Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,449 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0123/1191570-coronavirus-ireland/

Covid-19 vaccinations for people over the age of 70 may be delayed due to issues with the supply of the AstraZeneca coronavirus vaccine, the Taoiseach has said.

Lockdown at level 5 till June now after this EU **** up.

EU too slow and too bureaucratic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

tenor.gif?itemid=8828126

The people ripping into me for my OP. Dont be silly.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0123/1191570-coronavirus-ireland/

Covid-19 vaccinations for people over the age of 70 may be delayed due to issues with the supply of the AstraZeneca coronavirus vaccine, the Taoiseach has said.

Lockdown at level 5 till June now after this EU **** up.

Where are you reading this.
    Gael23 wrote: »
    Also case numbers have to go under 200 to get out of level 5. Seems like an impossible target

You're perfectly entitled to your viewpoint, but from what i can see, you haven't posted any alternative strategies or given any hint of what could or should have been done differently. Unless i missed earlier posts. Should we have closed borders like NZ? Shielded the vulnerable and let everybody else get on as normal? Spent another billion on test and trace? Completely cancelled christmas? Etc. What other options were on the table that could have better mitigated the effects of this disease?

I haven't posted a strategy. Are you kidding me?

I posted some truths in order to put last night's doom fest into perspective. Am I no longer allowed to do that unless I have 'a strategy'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

niallo27 wrote: »
    Where are you reading this.
    Its very wishy washy interview, listening to it here now.

Theres alot of maybes, ifs and buts in his statements.

Restrictions in some form until say June, did anyone expect all restrictions gone completely by June ?? Hardly.

https://twitter.com/MichealLehane/status/1352939521030184960?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

niallo27 wrote: »
    Maybe we should hire a public health team that could advise the government on different available strategies.

I think this forum's brains trust could be a prime recruiting ground esp. the "Restrictions" thread. Alot of knowledge and talent is not being utilised properly.:(

We need some level heads like Dr. CalamariFritti in charge of public health in Ireland.

fly_agaric wrote: »
    I think this forum's brains trust could be a prime recruiting ground esp. the "Restrictions" thread. Alot of knowledge and talent is not being utilised properly.:(

We need some level heads like Dr. CalamariFritti in charge of public health in Ireland.

So let me ask this.

It is now dangerous to post facts is it?

Just want to clear this up so we can move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Gael23 wrote: »
    Also case numbers have to go under 200 to get out of level 5. Seems like an impossible target

Did they specify where the cases must be? 200 community trasmissions maybe? Or will the public suffer the price for a completely unrelated outbreak outside the community in closed facilities like nursing homes and hospitals that are outside of the control of people in the people in lockdown.

pjohnson wrote: »
    You dont understand the facts you are posting. Or what "cause and effect" is. Ask a grown up.

Engage with the OP and then I will engage with you.

Otherwise you are only proving my point.

Restrictions in some form until say June, did anyone expect all restrictions gone completely by June ?? Hardly.

No of course not, but big difference between restrictions and level 5 restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Donnelly and Martin have been going on solo runs all week, throwing out random conjecture and figures all over the place.

You'll notice Varadkar throws a much more even-handed message; Be prepared for things to be **** but we hope they won't be.

The Astrazeneca thing isn't the enormous deal the media are on about. It will affect the rollout schedules a bit, possibly stretch it out by a couple of weeks. It's not the, "we're all fvcked till September lads" doom predictions that are going around.

There will still be a huge ramp-up in vaccinations come April, and open access to vaccination come the end of June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

So let me ask this.

It is now dangerous to post facts is it?

Just want to clear this up so we can move on.

You posted some facts - I can't be arsed to check if you got everything right. You did not cite sources (edit: but easy to check in fairness).

You made a bad argument (that government/media are overreacting) which doesn't really seem to have a connection to these facts.

The only thing I'd agree with you on is that hysteria or panic or despair (which can be observed on this thread sometimes, and also in the media) is dangerous and unhelpful.

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Lol my next door neighbour called to our door for a chat, 'listen I won't stand to close to ye I'm actually waiting on a test I've a few symptoms so I'll keep some distance just in case until I get the result, probably won't be positive.'

:o:pac:

Can see her out my living room window on the path chatting ****e with group of of local aul ones!

Said yesterday evening her result would be back in 48 hours :pac:

Lol dis bitch.. Calling everyone up !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

seamus wrote: »
    Donnelly and Martin have been going on solo runs all week, throwing out random conjecture and figures all over the place.

You'll notice Varadkar throws a much more even-handed message; Be prepared for things to be **** but we hope they won't be.

The Astrazeneca thing isn't the enormous deal the media are on about. It will affect the rollout schedules a bit, possibly stretch it out by a couple of weeks. It's not the, "we're all fvcked till September lads" doom predictions that are going around.

There will still be a huge ramp-up in vaccinations come April, and open access to vaccination come the end of June.

Absolutely, April, May & June have always been earmarked as the months for supply to be in big numbers with mass vaccination centres.

The message still is looks its going to be a crap few months but things should look different come May & June

Blazer wrote: »
    And it’s getting worse.
    And it’s all by people of lower iq who believe that crap they read on Facebook from some nutcase and then suddenly think they’re the smart ones.
    I have zero hesitation in calling these morons out.
    My own brother make a similar statement this week and I savaged him on Facebook for it.
    I have other people on my friends list who make the same claim and I do likewise.
    We should all do the same..anyone that repeats or regurgitates this fake nonsense or flu similarity etc should be called out ASAP and ridiculed.
    GpXuDLg.jpg

And it’s getting worse.
    And it’s all by people of lower iq who believe that crap they read on Facebook from some nutcase and then suddenly think they’re the smart ones.
    My own brother make a similar statement this week and I savaged him on Facebook for it.
    I have other people on my friends list who make the same claim and I do likewise.
    We should all do the same..anyone that repeats or regurgitates this fake nonsense or flu similarity etc should be called out ASAP and ridiculed.

How do they respond/react?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,151 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Did they specify where the cases must be? 200 community trasmissions maybe? Or will the public suffer the price for a completely unrelated outbreak outside the community in closed facilities like nursing homes and hospitals that are outside of the control of people in the people in lockdown.

No but I’m assuming 200 reported cases

fly_agaric wrote: »
    You posted some facts - I can't be arsed to check if you got everything right. You did not cite sources (edit: but easy to check in fairness).

You made a bad argument (that government/media are overreacting) which doesn't really seem to have a connection to these facts.

The only thing I'd agree with you on is that hysteria or panic or despair (which can be observed on this thread sometimes, and also in the media) is dangerous and unhelpful.

And that is more or less all I wanted to say. And yes I accused government and media of stirring. That may be the one slightly controversial bit of my OP. Well the government bit. No doubt the media are stirring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I think restrictions in some form til June seems realistic. I can't see indoor hospitality opening til at least May.

I'd hope itd go mid Feb schools/construction (assuming we're regularly sub 800-1k a day by then and hospitals are under control), then hopefully by mid march gyms, non essential retail and hairdressers are reopened, and outdoor dining by mid April

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

And it’s getting worse.
    AdamD wrote: »
    GpXuDLg.jpg

Ahh now in fairness, there are a lot of people, some lacking intelligence, and some just in denial, spouting stuff that Covid isn't a problem at all.

We have to accept that the argument that there's "only 3000 dead" is because we've had a fúcked up year beyond belief, and it's reasonable to assume it would be seriously higher had we 'let it rip'.

So going around saying it's grand cos of lower deaths and ignoring that this is resulting from restrictions needs to be called out. And in fairness, I'd imagine it isn't easy calling a family member out on social media, so I would say fair play tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,178 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

And that is more or less all I wanted to say. And yes I accused government and media of stirring. That may be the one slightly controversial bit of my OP. Well the government bit. No doubt the media are stirring.

The one controversial bit?

You effectively implied covid was nothing just an annoying bug on the windshield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Qwertyminger

seamus wrote: »

Wow amazing more great pandemic news. Tune in next week when we're still all fucked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Eod100 wrote: »

so the vaccination by September plan looks to have stumbled at the first hurdle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Good luck to him trying to keep people on board for waiting until 100 - 200 cases

Turtwig wrote: »
    The one controversial bit?

You effectively implied covid was nothing just an annoying bug on the windshield.

You must have read that into my post. I only posted facts.

If that is now equal to belittling covid then we really are down a rabbit hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Good luck to him trying to keep people on board for waiting until 100 - 200 cases

same pillock who wanted a "meaningful Christmas"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,030 ✭✭✭jackboy

KrustyUCC wrote: »

No choice. Realistically we will need to get well below 100 cases to have any length of time before next lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

titan18 wrote: »
    I think restrictions in some form til June seems realistic. I can't see indoor hospitality opening til at least May.

I'd hope itd go mid Feb schools/construction (assuming we're regularly sub 800-1k a day by then and hospitals are under control), then hopefully by mid march gyms, non essential retail and hairdressers are reopened, and outdoor dining by mid April

Whatever about schools and construction there is no chance of any other sectors that you mentioned in your post reopening before Easter at the earliest.