Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,567 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

As far as I can tell most construction companies have just declared themselves essential. A relative of mine signed up for the PUP after the kitchen company he works at closed due to the restrictions, just as they had during the first wave last March/April. Then on Thursday of their first week closed he got a text from his boss saying to go back to work the following Monday as no other kitchen companies were closed, and the building sites they served were still working.

Not a kitchen company but same thing happen to me, boss rang asking us all back to work saying all our customers are open so we will.
    if one opens all will follow, we are very little to do with construction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,943 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

One thing I can't understand. In WW2 governments raided patent offices and took over factories to crank out thousands of tanks and jeeps and missiles and whatever they needed for their war efforts.

In 2021, why are the covid vaccines still in the hands of private companies? We are now seeing supply delays, why are more powerful countries like the US etc not building factories and massively ramping up production of what are now known products?

Is Covid not important enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Scum! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭DaSilva

One thing I can't understand. In WW2 governments raided patent offices and took over factories to crank out thousands of tanks and jeeps and missiles and whatever they needed for their war efforts.

In 2021, why are the covid vaccines still in the hands of private companies? We are now seeing supply delays, why are more powerful countries like the US etc not building factories and massively ramping up production of what are now known products?

Is Covid not important enough?

I think in the USA that is called the Defense Production Act and I think Biden has started using it for production of PPE, I'm just not sure there are facilities capable of producing the new vaccines that are doing something else at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Theres also this text scam doing the rounds. Someone else may have already mentioned it
    I’ve just received a warning about a scam text doing the rounds, purportedly from HSE. It asks people to confirm availability for vaccination and provide PPS number, date-of-birth and address.

Please do not respond to it. Inform any elderly or vulnerable person you know. They will be contacted by their GP about vaccination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

There is now the suggestion that mink may be the intermediary host that has resulted in the current pandemic. China is the biggest exporter of finished fur products and interestingly, the sale of fur pellets dropped from by nearly 9 million in one province from one year to the next.

'
    A little known fact is that in 2019 Shandong produced 6.5 million mink pelts, down from nearly 15 million in 2018. This means nearly 9 million mink disappeared from one year to the next, a 55% drop in production for just one province.'

Shandong province, which is the hub of fur production in China, is a mid-mountainous region, and bats in nearby caves which are known Coronavirus carriers are attracted to the farm warehouses where the minks are kept. The bats defecate into the minks cages from the rafters.

There is also evidence to suggest that minks were also being sold at the Wuhan market (CNN and Canada's Public Health Agency).

Interesting article covering the matter:

[URL] https://reporterre.net/Mounting-evidence-suggests-mink-farms-in-China-could-be-the-cradle-of-Covid-19-22020[/URL]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,943 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

DaSilva wrote: »
    I think in the USA that is called the Defense Production Act and I think Biden has started using it for production of PPE, I'm just not sure there are facilities capable of producing the new vaccines that are doing something else at the moment

But thats what I mean, if there are not facilities capable then throw billions at the problem until there are, they have done it before.

I am well aware some things are easier said than done but when I hear of powerful countries lobbying for a place in line to buy vaccines from private companies I just wonder when the tail started wagging the dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,165 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

You'd want to be some lowlife to try that. Presume they're trying to get a list of people who live alone to burgle later. Scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭BredonWimsey

Eod100 wrote: »
    You'd want to be some lowlife to try that. Presume they're trying to get a list of people who live alone to burgle later. Scumbags

Evil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,112 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

23 deaths.

1,378 new confirmed cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

23 deaths.

Good news on cases

23 deaths is 23 too many obviously but at least not another huge number.

ek motor wrote: »
    What happened in belmullet ?

Was there hotel parties, gatherings with UK returnees too there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,165 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

23 deaths.

RIP to those who've died. Great to see another drop in cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭StevenToast

23 deaths.

Very bad figures for a Sunday....cant read too much into them...will have to wait until Tuesday to get a better idea of how its going.

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭Azatadine

Very bad figures for a Sunday....cant read too much into them...will have to wait until Tuesday to get a better idea of how its going.

Ah Jaysus.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭cjyid

Doh.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

2944 cases last Sunday. Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,305 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

So lets compare them to previous Sundays then. Hows that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Ya miserable fecker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Cody montana

I’m taking the figures as a positive.

Be gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,259 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Lads don't entertain that particular poster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Well that's one way to get a rise out of everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭rooney30

God damn it , I was hoping for 2000 plus cases , to continue the gloom fest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Eod100 wrote: »

Info can be used for identity theft as well (saw another tweet of them asking for PPS numbers).

These people need to be caught and made an example of as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

What sort of figures were you hoping for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

Needlessly negative. If you are going to throw put a statement like that you could at least back it up.

If you compare the figures to previous days and even previous Sunday's, it's a marked step in the right direction.

No days figures should be taken in isolation but the negativity on this thread lately is so bad, that some people can't even recognise the little bits of positivity that we do have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,150 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

With this level of decline we should be out of level 5 by the end of February