Your line is weak but your point is strong: Liveline from 10th January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

As if by magic I got this just now from BOI:

http://boimedia.which50.com/lp/e/3486/b578a0b5438dbe6d8027c2bfaf4a6d33/50713968

Check yourself the interest rate so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,907 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Ally Dick wrote: »
    I take out a lifeloan in 2005 to give my children money for deposits on houses. Their houses are flying up in value. Am I missing something?

Yeah.

They would have bought at very close to the top of the market.

Fifteen years later I'd say they're just about out of negative equity at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,116 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Yeah schools are open. There were 6 cases detected in Shanghai on Friday and they had an immediate local lockdown. None of your "From Midnight on thursday" guff Mehole Martin announces. An immediate lockdown starts now. Also, they had forced hotel quaratining of people arriving into the country as early as last March.

We are only talking about it now.

Probably the Chinese way isn't a great example to follow, or maybe it is... but I've allways found a kind of "cant do" attitude here rather than a "can do" attitude. If the Irish had lived in the Netherlands it'd all be underwater now, or I can't see us like the Berliners after the war building an airport allmost out of nothing to get supplies in or even the British surviving the blitz with their can-do stiff upper lip. I find when you ask someone to do a job for you here half the time they end up telling me it can't be done an I end up doing it myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭golondrinas1

Probably the Chinese way isn't a great example to follow, or maybe it is... but I've allways found a kind of "cant do" attitude here rather than a "can do" attitude. If the Irish had lived in the Netherlands it'd all be underwater now, or I can't see us like the Berliners after the war building an airport allmost out of nothing to get supplies in or even the British surviving the blitz with their can-do stiff upper lip. I find when you ask someone to do a job for you here half the time they end up telling me it can't be done an I end up doing it myself

Comes from the attitude " That's not on my job. ".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

NO 40
    JOES BEAUTY FULL MIIND

rip my uncle buried today. had to help as casket was lead and steel lined.
    rip uncle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Alfred123

Lols .. so true this !
    I notice it esp with Polish folk in Ireland. They have something that amounts to a work ethic compared with us lot.

We are left well behind in the dust

I think Americans like our "ah shure you'll be grand .... " attitude tho.
    Feckless like
    So there is that ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Clon63

All these youngsters at 65 that Joe now thinks need help making a pretty basic financial decision. Still cant figure out when a youngster becomes a petal.

Betya Andy from yesterday didnt take out a Lifetime Loan. Would have been good to have him back on today for his opinion. Work of tbe devil, so to speak.

Now that Joe is in tbat age group maybe he might consider a Lifetime Loan to ease him through his retirement given his retirement portfolio has been wiped out not once but twice. So unfortunate he is given that at least this time tbe stock market and investments have pretty much kept their value. Such an unfortunate working class hero.

At least he has a new book fro. Today - The Childer of the Dispossesed Petals by the bad bad Bankers (Working For Very Reputable Companies).

3 solid shows in a row and 3 different producers. Sian O Gorman produced today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,182 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Joey seems to be moving away from mudder/baby homes and death and misery guts for a while.

He is just having a breakeen I suppose for his mental health. Forget about the listeners they don't count.

Irony is most listeners love a bit of a spat like the gutterwoman and dat. Will he ever realise that this show should be engaging and entertaining and get people shaking their fists at the radio!

No, you're dead right. My mother used to say if the Dutch lived in Ireland they would feed the rest of Europe.

In China when the government tells you to wear a mask, everyone wears a mask. I even saw people wearing masks in Shanghai two years ago, a hangover from SARS and tbh I'll continue to wear my face gaiter on public transport even after things return to normal.

My sister works in retail here and has heard every excuse under the sun for not wearing a mask. Some things she's been told:

"It's against my religion"
    "Sure its not a pandemic, its a scamdemic"
    "I left the mask in the car. I'm only buying a bath mat, I'll be 2 minutes"
    "You cant make me wear one as it infringes on my civil liberties"

My father says if you want to do anything in Ireland a committee immediately forms to stop it.

You saw similar behaviour in the UK when they got the snow. Hundreds flocked to some hill somewhere to go sledding and Sky news were interviewing people asking why they thought it was safe and there was a bit where a girl said it was important for their mental health and they were social distancing, and as she said it, a guy walked past her within a foot of her. Just walked past while she was on air.

dvcireland wrote: »
    this caller on his way to a non-chinese facility for re-education

Yeah, joe will be talking to him one year from today from his cell.

Feckin eejit.

Jailcell, not cellphone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭bmorrissey

PieOhMy wrote: »

Im very hot and cold on gift grub, but his Duffy skits are brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Holidays

BOI loans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Today:

People complaining about people going to Lanzagrotty during the pandemic

An Irish doctor experienced more stringent checks leaving Oz than he did arriving in Ireland.

Lifeloans. Joe didn't get BOI closed down yesterday, but maybe today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,469 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

1) Holiers, Lanzasnotti, i'm worth it.
    2) Life loan, treat yourself to a new SUV, conservatory, trip to a country you cannot pick out on a map

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,469 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Brilliant!

i have an old gift grub of Joe, featuring a succession of whingers ringing Joe to moan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,314 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Red Fred wrote: »
    Today:

An Irish doctor experienced more stringent checks leaving Oz than he did arriving in Ireland.

Has he found more people who arrived back from 20 years of their parental funded back packing tour around Oz and the Costa Del Sol to spend the rest of their inheritance only to find that maw n paw's gaff didn't snuff it but their Gaff is being called in by the bank and it's all over before their self isolation is over?

dvcireland wrote: »
    i have an old gift grub of Joe, featuring a succession of whingers ringing Joe to moan

Don't you just mean that you found a tape recording of Liveline from ten years ago?

Red Fred wrote: »
    Today:

But sure Lanzarotte is an island, the virus can't get there.

Next time I go to Lanzarote I want to head here:

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/destinations/europe/spain/canary-islands/lanzarote/articles/la-graciosa-why-visit-facts/

No whackers or salta deerts here, accommodation is simple & classy and it's all about the sparkling water and the walking. Easy bus from airport to port, changing in Arrecife, frequent ferries.

Next time I go to Lanzarote I want to head here:

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/destinations/europe/spain/canary-islands/lanzarote/articles/la-graciosa-why-visit-facts/

No whackers or salta deerts here, accommodation is simple & classy and it's all about the sparkling water and the walking. Easy bus from airport to port, changing in Arrecife, frequent ferries.

You can't beat the auld sparkling water. My favourite is volvic.

San Pellegrino for the win when comes to sparkling water

No, you're dead right. My mother used to say if the Dutch lived in Ireland they would feed the rest of Europe.

In China when the government tells you to wear a mask, everyone wears a mask. I even saw people wearing masks in Shanghai two years ago, a hangover from SARS and tbh I'll continue to wear my face gaiter on public transport even after things return to normal.

My sister works in retail here and has heard every excuse under the sun for not wearing a mask. Some things she's been told:

"It's against my religion"
    "Sure its not a pandemic, its a scamdemic"
    "I left the mask in the car. I'm only buying a bath mat, I'll be 2 minutes"
    "You cant make me wear one as it infringes on my civil liberties"

My father says if you want to do anything in Ireland a committee immediately forms to stop it.

You saw similar behaviour in the UK when they got the snow. Hundreds flocked to some hill somewhere to go sledding and Sky news were interviewing people asking why they thought it was safe and there was a bit where a girl said it was important for their mental health and they were social distancing, and as she said it, a guy walked past her within a foot of her. Just walked past while she was on air.

I'll tell ya something about Beijing Airport. 3 people in our group were smokers and had brought lighters on board all the way from Dublin, through London, to Beijing. Boarding the internal flight to Shanghai these 3 people were called forward because lighters were spotted in the scan of their checked luggage. These had to be removed and they got a lecture on just how dangerous it was to be packing lighters in luggage. These sane lighters had not come to anybody's attention at either Dublin or London, and on thinking about it the smokers vowed never to attempt to pack them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

shearforce wrote: »
    San Pellegrino for the win when comes to sparkling water

Agreed. The drink of champions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I'll tell ya something about Beijing Airport. 3 people in our group were smokers and had brought lighters on board all the way from Dublin, through London, to Beijing. Boarding the internal flight to Shanghai these 3 people were called forward because lighters were spotted in the scan of their checked luggage. These had to be removed and they got a lecture on just how dangerous it was to be packing lighters in luggage. These sane lighters had not come to anybody's attention at either Dublin or London, and on thinking about it the smokers vowed never to attempt to pack them again.

Back in the day there used to be novelty type cigarette lighters that were made in the shape of a little gun. If any of those were still around and found in baggage, it would cause a serious loosening of the bowels of the security people.:eek:

Agreed. The drink of champions.

Nonsense.

CEbKIRLWgAIkmHX?format=jpg&name=small

Heard somebody on Nationwide speaking of Łódź in Poland. Would just loooove if Joe tried to attempt to pronounce it!

PS, it's pronounced like "wudge"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

'Rockdoc' seem to be on the pigs back, so to speak