Your line is weak but your point is strong: Liveline from 10th January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭KevRossi

When my mother died we got the middle priced one. I think they were €1300, €1800 and €2400. My Dad said for him get the cheapest they have and put the difference behind the bar. (Rural area).

Most of them cost around €200-300 in a kit form from China. You'll be told not to lift it by the handles as they are for decoration only.
    My mates Dad was a carpenter all his life, he would have started work at 14 back then. When his mother died he was so shocked by coffin prices in Dublin he made one for himself and the wife, she made the lining as she used to work in the clothes factories in Temple Bar years ago.

His brother died in London, wanted to be buried back here, so arranged in advance for three nephews to take a van over to London, pick hi m up and drive him back. Undertaker attempted to stop him, he only needed a permit from the council (or police, I forget) and he was good to go. Saved a few grand by doing that.

They are rip off merchants, prices are a disgrace and do not reflect the service offered. But what can ya do, they control some of the graveyards in Dublin as it is. Never heard of one going into liquidation either. (I could have said "going under", but that would be too pun-tastic, even for Joe Duffy's thread).

Cat,if you saw me you'd realaise that she'd be better off spending the €20 on a female power tool :D

Would reverse de charges so. :D

Not so much a so-fisty-kated scam, but I remember a call from about 2-3 years ago. An elderly woman, practically a teenager in Joes eyes had her bag swiped.

Caller: And they took my bank cards Joe
    Joe: But they didn't have the PIN numbers Mary.
    Caller: They did Joe
    Joe:How Mary?
    Caller:I had them written down.

JoeL But you(looks up a dictionary), obfuscated them Mary?
    Caller: No joe, my notebook was:
    BOI - 1234
    AIB - 2345
    PTSB - 6039
    Joe: Ah Mary, but shure... ah ... Mary...

Re-reading this I had a flashback to that call. There was a bit that went:

Caller: I had them written down
    Joe: But you can write them like a phone number or something so its not obviously the PIN numbers. Its not like you have sheet that says "Mary's PIN numbers".
    Caller: Well joe....
    Joe: Ah Mary!

KevRossi wrote: »
    When my mother died we got the middle priced one. I think they were €1300, €1800 and €2400. My Dad said for him get the cheapest they have and put the difference behind the bar. (Rural area).

Most of them cost around €200-300 in a kit form from China. You'll be told not to lift it by the handles as they are for decoration only.
    My mates Dad was a carpenter all his life, he would have started work at 14 back then. When his mother died he was so shocked by coffin prices in Dublin he made one for himself and the wife, she made the lining as she used to work in the clothes factories in Temple Bar years ago.

His brother died in London, wanted to be buried back here, so arranged in advance for three nephews to take a van over to London, pick hi m up and drive him back. Undertaker attempted to stop him, he only needed a permit from the council (or police, I forget) and he was good to go. Saved a few grand by doing that.

They are rip off merchants, prices are a disgrace and do not reflect the service offered. But what can ya do, they control some of the graveyards in Dublin as it is. Never heard of one going into liquidation either. (I could have said "going under", but that would be too pun-tastic, even for Joe Duffy's thread).

A buke written by my mother's cousin, of her privileged upbringing in south county Dublin, described how her faaaader was up all night banging out a coffin for de librarian of Ballyboden's husband who had just died. It was traditional for de men in de community to do this back in early 1900s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the chairman no less

€20?

What would you offer me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Shine de lite ....deres a vomit on me seat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,748 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

If all these lights were left on during January 2019 all the students would be taking a day off to protest about climate change.

N
    O
    W..

N
    O
    W..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

you are living in Drogheda , what else is there except doom and gloom ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

PieOhMy wrote: »
    Ireland and UK are so similar coz both have places called Camden. This is what 400k insight looks like people. You pay for this.

Hilary clip from yesterday.

Undertakers charging 5.5k per event, they will be millionaires soon so Joe's interest is piqued.

Inheritance tax. Effecting millionaires so Joe's interest is piqued.

Christmas lights complained. I would bet good money that the caller is Tommy Roddy from Galway.

Boom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

What colour are the assorted colour lights?

What would you offer me?

It would have to be metered so to speak :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,895 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Tommy Roddy, the Galway prolific letter writer?

Sir, – I can only describe as collective madness the decision of many towns, including my own city of Galway, to keep Christmas lights switched on until the end of January.
    Why on earth would any of us want to be reminded of Christmas at this stage, never mind right through this month?
    Most people want to forget 2020, including Christmas 2020.
    Take down these gaudy lights. Let’s look forward, not back. – Yours, etc,

TOMMY RODDY,
    Ballybane,
    Galway.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/letters/stop-the-lights-1.4456615

Tommy has little in his life to be worrying about if he's outraged about de christmas lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

My neighbours still have their outdoor lights on. I'm tired of looking at them at this stage.

What's the first thing you think of when you see xmas lights

Easter joe ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Tommy has little in his life to be worrying about if he's outraged about de christmas lights.

He had already written to the papers in galway about this

liveline - discussing the important issues of the day....christmas lights

If youre expecting a metre you're going to be sorely disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,729 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

What watt caller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,991 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

This is what Livenline is all about...whinging about Christmas lights...Back to it's roots..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

Joe turns every converstation into covid.

He just told yer man off for doing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,470 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

i'm surprised the peeples who blocked the Apple data Centre in Athenry are not complaining about the use of energy powering "The Christmas" lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

could they call them January lights ? keep everyone happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

shearforce wrote: »
    liveline - discussing the important issues of the day....christmas lights

hard hitting analysis

By length,or length of time..sotospeak :D

Tommy's right

turn off the lights ye dopes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Christmas lights are for Christmas just like the puppies ???

What a squalid little man whinging about a bit of light in January. How miserable can one get.