Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Graham wrote: »
    Naturally, across the entire spectrum of the population.

Of course the irony is we have likely lost, and will continue to loose more life years from the young lives on hold indefinitely than we can ever prolong for those past live expectancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Lundstram wrote: »
    Except when it rains or gets a bit cold.

Or dancing on rooftops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Yeah your man already said that. It’s still not true no matter how many of you say it.

Empty rhetoric.

I'm a bit confused.

So you think you are worse off than someone who has died from the virus?

Because that's crazy talk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Multipass wrote: »
    Tell me about it. My teenager has failed the test twice since this all started, in large part because there’s been so much time between driving tests, and very very few lessons available. I can’t insure her on my car as I can’t afford the outrageous amount, She needs to pass the test in order to get to work and pay for her own insurance. But she has had basically no practice for an entire year, this could go on for years.

If she had a test twice in under a year. Are there not good odds she will be sorted soon enough..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Or dancing on rooftops

Seen that. Much like the nurses doing dancing TikToks or sympathy garnering on Twitter. Run off their feet they are. #frontlineheroes

They won’t be dancing when PS salaries and pensions get a nice haircut once all this ends.

Paschal’s money tree won’t keep giving forever.

Arghus wrote: »
    No, just their lives.

If they’re not careful. They’ll be grand if they lay low.

Would actually be better for them in the longer term. A better economy will help them in their remaining years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

Except when it rains or gets a bit cold.

Empty rhetoric without evidence. Provide proof or else this is just a load of hyperbole. Some might even describe your posts as being hysterical.

Of course the irony is we have likely lost, and will continue to loose more life years from the young lives on hold indefinitely than we can ever prolong for those past live expectancy.

We likely haven't.

Empty rhetoric without evidence. Provide proof or else this is just a load of hyperbole. Some might even describe your posts as being hysterical.

Sorry I don’t have a link to the Gardai sitting in their cars when it rains.

There’s a permanent checkpoint on my way to work. Rain or a bit nippy = sitting in their car with their blue lights on. Mild and no rain = the boys are out.

That’s the best I can do for you. Just my personal experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

beauf wrote: »
    If she had a test twice in under a year. Are there not good odds she will be sorted soon enough..

First test was just before first lockdown, second was in the summer. The problem she has is more with the driving schools, it has been almost impossible to get slots. I think she had 2 or 3 lessons in between tests. If she gets a test appointment tomorrow she will fail as she hasn’t sat behind the wheel since the summer.

Still no sign of that science you mentioned earlier? We are waiting!

There is a big difference, thankfully, between Covid and Ebola, that is the point that was being made...but go on, engage in hyperbole if you must!!!

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41562-020-01009-0

https://www.who.int/bulletin/online_first/20-256701.pdf

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7268966/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

It feels like March is not that far away but in other ways it might as well be a different year altogether. Spring will have sprung, the evenings will be getting longer, birds will be chirping, cases declining, hospitals looking better and it’ll also mark one whole year since restrictions first came into effect and I believe that will have a massive impact psychologically on the nation. There will be a realisation that people have spent one whole year of their lives on hold for this and so any extension would want to be well warranted. Leo is saying we’ll be moving to level 4.1, so without outdoor dining or possible outdoor meet ups. So level 5 then with a fake moustache and glasses. How is that meant to boost the morale of the country exactly? When the mood is as low as it is now in January they have it in for themselves in March if they say oh good job guys, good but not good enough, sure we might as well keep ye in this chokehold for another month.. a year down the fcuking road with no end or hope in sight.
    It will not be well received.

Sorry I don’t have a link to the Gardai sitting in their cars when it rains.

There’s a permanent checkpoint on my way to work. Rain or a bit nippy = sitting in their car with their blue lights on. Mild and no rain = the boys are out.

That’s the best I can do for you. Just my personal experience.

No proof so just empty rhetoric. Par for the course with you. BTW I see you have had another spiteful rant at the nurses this evening. At this stage I imagine you must be running out of establishment figures to moan about.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Seen that. Much like the nurses doing dancing TikToks or sympathy garnering on Twitter. Run off their feet they are. #frontlineheroes

You're seriously bashing the nurses now?

It looks like you've just abandoned all attempts at reasoned debate about restrictions in favour of lashing out at anyone you think might disagree with your position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Gael23 wrote: »
    We have now past the point where the cure is worse than the disease.
    We need to open up once the over 70d are vaccinated and accept that unfortunately some people are going to die

There appears to be a widely accepted belief that everybody over 70 will die if they come within speaking distance of anybody else......irrespective of the Covid status.

Not every 70 year old is ailing,or vulnerable and many over 70's are quite capable of giving a lardy 20 something more than a run (or swim) for their money.

Currently however,the prevailing view suggests that the predominant role of septegenarian is to be Vulnerable...and if they don't feel that way,then a pox upon them for their healthy outlook.

Jonathan Sumption,the ex UK Law Lord,made a valid point when he noted that the current usage of long established Emergency Legislation flies counter to the long established methodology of it's use in past epi/pandemics.

Such legislation was always intended to facilitate the identification,isolation and treatment of SICK people,rather than be (mis)used to effectively impose new wide-ranging restrictions on the general populace,be they ailing or not.

The suggestion,from high ranking Goverment figures that Everybody should consider themselves infected,and potentially transmissive,is one spin off from the "lockdown" mindset that thrown more fuel onto the already well stoked fire.

Meanwhile,ticking over in the background......

https://covid19ireland-geohive.hub.arcgis.com/pages/hospitals-icu--testing

Total Tests Completed
    Total Positive Tests
    Total Positive Rate (%)

THe CSO,as ever,manage to be factual and dispassionate,whilst also allowing Positivity to be underlined.

https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/fp/fp-ac19/aprofileofcovid-19inireland-usingcensus2016householddatatoanalysecovid-19casesfrommarchtonovember2020/
    General Health Status of POSITIVE Cases .

86% - Good/Very Good

9% - Fair

2& - Bad/Very Bad

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

We really need the UK people to start pushing their government to open up, we seem to mirror most things they do so I suspect us as a people or our government will take a see what others do first approach. You can be sure if restrictions are lifted in any meaningful way in the UK, the pressure will come on Ireland by our people to follow suit.

And remember they are a lot further down the down the line regarding vaccines. Brexit really could not have come at a better time for them. Perfect timing in fact. We have to be nannyed by the EU.

Interesting times ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

They won’t be dancing when PS salaries and pensions get a nice haircut once all this ends.

Paschal’s money tree won’t keep giving forever.

How do you contribute to society yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Malcomex

It feels like March is not that far away but in other ways it might as well be a different year altogether. Spring will have sprung, the evenings will be getting longer, birds will be chirping, cases declining, hospitals looking better and it’ll also mark one whole year since restrictions first came into effect and I believe that will have a massive impact psychologically on the nation. There will be a realisation that people have spent one whole year of their lives on hold for this and so any extension would want to be well warranted. Leo is saying we’ll be moving to level 4.1, so without outdoor dining or possible outdoor meet ups. So level 5 then with a fake moustache and glasses. How is that meant to boost the morale of the country exactly? When the mood is as low as it is now in January they have it in for themselves in March if they say oh good job guys, good but not good enough, sure we might as well keep ye in this chokehold for another month.. a year down the fcuking road with no end or hope in sight.

I hate the SD and the Masks , they're very anti-social for the social people among us

To some they are an irrelevance

They are an easy restriction to retain and cost the government nothing and unfortunately I'm beginning to think they're here to stay what with the variants and uncertainty over transmission in general

AlekSmart wrote: »
    There appears to be a widely accepted belief that everybody over 70 will die if they come within speaking distance of anybody else......irrespective of the Covid status.

No there isn't.

If you are struggling with morale this thread is the wrong place to be. It's revelling in gloom and doom the end of the world is nigh etc.

We really need the UK people to start pushing their government to open up, we seem to mirror most things they do

I expect we'll carry on with varying levels of restrictions into the second half of this year.

There will be ongoing tantrums from some quarters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

It looks like you've just abandoned all attempts at reasoned debate about restrictions in favour of lashing out at anyone you think might disagree with your position.

Its one of the go to arguments :D I wonder how many tiktok videos were made as a percentage of hospitals around the globe. Hmmmm...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Malcomex

They have us locked down now and the vaccines are being dispensed albeit very slowly

Its going to be a very slow unwind until we reach herd immunity

The government will be wary of having to backtrack and the public mood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Now? Going by his posting history he has been doing just that for a long time.

Its one of the go to arguments :D I wonder how many tiktok videos were made as a percentage of hospitals around the globe. Hmmmm...

I just don't see the point they're trying to make.

Restrictions are wrong because TikTok videos? :confused:

froog wrote: »
    How do you contribute to society yourself?

Weird question and I’m not sure what kind of answer you want but I’ll try.

I’ve a full time job and I’ve a part-time job (1 night per week), as you can imagine I pay a lot of tax as a single person (not married).

I’m in third year of a Bachelors of Arts degree in accounting. I pay all of this myself as part time college students get no support if they have a job. All online now but full fees were still charged. And yes that peed me off.

I play Gaelic football with my club. I miss that more than anything else. I also was training the u12s.

I’ve never been in trouble with the Gardai. I think a lot of them are lazy and incompetent but I’m civil to them, as everyone should be.

So there you go, I’ve no idea why you asked but that’s my lot.

Compared to some people I don’t contribute much to society but I work, pay tax and stay out of trouble. That’s a pretty good contribution in my book.

some of the posters here are just about moving into stage 2 of the grief cycle. it's progress I guess.

kubler-ross.jpg

AlekSmart wrote: »
    There appears to be a widely accepted belief that everybody over 70 will die if they come within speaking distance of anybody else......irrespective of the Covid status....

Many in this thread think anyone over 30 is a goner....

This thread = Logan's Run...

https://youtu.be/USADM5Gk9Gs

Malcomex wrote: »
    I hate the SD and the Masks , they're very anti-social for the social people among us

To some they are an irrelevance

They are an easy restriction to retain and cost the government nothing and unfortunately I'm beginning to think they're here to stay what with the variants and uncertainty over transmission in general

What exactly is your issue with wearing masks? BTW you are quite correct when you state the wearing of them will be here to stay at least in public indoor places.