Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

seamus wrote: »
    Yeah, I know of two people now who went through the "we're going to have a normal Xmas, fvck it" thing and now at least one grand/parent is dead.

I have no schadenfreude about it, I genuinely feel very sorry for anyone who has ended up in this situation. They made what seemed like a relatively low-risk decision at the time and it's had the worst ending, which will live with them for the rest of their days.

I think many made the same decision and “got away with it”, many more got away than didn’t. It is likely this fact that made them take this risk, convincing themselves the chances of them being the ones caught out were low. Unfortunately this will do nothing for their suffering now.

It’s actually weird how this hit me so much harder in hindsight. Before Christmas I made the decision it wasn’t worth the risk and Christmas itself was tough. But only now, hearing these stories, does the permanence of it all really hit home, not sure why it’s after the fact. These grandparents and parents are gone forever, for the sake of seeing each other for a relatively short amount of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

polesheep wrote: »
    In the supermarket today I saw the first no-masker I've seen in about six months. It made him look strange. Also, it was a little unsettling to think that HE was the odd one out. I really hope we get back to normality soon.

Yeah, it's very jarring to see people indoors without one now. Even watching old TV shows or films and seeing people close together makes me slightly uneasy. Can't wait until I don't have to feel that way anymore.

funnydoggy wrote: »
    Yeah, it's very jarring to see people indoors without one now. Even watching old TV shows or films and seeing people close together makes me slightly uneasy. Can't wait until I don't have to feel that way anymore.

Am I the only one who doesn't get this at all? Watching old films and tv shows where people don't have masks on or aren't socially distancing feels perfectly normal for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,754 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

AdamD wrote: »
    Am I the only one who doesn't get this at all? Watching old films and tv shows where people don't have masks on or aren't socially distancing feels perfectly normal for me.

I don't think that poster means that they feel uneasy seeing people on tv not wearing masks

but the people in their own homes watching tv together without masks

that's how I read it anyway.. I'm probably wrong..

For the record; in my opinion expecting people to wear masks in their own homes is hysterical. If I have got it wrong; then I'd be like you as well. I'd be more put off seeing people on tv wearing masks and acting like they have to be socially distant..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

And me, but when an unmasked person in the supermarket doesn't seem normal that is a little unsettling.

polesheep wrote: »
    And me, but when an unmasked person in the supermarket doesn't seem normal that is a little unsettling.

won't take long for that to change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

zinfandel wrote: »
    and now a parent or granny or family member are very ill or dead, I lost count of the number of people who said NOTHING will stop me having my usual christmas and seeing all my family.....
    Yup, I knew we were f**ked when I saw the negative reaction to Leo's comments that people shouldn't travel to Ireland over Christmas. The way people felt they could express their disregard for the rules so openly was a bad sign.

It's a sad fact that for many people by insisting on ignoring the rules because "It could be Granny's last Christmas" they have ensured it was their Granny's last Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

is_that_so wrote: »
    It's a cruel disease. There are also cases of deaths where loneliness and stress brought on other conditions that killed them.

To echo the long ago innocent times of the early threads.....link please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,175 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

I didn't have a problem with it until very recently. Strange, I know! Now it isn't a full blown *issue* just makes me feel a tad anxious.

PmMeUrDogs wrote: »
    A little advice please?

A friend works for an "essential" company. Their colleague tested positive for covid, and the friend is deemed a close contact - worked together in close proximity 48 hours before the colleague developed symptoms. Friend is still waiting to be called by the tracing team.

The company are aware, and have told all close contacts (approximately 5) that all of them MUST work because they are short staffed, and that it doesn't matter because they have no symptoms.

Wtf should my friend do? I've advised them to ring the hse covid line to be confirmed as a close contact, and walk out (they were in work when they received the information about being a close contact), but they're new to the job so afraid to assert themselves.

They could contact their GP and ask them to sign them off on basis of being a close contact. Reckless behaviour from their employer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

I think many made the same decision and “got away with it”, many more got away than didn’t. It is likely this fact that made them take this risk, convincing themselves the chances of them being the ones caught out were low. Unfortunately this will do nothing for their suffering now.

It’s actually weird how this hit me so much harder in hindsight. Before Christmas I made the decision it wasn’t worth the risk and Christmas itself was tough. But only now, hearing these stories, does the permanence of it all really hit home, not sure why it’s after the fact. These grandparents and parents are gone forever, for the sake of seeing each other for a relatively short amount of time.

We as a family made the decision in November that only 1 of my sisters and I would go home to my elderly Mum and other sister who has special needs for the Christmas Holidays. She is WFH, lives alone and she isolated for 14 days before travelling home on December 19th. She is still there now as she can WFH from Mum's house.

When I told people even up until Christmas week that we (Husband and kids and I) would not be travelling to see my family, most asked why not etc etc.
    We turned down various invites from friends for nights out and get togethers in houses before Christmas. Again a lot (not all) couldn't understand our decision.
    My sister (the one who went home) was queried on her decision to isolate for 14 days in her home in Dublin before travelling. Lots of people thought that she was ott.
    Another sister lives abroad. It is more than 18 months since any of us have seen her or her family.
    But none of us wanted to take any risks with the 2 vulnerable members of our family. None of us wanted to be the one who passed it to them.

I didn't comment negatively on other people's decisions to have "normal" Christmases but the majority of people who asked about our plans did comment and thought that we all were ott.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,793 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0113/1189371-coronavirus-ireland/
    Ilona Duffy is talking about this on radio 1.

They're down 7000 staff countrywide and have to ask asymptomatic close contacts in the HSE to come in for a test and get back to work.

My uncle had an accident in his driveway on the ice last week and had to go to the Bons because he split himself open. Now he also has covid.

Please be extraordinarily careful.

"She said there are "in excess of 7,000 people" in the healthcare, nursing home and community services sectors who are unable to work for various reasons, including being Covid positive or unable to access childcare. "

Are those who are absent due to being "unable to access childcare" still being paid their salary?

"She said there are "in excess of 7,000 people" in the healthcare, nursing home and community services sectors who are unable to work for various reasons, including being Covid positive or unable to access childcare. "

Are those who are absent due to being "unable to access childcare" still being paid their salary?

Are you saying that they shouldn't be paid?

They are probably having to take annual leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,374 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

seamus wrote: »
    Yeah, I know of two people now who went through the "we're going to have a normal Xmas, fvck it" thing and now at least one grand/parent is dead.

I have no schadenfreude about it, I genuinely feel very sorry for anyone who has ended up in this situation. They made what seemed like a relatively low-risk decision at the time and it's had the worst ending, which will live with them for the rest of their days.

I dont think the thought process was just "fvck it". Some elderly people saw it as possibly a last chance to spend real quality time with their children and grandchildren. Most elderly are quite aware of their own mortality given even under the best circumstances they have quite a limited time they have left. You have to weigh up the risk of getting Covid v the possibility of going by some other cause without having that time with your family. You could be gone before or even shortly after getting vaccinated and your final year would have been a pretty miserable and fearful one. I wouldn't begrudge anyone a guaranteed joyful time, even if it turned out to be your last.

SusanC10 wrote: »
    We as a family made the decision in November that only 1 of my sisters and I would go home to my elderly Mum and other sister who has special needs for the Christmas Holidays. She is WFH, lives alone and she isolated for 14 days before travelling home on December 19th. She is still there now as she can WFH from Mum's house.

When I told people even up until Christmas week that we (Husband and kids and I) would not be travelling to see my family, most asked why not etc etc.
    We turned down various invites from friends for nights out and get togethers in houses before Christmas. Again a lot (not all) couldn't understand our decision.
    My sister (the one who went home) was queried on her decision to isolate for 14 days in her home in Dublin before travelling. Lots of people thought that she was ott.
    Another sister lives abroad. It is more than 18 months since any of us have seen her or her family.
    But none of us wanted to take any risks with the 2 vulnerable members of our family. None of us wanted to be the one who passed it to them.

I didn't comment negatively on other people's decisions to have "normal" Christmases but the majority of people who asked about our plans did comment and thought that we all were ott.

Within minutes of my last post my wife told me about a family where someone went out to different restaurants before Christmas over a few nights with a few different groups and brought it home. Her Mother is ventilated since last night. She passed it to her boyfriend and 3 year old, and then the mother on Christmas Day. Went to visit a friend on Christmas Eve and it’s spread through that family too. One of those in hospital, but recovering. The girl herself is absolutely fine, both physically and mentally, by mentally I mean her conscience is apparently absolutely clear as she “stayed within the rules” and sure the government said restaurants were safe.

I absolutely despair, while at the same time am a little envious people could be that ignorant and anxiety free about it all. I think the thing I’m struggling most with, and will continue to struggle with after this is over, is the sheer amount of stupidity and selfishness there is out there.

INMO asking for better PPE. Surely cheap and effective way to minimise risk of infection?

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1349357516250095617

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

I absolutely despair, while at the same time am a little envious people could be that ignorant and anxiety free about it all. I think the thing I’m struggling most with, and will continue to struggle with after this is over, is the sheer amount of stupidity and selfishness there is out there.

This is what I am feeling a lot of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭SpacialNeeds

Even Simon Harris has criticised the slowness of the vaccines process now.
    What an absolutely spineless git.

"Oh if I were in charge".

Does he really think people are that stupid.

The INMO are calling for a state of emergency to be declared. Their staff somehow still don't have adequate PPE to protect them and 7000 staff are currently isolating or sick with covid.

Luke O'Neill that diabolical cretin seemed to suggest with some inside knowledge that the deaths are going to be going up and up in the coming days. I thought 46 was absolutely appalling but I'm prepared to be even more shocked today.

I hope the families of the dead get a chance to grieve and that those lost rest in peace.

Even after the fact with her mother on a ventilator? Think a lot of people are of the ''it's just a bad flu, be grand'' mindset completely oblivious that they could cause relatives to become seriously ill. It's juvenile, selfish and completely self-absorbed. Such short term thinking. Vaccines are on they way in a few months. Worst time to spread it to someone now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Eod100 wrote: »
    INMO asking for better PPE. Surely cheap and effective way to minimise risk of infection?

So..with that few beds left and 20 or so ICU admissions per day now in Ireland does that mean Ireland is running out tomorrow of ICU capacity? Or is there surge capacity not accounted for in that twitter post above?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,865 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

This is clearly untrue because
    People panicking here.

Seriously relax, we will be fine and the hospitals will cope.

The hospitals will be OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Even after the fact with her mother on a ventilator? Think a lot of people are of the ''it's just a bad flu, be grand'' mindset completely oblivious that they could cause relatives to become seriously ill. It's juvenile, selfish and completely self-absorbed. Such short term thinking. Vaccines are on they way in a few months. Worst time to spread it to someone now.

A lot of people seem to think I follow the rules. I only went to restaurants when government opened them so I'm grand.
    Luke O'Neill that diabolical cretin seemed to suggest with some inside knowledge that the deaths are going to be going up and up in the coming days. I thought 46 was absolutely appalling but I'm prepared to be even more shocked today.

In general deaths lag icu lags hospitalisation lags cases lags infections.

Today could be low day or a high day. The reporting of deaths to lag behind the actual deaths by a few days.

It's when the deaths are reported associated with when we hit our icu pack that we will see where deaths top out.

Sometimes there are spikes when a bunch of deaths hit the system at once. There is a reporting lag (sometimes I think the hse chases hospitals up remember to report your deaths). Hopefully yesterdays number is just that. A spike that wont be repeated but deaths will rise (not everyone in hospital and icu will get better).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

SusanC10 wrote: »
    This is what I am feeling a lot of the time.

If you are feeling that way. Just avoid the news and stay off this forum. I just think about it this way. Given what previous generations have suffered in this country we have not suffered. This is the worst thing to happen in 50 years and its nothing compared to wars, other pandemics and the famine.

Do what you can do. Stop thinking about what other people are doing. Most are trying their best. There are always people who don't follow the rules. But if your mental health is suffering avoid any news about the pandemic. There is nothing you can do but follow the guidelines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Gruffalux wrote: »
    To echo the long ago innocent times of the early threads.....link please?
    Nothing more than anecdotal, from a HCW in a care home, a Joe Duffy tale from way back and a family who lost their father.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There's today's hiccup

3,856 positive swabs out of 23,590 tests. 16.35%.

Still a very downward trajectory.

This day last week was 6,862 swabs @ 24.19%

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Is this effect of the resumption in mass testing in nursing homes and hospitals? Or is that still to come in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

Stheno wrote: »

It’s 3% higher today

Yeah, I couldn't actually believe it. I thought to myself, even if you do feel that cavalier, should she at least pretend to be remorseful?

I guess, as we've seen on these threads and elsewhere, many people react differently to crises, and maybe her way of coping is just that. Maybe it hasn't hit yet, it could come in a few days, weeks, years, even never... It's very easy for me to judge and say she should be feeling a certain way, but unless you go through it personally, you'll never know how you will react. I'm pretty sure I'd be in an absolute heap in such a scenario, but I don't know.