Hollywood careers that just ended abruptly

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

Post 1945 a host of actors arrived in Hollywood such as Kirk Douglas, Lee Marvin, Paul Newman, Ernest Borgnine, Charles Bronson, Audie Murphy etc who had fought in WW2 and acted in WW2 movies.

They were real tough dashing men who had seen combat were suffering from PTSD heavy boozers serial womanizers could play vulnerable romantic leads and convincing soldiers cops cowboys gangsters and heroes.
    Men and boys wanted to be like them and woman swooned over them.
    Somewhere along the line that earthiness was gone.

The biggest stars of the 1960s 1970s 1980s and 1990s like Clint Eastwood, Robert Redford, Steve McQueen, Warren Beatty, Robert De Niro, Bruce Willis, Sean Connery, Sylvester Stallone, Kurt Russell, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Brad Pitt and Tom Cruise grew up in this masculine WW2 environment.

It hasn't disappeared in the real world. Guys like that still exist but they aren't being recruited by Hollywood. However leading men under 40 these days are pretty not handsome, do not have that raw masculinity and when they try to act that way on screen it comes across as phoney.

The likes of Chris Hemsworth for instance although muscle bound and Aussie is a boring drip. His equivalent in the 1940s and 1950s would have been Victor Mature or Charlton Heston or Robert Taylor who oozed charisma.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Real men have PTSD? That's a ... unique angle. Shades of "we need another war to sort the men out" reduction.

All Hollywood is artifice and veneer, that includes the rolling version of heroism or masculinity. Fashions change, and TBH if you're looking for the "broken hero" mould, it still exists. Liam Neesons bank balance is testament to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭dubstepper

Denzel Washington's movies are generally decent too.

100%.I re-watched 'Man on fire' recently and was struck by how he made a revenge style movie into something so much more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,953 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

pixelburp wrote: »
    Real men have PTSD? That's a ... unique angle. Shades of "we need another war to sort the men out" reduction.

All Hollywood is artifice and veneer, that includes the rolling version of heroism or masculinity. Fashions change, and TBH if you're looking for the "broken hero" mould, it still exists. Liam Neesons bank balance is testament to that.

there's a lot to be said for it...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

there's a lot to be said for it...

It would certainly thin out the ranks on the internet of posturing keyboard manly men. But I suspect many would suddenly discover hitherto unknown medical conditions preventing proof of their manliness.

I certainly prefer my male heroes of the John Wick mould than the steroid monsters of the 80s. That shít wrecks your body. Give me beautiful Keanu gunning down the baddies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,207 ✭✭✭✭bnt

The way I see it, if a parent - usually the mother - takes time off or scales back (in quantity or quality), that’s not really unusual or remarkable. Having the resources to keep working when you have young children is a variable e.g. I mentioned Phoebe Cates as an example of someone who chose to stop working. By contrast, Anne Hathaway has been working less but seems to be juggling work and kids very well.

Someone like Rick Moranis was remarkable because it is so unusual to see the father as the sole parent in Hollywood, but he could afford the time off after a string of hits.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Clive Owen ,tipped for big things but never really got there, good actor

A few of the people mentioned in this thread including Clive have appeared in Curb your Enthusiasm,wonder was Larry running a programme for waifs and strays who had their career cancelled for various things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,224 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Owen and Farrell are similar in that they were leading men who didn't quite make the A-list. After a certain age they found themselves taking more character and supporting roles, or lead roles in smaller movies (Farrell has been in number of Yorgos Lanthimos movies like The Lobster). Also TV. They're both still fairly busy. As someone mentioned, Owen was in the running to be James Bond after Pierce Brosnan but the casting dragged on and I think he dropped out.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,631 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Nitrogan wrote: »
    Patrick Bergin
    Looked like he was making a name for himself with Sleeping with the Enemy and Patriot Games, then he disappeared.

If they were making a film about Ian Bailey, they should cast Bergin :)

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭MildThing84

Robert Arkins of the Commitments fame. Really thought he would go on to star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

Denzel Washington's movies are generally decent too.

Denzel will be 70 in a few years time. He hardly fits into the modern day actor category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Wedwood wrote: »
    On a slightly different angle, where have all the proper A list movie stars gone ? There’s virtually no movie stars today who you would go to a movie on their star power alone.
    Are we living in an era where the true star of a lot of tent pole movies is the intellectual property the studio has decided to produce their movie around?

Combined with the dawn of prestige TV I think it's a big reason why there seems to be a lack of traditional A list movie stars these days.

russel crowe

eh hes starring in a movie that was released in the past few months. one of the few cinema released in fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭joe40

Wedwood wrote: »
    On a slightly different angle, where have all the proper A list movie stars gone ? There’s virtually no movie stars today who you would go to a movie on their star power alone.

Every decade since movies began have had mega stars who had movies built around them, but virtually nothing like that since the turn of the century.

Examples:
    30s/40s James Cagney, Humphrey Bogarde, Cary Grant
    50s/60s John Wayne, Katherine Hepburn, Marlon Brando
    70s/80/s Robert DeNiro, Clint Eastwood, Meryl Streep, Harrison Ford

The closest modern equivalent I can think of is Tom Hanks, but you could argue he’s part of the gang of fading stars from the 70s/80s/90s which include Stallone/Swarzenegger/Roberts/Nicholson etc.

I can’t think of any movie actor or actress under the age of 40 who’s next movie I’m waiting to see.

I was going to say Matt Damon, then I remembered he's the same age as me.
    In my mind I'm still under 40.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭The Inbetween is mine

joe40 wrote: »

No, you're correct.... he's been reduced to doing ads for grocery stores the poor sod

There are no stars because Hollywood isn't driven by star power alone anymore,. Look at the movies that succeed and it's not because of who they star, not completely. Of course a Big Name will carry a certain amount of water but by and large the strength lies in a market filled predominantly with IPs; Marvels, Star Wars, Harry Potters, etc etc etc. For a while you had that gold Rush for "shared universes" You can debate the merits of that business model but it ain't cos of some pivot from masculine ideals of leading men. Its just the executive discussion isn't "what can Arnie star in?", but "what IP do we own we can adapt?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Minime2.5

Denzel will be 70 in a few years time. He hardly fits into the modern day actor category.

if hes making movies in modern day times then his age has nothing to do with it

Emma Stone another whose star has faded

Elisha Cutebert. Another very hot actress that sunk into oblivion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,953 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Judge reinhold

Edit-
    You know things aren’t great when there’s a TV movie version of the movie you’re most famous for and you’re the only original cast member in it :)

Bev hills cop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

Minime2.5 wrote: »
    if hes making movies in modern day times then his age has nothing to do with it

Ok. But the original poster on this particular topic was referring to leading actors under 40.
    But ya, I've had a recent run of Denzel movies myself. Never disappoints. Have to watch Fences yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭El Duda

Minime2.5 wrote: »
    Emma Stone another whose star has faded

You mean Emma Stone who was nominated for an academy award in 2019 and is currently in line to play Cruella de Vil in the next Disney Live action remake/reboot.

That Emma Stone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Pretty much at least one decent film a year for the past 20 years is pretty modern.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

eh hes starring in a movie that was released in the past few months. one of the few cinema released in fact.

Unhinged? Decent movie to pass the time. Bit silly in places but entertaining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Thought Edward Norton had disappeared, but no just doing some incognito roles in the likes of the Grand Budapest Hotel.

🙈🙉🙊

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭Morathi

Thought Edward Norton had disappeared, but no just doing some incognito roles in the likes of the Grand Budapest Hotel.

Apparently another one of those "difficult to work with" actors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,156 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I think Leo DiCaprio would be considered a huge movie star headliner right now. He's box office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,455 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

El Duda wrote: »
    You mean Emma Stone who was nominated for an academy award in 2019 and is currently in line to play Cruella de Vil in the next Disney Live action remake/reboot.

That Emma Stone?

And also starred in the relatively recently released (2019), and every entertaining, Zombieland Double Tap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭dubstepper

joe40 wrote: »

Also not sure I would say Matt Damon is in the rarefied elite tier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Teri Hatcher.

Edward Furlong seems to be at the B-movies for years.