Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I get that but it again does look like? Like before outside you were grand generally speaking...Is it now more catchable outside?

If 1,000 people were infected with the usual SARS-CoV-2 variant with an R number of 1.1, they would transmit the virus to another 1,100 people. After 10 cycles of this, 2,593 people would be infected. This new version at 50% would mean 10 cycles would lead to 57,665 cases.

Outside has always been considered safer but the usual caveats apply in relation to distancing.

Gruffalux wrote: »
    I know! All these stupid scientists who advocate for not letting the virus become endemic where it can mutate forever and contribute to an increased morbidity load in our species. Stupid top microbiologists and sciencey lads and lassies. Pffftt. Who do they think they are?
    People with notions but no practical real world plans mostly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

I get that but it again does look like? Like before outside you were grand generally speaking...Is it now more catchable outside?

I doubt it. Ventilation plays a big factor with any virus that is airborne. Likely to be much more contagious indoors. If one family member contracts it now it seems very likely that it well spread to everyone in hat household. That was not the case with the initial wave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭The_Brood

Wolf359f wrote: »
    Australia had to breach human right laws to curb the spread the second time around. No clue how that would go down here with the ECHR. NZ had a very strick lockdown as did Australia, you really need to see exactly what people went through. For Ireland it wouldn't be a simple level 5 lockdown, it would be a **** load more strict. Again, if they don't have public buy in, it won't succeed. Look at all the hysteria that crops up around the exercise limit here. In Australia outdoor exercise was banned. Not a hope in hell that would work here.

Every page this same excuse over and over and over again defending this criminal government.

Tell me again what measure is too strict and wouldnt fly here...in the face of all of life being locked down for almost a year now? People wont accept temporary stricter measures so they can beat the virus and go back to living faster, but they will accept endless lockdown with virus guaranteed to return?

What kind of nonsense is this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

is_that_so wrote: »

Notions about disease and real body stuff. Bloody meritocracy! Let the ordinary people decide I say. Why should they know better.

Their is no real alternative now with the new variants. Germany are now considering Zero Covid. Even with vulnerable people all vaccinated the healthcare system would still not function.

The best thing to do now is drive the numbers as low as possible

https://twitter.com/MaxCRoser/status/1352536392727977984

wadacrack wrote: »
    Their is no real alternative now with the new variants. Germany are now considering Zero Covid. Even with vulnerable people all vaccinated the healthcare system would still not function.

The best thing to do now is drive the numbers as low as possible

https://twitter.com/MaxCRoser/status/1352536392727977984

Do you have a link to that German claim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

YFlyer wrote: »
    What political sensitivity are preventing the border up at the North to be controlled?

Assuming that this isn't a rhetorical question;

The Good Friday Agreement recognises the right of all people born in the North to identify as Irish or British, and as such the right for all Irish to live, work and travel freely around the entire island. A non-existent (not just open) border between North and South is a lynchpin in this.

Any suggestion that a border be erected, is "politically sensitive" because it's a breach of the GFA. The nationalists will not accept it.

Requiring travellers between the two jurisdictions to be quarantined is also anathema to this agreement, since it doesn't happen between any other counties.

Even patrolling the border to issues fines for non-essential travel is fraught because it brings back memories of the troubles. But they should be doing this, IMO.

Quarantining passengers coming into Belfast is politically sensitive for basically the same reason, except the Unionists will be pissed off. They consider Northern Ireland to be part of the UK and thus, to them, a quarantine between Belfast and London is as absurd as a quarantine between Manchester and Liverpool.

It's very clear who is wrong here, that the unionists are irrational and ignoring the obvious geographical matters at play.

But nevertheless we can't do this without them.

Turtwig wrote: »
    Is mangling of peoples names really necessary?

I'm skeptical of zero covid implementation in Ireland. However, logistically what covid management plan are Ireland going for? There's no long term strategy. Think it's high time the critics of zero covid actually produce their own alternative framework to get us out of this mess.
    As it stands it's a potential solution I'm warming to more and more as at least they have a proposal.

Ireland's strategy is to vaccinate the population, at which point zero-covid would be pointless. I thought that was quite obvious

Gruffalux wrote: »
    Notions about disease and real body stuff. Bloody meritocracy! Let the ordinary people decide I say. Why should they know better.
    They just have opinions, you know, like ordinary people. Government policy is that we are not doing, so it's moot what they think.

This really reminds me of "You can tell me I'm a doctor" line from Airplane!

Do you have a link to that German claim?

https://twitter.com/TiloJung/status/1352242382817923073

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,756 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

So not Germany, just a Merkel answer to a journalist. She has enough problems currently coordinating with the Länder without looking for even more challenges. We've all gone past the point where we can just flip strategies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

Apologies if already posted here - saw this morning that the new US President has ordered all travellers into the country to quarantine for 7 days and also require a negative covid test to enter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,178 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

lawred2 wrote: »
    ffs

if they are going to go that far; they might as well include St Patrick's Day

Yeah not like anything will change dramatically for Paddys Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭celt262

ffs

if they are going to go that far; they might as well include St Patrick's Day

They might give us St Patricks day for being good :pac:

So not Germany, just a Merkel answer to a journalist. She has enough problems currently coordinating with the Länder without looking for even more challenges. We've all gone past the point where we can just flip strategies.

https://twitter.com/devisridhar/status/1352533810886402048

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

AdamD wrote: »
    Ireland's strategy is to vaccinate the population, at which point zero-covid would be pointless. I thought that was quite obvious

Where are these vaccines though? Not happening until Sept? That's 9 months away. The guts of another year from our lives living like this. We need to change tack. And we need a high uptake to get us to where we need to be.

And all the problems that entails. It's still not Germany BTW. Increased vaccinations will address a lot of this ongoing angst about B1.1.7, which is already looking like becoming the dominant strain. We also know that one cannot set timelines with this virus.

celt262 wrote: »
    They might give us St Patricks day for being good :pac:

well it worked before

Stateofyou wrote: »
    Where are these vaccines though? Not happening until Sept? That's 9 months away. The guts of another year from our lives living like this. We need to change tack.

that's for all of us

when the elderly and at risk are vaccinated; we should see a significant reduction in those presenting at hospitals

at some point during this vaccination program; we will need to stop caring so much about case numbers

Where are these vaccines though? Not happening until Sept? That's 9 months away. The guts of another year from our lives living like this. We need to change tack.
    Actually we should see signs once the more vulnerable groups are vaccinated. One key aim is to protect against severe cases and to remove pressures from health systems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Eod100 wrote: »

Four, six, eight weeks makes no difference what they announce as they have no plans for opening anything before Easter

May as well announce 8 with a review after 4 and get on with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,418 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

The_Brood wrote: »
    Every page this same excuse over and over and over again defending this criminal government.

Tell me again what measure is too strict and wouldnt fly here...in the face of all of life being locked down for almost a year now? People wont accept temporary stricter measures so they can beat the virus and go back to living faster, but they will accept endless lockdown with virus guaranteed to return?

What kind of nonsense is this?
    I'm not defending this government.
    I'm saying calling for Zero Covid just because it has worked for 2 remote and isolated countries doesn't mean it would work in Ireland. These same excuses you hear over and over again, I've yet to hear a rational solution to get over them.
    It's just like position parties, scream for XYZ and you never have to provide a plan for it.

We had a lockdown last March, in order to go for covid zero that lockdown would have to be a proper lockdown. No going outdoors for exercise, only 1 person per household allowed once a week out to shop. A strict list of those who can work, which is an extremely short list (no takeways open for example)

Then as soon as 1 new case is detected in the community the whole country is back into that lockdown again.

Where are these vaccines though? Not happening until Sept? That's 9 months away. The guts of another year from our lives living like this. We need to change tack. And we need a high uptake to get us to where we need to be.

Its not though, as people get vaccinated we can reduce restrictions. Why have we suddenly changed the goalposts here? This is the worst possible time to have decided to go zero covid, when we actually have a plausible alternative.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭DraftDodger

Zero covid was always possible but people didn't want to hear it. We had the advantage of being an island with a tiny land border but god forbid we do some outside the box thinking. Then again the summer trips to lake garda, the santa del hellholes and the south of France camping trip would have had to be cancelled oh the horror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,178 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Four, six, eight weeks makes no difference what they announce as they have no plans for opening anything before Easter

May as well announce 8 with a review after 4 and get on with it

Yup this announce the date and then move it again method has got fairly repetitive and tiresome tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,418 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Zero covid was always possible but people didn't want to hear it. We had the advantage of being an island with a tiny land border but god forbid we do some outside the box thinking. Then again the summer trips to lake garda, the santa del hellholes and the south of France camping trip would have had to be cancelled oh the horror.

We're 2 jurisdictions on the 1 Island. New Zealand is 1 spread out over 2 islands.
    That small border you mention is 500km long.... That's not small at all.
    You're dismissing a large issue (the border) as something trivial and small, or as you say.... tiny. How do you police a tiny border of 500km with 300 crossing points? Maybe build a wall? Could get Trumps wall cheap now that Joe Biden has stopped it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

but that's the worst solution

the best solution was and always is an all island solution

I'd be more concerned with those political sensitivities that block all island solutions to all island problems..

There were checkpoints during the Foot and Mouth crisis.