Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Wolf359f wrote: »
    How do you police a tiny border of 500km with 300 crossing points?

More crossing points than between USA and Canada!
    YFlyer wrote: »
    There were checkpoints during the Foot and Mouth crisis.

Not sure what a checkpoint will do?

'Have you got Covid'?

'No'

'Grand....off you go'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭SheepsClothing

AdamD wrote: »
    Its not though, as people get vaccinated we can reduce restrictions. Why have we suddenly changed the goalposts here? This is the worst possible time to have decided to go zero covid, when we actually have a plausible alternative.

You may be slowly able to reduce restrictions over the summer months with only the vaccine roll out.

Alternatively, you can introduce border restrictions, stay in lockdown a few weeks longer to reduce numbers to single digits and then reopen with far fewer restrictions than you otherwise would have, had you opened earlier.

The zero covid plan, has the added benefit of protecting the country against the doomsday scenario of a vaccine resistant strain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

lawred2 wrote: »
    that's for all of us

when the elderly and at risk are vaccinated; we should see a significant reduction in those presenting at hospitals

at some point during this vaccination program; we will need to stop caring so much about case numbers

Didn't Tony H. just say that we are now seeing a rise in all age groups presenting to hospital? I'm sure someone here has the actual stats of that...?

You may be slowly able to reduce restrictions over the summer months with only the vaccine roll out.

Alternatively, you can introduce border restrictions, stay in lockdown a few weeks longer to reduce numbers to single digits and then reopen with far fewer restrictions than you otherwise would have, had you opened earlier.

The zero covid plan, has the added benefit of protecting the country against the doomsday scenario of a vaccine resistant strain.

If you think zero covid would just take a few more weeks of lockdown extra you are delusional. Try months extra, at which point its not even worthwhile versus going with vaccinations only.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Enda Brady on RTE just now saying UK government considering full/complete closure of UK borders.

DOCARCH wrote: »
    More crossing points than between USA and Canada!

Not sure what a checkpoint will do?

'Have you got Covid'?

'No'

'Grand....off you go'!

Wouldn't the point actually be to inquire about their essential journey and require proof of work if that's the reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭H8GHOTI

lawred2 wrote: »
    ffs

if they are going to go that far; they might as well include St Patrick's Day

We need to do this to save Paddy’s Day.
    So we can celebrate it in a meaningful way.

If you think zero covid would just take a few more weeks of lockdown extra you are delusional. Try months extra, at which point its not even worthwhile versus going with vaccinations only.

We are locked down months anyway.
    Enda Brady on RTE just now saying UK government considering full/complete closure of UK borders.

Maybe they will 'close' the NI border for us and spare us the drama. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

YFlyer wrote: »
    There were checkpoints during the Foot and Mouth crisis.

There was checkpoints for checking for livestock and dairy products, there was no restrictions on movement of people. Goods could flow freely. It didn't violate the GFA. There was no fear of random cow's actively avoiding the checkpoints to sneak over to meet up with fellow cows etc....

Stateofyou wrote: »
    Wouldn't the point actually be to inquire about their essential journey and require proof of work if that's the reason?

A bit pointless! Lots of people can quite easily talk their way through Garda checkpoints with no proof of anything.

Maybe they will 'close' the NI border for us and spare us the drama. ;)

Doubt it. If UK close all borders no doubt it will exclude ROI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,194 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

You could.... but only after they cross the border. They have a legal right to cross it. Once across it, then what is the plan? Not like you can deport them back to the North as they (if they hold an Irish passport) have a right to cross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

A bit pointless! Lots of people can quite easily talk their way through Garda checkpoints with no proof of anything.
    Indeed. As long as you're not about to park beside a beach or on a road up to the Wicklow mountains you can make a case for anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

H8GHOTI wrote: »
    We need to do this to save Paddy’s Day.
    So we can celebrate it in a meaningful way.

People do realise that Paddys day in Dublin is cancelled im assuming the rest will follow suit in the coming weeks

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0120/1190884-st-patricks-festival/
    Organisers of the St Patrick's Festival have confirmed there will be no street parade in Dublin this year.

Instead, virtual events will be held on a special online TV channel 'SPF TV'.

Shin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

OMG I hear the zero COVID nonsense again.

I am sorry folks, the virus is endemic in this country, even if we get to around 10 or less cases if society opens up it will flare u again and we will head into hard lockdown.

The ship has sailed with regards to zero COVID, if we went hard last March yes it may have been possible but even that would be impossible with the NI border.

People going crazy again with their frustration at this lockdown.

It's like April or May again, turning on travel and bleeding foreigners.

Pathetic really.

Doubt it. If UK close all borders no doubt it will exclude ROI.
    Their closure of travel channels idea does exclude us on the grounds of the CTA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

is_that_so wrote: »
    They just have opinions, you know, like ordinary people. Government policy is that we are not doing, so it's moot what they think.

This really reminds me of "You can tell me I'm a doctor" line from Airplane!

Hang on. There are opinions and there are informed opinions. Everyone has the first type. A fair bit of effort is required for the second type. Anyhow when the Eurocrats come out in favour of an almost no covid strategy don't say Mammy Gruff did not tell you! :D

is_that_so wrote: »
    So not Germany, just a Merkel answer to a journalist. She has enough problems currently coordinating with the Länder without looking for even more challenges. We've all gone past the point where we can just flip strategies.

Aha! Mammy Merkel agrees with me. Another dumb scientist!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Gruffalux wrote: »
    I know! All these stupid scientists who advocate for not letting the virus become endemic where it can mutate forever and contribute to an increased morbidity load in our species. Stupid top microbiologists and sciencey lads and lassies. Pffftt. Who do they think they are?

The top scientists are busy doing what scientists do. They are not hanging around media doors waiting for a gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭SheepsClothing

Even in your scenario, we will not be reopening to any significant degree, until new cases are in the low hundreds. If you need to stay in lockdown an extra month to get to single digits, that is absolutely worth it imo.

I think what bothers people most about all these lockdowns, is the lack of a definite plan or end date. With zero covid, you can give people a final target to work towards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

"I'm going to help my widowed 80 year old mother clean her house Garda".

"Proof? Sure how would I prove that?"

Internal travel restrictions in all countries are largely reliant on voluntary compliance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Priti Patel will be the champion of the people soon! Take a step back please before we lose the run of ourselves

seamus wrote: »
    "I'm going to help my widowed 80 year old mother clean her house Garda".

"Proof? Sure how would I prove that?"

Internal travel restrictions in all countries are largely reliant on voluntary compliance.

Ok, so maybe we now require a gp note for elder care bubble established? Or establish an online data base that guards can access to check for registered carer bubbles? If there's hassle about it though, there will be more compliance. Especially if there are fines imposed for lying to the guards.

I am sorry folks, the virus is endemic in this country, even if we get to around 10 or less cases if society opens up it will flare u again and we will head into hard lockdown.

The ship has sailed with regards to zero COVID, if we went hard last March yes it may have been possible but even that would be impossible with the NI border.

Pathetic really.

It is not endemic. Unless it is a retrovirus or spread by insects.
    It stops spreading when human hosts stopping transmitting it to each other. And goes to low or none.

When flareups happen due to importation one tests traces and isolates strictly and locally. As often as needed. Maintaining green zones.

I dont think people realise how bad it is to casually allow this become just another endemic disease. A virus that is about 6 times more fatal than flu and causes a lot of morbidity also . It is something one stamps out . Why do you think the Chinese stamp it out?

Pathetic really.

Wouldn't the opening up to outside life though require hitting a vaccination target? I don't think NZ / Aus lifted those strict travel requirements after basically beating the virus back? So life inside their borders can basically return to something more like normality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭Probes

Pathetic really.

Really don't think the ship has sailed at all, we near enough eliminated it end of last spring, we can do it again, especially if the UK does it too. Nothing is impossible.

Wolf359f wrote: »
    You could.... but only after they cross the border. They have a legal right to cross it. Once across it, then what is the plan? Not like you can deport them back to the North as they (if they hold an Irish passport) have a right to cross.

Order them to return home if not an essential journey, fine for non compliance just like here... What did we do during the time of the animal disease outbreak? I was living abroad then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

What did we do during the time of the animal disease outbreak?
    We killed the infected and all of their close contacts and then piled up their bodies and burned them.

I'm not sure the same strategy will work this time.
    Ok, so maybe we now require a gp note for elder care bubble established? Or establish an online data base that guards can access to check for registered carer bubbles?
    Both a gigantic amount of hassle to put in place easily bypassed systems to try and solve a temporary issue. There are more essential journeys than elder care. That was just one example.

Order them to return home if not an essential journey, fine for non compliance just like here... What did we do during the time of the animal disease outbreak? I was living abroad then.
    300 roads is a lot of police tied up essentially doing nothing, never mind the political fallout. Foot and mouth restrictions were very short lived.