weldoninhio wrote: » Denzel Washington's movies are generally decent too.
pixelburp wrote: » Real men have PTSD? That's a ... unique angle. Shades of "we need another war to sort the men out" reduction. All Hollywood is artifice and veneer, that includes the rolling version of heroism or masculinity. Fashions change, and TBH if you're looking for the "broken hero" mould, it still exists. Liam Neesons bank balance is testament to that.
Ash.J.Williams wrote: » there's a lot to be said for it...
RandomViewer wrote: » Clive Owen ,tipped for big things but never really got there, good actor
Nitrogan wrote: » Patrick Bergin Looked like he was making a name for himself with Sleeping with the Enemy and Patriot Games, then he disappeared.
Wedwood wrote: » On a slightly different angle, where have all the proper A list movie stars gone ? There’s virtually no movie stars today who you would go to a movie on their star power alone.
the_pen_turner wrote: » russel crowe
Wedwood wrote: » On a slightly different angle, where have all the proper A list movie stars gone ? There’s virtually no movie stars today who you would go to a movie on their star power alone. Every decade since movies began have had mega stars who had movies built around them, but virtually nothing like that since the turn of the century. Examples: 30s/40s James Cagney, Humphrey Bogarde, Cary Grant 50s/60s John Wayne, Katherine Hepburn, Marlon Brando 70s/80/s Robert DeNiro, Clint Eastwood, Meryl Streep, Harrison Ford The closest modern equivalent I can think of is Tom Hanks, but you could argue he’s part of the gang of fading stars from the 70s/80s/90s which include Stallone/Swarzenegger/Roberts/Nicholson etc. I can’t think of any movie actor or actress under the age of 40 who’s next movie I’m waiting to see.
joe40 wrote: » I was going to say Matt Damon, then I remembered he's the same age as me. In my mind I'm still under 40.
flasher0030 wrote: » Denzel will be 70 in a few years time. He hardly fits into the modern day actor category.
Minime2.5 wrote: » if hes making movies in modern day times then his age has nothing to do with it
Minime2.5 wrote: » Emma Stone another whose star has faded
Niner leprauchan wrote: » eh hes starring in a movie that was released in the past few months. one of the few cinema released in fact.
Montage of Feck wrote: » Thought Edward Norton had disappeared, but no just doing some incognito roles in the likes of the Grand Budapest Hotel.
El Duda wrote: » You mean Emma Stone who was nominated for an academy award in 2019 and is currently in line to play Cruella de Vil in the next Disney Live action remake/reboot. That Emma Stone?