Introducing the Current Affairs/IMHO forum

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,513 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Just to be clear. CA can never appeal to everyone. Like it or not, there will be some very contrasting views and opinions posted. It's not our job to censor those opinions. Yes we will clamp down on posters who post racist, homophobic, sexist etc content. However it needs to be recognised that people's view on where the line should be drawn differ. Sometimes posters post stuff they may never imagine will offend. Sometimes such offence is only in the eye of the beholder. I've had numerous conversations with posters over the years where they simply did not realise how their posts would be interpreted. Sometimes a quiet word is all that is needed. Sometimes, particularly when we see repeat offences, we will come down a lot harder on a poster. Obviously this requires mod discretion

Ultimately, and to some extent repeating my first sentence above, people will take offence at some content, but that does not mean it should be removed. We cater for a wide range of views, so please do not be surprised if some of the views expressed do not tie in with your own. Many such views that are posted I personally may find distasteful, but that does not mean I should moderate such views. Yes if they contravene site and/or forum rules (and the CA Charter is very deliberately short and to the point, but open to interpretation) we will act.

And just to add, Necro has been a star in CA and the Coronavirus forum. But I would add a number of other forum mods to that category. Some will be moderating stuff in the middle of the night. Sometimes one of us will have a splurge at all the reports, or a particular thread, both to understand the topic and deal with any issues arising.

I actually was playing round with a spreadsheet yesterday evening, and throwing some useless facts around:

Since CA was created in the middle of 2019, the CA and Coronavirus forums have reflected nearly a quarter of all site traffic (in terms of posts) - that's more than the next 5 forums (including AH and Soccer) combined

The 2 forums have resulted in over 40% of all cards issued over the same period

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

Beasty wrote: »
    Since CA was created in the middle of 2019, the CA and Coronavirus forums have reflected nearly a quarter of all site traffic (in terms of posts) - that's more than the next 5 forums (including AH and Soccer) combined

The 2 forums have resulted in over 40% of all cards issued over the same period

No surprise that CA is over represented in terms of cards issued.

Are there any plans to try and bring the number of cards down? I’ve no idea how that could be done, just curious.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,513 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

osarusan wrote: »
    I know it won't happen, but it would be nice to see the Banlist made public again.

At a childish level, it always warmed the heart to see the usernames of utterly obnoxious posters finally appear there.

You would never recognise 95%+ of the names. Many get banned before they even post. I remember one night (here - I was actually on the West Coast of America and it was evening over there) when we had 3 or 4 of our regulars acting in tandem (or trandem/4 seat bike ,whatever it's called!) and I banned a couple of hundred or more where only a handful ever got to post, but their posts were deleted within a minute or so

Smee_Again wrote: »
    No surprise that CA is over represented in terms of cards issued.

Are there any plans to try and bring the number of cards down? I’ve no idea how that could be done, just curious.
    We don't plan to issue any number. All we do is react to behaviour/content. We could easily bring it down if posters abided by the Charter and didn't act the Dick.

I understand that. What I meant but phrased badly is, are there any measures planned or discussed to try and get posters to abide by the charter more? I mean other than issuing cards (because based on the numbers this hasn’t been particularly effective).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

There is nowhere near enough bans and some of the posts left in those threads about the man who died, and anyone that remotely looks like him Is outrageous and sickening.The two threads really shame us as a society it’s almost like we have been brainwashed by Joseph Goebells to paint any non white irish as an enemy. Awful awful stuff.

Smee_Again wrote: »
    I understand that. What I meant but phrased badly is, are there any measures planned or discussed to try and get posters to abide by the charter more? I mean other than issuing cards (because based on the numbers this hasn’t been particularly effective).

We get criticised for not acting against things that are reported. We get criticised for to many mod actions

It's clear that the forum attracts more extreme views. People can usually see when we have acted. If others (or indeed the poster being actioned) do not have the cop on to realise similar behaviour will result in further sanctions there's no amount of "education" that will correct that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Necro has done a great job since he joined the CA mod team but he hasn't done so unsupported. It's a team effort. I'm glad Necro is getting regonition for his good work but please do not forget there is a team working on moderating the forum.

We get criticised for not acting against things that are reported. We get criticised for to many mod actions

It's clear that the forum attracts more extreme views. People can usually see when we have acted. If others (or indeed the poster being actioned) do not have the cop on to realise similar behaviour will result in further sanctions there's no amount of "education" that will correct that

It’s definitely a damned if you do and damned if you don’t situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Baggly wrote: »
    Necro has done a great job since he joined the CA mod team but he hasn't done so unsupported. It's a team effort. I'm glad Necro is getting regonition for his good work but please do not forget there is a team working on moderating the forum.

I still reckon you guys should unleash the mod kracken.

Posting will surely slow down again in that thread once it blows over. Midweek or thereabouts I'd imagine. Possibly sooner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

The whereabouts of the Kraken and the code to unlock its chamber shall remain a closely guarded secret amongst the mod team.

Baggly wrote: »
    The whereabouts of the Kraken and the code to unlock its chamber shall remain a closely guarded secret amongst the mod team.

Hes over modding the politics forum like a champ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,117 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I still reckon you guys should unleash the mod kracken.

Posting will surely slow down again in that thread once it blows over. Midweek or thereabouts I'd imagine. Possibly sooner

Yes but the comments will remain. If I wanted to show a kid how racist the Irish are there are hundreds of posts to support that opinion.

Discodog wrote: »
    Yes but the comments will remain. If I wanted to show a kid how racist the Irish are there are hundreds of posts to support that opinion.

Did you see the real life people outside the spar shop banging on the shutters while chanting " you white bastards "

Real life racism. Did you see the clip?

Did you see the real life people outside the spar shop banging on the shutters while chanting " you white bastards "

You are just rerunning the thread. This is feedback.

I am pointing out that the "it will die down soon" argument is rather moot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

You are just rerunning the thread. This is feedback.

I am pointing out that the "it will die down soon" argument is rather moot.

As suspected, clear cut racism from minorities is grand, yet you foam at the mouth at imagined racism everyday.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

What's usually claimed what's posted in theses cases usually is proven wrong or shown to be false ,
    People contestantly claiming racist posts to get threads shut down doesn't help ,
    You have posted multiple times calling for CA to be closed full stop,
    Posts are getting reported if they are not removed it's obvious they are not racist posts ,
    This whole idea boards should be a sterile chamber for liberals who don't want anything contensious discussed without them calling everyone phobe ,phobe that ,ist this and that .
    Very one sided views

TomTomTim wrote: »
    As suspected, clear cut racism from minorities is grand, yet you foam at the mouth at imagined racism everyday.

This is feedback but feel free to continue on the actual thread.

See if you can find one post, from me, apart from today with any mention of racism in it ?

Gatling wrote: »
    What's usually claimed what's posted in theses cases usually is proven wrong or shown to be false ,
    People contestantly claiming racist posts to get threads shut down doesn't help ,
    You have posted multiple times calling for CA to be closed full stop,
    Posts are getting reported if they are not removed it's obvious they are not racist posts ,
    This whole idea boards should be a sterile chamber for liberals who don't want anything contensious discussed without them calling everyone phobe ,phobe that ,ist this and that .
    Very one sided views

I haven't called for it's closure. I have suggested an alternative for those who want it.

If a post is still there it doesn't mean that it's not racist. Boards haven't defined what they consider racist & it's left to each Moderators discretion.

I am not calling for the closure of discussion. I think that these threads serve a purpose in that it's better that views are in the open. As usual it's not about what is discussed but how it's discussed. Referring to people as scum, stating pages of, so called facts, without any link or evidence shouldn't be part of Boards.

If I wanted to show a kid how racist the Irish are

Seems little doubt that you have some angle of intent in this direction. Strange way to look at things, picking out elements and not the measure of the fray entire.

You could find posts on any topic to demonstrate any opinion on boards, im sure.

Focusing on only certain ones, without context, oof thats not particularly demonstrative of anything really, is it?

Seems little doubt that you have some angle of intent in this direction. Strange way to look at things, picking out elements and not the measure of the fray entire.

You could find posts on any topic to demonstrate any opinion on boards, im sure.

Focusing on only certain ones, without context, oof thats not particularly demonstrative of anything really, is it?

I have no angles of intent (whatever they are) & like others, you leap to conclusions. I am merely pointing out that, if a group choose to label Ireland as racist, they would find plenty of ammunition here. Either the views represent the majority or those that oppose them don't bother to post. I guess it's about which side shouts loudest.

Most issues outside of CA & possibly Soccer are discussed without the use of abuse. Any viewer gets to see both sides & way up any arguments. But CA is the popular place & with some topics very one sided.

There are certain issues that act as triggers, such as immigration, travellers, even RTE, that are guaranteed to unleash the hoards. Anyone who opposes the masses are regarded with absolute derision.

If a post is still there it doesn't mean that it's not racist. Boards haven't defined what they consider racist & it's left to each Moderators discretion.

It means exactly that it's not racist ,there is already a full legal definition of racism ,the problem is when a number of posters decide everything is racism , mention immigration it's racism , mention gangs running amok all across the country (based off LA and London street gangs) thats racism , discuss dp and if you don't agree with it that's racist too .
    Seems very much people just want nothing be discussed that they don't like .

Maybe someone with money can start a sterile echo chamber alternative to boards

Gatling wrote: »
    It means exactly that it's not racist ,there is already a full legal definition of racism ,the problem is when a number of posters decide everything is racism , mention immigration it's racism , mention gangs running amok all across the country (based off LA and London street gangs) thats racism , discuss dp and if you don't agree with it that's racist too .
    Seems very much people just want nothing be discussed that they don't like .

Maybe someone with money can start a sterile echo chamber alternative to boards

Give a legal definition of racism that isn't subject to interpretation.

I actually agree that it is used too often. But there's also those that deny it's existence. I don't see any sign of Boards bowing to the "liberals" you refer to.

I think some want to ban discussion but there are also those who avoid trying to discuss things in CA, when it's one of the trigger subjects, because they immediately turn into echo chambers. You can guess the posts just by reading the thread title - you don't need to read them.

But, as we used to be told, Boards isn't about free speech & never has been. There are increasing moves to make publishers even more responsible for what they publish. The only thing that "saves" the Garda shooting thread is that the guy is dead & won't be put on trial.

Give a legal definition of racism that isn't subject to interpretation.

"Subject to interpretation "

That's the issue people using their own interpretation of a word to get one up or get discussions shut down that Posting in poor faith, even trolling .

No wonder mods are finding it hard to sort some of the nonsense out , mod in my interpretation the poster said some bold ,mod you need to do this or else .

There is nowhere near enough bans and some of the posts left in those threads about the man who died, and anyone that remotely looks like him Is outrageous and sickening.The two threads really shame us as a society it’s almost like we have been brainwashed by Joseph Goebells to paint any non white irish as an enemy. Awful awful stuff.

You're right. We should erase any opinions that you deem racist. Thanks WHITEjesus

That's not racism. White people have privilege or something.

I guess if the higher-ups in Boards are happy to let CA (the IMHO bit is surely ironic, at this point) exist as it does, then that's their call.

I don't think it's a great look to have so many questionable threads and posts hanging about on the site, but I'm free to ignore them and not post in those threads. As are we all.

I guess if the higher-ups in Boards are happy to let CA (the IMHO bit is surely ironic, at this point) exist as it does, then that's their call.

I don't think it's a great look to have so many questionable threads and posts hanging about on the site, but I'm free to ignore them and not post in those threads. As are we all.

It's a lot easier to "manage" if all this sort of stuff is kept in the one place. Previously AH was a host for such commentary, but that ended up detracting from that forum. We have Admins as mods in CA. We can intervene at a forum or site level when appropriate.

Yes we see extreme views. Sometimes we do not see stuff because the forum is so busy (and the addition of the Coronavirus forum has taken a lot of mod time up). There are some threads which regularly push the limits, but it is better concentrating it in the one place. That allows AH to be a home for a bit more banter. Politics to be a home for some very serious analytical discussion, and posters can ignore CA if they do find a lot of it distasteful

And yes there have been bannings dished out at forum and site level. It's easier if some of us Admins can see how discussions evolve and who some of the protagonists are and we can intervene a little sooner if action at site level is appropriate

However we are not going to censor for the sake of it. We will allow discussion from any end of the political spectrum. As I've already said we will clamp down on some of the extreme stuff, but we do find a very wide range of what posters themselves consider "appropriate"

Questionable posts and threads? Man, anything overtly racist is dealt with. What questionable threads are you talking about? Ones you don't agree with?

Just things that I read and immediately just frown and think "why would you post that?"