Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXX-113,332 ROI(2,282 deaths) 81,251 NI (1,384 deaths) (05/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭SuperRabbit

AutoTuning wrote: »

We definitely let our hair down way too dramatically at Xmas. It’a against everything in our nature and culture to not socialise, particularly at Christmas but that’s really what has driven this. It’s unfortunate, but that’s the reality of it.

I haven't seen my parents since March. I didn't go anywhere for Xmas. I miss them so much i have a pain in my chest. IT feels like some of us are making all the sacrifices because other people aren't even willing to make tiny sacrifices.

Heathcare workers are working non stop and are dying.. and some people can't even wear a little cloth mask and forgo restaurant and Christmas parties https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0102/1187379-healthcare-worker-covid/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

"Mr Reid warned that in a few days' time there could be between 1,500 and 2,500 cases in hospital, with the number in ICU rising to between 250 and 430, which are levels that put critical care units at high and extreme risk".

Crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

Gruffalux wrote: »
    "Mr Reid warned that in a few days' time there could be between 1,500 and 2,500 cases in hospital, with the number in ICU rising to between 250 and 430, which are levels that put critical care units at high and extreme risk".

Crazy

That's not going to happen within a few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

mcburns07 wrote: »
    One word - Optics

Passed through plenty of checkpoints in November and was only stopped once. Gardai standing on the side of the road with floodlights on and a couple of cars with flashing lights is a way for the government to be seen to be taking action.

I can do without that optic tbh. Completely useless unnecessary delays of 30 minutes+ on my way into and out of work to add to the misery of the other restrictions. And yes i have to go in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

mohawk wrote: »
    Takeaway food definitely started in the first lockdown. Locally there are less restaurants doing takeout at the moment then there was previously because they can’t make money from it. Waiting outside for a coffee isn’t reason numbers have rocketed. It’s meeting people indoors.

People moved around the country, everyone know January would bring tough new restrictions so many people said they may as well meet people while it was allowed.

From what I am hearing there are many people in offices today that could work from home last March/April. That seriously has to stop. If your staff can work from home let them.

I don't think people are saying that coffee shops/cafes are cause a spike or cause them to sky rocket, they are saying that having these places open is a reason for people to go, congregate and potential pass on a highly infections disease that is rampant in the community. If they aren't open random people won't congregate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭AutoTuning

I haven't seen my parents since March. I didn't go anywhere for Xmas. I miss them so much i have a pain in my chest. IT feels like some of us are making all the sacrifices because other people aren't even willing to make tiny sacrifices.

Heathcare workers are working non stop and are dying.. and some people can't even wear a little cloth mask and forgo restaurant and Christmas parties https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0102/1187379-healthcare-worker-covid/

My one Xmas trip was after a two week period of self imposed restricted movements & a private PCR test on 23rd with results on 24th. I drove half way across the country to and from an elderly relative who lives on her own, on my own on Xmas morning. Made dinner. Fixed her central heating, did various repairs like changing lightbulbs and cleaned up her yard and we’d a really nice dinner and a bit of a laugh. Drove back same day to avoid staying overnight. That was the grand total of my Xmas.

Zero transmission. I was absolutely determined to make it as safe as possible. I just wouldn’t risk it otherwise.

When I say “we” I mean it the average behaviour of the people of this nation. Some were very careful, lots obviously were not.

froog wrote: »
    I can do without that optic tbh. Completely useless unnecessary delays of 30 minutes+ on my way into and out of work to add to the misery of the other restrictions. And yes i have to go in.

The stops don't seem to prevent anything because the covid-deniers know what lies to tell the guards, all they do is slow people down. I think it would be worth it if it worked, but is it working?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,150 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Yes, starts 5.30, so 6.15

Thank. Curious though how do you know it’s on this evening?

That's not going to happen within a few days

Sadly the potential is there and the statistics are suggesting we are going that way although to me, a reasonable timeframe to reach that stage would be a weeks time ie next Monday.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

bazermc wrote: »
    HSE briefing tonight?

"Mr Reid warned people to note that what they do today is important, and urged people to stay at home and reduce their contacts."

"Mr Reid said they are seeing a massive multiplier effect with rapidly growing cases, positivity rates and increased contacts, adding that transmission rates are far above any projections."

And Mr Reid will go to the presser this evening along with a load of journalists, sign language personnel, video camera staff etc. etc. and indulge in an hour of unnecessary contact of all these people instead of making a statement and allowing journos to call in questions as necessary.

Sorry to bang on about this, but seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

NI have a higher incidence rate than us in fairness. And that is of great comfort of course.

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1346135545194418181?s=20

My one Xmas trip was after a two week period of self imposed restricted movements & a private PCR test on 23rd with results on 24th. I drove half way across the country to and from an elderly relative who lives on her own, on my own on Xmas morning. Made dinner. Fixed her central heating, did various repairs like changing lightbulbs and cleaned up her yard and we a really nice dinner and a bit of a laugh. Drove back same day to avoid staying overnight. That was the grand total of my Xmas.

Zero transmission.

When I say “we” I mean it the average behaviour of the people of this nation. Some were very careful, lots obviously were not.

That's good to hear! I couldn't self isolate because I had to work up until Christmas, that's why I couldn't see them. The plan was to see the after I'd isolated for two weeks but then they moved the lockdown forward. I think if everyone was like us we'd be doing grand.

I also think the government could have planned it so that you wouldn't have all these level-3 workers travelling around the country without having had any chance to self-isolate, they could have had a plan to lock down from the 18th to the 1st and told everyone to do their Christmas on the second of January after two weeks of isolation, but instead they made us work so that it wouldn't be safe for us to see our families and made us take the call of whether or not we wanted to risk it. Ok, now we know it woudln't have worked because cases would be high by now anyway because of opening up at the start of December, but it would have been a less mad plan.

And if they let people travel before they went back to level 3, so again, people could actually get to see their families before coming out of quarantine... It's like either I'm allowed to see them but I can't because I have to work, or I'm not allowed to see them but if I was it would be safe because I'm not working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

Gruffalux wrote: »

Crazy

This sort of thing doesn't bother me in the slightest, all I care about is that this lockdown will go on longer if they can't get a control of it. And my own life is inconvenienced by it.
    It has been that long and people have been that stupid that I could care less how many are sick, I simply don't want them sick so that I can have my "proper" life back.
    I reckon there are THOUSANDS of people feeling like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭Lashes28

NI have a higher incidence rate than us in fairness. And that is of great comfort of course.

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1346135545194418181?s=20

🚨LOUTH: 1 IN EVERY 100 HAS COVID🚨

👉 Folks we have had 1,213 cases in the past 14 days - that means that 1 in every 100 people in our county has tested positive for Covid in the past two weeks alone.

👉 It’s about time we stopped passing the buck, it’s about personal responsibility now. It amazes me the amount of people who act as if they are public health experts these days on social media and know better then those with the qualifications.

👉 Limit your contacts, wear a mask when away from home and wash your hands regularly.

👉 We are all sick and tired of this pandemic, but nobody wants to get it at the final stages now that we have some light at end of tunnel with a vaccine.

🙠HOLD FIRM!

"Mr Reid warned people to note that what they do today is important, and urged people to stay at home and reduce their contacts."

"Mr Reid said they are seeing a massive multiplier effect with rapidly growing cases, positivity rates and increased contacts, adding that transmission rates are far above any projections."

And Mr Reid will go to the presser this evening along with a load of journalists, sign language personnel, video camera staff etc. etc. and indulge in an hour of unnecessary contact of all these people instead of making a statement and allowing journos to call in questions as necessary.

Sorry to bang on about this, but seriously.

I'm looking forward to the day when they say "what you do today isn't really important" or "This week is quite unimportant and what you do won't be very impactful"

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Ace2007 wrote: »
    I don't think people are saying that coffee shops/cafes are cause a spike or cause them to sky rocket, they are saying that having these places open is a reason for people to go, congregate and potential pass on a highly infections disease that is rampant in the community. If they aren't open random people won't congregate.
    That's why they remove outdoor seating though - so people don't congregate. At least in my local sandwich shop, you queue (with distancing) and wait outside until your order is ready. Nobody on top of each other and it operates well (especially as there's a click and collect service which cuts down on this further).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭Lashes28

Lashes28 wrote: »
    🚨LOUTH: 1 IN EVERY 100 HAS COVID🚨

👉 Folks we have had 1,213 cases in the past 14 days - that means that 1 in every 100 people in our county has tested positive for Covid in the past two weeks alone.

👉 It’s about time we stopped passing the buck, it’s about personal responsibility now. It amazes me the amount of people who act as if they are public health experts these days on social media and know better then those with the qualifications.

👉 Limit your contacts, wear a mask when away from home and wash your hands regularly.

👉 We are all sick and tired of this pandemic, but nobody wants to get it at the final stages now that we have some light at end of tunnel with a vaccine.

🙠HOLD FIRM!

Sorry was trying to quote a councillor shared that earlier. Scary high figures

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

This sort of thing doesn't bother me in the slightest, all I care about is that this lockdown will go on longer if they can't get a control of it. And my own life is inconvenienced by it.
    It has been that long and people have been that stupid that I could care less how many are sick, I simply don't want them sick so that I can have my "proper" life back.
    I reckon there are THOUSANDS of people feeling like this.

Hmm. I understand one can be driven to apathy and cold anger by all this - it is a complete head wreck that a virus was loosed upon us - but best to keep to the middle way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

7 day Positivity is very steep. I'm sure all of the breakdowns in testing and tracing etc will bring it under control before any modification of behaviour does.

538287.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

This is great education, and the sort of thing we have been missing.

https://twitter.com/Orla_Hegarty/status/1346133513876156416

Let's not forget that a lot of people get sick because they have to go to work and they don't have a choice about that. Or, I know 7 people who got it because 1 person in the house had to go to work, where she caught it, and the other 6 committed the grave offense of *gasp* living with someone with a job that can't go online

The NI figures being hugely high is very worrying as it’s one interconnected community living in a large island, whatever about the politics. The virus doesn’t stop at the border.

We need to get this down in both jurisdictions ASAP and across Britain and Europe.

We are likely to see a surge elsewhere in Europe too and in the USA for very similar reasons. Behaviour patterns aren’t very different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭ax530

My one Xmas trip was after a two week period of self imposed restricted movements & a private PCR test on 23rd with results on 24th. I drove half way across the country to and from an elderly relative who lives on her own, on my own on Xmas morning. Made dinner. Fixed her central heating, did various repairs like changing lightbulbs and cleaned up her yard and we’d a really nice dinner and a bit of a laugh. Drove back same day to avoid staying overnight. That was the grand total of my Xmas.

Zero transmission. I was absolutely determined to make it as safe as possible. I just wouldn’t risk it otherwise.

well done, think this is going to be a bigger issue this time around. Those doing best to prevent transmission and those who dont care carrying on as they please being frustrated with each other.
    it is a very difficult position to be in and causing drifts among friends & families. No doubt lots of people were under pressure over the christmas season to visit,call in, drop by ect look what has happened as aresult of this.
    Would 50% of people doign everythign as per guidelines help reduce transmission by 50% ? or due to nature of this transmission just have a small impact ?

7 day Positivity is very steep. I'm sure all of the breakdowns in testing and tracing etc will bring it under control before any modification of behaviour does.

538287.png

Not too steep a slope for 200 of the most determined British ski-vacationers in Switzerland

ax530 wrote: »
    well done, think this is going to be a bigger issue this time around. Those doing best to prevent transmission and those who dont care carrying on as they please being frustrated with each other.
    it is a very difficult position to be in and causing drifts among friends & families. No doubt lots of people were under pressure over the christmas season to visit,call in, drop by ect look what has happened as aresult of this.
    Would 50% of people doign everythign as per guidelines help reduce transmission by 50% ? or due to nature of this transmission just have a small impact ?

It’s hard to know. The exponential nature of transmission tends to mean that it can move very quickly if it has any routes though the population at all.

All I can do really is protect my bubble of family and myself. Beyond that it’s a lot more chaotic.

ax530 wrote: »

yeah unfortunately 50% doing everything right isn't enough. Considering a lot of people have to go to work anyway, and therefore can't keep their contacts down (some of whom can't even socially distance, like dentists!) you need the vast majority of people who have a choice to actually go ahead and make that choice. It would be lovely if my 1 contact could somehow be subtracted from Joe Blogg's 25, but it can't :(

The r0 maybe 4 (with no restrictions) but one person could directly spread it to dozens if they act like everything is normal, let alone who those dozens may spread it to

you know what if in the future any of us have to explain t our kids about the spread of STDs we are going to talk the ears off them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,852 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Happy new year everybody I have been away from internet for a few days, was talking to my mate in Quebec and he was talking about some worrying stuff concerning the vaccinations. Out of the 236 people who got the vaccination there 102 of them got covid. He sent me a clip on youtube, so if you are good at French here you go.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,579 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

You would think restaurants and pubs would have an upward vacuum type air expelling system, so when you breathe out it's immediately vacuumed upward to the ceiling and then expelled outside, with fresh air coming in through a filter.