Your line is weak but your point is strong: Liveline from 10th January

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    I'm shocked at dat behaviour. I was a good girl, I wouldn't be doing any of that sort of thing ;-)

Moar subtle humour, so to speak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Are you telling us you failed the Turing test?

I doubt she'd fail the touring test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Covid croyme arrives here....
    The public is being urged to be aware of several scams relating to Covid-19 vaccination, after a number of people received fraudulent calls and messages looking for personal details in recent days.

Gardaí said a number of people have received messages requesting they confirm private and sensitive information, such as their address, date of birth, and PPS number.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0125/1191872-gardai-urge-public-to-be-aware-of-covid-19-vaccine-scam/

Feckin typo.

I'm shocked at dat behaviour. I was a good girl, I wouldn't be doing any of that sort of thing ;-)

You should have seen what went on in de libraries during the 80s, especially the mobile libraries which were notorious. One time de boss arrived at Beaumont stop with his key, heard noise inside during "break time", and, well, let's say de trailer was shaking. I hasten to add I wasn't in there at de time. But absolutely everything went in in those mobiles, and there would often be a haze of weed smoke emanating from de vents, and a barrel of home brew under de book shelves.

I mean if a whacker calls to your door bearing a needle "nurse/doctor" is not de first thing dat would come to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I mean if a whacker calls to your door bearing a needle "nurse/doctor" is not de first thing dat would come to mind.

Vaccines whoyle you wait.

I think de sofisticated scam is where one leaves one's bank details in order to pay for de vaccine. But of course de cash-only customers would have to be receivers of de casual door-to-door Dr Whacker vaccinators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

You should have seen what went on in de libraries during the 80s, especially the mobile libraries which were notorious. One time de boss arrived at Beaumont stop with his key, heard noise inside during "break time", and, well, let's say de trailer was shaking. I hasten to add I wasn't in there at de time. But absolutely everything went in in those mobiles, and there would often be a haze of weed smoke emanating from de vents, and a barrel of home brew under de book shelves.

I always thought Librarians were prim and proper sotospeak.

I useta think I had a mispent youth (the bits I can remember at my age ha ha most of the 80's are a bit of a blur) but reading one or two of your posts Catmaniac, I think I was in the tuppence ha'penny place.

And a piercing for half price, while you're in the chair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,780 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

sligojoek wrote: »
    And a piercing for half price, while you're in the chair

They can use the same needle to cut down on the overheads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,780 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

If anyone's still up have a listen to Darren Adam on LBC. It can be like the British version of Liveline some nights except he's even quicker with the 'bad line' button than Joe is.

I always thought Librarians were prim and proper sotospeak.

I useta think I had a mispent youth (the bits I can remember at my age ha ha most of the 80's are a bit of a blur) but reading one or two of your posts Catmaniac, I think I was in the tuppence ha'penny place.
    What were you taking that the 80s are a blur

Joe:Or an Oasis so to speak.

If anyone's still up have a listen to Darren Adam on LBC. It can be like the British version of Liveline some nights except he's even quicker with the 'bad line' button than Joe is.

James O'Brien on LBC is what Liveline should be. I bet Mr JOB earns a fraction of what Joe does.

I think de sofisticated scam is where one leaves one's bank details in order to pay for de vaccine. But of course de cash-only customers would have to be receivers of de casual door-to-door Dr Whacker vaccinators.

Not so much a so-fisty-kated scam, but I remember a call from about 2-3 years ago. An elderly woman, practically a teenager in Joes eyes had her bag swiped.

Caller: And they took my bank cards Joe
    Joe: But they didn't have the PIN numbers Mary.
    Caller: They did Joe
    Joe:How Mary?
    Caller:I had them written down.

JoeL But you(looks up a dictionary), obfuscated them Mary?
    Caller: No joe, my notebook was:
    BOI - 1234
    AIB - 2345
    PTSB - 6039
    Joe: Ah Mary, but shure... ah ... Mary...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,895 ✭✭✭✭zell12

very good :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

No need to worry - Bank of Ireland and Baz will protect the young old peeple from the nasty fraudsters and sophisticated scammers so to speak. And even if they do something REALLY stupid like give their account numbers and PINs to Dr. Whacker or Dr. Nigerian Prince, Bank of Ireland will refund them if enough of them call in to Da Lahv Lahn to tell us how stupid they were. And the best part - and by the best part I mean de wurst part - is Herr Duffy can ask each and every wan a deeze callers did day hand their car keys to the sophisticated scammers and nasty fraudsters so to speak.

When we people born with uterus can get 3-piece transplants we might have use of de stretchy rubbers. I remember when they first became legal it was quite daring to buy them, and we used to be childishly blowing them up as balloons at work or placing them in the male staff members' pockets an dat to embarrass them. Would be seriously frowned upon deze daze. I remember for Kris Kringle or whatever you call dat secret present giving at Christmas I wrapped a packet for a very priest-like shy male staff member who was morto when he opened it. Terrible tings dat went on!

Very offensive post to those who identify as uterus owners but weren’t born with one. You need to check yourself and your language. Not very woke. I’m not angry, just disappointed.

Can you describe the name without telling me the name?...FFS.

Reading the thread as I finish breakfast in the canteen in wurk and dat. I want to ask “did he really say dat?”, but I know better so to speak. He really is a muppet.

Don't forget Duffy has form for this. Remember his eulogy to that b1tch Catherine Nevin?

But but but but but but but she was a very stylish woman according to Joe. Surely that should grant her immunity from prosecution for her very minor misdeeds so to speak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭golondrinas

What did Nell want condoms for ?

to choke the cock that crows outside her bedroom window at 5am.
    cant think of any other use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,748 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

There is some SF lad on Pat Kenny who wants accent discrimination introduced.

I'd love if Joe took up this topic today.

BPKS wrote: »
    There is some SF lad on Pat Kenny who wants accent discrimination introduced.

I'd love if Joe took up this topic today.

Dare I ask, whats accent discrimination?

Actually it seems like the fella who was on Liveline a few weeks before Christmas who wasn't let into the pub even though he was wearing a Fred Perry top is on the Pat Kenny show now.

Hes banging on about corporate rates in gyms for workers of Google but the flats residents have to pay full rates and that's discrimination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Reading the thread as I finish breakfast in the canteen in wurk and dat. I want to ask “did he really say dat?”, but I know better so to speak. He really is a muppet.

You know him so well :).
    How's you're eye sotospeak ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭golondrinas

Well, according to this she went ballistic when the local cumann changed venue from her pub to a nearby hotel:

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/catherine-nevin-ireland-jack-whites-12061397

Ha ha, I always remember a friend of mine whose cousin was to meet a friend of his in jack whites. couldn't remember the name of the place. In exasperation blurted out " ah you know i'm in the the place where yer wan killed the husband." He turned around to find Catherine standing a few feet away from him.!this was before she was arrested.

Dare I ask, whats accent discrimination?

If you didn't get a job cos of your bogman accent.

Edit: actually no it's only if you have an inner ci-ee accent. People will still be able to discriminate and mock accents like Danny Healy Raes.

Ha ha, I always remember a friend of mine whose cousin was to meet a friend of his in jack whites. couldn't remember the name of the place. In exasperation blurted out " ah you know i'm in the the place where yer wan killed the husband." He turned around to find Catherine standing a few feet away from him.!this was before she was arrested.

But but but but but but but she was a very stylish woman according to Joe. Surely that should grant her immunity from prosecution for her very minor misdeeds so to speak?

You have to remember too, she was a "very good librarian". Joe has de horn for doze, so to speak.

Actually I recall being absolutely outraged at that eulogy, why I didn't complain to RTÉ and BAI I don't know, must have been otherwise distracted at the time. How he got away with it I cannot understand, other than people's apathy. It was a massive insult to Tom Nevin's family.

Jaysus, they're using a clip the guh..er woman from yesterday.