Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭seamusk84

This thread used to be my favorite back in the early summer last year when we were staring to reopen and I could then look forward to a pint and meal.

Now the thread title me sad......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭acequion

seamusk84 wrote: »
    This thread used to be my favorite back in the early summer last year when we were staring to reopen and I could then look forward to a pint and meal.

Now the thread title me sad......

It will come again. Take heart.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,832 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

acequion wrote: »
    Have ye any links to that stuff please? ie Italy, England. I also like to read about an aul bit of civil disobedience :pac: If only to be reassured that there aren't sheep like us Irish everywhere.

If you use reddit, this is a good subreddit to follow, it can get a bit too American sometimes, but other than that it's usually a good source of information, and far from the lunatics the media would have you often believe.

Czech Republic

Czech hosts open despite tough corona rules

Italy

This is civil disobedience restaurants in Rome defy coronavirus closures

https://twitter.com/robinmonotti/status/1350232937376215042?s=20

https://twitter.com/robinmonotti/status/1350243773872222208?s=20

https://twitter.com/robinmonotti/status/1350245402671509504?s=20

Poland

More and more Poles are resisting Corona measures - with the help of the judiciaryl

https://twitter.com/otwieramy/status/1348602099089682432?s=20

For what its worth, on the CoronavirusUK subreddit, which has been a largely "we need to lockdown NOW REEEE" sub for months, more and more people are increasingly fed up of the goal posting shifting and March seems to be the breaking point for most. I've seen a lot of people say that if we're still restricted in March, they would join the protests.

Once the most vulnerable are vaccinated, people will do what they want, and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

For what its worth, on the CoronavirusUK subreddit, which has been a largely "we need to lockdown NOW REEEE"

Sadly I think a CoronavirusIreland page would net similar posts.

If you use reddit, this is a good subreddit to follow, it can get a bit too American sometimes, but other than that it's usually a good source of information, and far from the lunatics the media would have you often believe.

Czech Republic

Czech hosts open despite tough corona rules

Italy

This is civil disobedience restaurants in Rome defy coronavirus closures

https://twitter.com/robinmonotti/status/1350232937376215042?s=20

https://twitter.com/robinmonotti/status/1350243773872222208?s=20

https://twitter.com/robinmonotti/status/1350245402671509504?s=20

Poland

More and more Poles are resisting Corona measures - with the help of the judiciaryl

https://twitter.com/otwieramy/status/1348602099089682432?s=20

For what its worth, on the CoronavirusUK subreddit, which has been a largely "we need to lockdown NOW REEEE" sub for months, more and more people are increasingly fed up of the goal posting shifting and March seems to be the breaking point for most. I've seen a lot of people say that if we're still restricted in March, they would join the protests.

Once the most vulnerable are vaccinated, people will do what they want, and rightly so.

Thanks a million for that and looking forward to reading it.

Fair play to all those people is what I say. I love to see spirit and independent thought and love to see people willing to defy authority when they firmly believe that their leaders are wrong and have let them down.

One of the most depressing things in Ireland is this obsession with blindly following even the most ludicrous diktats. Depressing and worrying especially when you look at the calibre of our leaders. But I guess the saying "you get the Govt you deserve" is especially true in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭SNNUS

Looks like people in Eindhoven had enough, will never happen here as most Irish people are lead by RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,944 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

SNNUS wrote: »
    Looks like people in Eindhoven had enough, will never happen here as most Irish people are lead by RTE.

So you want Irish people to take to the streets and riot cos they can't get out for a meal and a pint?

You do realise a lot of those folk who take to the streets like that are non-believers, anti-vaxxers and conspiracy nuts.

It’s really not surprising to see these kind of protests finally breaking out across Europe.
    Mad that we haven’t seen more in Ireland considering we had a much longer lockdown.

I think this will really escalate over the coming months.

NIMAN wrote: »
    So you want Irish people to take to the streets and riot cos they can't get out for a meal and a pint?

You do realise a lot of those folk who take to the streets like that are non-believers, anti-vaxxers and conspiracy nuts.

Pints... SO original.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭SNNUS

Meal and a pint... FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Meal and a pint... FFS

We have endured the harshest restrictions in the EU since last March, our current surge is one of the worst...and people want more lockdowns...more restrictions...and they cannot or won't see the madness until they step away from media.

I really think it’s time to hit people with the 20+ billion bill... I feel it’s the only way that people will come back to reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,864 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

And several other Dutch cities are reporting protests\riots tonight.
    This is because the Dutch government thought it was a good idea to introduce a curfew (9pm-5am) that went in effect last night. Last time that happened our neighbours from the east were visiting the place for 5 years

Add to it the complete and utter failure that is vaccinating people so far.
    They started last in the EU January 18th 2021 and as of today only 0,79% of the population has had a vaccination. Only Bulgaria is doing worse in the EU. That is not the company a country that loves pointing fingers at others should be in.

I really think it’s time to hit people with the 20+ billion bill... I feel it’s the only way that people will come back to reality.

What I find amazing is that there isn't one word about the cost and the eventual bill. Not.One.Word. And amazing how there's money for everything at the moment, nothing has a price tag.

Amazing not. Downright scary more like because everything comes with a price tag. Buying compliance at the moment but I'm also wishing the money would dry up.

Sometimes yes but not always. Sometimes it's genuine people who don't agree with the decisions of their leaders and they want to demand change.

The problem in Ireland is if you even so much as open your mouth you get shamed into shutting it by being associated with a lunatic fringe. It's another control tactic and it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭Russman

Sometimes yes but not always. Sometimes it's genuine people who don't agree with the decisions of their leaders and they want to demand change.

The problem in Ireland is if you even so much as open your mouth you get shamed into shutting it by being associated with a lunatic fringe. It's another control tactic and it works.

Or it could be that those who think we could open up and let covid rip through the population are in fact, the lunatic fringe. If it walks like a duck, quacks like a duck.......

Russman wrote: »
    Or it could be that those who think we could open up and let covid rip through the population are in fact, the lunatic fringe. If it walks like a duck, quacks like a duck.......

Did somebody suggest that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,656 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Russman wrote: »

Who suggested that?

What I find amazing is that there isn't one word about the cost and the eventual bill. Not.One.Word. And amazing how there's money for everything at the moment, nothing has a price tag.

Amazing not. Downright scary more like because everything comes with a price tag. Buying compliance at the moment but I'm also wishing the money would dry up.

I’ve heard one or two mumblings about how things are not as “bad” as once feared.

But this from the government who said a bank bailout wasn’t needed as the IMF landed in Ireland.

And this was before we lockdown 2. Let alone lockdown 3 until summer.

Who suggested that?

Great minds ;)

The Irish are heading for their own "October Surprise" when they no doubt introduce the taxes to pay for these lockdowns.

Maybe some people won't be a religious about this then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Pitch n Putt

A few people got a little wake up call last week when the tax bill for the pup etc. came through their letter boxes.
    Up in arms they were. Wanted it all written off..

No such thing a a free lunch.

It’s catastrophic the amount of money and futures of the next generation that’s been squandered weekly.

People are so far removed from reality at this stage it’s actually scary.

Do they even realise what’s ahead ? I think not.

Well when this show is over, what is ahead is tax tax tax cuts cuts cut people.

We’re going to be paying Ireland Incs debt along with our European “friends “ for our over borrowed over extended lockdowns for a long long time....

I’ve heard one or two mumblings about how things are not as “bad” as once feared.

But this from the government who said a bank bailout wasn’t needed as the IMF landed in Ireland.

And this was before we lockdown 2. Let alone lockdown 3 until summer.

Considering the people telling us to live in fear of this virus clearly aren't living in fear of this themselves [They've been caught breaking the restrictions they themselves recommended or implemented.] this virus isn't as deadly as they have hyped it up to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,571 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Its winter in Ireland, there are hundreds of rainy days, any particular one?

Stupid advice, this lockdown is miserable, let people spend on what makes them deal with it better / happier / easier

You remember the last recession and the guard saying his kids were living 0off cereal all week? I thi k he was on sixty k. If this kind of bs happens again,nobody need say " who could have foreseen it" etc! Tens of billions are being borrowed now, to kick financial reality down the road. Payback will come...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,853 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Even the politicians will have to take pay cuts . It’s all coming

Dr. Bre wrote: »

No way will those clowns take a pay cut. They'll slash social welfare before they do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Pitch n Putt

They’ll be retired on their fat pensions after kicking the can down the road in front of them before they snaked away into the background.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,464 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Mr. Karate wrote: »
    Considering the people telling us to live in fear of this virus clearly aren't living in fear of this themselves [They've been caught breaking the restrictions they themselves recommended or implemented.]
    Who specifically are you referring to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Cerveza

Best joke I heard all year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Ashleigh1986

..... That would be showing true leadership.
    Not 10% token bull**** .
    when and it will ... The **** hits the fan , the Taoiseach should lead the way and take a 25% pay cut .
    After that the rest of them 20% ...