Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Its comedy at this stage! Jesus god help us all of within our lifetime, if we are hit by something resembling even close to a serious virus!

It's not comedy, it's business. Surely you know papers print what sells. If printing stories on covid saw sales drop they would not be printing them to the degree they are.
    Yes, there is an agenda, but it's financial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,662 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

beauf wrote: »
    That estimate was from Mar 11, 2020.

Ah yes.

The science has changed greatly but our approach got much worse.

Leo initially said 80,000 deaths by Summer 2020 when he made his announcement in March 2020.

Turns out more people died in 2018 than 2020.

hamburgham wrote: »
    Who can the mob target next?

Maybe the Gardai should go after fat people and force them to go on a diet in the interests of their own health.

Not the worst idea.

This virus predominantly effects obesity and old age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,262 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Ah yes.

Leo initially said 80,000 deaths by Summer 2002 when he made his announcement in March 2020.

Time travelling eh?

Still one of your better posts tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

pjohnson wrote: »
    Time travelling eh?

Still one of your better posts tbf.

is nitpicking a typo really the best counter argument you have?

ypres5 wrote: »

Yes. It’s one of his better posts though

Wasnt sure if it was a typo or not. Thought he was tryna spin facts/stats again to suit his agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

TobyHolmes wrote: »
    haha yeah in fairness to the UK (pains me to do so lol) they have vaccinated over 7 million people. Compare that to the US with approx 2 million and the EU's paltry numbers - its a joke

That's about the only thing Boris has managed correctly. They've the highest death rate in the whole of Europe.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,567 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Arghus wrote: »
    It's great to know how they are getting on in North Hampshire and North Dakota and so on.

The Dakota's are being used an example by right wing anti mask loons in the States as an example that masks don't work.

Neither state implemented any sort of heavy restrictions and it's the reason they have some of the highest deaths and hospitalizations per capita in the US.

North Dakota implemented a mask mandate in November and by every single metric since they are out performing South Dakota.

Comparisons with Ireland or California is nonsensical gibberish.

I supported the lock down post Christmas. There was a need and we are seeing the results.

However the narrative in recent days is nuts. No other country in the world is encouraging more restrictions. Rather than looking for hope they are seeking despair.

Anyway - anyway one else consider emigrating?

Are we encouraging more restrictions? Are we not simply keeping the current ones?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

GazzaL wrote: »
    This approach is crippling the economy, crippling children's education, crippling mental health, and generally crippling our society.
    GazzaL wrote: »
    Great to see non-essential construction back this morning. You couldn't move in the garage with the amount of lads getting breakfast rolls, teas and coffees. It was at Celtic Tiger levels.

That was a scary few minutes. Now the boom is back :pac:

Dickie10 wrote: »
    yeah i will be going on the beer all over Ulster in summer when they are fully opened and we are still messing around til october

All over Ulster? Donegal, Cavan and Monaghan on the list?

I don't think anyone had any idea about how this was going to play out at the start. There was a lot of mistrust in the information China was providing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Ah yes.

Leo initially said 80,000 deaths by Summer 2020 when he made his announcement in March 2020.

Perhaps there was another deadly pandemic in 2018? Deadlier than this rampant covid with its 0.2% mortality rate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Perhaps there was another deadly pandemic in 2018? Deadlier than this rampant covid with its 0.2% mortality rate?

I'm not entirely sure are you complaining that we couldn't do better and have higher mortality figures. Certainly that seems what many in this thread are aiming for, and disappointed by.

"Nothing we've done worked.... Lockdown didn't work... Look at the disappointing mortality figures..." Etc.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Leo initially said 80,000 deaths by Summer 2020 when he made his announcement in March 2020

Nope, he didn't say that.

Ah yes.

He actually was taking about worse case scenario estimates not that it would happen. As advised by others. Which is very different, but don't quote it properly.

I'm not sure how the approach was worse in 2020 if LESS people died.

hamburgham wrote: »
    Who can the mob target next?

Maybe the Gardai should go after fat people and force them to go on a diet in the interests of their own health.

What would be the point. According to this thread it's only people over 70 that are effected by it, and they just disappear. There is no impact to anyone else than this. Apparently.

In fairness you can see where Fintan was coming from

"The Taoiseach no longer thinks there will be 15 thousand confirmed cases of the coronavirus in Ireland by the end of the month.

Leo Varadkar made the prediction less than 10 days ago.

There are currently 1,329 cases here resulting in seven deaths."

https://www.live95fm.ie/news/live95-news/taoiseach-no-longer-predicts-15000-cases-of-coronavirus-by-end-of-month/

Health Minister Simon Harris said that he is taking seriously the advice of disease expert Professor Sam McConkey who predicted there could be between 80,000 and 120,000 deaths in Ireland from coronavirus.

McConkey, head of the department of international health and tropical medicine at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, told RTE that coronavirus “could be like the Spanish flu, the Irish Civil War and the 1929 stock market crash all at once.”

https://www.irishcentral.com/news/politics/coronavirus-irish-threat-covid19-deaths

None of it materialised, unsurprisingly, and these same "experts" as they love to be called in this thread who are clearly clueless, just continue to go on these Claire Byrne shows and run their mouth.

Can som1 please tell why Sam McConkey is more of an expert than me? Have you seen me draw comparisons between covid and Spanish flu, civil war and stock market crash at once? I am not that cuckoo. The expert though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Graham wrote: »
    Nope, he didn't say that.

He said 85,000 could die . (Tbf not summer 2020 but I reckon Leo’s slightly out on his death estimates)

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/up-to-85000-irish-people-could-die-from-coronavirus-in-worst-case-scenario-taoiseach-indicates-as-three-more-diagnosed-39029363.html

dalyboy wrote: »

Lol.

Wow.

Graham you are right. he didnt say 80k. he said 85k.

Can som1 please tell why Sam McConkey is more of an expert than me? Have you seen me draw comparisons between covid and Spanish flu, civil war and stock market crash at once? I am not that cuckoo. The expert though....

Well he's a "....doctor specialising in internal medicine, tropical medicine, and infectious disease..."

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samuel_McConkey

By all means share your own CV for comparison...

None of it materialised, unsurprisingly, ........

Do you in general assume the worst case scenario is definitely going to happen?

No. And nor should government policy makers.

You mean they should qualify such statements by saying things like "the worse case scenario could be"?

They actually do that, unfortunately you'll still get individuals with an inability or unwillingness to comprehend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

it wasn't framed as worst case so much as what was going to happen if we didnt lock down

apart from the use of words/phrases like "worst case scenario" and "could" :rolleyes:

Of course they should. We were dealing with something unprecedented. Look at the outrage in the UK among people there when they were slow to implement lockdown. The government was turned on for not being proactive enough.

You are right. this truly is an unprecedented hysteria for a very mild virus with 0.2% mortality rate.

Resulting in no excess deaths.

Where is the cost benefit analysis of a lockdown? How can you accept such damage to the nation, to children's education, to employment, to way of life without a cost benefit analysis of what we are doing?? Does it not concern you that all that politicians have done is been talking to Irish Times and Independent, since March?

Disgraceful.

But we did not know what the mortality rate would be. China was not being transparent and whistleblowers in China were going missing.