Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Those of you that hate Ivor Cummins will enjoy this thread

https://twitter.com/s8mb/status/1348042100777082881?s=19

Oh my, that really must be gutting for anybody who put any stock in him. If his claims about Snowden were based on so little , completely unsubstatiated rumour, literally hearsay from somebody who could be anybody lol. Well then it would have you wondering what shaky ground his other theories are based on :pac:
    That post is gold, nail in the coffin for Ivor. Although there have been already a littany of those moments for him and yet his army of lemmings soldier on..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,727 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

majcos wrote: »
    If this was the case, I would imagine there was still other clinical staff in more frontline areas that could have been prioritized before admin staff. Even staff in non Covid wards should have be given a higher priority than admin as that ward could be a Covid ward by tomorrow or that staff could be moved over to fill in for other absent staff. Other healthcare workers such as Physiotherapists and speech and language therapists and radiographers should have also been prioritized over admin as should the cleaners and porters. Admin staff in hospitals should be vaccinated but not in first few days.

Playing devil’s advocate here... perhaps the admin staff were at a higher risk of getting seriously ill should they contract covid than a healthy nurse. Say you have a 20-something year old, healthy nurse: sure, she may be likely to catch covid during the course of her work, but if she’s young, fit and healthy she’ll more than likely be ok. Even if she gets covid with no symptoms at all, or is deemed a close contact she’ll still have to self isolate for 14 days, and this is what’s having the biggest effect in staffing, not necessarily staff being ill with the virus.

Compare that nurse to a quite overweight secretary in the hospital who is nearing retirement age...

Absolutely, if it were confirmed that the vaccine also prevented one from transmitting the virus, yes absolutely, medical staff should be top priority, but maybe there’s a case for more medically vulnerable people to get it sooner. After all, they’re the ones we’re trying to protect and sooner they’re all done, the sooner we can start opening up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭majcos

I've mentioned it here a number of times as I get it first hand from my wife. A lot are the numbers are not people coming in with symptoms related to Covid and end up hospitalised. They are acquired in hospital. In her hospital there are over 100 with covid in general beds. She said a majority were in for other ailments. Her own uncle is one of those included in the figures. Ended up in hospital with pneumonia. Shook that and then got covid.

The ICU in her hospital is pretty much people moved to ICU while already admitted to hospital for either something else and acquired covid. Or came in with bad covid symptoms and were eventually moved. She didn't do a survey or nothing. But said the age of those in ICU would be quite old. Not to imply that makes it ok or anything. You just don't see much stats for the age profile of those in ICU and I've seen the question asked her a few times.

In her own words, the pressure is just the same as most winters. Not much phases her and of course every medical professional can have a different take. She said it's the effect it is having on treatments and patients overall that gets to her the most. She can't do what herself and colleagues want to do because of covid dominating so much.

Stats for admission age profile to ICUs are posted just above and have been available in 14 day epidemiological reports since September. Over 50% of ICU admissions are under 65. Very, very few are over 75.

When community numbers were low, hospital acquired infections accounted for a bigger percentage of total Covid cases in hospital but that is not the case now especially in the last two weeks.

I have never heard of hospitals any other Winter discussing oxygen conserving strategies or putting people on ventilators in theatre recovery areas with non ICU nurses and staff looking after them.

ixoy wrote: »
    Multiple stories going around of admin staff getting it ahead of the likes of nurses and doctors, despite the former being in the fourth group. On one level, yes - it's probably got to do with giving it out to who is available. On the other hand, why on earth wasn't it scheduled to give it to nurses and doctors first? Seems a few only found out about it after the vaccines were gone, which smacks of complete incompetence on management's side.

The case I specifically heard about had named medical staff scheduled for the appointment, but at the time they it turned out they were occupied in urgent medical duties which couldn't be postponed, or something like that. It would have been a matter of throwing out the spare vaccine or giving the hand to whoever else was around, and it wasn't the cleaners.

Patients treated in ambulances as Letterkenny hospital faces ‘unprecedented pressure’
    via The Irish Times
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/patients-treated-in-ambulances-as-letterkenny-hospital-faces-unprecedented-pressure-1.4454821

The case I specifically heard about had named medical staff scheduled for the appointment, but at the time they it turned out they were occupied in urgent medical duties which couldn't be postponed, or something like that. It would have been a matter of throwing out the spare vaccine or giving the hand to whoever else was around, and it wasn't the cleaners.
    That’s likely to happen but think there would be plenty of other staff available within the hospital minutes away that would have jumped at the chance. Cannot imagine it would be that hard within hospital setting to bring vaccine to the clinical areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Dancewithme

Probably the wrong thread to post here but I wonder is there a thread that could be set up about people wearing their masks under their noses, pulling their masks down to cough etc. No quoting on it, just personal encounters..... Delete if inappropriate mods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Probably the wrong thread to post here but I wonder is there a thread that could be set up about people wearing their masks under their noses, pulling their masks down to cough etc. No quoting on it, just personal encounters..... Delete if inappropriate mods.

A thread documenting how often people see masks being worn incorrectly would reach 10k posts quicker than this one!

If this was the case, I would imagine there was still other clinical staff in more frontline areas that could have been prioritized before admin staff. Even staff in non Covid wards should have be given a higher priority than admin as that ward could be a Covid ward by tomorrow or that staff could be moved over to fill in for other absent staff. Other healthcare workers such as physiotherapists and speech and language therapists and radiographers should have also been prioritized over admin as should the cleaners and porters. Admin staff in hospitals should be vaccinated but not in first few days.

The one and only case I learned of from a vaccinated individual was done late evening when physios etc had gone home but a couple of admin were there consulting over something that had arisen. The situation was that others couldn't be rounded up last moment and it seems the vaccine was otherwise going to be disposed of because it couldn't be popped back into the fridge. There has to be a set of staff on duty to prepare the vaccine etc. An ordinary fridge vaccine would be a much simpler matter, but the current one does pose planning issues, rounding up the right number of vaccinators, and the right number of administrators. The fact that each vial is a effectively batch of 5 makes it a 5 or nine scenario. This issue shouldn't arise the the upcoming alternative vaccines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Dancewithme

El Sueño wrote: »
    A thread documenting how often people see masks being worn incorrectly would reach 10k posts quicker than this one!

I just need to rant. It is soooo frustrating. I'm trying to keep my family safe and to be greeted with people standing at my shoulder wearing their mask on their chin or when I am work telling me they are a close contact. I despair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,700 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

They need to enforce the stay at home rule in places other than Dublin. I've not seen a checkpoint in past 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

El Sueño wrote: »

Covering the snozz seems to be difficult for some, maybe theres an untapped market for masks for those with the larger snozzle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭recyclebin

They need to enforce the stay at home rule in places other than Dublin. I've not seen a checkpoint in past 12 months.

Loads of guards off sick with Covid according to an article in the Independent last week. It's not something they want to broadcast all over the place for obvious reasons.

Playing devil’s advocate here... perhaps the admin staff were at a higher risk of getting seriously ill should they contract covid than a healthy nurse. Say you have a 20-something year old, healthy nurse: sure, she may be likely to catch covid during the course of her work, but if she’s young, fit and healthy she’ll more than likely be ok. Even if she gets covid with no symptoms at all, or is deemed a close contact she’ll still have to self isolate for 14 days, and this is what’s having the biggest effect in staffing, not necessarily staff being ill with the virus.

Compare that nurse to a quite overweight secretary in the hospital who is nearing retirement age...

Absolutely, if it were confirmed that the vaccine also prevented one from transmitting the virus, yes absolutely, medical staff should be top priority, but maybe there’s a case for more medically vulnerable people to get it sooner. After all, they’re the ones we’re trying to protect and sooner they’re all done, the sooner we can start opening up.
    Admin staff are given a higher priority than general population as per allocation groups. If someone high risk is in hospital admin, they are at home cocooning or have been moved to a lower risk area with no patient contact and to a safer setting where possible. It’s a shame that the HSE IT systems are so archaic that more of them cannot be working from home. Admin staff should now be in environments where they have basic protections like physical distancing from other colleagues, masks, hand sanitizer, Perspex screens, etc.

You’re right that we do not know yet that the vaccine reduces transmission and that a vaccinated person may still need to self isolate, but I still think a frontline physiotherapy suctioning respiratory secretions or an ICU nurse spending an entire 13 hour shift in a room with someone with Covid or a nurse on a general ward setting up and adjusting non invasive ventilation which is an aerosol generating procedure should have a higher priority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭mcburns07

The Gardai budget must be huge in Cork, i've seen many many checkpoints. There was one setup for 3 hours every evening just down the road from us during November.... and i've seen 3 already this month at different locations.

I've been staying local too so these are only where I live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

ixoy wrote: »
    And as to defrosted vials - they survive in the fridge for a few days so it could surely have been done a bit better, work around shifts, etc. It requires a bit of logistics planning but there's enough people in there surely to manage it.
    I think once the vials are made up/diluted they are only stable for a couple of hours and have to be used up.

I got a phone call the day before my appointment.
    But others got theirs on short notice, with the coordinator coming in and asking if anyone wanted the vaccine to come get it then and there.

Our dept is right beside the vaccination centre so were the closest staff available.

The one and only case I learned of from a vaccinated individual was done late evening when physios etc had gone home but a couple of admin were there consulting over something that had arisen. The situation was that others couldn't be rounded up last moment and it seems the vaccine was otherwise going to be disposed of because it couldn't be popped back into the fridge. There has to be a set of staff on duty to prepare the vaccine etc. An ordinary fridge vaccine would be a much simpler matter, but the current one does pose planning issues, rounding up the right number of vaccinators, and the right number of administrators. The fact that each vial is a effectively batch of 5 makes it a 5 or nine scenario. This issue shouldn't arise the the upcoming alternative vaccines.
    Absolutely vaccines should not be let go to waste but if being dispensed in acute hospital setting which operates 24/7, I find it hard to believe there was no clinical staff there. I would not mind hearing the odd person getting it like this and would be happy for the lucky individual who got it, but this seems to have happened in many hospitals across the country where other staff were easily available. Same has been reported in UK/NHS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,727 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Anyone know of the uptake of the vaccine amongst HCWs? I know one doctor anyway who was offered the vaccine, but declined.

There was a similar Chinese study that presented similar findings in September.

Conclusion

Quote:
    We highlighted that male fertility might be highly vulnerable to SARS‐CoV‐2 infection. Infection with this novel virus not only seriously threatens an individual's overall health, but also might lead to male infertility. Perspectives gained from multi‐organ research during the recent epidemic raises the possibility that damage to the male reproductive tract might be an underappreciated result of SARS‐CoV‐2 infection. Therefore, more attention should be paid to the effects on male fertility of SARS‐CoV‐2 infection, and should this causal link between SARS‐CoV‐2 infection and male infertility be confirmed, male patients should consider cryopreserving their spermatozoa to preserve fertility.

https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1111/andr.12907

This is looking more and more like an escaped biological weapon. Either deliberately released or by accident. China don't seem to want anyone investigating its origins either.

Look how many westerners have caught Covid and how hard the Chinese themselves are fighting to suppress the virus in their own population. What if its effecting fertility in people who don't really know they have it. In particular the young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭mcburns07

This is looking more and more like an escaped biological weapon. Either deliberately released or by accident. China don't seem to want anyone investigating its origins either.

Look how many westerners have caught Covid and how hard the Chinese themselves are fighting to suppress the virus in their own population. What if its effecting fertility in people who don't really know they have it. In particular the young.

Absolutely vaccines should not be let go to waste but if being dispensed in acute hospital setting which operates 24/7, I find it hard to believe there was no clinical staff there. I would not mind hearing the odd person getting it like this and would be happy for the lucky individual who got it, but this seems to have happened in many hospitals across the country where other staff were easily available. Same has been reported in UK/NHS.

Wasn't a major hospital setting, but I am interested to indeed hear of it is more widespread an occurrence. Everyone (well those who want it, and very many do) has to get it done time, and the more that have it the better protected the nation as a whole will be. But I know my own GP, eg, is struggling to find out when he might get it. I do t trust the HSE to get it remotely right, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

Try the conspiracy section of this forum.

Anyone know of the uptake of the vaccine amongst HCWs? I know one doctor anyway who was offered the vaccine, but declined.
    Hard to know yet what total uptake will be but doses sent to many hospitals have been completely used up.

National Maternity Hospital has vaccinated 1108 staff. I would think that is close to their entire number of staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

Lots of pregnant HCW I know are asking to hold out for AstraZeneca as not 100% confident these moderna and Pfizer wont affect the foetus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Wesekn.

Lots of pregnant HCW I know are asking to hold out for AstraZeneca as not 100% confident these moderna and Pfizer wont affect the foetus

That's their choice

Its not a good look for the rollout if medics won't take it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Tpcl20

Try the conspiracy section of this forum.

It's not a conspiracy that China aren't allowing the WHO scientists to investigate.

It's also not a conspiracy that they ran a major propaganda campaign to persuade their own citizens that they weren't the origin of the virus and that they handled it superbly, even though there is evidence that their case numbers were falsified and the deaths during their first wave were grossly misrepresented.

The adaptability of the virus (how quickly it mutates to prevent suppression; in the last three months alone there are now five different variants which are more transmissible) and the way it attacks many different systems in the body means that it does have the hallmarks of a biological weapon.

To suggest that it is manufactured, considering those facts, and because the country of origin it likely originated in is being incredibly unhelpful and obstructive to the rest of the world in figuring that out, is far from proposing a conspiracy theory.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,439 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

This is looking more and more like an escaped biological weapon. Either deliberately released or by accident.

Conspiracy Theories forum, does not belong here

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=576

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

Why do all your pregnant health care worker friends think astrazenaca is safer?

fits wrote: »
    Gabriel Scally just tweeted about this paper. Looks like covid is affecting male fertility

https://twitter.com/gabrielscally/status/1348343393605312513?s=21

Well the subjects of that study definitely had fertility issues given they were dead.

The qualifier was there that these were people killed by the virus. Of course there are going to be massive effects. You cannot extrapolate that to the entire population

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Psychedelic Hedgehog

I know of one HCW and one pharmacist who both think that the virus is, and I quote from the HCW, 'a load of bull'. Unfortunately I'm related to the HCW.

As my Dad said, intelligence and common sense are two completely different things.