Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭growleaves

Arghus wrote: »
    I've seen posters say the flu is worse!

Mainly in the "other" thread - which is like an alien world that should be nuked from orbit - but, yeah, you spend enough time here you'll read an awful lot of stupid shyte.

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,509 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Can you show us the data on that?

Because Jan 7th 2020 was pretty bad...

https://www.inmo.ie/Home/Index/217/13559

Lest we forget how bad out hospitals were before Covid.

November 2019...

https://www.inmo.ie/Home/Index/217/13549

About 200 people die each year from the flu in Ireland, we are currently TEN times that from covid, but you carry on with your nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭WhiteMemento9

Mainly in the "other" thread - which is like an alien world that should be nuked from orbit - but, yeah, you spend enough time here you'll read an awful lot of stupid shyte.

Trying not to look. The absolute neck of some of them to still be posting that trash while these events are unfolding is far too infuriating. I know some of them are just not ok in the head but I do think some of it is perverse pleasure in trolling which given what is happening is just sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Solar2021 wrote: »
    Could be too late by then, typical of us Irish, can't do anything right

Virus is everywhere

Takes a few weeks for vaccines to prime the body

Nursing home in Canada I believe vaccinated 236 residents, 102 got infected within 2 weeks as vaccines didn't have enough time to work

We are looking at similar situation

Why not say typical Canadians , then ?
    This virus at present is moving faster than any country and we are all going faster and faster to try to catch up .

kilkenny31 wrote: »
    Yeah I agree. My point is tho that because we cancelled so much of the rest of the health service the impact in hospitals wont seem a whole lot worse than the flu years. I think overall except for the main hospital numbers the rest if the stats deaths and ICU wont seem much worse than the 1st wave. Which was awful but nowhere near as bad as what was initially predicted.
    You are still missing the point.
    Covid kills more people then flu, you can't just look at hospital numbers alone.
    I could fill every hospital bed in Ireland with broken legs, would that also be the same?

The double whammy is that covid means more ICU but also means that non covid patients will die die to lack of resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,228 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 JJandthebear

Bear in mind also that the cdc figures for flu deaths used in that graph upthread are only estimates and wildly overestimated ones at that. For the last 5 years for example the number of actual recorded flu deaths in the US ranged somewhere between 15-30 thousand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,215 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Trying not to look. The absolute neck of some of them to still be posting that trash while these events are unfolding is far too infuriating. I know some of them are just not ok in the head but I do think some of it is perverse pleasure in trolling which given what is happening is just sick.

It's a car crash.

An absolute disgrace that post after post of misinformation is allowed to be dumped there in the middle of a genuine public health crisis.

Do we have the official figures for how many flu tests are carried out?

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6038762/

That document mentions 77000 influenza tests carried out per annum in US

Hard to find it if you don’t look for it

Ah here, you on about the flu on every thread now ?
    This is not a flu thread .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭SuperRabbit

How is it that some pass maths eejit thinks they have this all figured out and 99.9% of the doctors and epidemiologists and virologists in the world just have it wrong and can't see what they see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

Boggles.

We have to do something. That poor bastard.

But they are counted differently.
    You are correct, one is in hundreds, the other in hundreds of thousands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭majcos

Oh sweet jesus you should be perm banned for disinformation. It's intentional and it's dangerous.

It has a higher death rate (0.8% vs 0.2%) (4% mortality of positive tests though, 0.8 includes is when you test a whole population, without symptoms)
    A higher hospitalization rate (20% vs feck all)
    And is more infectious (r0 4 (old variant) vs r0 0.8-1))

without restrictions it's 5 times more infectious or so (new variant) but even with all these restrictions it's at least twice as infectious

Therefore the hospitals will be more full than they usually are

This information is everywhere

Everywhere.
    And to add to that, the length of hospital stay is much longer with Covid. Average length of stay is 17.7 days with length of stay among those requiring ICU care at 34.7 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭redarmy

BREAKING: U.S. Capitol back on lockdown due to a "security threat inside the building"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭boetstark

Antares35 wrote: »
    At least their leaders have balls when it comes to making decisions not like our lot faffing around with schools and thinking 2 or 5km will make or break our future. :D

Or blatantly telling lies on tv regarding Nephet consultation. How do we constantly get such muppets as leaders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Steve F wrote: »
    As soon as restrictions where announced here there were some looking for ways around them.
    We share our world with people that won't,under any circumstances,follow guidelines.
    Its almost like they think it's their duty to disobey the rules?

I think many people just believe they are an exception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,303 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Yeah I agree. My point is tho that because we cancelled so much of the rest of the health service the impact in hospitals wont seem a whole lot worse than the flu years. I think overall except for the main hospital numbers the rest if the stats deaths and ICU wont seem much worse than the 1st wave. Which was awful but nowhere near as bad as what was initially predicted.

I think you're probably going to be proved wrong and what you may or may not realise is every single ventilator in (I presume) your local hospital is full. That's five in case you were wondering. With at least 2 people waiting to go on it, or die. As a result, if you're in an accident and needed surgery with ventilation post op, you ain't getting it without someone else probably dying, or you, when they weigh up the value of each human life. Or a head injury where your consciousness is affected and you need ventilation you ain't getting it, or if your elderly (and not always that old) loved one needs emergency surgery for an obstruction that would otherwise kill them, they aren't getting it, or any other myriad of reasons you might normally spend time in critical care you have significantly less chance of getting there, there is zero capacity.

The other knock on is critically ill patients being moved into understaffed wards without the specialised training to look after them. That isn't good for the rest of the patients because nursing time is spent looking after these acutely ill patients. It's a sh*tshow.

Edit: meant to say it initially but anyway let's hope you're correct about numbers.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

Anyone who makes a comparison to the Flu should get an instant ban imo..

Coronavirus has killed more Americans in 9 months than the flu has in the last 10 years combined.

It's perfectly reasonable to compare to COVID to the flu. It's a similar illness that kills people in a similar way. Its unreasonable to say that covid isnt more serious then the flu because it is a lot worse.

But I do think as bad as there is people to downplay this there is also a tendency for people who love the hype of this and make it out to be more serious then it is.

I fall in the middle. I think it's a bad situation.. people are dying. But I also think the health service will muddle through. It will be a tough few weeks. But the number of confirmed cases will begin to fall next week and a couple of weeks later the numbers in hospital will begin to drop off. I think we will peak at around 1600 in hospital and maybe 120-140 in ICU. Deaths will he in the 30-40 range for a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

It's perfectly reasonable to compare to COVID to the flu. It's a similar illness that kills people in a similar way. Its unreasonable to say that covid isnt more serious then the flu because it is a lot worse.

But I do think as bad as there is people to downplay this there is also a tendency for people who love the hype of this and make it out to be more serious then it is.

I fall in the middle. I think it's a bad situation.. people are dying. But I also think the health service will muddle through. It will be a tough few weeks. But the number of confirmed cases will begin to fall next week and a couple of weeks later the numbers in hospital will begin to drop off. I think we will peak at around 1600 in hospital and maybe 120-140 in ICU. Deaths will he in the 30-40 range for a few days.

Are these all hunches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,627 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

growleaves wrote: »
    Lol

Oh the irony

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 138 ✭✭Endintheclowns

Uhhh I looked in there earlier and there's me thinking Reddit is full of head the balls.

It doesn't kill people in the same way , flu kills with pneumonia primarily , some with sepsis .
    Covid kills with pneumonia sepsis haemorrhagic disease cardiac complications and multi organ failure 10 times more than flu .
    Your oh should be ashamed to have to hear this rubbish from you, if she is really a nurse .

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Ah here, you on about the flu on every thread now ?
    This is not a flu thread .

No I sort of posed a question.

Is it correct that 77000 influenza tests are carried out per year in the US?

Surely there is official data to quench the argument of flu vs Covid by now with the excess deaths, life years lost and official numbers of hospital bed utilisation vs other years?

The responses here are forgetting the flu is dangerous and often fatal to children where luckily Covid doesn’t appear as dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

Great post! Spot on.

I don’t like people dismissing those who compare Covid to the Flu as simple daft idiots. After all it is a form of flu.

What we do know is that it is stronger than the standard flu we see every winter. The reason the winter flu is low(ish) if because we have a vaccine, have built up our immunes etc... However last year we did have 2,000 hospitalisations & 100 deaths with the winter flu.

We are all probably at the stage now where we know people who have had Covid, and luckily majority survive and say it’s like a flu.

While the deaths are beginning to rise , the last set of data of deaths (December) show that 2/3 deaths are related to nursing homes & hospitals! The vulnerable.

Similarly, like the winter flu it’s the same people who will die.

Crux of it all is that we have a **** show of a health service, absolutely diabolical!

No I sort of posed a question.

Is it correct that 77000 influenza tests are carried out per year in the US?

Surely there is official data to quench the argument of flu vs Covid by now with the excess deaths, life years lost and official numbers of hospital bed utilisation vs other years?

The responses here are forgetting the flu is dangerous and often fatal to children where luckily Covid doesn’t appear as dangerous.

Fintan ..200 vs 2000 , good night !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

How I felt after a brief look in that "other" thread

Fintan ..200 vs 2000 , good night !

So you don’t have any official data about testing rate for flu vs Covid.

These arguments can be stopped with any data like above

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

What does this mean in relation to allowed construction? FB & intel?

certain large construction projects in the exporting / FDI sector based on set criteria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,548 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

majcos wrote: »
    And to add to that, the length of hospital stay is much longer with Covid. Average length of stay is 17.7 days with length of stay among those requiring ICU care at 34.7 days.

12 days average hospital stay was put up here lately, I didn't question it so no link, you have a very exact number, does that average include the icu cases, if so maybe the 12 days number is for people not requiring icu?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

It doesn't kill people in the same way , flu kills with pneumonia primarily , some with sepsis .
    Covid kills with pneumonia sepsis haemorrhagic disease cardiac complications and multi organ failure 10 times more than flu .
    Your oh should be ashamed to have to hear this rubbish from you, if she is really a nurse .

Why get personal? Is there anything I have said which suggest I dont think Covid is more sever then the flu. All I an saying is there are people on there almost waiting to see people dying outside hospitals to prove that this is a terrible disease . My point is that we have had on days 500 paintents waiting on trolleys in hospitals around the countries. I.e. all our beds are taken plus there are 500 more waiting to get a bed. That is an awful situation. From a hospital stand point the next few weeks will be hard. But the government have ensured that all the resources are directed to COVID. The hospitals are pretty much clear to deal with this and this only. So where normally there will be flu paintents plus people recovering from surgeries this time there will be mainly just Covid.