Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭seamie78

y2k2020 wrote: »
    Fully agree

Why should she have to lie?

fair point, but testing capacity isn't there. Doesn't excuse what she is doing for a second. it is as bad as continuing about your business if you were a confirmed case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,733 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

seamus wrote: »
    Jaysus, when I read it, the last thing I though was, "That means they'll exclude non-citizens". Can't wait for the days when people have more to be worrying about than the simple misuse of a turn of phrase.
    first thing i thought of

maybe if your not a citizen it has more meaning

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

With close contacts not being tested it's not going to improve

Friend of mine tested positive this week ( cold symptoms, would never you stop you from working etc ) and his wife has no symptoms and couldn't get a test unless she had, she's been in work all week and can't get social welfare payment unless she has a postive test, they are paying €2000 pm rent in Dublin and though it's wrong to go to work,she's not going to lie and say she has symptoms, when she hasn't to get a test. Goverment need to cop on
    It's a vicious circle. While people are testing positive in such large numbers contacts testing cannot practically function. Under 2,000 they are expected to resume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Eod100 wrote: »
    ''Holohan warns of up to 1,000 Covid-19 deaths in January, calls for tighter air travel rules''

That's for the whole month. Was written on this day last week, 14th January. There's been 539 deaths so far.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/holohan-warns-of-up-to-1-000-covid-19-deaths-in-january-calls-for-tighter-air-travel-rules-1.4464294
    It's kind of incredible how the IT are framing this when the letter was written a week ago.
    The modelling also suggests peak demand for hospital care will occur in the coming days with 2,000-2,400 people in hospital, with 250-300 people in ICU.
    We're past the hospital peak. The letter was correct - peak demand did occur "in the coming days" following that letter.

They are reporting information that's out-of-date and presenting it as new.

1,000 deaths by the end of the month is about 44/day. That seems to be still be about right, unfortunately. We should count ourselves fortunate if it comes in much below that.

I would like to know at this stage what the barriers are to mandatory quarantines for airline arrivals. How many "key supply chain" travellers can there really be on an aircraft?

Her work want's a positive to test

Some people are still managed by clowns

Her work can sing for it. She doesn't need her work to approve it to get social welfare. Her work dont have a leg to stand on if they insist on a positive test. Staying home is also the moral thing to do

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/disability_and_illness/covid19_enhanced_illness_benefit.html#:~:text=Illness%20Benefit%20contact%20centre,3300%20or%201890%20928%20400.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,961 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

''Holohan warns of up to 1,000 Covid-19 deaths in January, calls for tighter air travel rules''

That's for the whole month. Was written on this day last week, 14th January. There's been 539 deaths so far.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/holohan-warns-of-up-to-1-000-covid-19-deaths-in-january-calls-for-tighter-air-travel-rules-1.4464294

I can't remember what account did it (I'm getting lost among all the Covid-19 data analysis accounts these days) but someone on twitter took the test data from the first week of January, and adjusted for age before applying the known Irish fatality rates to the numbers. It predicted almost 300 deaths just from that weeks cases. Now add to that the deaths from people who tested positive before that week, and the week afterwards, we're in for a few weeks of grim death figures at this rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

Everytime the goverment have deviated from the scientific advice it has been a disaster. They have to take nphets advice now or more lives and livelihoods will be lost.

We will never get this virus under control without properly controlling travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Her work want's a positive to test

Some people are still managed by clowns
    The first post you blamed the government because she couldn't get it and now its her work?

Anyway regardless, its not up to her work. They won't have a leg to stand on.

If signed off by a GP thats all thats needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,544 ✭✭✭techdiver

zuutroy wrote: »
    RTE at it again. Front page headline:

"Retail sectors 'likely' to stay shut until end of May"

Text of article:

"Taoiseach Micheál Martin has not explicitly ruled out the idea of restaurants being shut until May or even longer."

Modern news and media organisation are competing with social media so now it's more important than ever to get clicks. Responsible news reporting doesn't get you this so we are left with what we now have as a result.

They will argue that they are not reporting bad information and semantically they are not, but they do straddle the line between reality and fiction at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭y2k2020

Her work can sing for it. She doesn't need her work to approve it to get social welfare. Her work dont have a leg to stand on if they insist on a positive test. Staying home is also the moral thing to do

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/disability_and_illness/covid19_enhanced_illness_benefit.html#:~:text=Illness%20Benefit%20contact%20centre,3300%20or%201890%20928%20400.

They also want a negative test to come back to work, if she is positive.

Feel sorry for them, as they have 2 kids and renting in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

techdiver wrote: »
    Modern news and media organisation are competing with social media so now it's more important than ever to get clicks. Responsible news reporting doesn't get you this so we are left with what we now have as a result.

They will argue that they are not reporting bad information and semantically they are not, but they do straddle the line between reality and fiction at times.

Headline says Retail Sector could stay closed until End of February. Can't really consider that misleading.

Agree with your overall point though. Problem existed long before social media though. Social media and click bait just exacerbated it. Tabloids were always popular for a reason. It was even acceptable in secondary school to teach us how to write articles in both styles.

HSE briefing just started.

The first post you blamed the government because she couldn't get it and now its her work?

Anyway regardless, its not up to her work. They won't have a leg to stand on.

If signed off by a GP thats all thats needed

Yes it's a bit ridiculous alright, it's a small take away, not exaclty a multinational company, she doesn't want to lose her job, been there years

In summary

Government won't give her a test because she has no symptoms, she will have to lie and say she does

Her work won't accept she's out with Covid without a positive test, has to lie to get it

Her work won't let her back without a negative test if she is positive, she can't even get one test without lieing and now needs 2, a positive and a negative

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

Leo confirms a third of current covid hospital cases picked up the virus while in hospital. I know its a contagious virus but this seems very high. I wonder how it compares to other countries.

https://www.thejournal.ie/third-contracting-covid-in-hospital-varadkar-5331491-Jan2021/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Yes it's a bit ridiculous alright, it's a small take away, not exaclty a multinational company, she doesn't want to lose her job, been there years

In summary

Government won't give her a test because she has no symptoms, she will have to lie and say she does

Her work won't accept she's out with Covid without a positive test, has to lie to get it

Her work won't let her back without a negative test if she is positive, she can't even get a test one test without lieing and now needs 2, a positive and a negative

Again her work wouldn't have a leg to stand on, she's a close contact and advised to restrict movements which allows access to the pandemic illness benefit.

Going to work is grossly irresponsible.

If they tried to get rid of her she could take them to the cleaners for unfair dismissal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭SuperRabbit

We've all had to go to work sick during this pandemic, right? that's just how employers are? who on earth was allowed stay home without a positive test and can I get a job there?

Beasty wrote: »
    Threads merged

Why

It's totally unrelated?

Origin thread shouldn't be in here

Why can't it have it's own thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭The_Brood

What has shocked me the most has been the level of total and complete placidity about this from the populace.

Mind you not obedience and actual adherence to the rules - if they had done that at least the cases would not be this high.

But just total docile acceptance to every last snap of the fingers of Tony and his lackies. In many many other countries, people are protesting and demanding clarity and organization. I'm not talking about anti-mask crazies, I'm talking about people who can see how monstrously damaging the response from world governments, including the one here, have been.

The government and the people are both screwing things up, and neither is holding the other accountable (no real enforcement from gov, no protests from the people).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭SuperRabbit

Klonker wrote: »
    Leo confirms a third of current covid hospital cases picked up the virus while in hospital. I know its a contagious virus but this seems very high. I wonder how it compares to other countries.

https://www.thejournal.ie/third-contracting-covid-in-hospital-varadkar-5331491-Jan2021/

We still don't have enough PPE for healthcare workers but people aren't talking about it anymore? or am I wrong?

you almost need a hazmat suit if you don't want to catch it, and that's with the old variant! look at that one hospital who managed to not pass it around: https://news.sky.com/story/coronavirus-the-italian-covid-19-hospital-where-no-medics-have-been-infected-11966344

Again her work wouldn't have a leg to stand on, she's a close contact and advised to restrict movements which allows access to the pandemic illness benefit.

Going to work is grossly irresponsible.

If they tried to get rid of her she could take them to the cleaners for unfair dismissal

True

I wouldn't put up with it, but she has sadly.

The_Brood wrote: »
    What has shocked me the most has been the level of total and complete placidity about this from the populace.

Mind you not obedience and actual adherence to the rules - if they had done that at least the cases would not be this high.

But just total docile acceptance to every last snap of the fingers of Tony and his lackies. In many many other countries, people are protesting and demanding clarity and organization. I'm not talking about anti-mask crazies, I'm talking about people who can see how monstrously damaging the response from world governments, including the one here, have been.

The government and the people are both screwing things up, and neither is holding the other accountable (no real enforcement from gov, no protests from the people).

If you go against lockdown your a crazy

Just the way it is

Put on your green jersey and stay home

ICU total including COVID is now at 341, very close to the maximum 350 the HSE has alluded to.

We've all had to go to work sick during this pandemic, right? that's just how employers are? who on earth was allowed stay home without a positive test and can I get a job there?

*confused face*

No that's not the case at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,473 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Irish people don't protest. The Irish Water protesters were hammered by the establishment even though they had very valid reasons to protest e.g. privatisation.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

Klonker wrote: »

If anyone has been into a hospital in a while you wouldn't be surprised

Had to take my daughter into one recently and I noticed.

Canteens were open, staff eating lunch and drinking coffee, smoking section was open, few in there, one entrance for the hospital.

Consultant we came to see after scans done took off her mask in her office talking to us, couldn't believe it, but said nothing as she has been brillant to us.

Virus is airbourne I believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

is_that_so wrote: »
    ICU total including COVID is now at 341, very close to the maximum 350 the HSE has alluded to.

That is actually quite scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭BobbyMalone

Where I work, we've been instructed not to even consider entering the building if we have any symptoms at all (even if we're as definite as can be that it's a cold/flu). This was back in level 3 days (we're all working from home now).

It would be lovely if this was the case in normal winters, rather than somebody inevitably bringing in a cold and infecting everybody (thereby directly impacting on productivity).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Purple Papillon

Protesting the restrictions will get you nowhere except possibly sick, diseased or dead.

Turtwig wrote: »
    That is actually quite scary.
    Yeah, he was very calm about it, like they have a plan for above that number, hopefully one don't have to go to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,756 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

examples?