway in. I missed when he came on first.

https://www.rte.ie/radio/radioplayer/html5/#/podcasts/series/53

Much appreciated SJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

Dis moight be woort a vidjoe sew ta speak.

Oi'll have a listeneen dere.

Duffy is an ignorant pr@@k. Burgess was 100% right

Dis moight be woort a vidjoe sew ta speak.

Oi'll have a listeneen dere.

Just Duffy's usual misplaced arrogance and blowing smoke up his own hole, most transparent programme in the country etc.

Duffy went after him like a dog with a bone.snipe,snipe,snipe. What a pro.!!

Just Duffy's usual misplaced arrogance and blowing smoke up his own hole, most transparent programme in the country etc.

The most transparent programme in the world...

Has to be a contender for the next thread title.

Questions a fella about BOI loans,and hey knew the chap wasn't employed by that bank ;)

What's even more infuriating are the entitled twats who ended up being "surprised" that Auntie Bridie's loan, which went ignored and unpaid for a decade or more, is eating into their inheritance.

Oh, I shall suggest it on both our behalfs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

From what I heard over the last few days not one of these people who were taken advantage of and forced against their will to take money from the nasty fraudsters banks paid any interest or capital repayments on their loans (capital if they changed their minds and wanted to exit or repay the loan).

If you think about that it’s no different to taking out a mortgage, refusing to make any payments on it, living in the house, then when the bank eventually come to repossess you ring Joe and play the mental health card or some woke shoyte like Maeve-Karen and her mansuits and say you were discriminated against and EXPECT to keep living in the house without paying anything back and then pass the house onto your chislers when you die.....and Joe saying you’re right and ENTITLED to do dat so to speak. Madness.

The adult Childers of de vulnerable old peeple didn’t cover themselves in glory either in their contributions today. “My vulnerable poor mudder Joe was forced at gunpoint to take out this loan to pay for my wedding and the deposit for the house I live in and her new Jaguar and used her house - my inheritance don’t you know - as security for this. Now that’s she’s passed I find out that I am not getting her lovely house in Rathgar as a nest egg for myself. It’s a disgrace! I’m ENTITLED to have my cake and eat it too!”. Not one of the people I heard sounded sincere about caring for the parent, it was all about what they’d “lost” from their inheritance.:rolleyes:

Duffy arguing with BB's figures
    Then cuts him off for an ad ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

furiousox wrote: »
    Joe after today's show. :pac:

541226.jpg

You might think that, but I guarantee you Duffy thinks he won the argument.

Duffys understanding is three times the loan amount ,end of..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,960 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Duffys understanding is three times the loan amount ,end of..

I suppose simple folk have to keep things simple.

Despite the fact we have calculators which can easily tell you how much X will cost you if borrowed over Y years at Z%.

Burgess was using the calculator today and giving REAL figures, Duffy and all the contributors were using flexible numbers.

And notably, Brendan Burgess pointed out that he had sent data to Liveline before it came in air so that Joe could familiarise himself with it, lol. Joe hadn't even crossed de East Link at that point.

Joe didn't want to hear a word about the brochure. If that brochure was backing up Joe's stance he'd be reading it ad nauseum. Is it on his twitter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Jeff2

It's truly is worth listening back to in order to understand the liveline callers and how the show is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Another great thats needs to feature on de Liveline Soundboard.

Did Joe take out one of these loans to pay de printing fees for one of his bukes mewonders? He did say he "lost de pension twice". Some unwise investment.

I'm always sorry meself I didn't buy dat €98,000 gaff in Monaco in 2005. The mother had the page spread out in front of me, urging me to book my interest there and then; fancied a weekend there anyway and to view property would have been like sorrow & nipple clamps combined are to Joe. Worth multiples now. He could have invested in that, but probably went for a Hobbs' Cape Verde instead.

A lot of the movers and shakers went for Anglo.

"Babe" O'Keeffe lost a fair wedge-I won't mention a figure here as we might get into terruble

"Oim presenteddin' a LOIVE progaramme!"

"I sent them in half an hour ago, Joe! (i.e well before the show aired.)

BTW, Mr. Burgess is no infallible guru either, he ran a forum (remember them ;)) called askaboutmoney, and trumpeted boom tactics even as the bust got bustier.

That said, he had valid arguments today, that he didn't/couldn't articulate as well as he might have liked.

The interruptions from the entitled were even more infuriating than Duffy's input, BB was shouted down every time he tried to make a point, and in fairness to him, he was very reasonable in his delivery.

Good radio for a while though, even if it was unintentional, someone mentioned fist shaking moments here in the last day or two, and Mr. Burgess alluded to his own BP as well today. They're right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,182 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Just saying, who remembers what was on the menu a couple of weeks ago. These shows are for the moment and then move on to the next thing.

Very easy to do when the topic is changed from say mudder and baby homes. Who remembers that now, even though it was given a whole week of misery.

I rarely listen to Joey the lips, but am often guided by comments here as to whether is is GOLD or not, and for that I thank you all.

As for the Sky lad whingeing yesterday. You can buy a half arsed satellite box for about 30e and all his missing channels are there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

sligojoek wrote: »
    As for the Sky lad whingeing yesterday. You can buy a half arsed satellite box for about 30e and all his missing channels are there.

Following this thread I bought the box mentioned, it's the absolute business, I'm probably not even using half of the stuff it can do, well worth buying.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057925678

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Clon63

All been said. Pure Gold!!

Could be a legend of a week if he goes back to cover the promised story of the undertakers making a fortune. Just imagine Karen complaining about her Mawm taking out a Lifeloan to pay for the funeral of her dreams. 'Its a disgrace Joe'

Or maybe we might get to hear from another friend of the show/station Erica in her foreva home complaining that she is being discriminated against by not getting a Lifeline Loan on her foreva home and how it has impacted on her mental health. 'Its a disgrace Joe. Where's my Lifetime Loan on my Foreva Home?'

Missed the last 20 minutes so listening back now.

I remember yer one saying "elderly vulnerable people". My father is 84 and spent today working on a business proposal for a potential client. He turned to me at the time and said "the only way I'm vulnerable is a strong wind could blow me over, but I'm well able to read terms and conditions".

Sounds like some of these callers are making up numbers.