Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXX-113,332 ROI(2,282 deaths) 81,251 NI (1,384 deaths) (05/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭SpacialNeeds

Were people giving out about not being able to buy clothes this time around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,474 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

niallo27 wrote: »
    No extra capacity to bring us in line with the EU average, I'm not even asking to be the best, just being mediocre would do me.

Ok, so your are happy to pay for that infrastructure and staffing, even though it won't be used most of them time?
    Hard to maintain staff and standards in those situations.

Genuine question btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Apologies if it's already been explained but on the 9000 positive cases not reported yet:

What dates are they from?
    Why are they not included in the HSE daily update so the numbers can be delivered in the most timely manner possible to the public?
    What is the purpose of the backlog reporting?

Here is a comparison of cases vs swabs

https://mobile.twitter.com/kevcunningham/status/1344692965839613952/photo/1

It seems to have started building up on 23 December.

Positive swabs go through a checking routine and are then reported as a case. They haven't been able to keep up with this for whatever reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

GreeBo wrote: »
    Ok, so your are happy to pay for that infrastructure and staffing, even though it won't be used most of them time?

Genuine question btw.

We hear reports of hospitals being overwhelmed every winter with 100s on trolleys. Why do you think it will not be used.

AlekSmart wrote: »
    I certainly do not want to catch it,but neither do I wish to see an entire species lose it's collective reason,and surrender many aspects of life that have been hard fought for.

As our former European partner might say,Keep Calm & Carry On :D

You don't think that's laying it on a bit thick?
    Other than those dying, no one is giving up anything for life.

We hear reports of hospitals being overwhelmed every winter with 100s on trolleys. Why do you think it will not be used.

Because we don't get overwhelmed in summer, who pays for it all during summer?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

If they are going to persist with the 1700 cases a day this becomes rather futile. Anyone looking at the headlines yesterday saw 1700 cases and thought it may be stabilising or whatever, but 1700 cases is approx 30% of the total swabs from the previous day. It really is laughable nonsense.

I explained the whole thing to a number of people yesterday who were shocked. Many of them thought the schools would be guaranteed to reopen on the 11th as "it had stabilised at 16/1700 per day". If you announced the true number yesterday (likely between 5000 and 5500 cases) most people would have keeled over and it would hopefully cause some of those still intent on socialising to rethink their plans.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,684 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Because we don't get overwhelmed in summer, who pays for it all during summer?

That's a flawed logic. Because it's not needed for a few months of the year, we just don't care about those who need it later?

I bring my jacket with me in case it rains, so if it does I'll be ok.

Solar2021 wrote: »
    If they can't count the cases, does that mean people are not getting a txt message to say they are infected or not?

If they are getting the txt

Why not count the positive txt messages that got sent out?

Must be some thicko's working for HSE

If we couldnt count sale orders above 2000 with our ERP I'd be fired

Stone age stuff

Because those positive results are not unique cases.

Come back to us with your analogy when you sell the same physical item to the same customer twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Genuine question btw.

Why wouldn't it be used. We have huge queues for everything in the health service and grannies on trolleys every winter.

antodeco wrote: »
    That's a flawed logic. Because it's not needed for a few months of the year, we just don't care about those who need it later?

I bring my jacket with me in case it rains, so if it does I'll be ok.

It's not needed for the majority of the time, it's only need for a few months.

Your jacket didn't incur costs while not being worn

Come back to us with your analogy when you sell the same physical item to the same customer twice.

Just jump into the SuperValu go kart bargain alerts thread to answer that question! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Eivor

Genuine question btw.

We pay a ridiculous amount for our sub-par health service as is. Most of it goes to inept senior staff in the top heavy hse structure. A complete overhaul of the health service is needed to get rid of dead weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,779 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

So I see we are stuck on below 1800 announced cases per day. Is this a situation where that's the most they can notify in a day?
    Why can they not bring in people who are unemployed on temporary contracts to help out.
    We have no hope of getting this thing under control if we are unable to track, trace and notify.

Suitable people would need to be invited to apply, applications screened.. be interviewed, trained... ok it wouldn’t take too long for training but you’d be probably looking at 4 weeks minimum from advertising to somebody in front on a pc and phone working.

Why wouldn't it be used. We have huge queues for everything in the health service and grannies on trolleys every winter.

The queues are not just for beds, they are for procedures who need consultants etc, just who is going to pay for all this?

Believe me I'd love it, but it comes with a huge cost that people just won't pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Solar2021

What do you mean?

One is a positive txt

One is a negative txt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

iguana wrote: »
    Living through a pandemic. I've never been anything close to a germaphobe. Tbh, I've always had more of a 'bit of dirt is good for you' mindset. But I had an instinctive, no-no-no-no, reaction to the conveyor belt of food. I'm still not fully recovered from a March viral infection either. So I think I'll need a few months of full health before I'd feel even remotely comfortable with that sort of perceived risk.

But if the pandemic was limited to say China/Asia would it have affected you in same way?

I once ran a training course in India, I have travelled the world inc China and most of east Asia so am very careful what I eat and drink but never been as sick as I was in India I literally lost 6kg. I never been back just let the guys in Singapore deal with there.

Still I find eating out at Sushi or Yum cha no different to drinking in a pub, you are drinking from a glass that someone touched with their hands... even though good handling you should avoid touching top of glass in front of customers there’s always chance the glass has been handled incorrectly at some stage...same for cutlery at a restaurant.

If you are living in a society that is low risk to Covid then it’s easy not to be as put off, for me aside from the restrictions that we have to live by it’s not much different to 2019.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

They are going eat you alive for them comments.

I'm reminded of the late great WC Field's comment on eating......

"I like children,if they're properly cooked"

https://images.gr-assets.com/authors/1331712829p5/82951.jpg

Presumably the staff of the CSO and some HSE peeps will need seasoning also :) ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

The queues are not just for beds, they are for procedures who need consultants etc, just who is going to pay for all this?

Believe me I'd love it, but it comes with a huge cost that people just won't pay.

We are paying huge money as it is for a **** service.

It's not needed for the majority of the time, it's only need for a few months.

Your jacket didn't incur costs while not being worn

But I still had to buy it. Your arguement has been no point in "buying it" if it's not needed. I buy a jacket but may not need it.

Genuine question for you: Is your preference to not have something and run the risk of people dying rather than having it and possibly not needing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

> 3,000 will be reported today

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1345359460672430081?s=21

Already people are assuming it’s grand because “it’s only a backlog”

https://twitter.com/geucallo/status/1345364921069039617?s=21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

What don’t they just announce the true figure? It might actually shock some people into curbing their movements. What’s the point of releasing numbers if they’re not really accurate?

antodeco wrote: »
    Just jump into the SuperValu go kart bargain alerts thread to answer that question! :pac:

So your argument is to show that even a huge retailer like SuperValu can't keep on top of their inventory?

Interesting, though it would appear thats supporting my argument more then yours...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭strawdog

Numbers today will include some of those 9000

Nolan said

They really need to fix the reporting prob asap then show a bit of cop on and flexibility and announce it as- this is today's numbers, and this, separately, is the amount of back logs now confirmed.

Yes it's been underreported the last few days leading to perhaps a lack of urgency in the general public, but they risk a panic if they lump them together too quickly, there's too many to be thrown back in at this stage to not separate them out

> 3,000 will be reported today

Already people are assuming it’s grand because “it’s only a backlog”

This was always my fear that people will.pass it off as being a backlog.

They need to say, "we have been averaging about 3000 cases a day that last few days, and we are now able to start reporting properly"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,080 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

marno21 wrote: »
    If they are going to persist with the 1700 cases a day this becomes rather futile. Anyone looking at the headlines yesterday saw 1700 cases and thought it may be stabilising or whatever, but 1700 cases is approx 30% of the total swabs from the previous day. It really is laughable nonsense.

I explained the whole thing to a number of people yesterday who were shocked. Many of them thought the schools would be guaranteed to reopen on the 11th as "it had stabilised at 16/1700 per day". If you announced the true number yesterday (likely between 5000 and 5500 cases) most people would have keeled over and it would hopefully cause some of those still intent on socialising to rethink their plans.
    Public health aren't that stupid. If they cannot get a handle on it they'll start reporting swabs as estimated cases, and revise later.

Solar2021 wrote: »
    What do you mean?

One is a positive txt

One is a negative txt

People get more than one test, frontline workers can be tested daily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

As someone who has been posting about Covid on boards.ie before it was even considered a pandemic, I feel that it would be the right thing to do to let you all know that I went and got tested earlier today. So far I am feeling fine, as are the other close contacts who had to get tested after the same socialising. The last few days have been filled with anxiety and dread (maybe because I know more about the virus and its potential effects than most) and it is not something I would wish on anyone. I would urge all of you to not let your guard down in order to avoid finding yourself in my current position. The current situation is far graver than anything we have seen since March and all you need to do is make the wrong decision once to feel the consequences.

I hope beyond hope that I end up testing negative when the HSE gets back to me but if not, let this post be a +1 in the many morality lessons emerging from the Covid chronicles in terms of avoiding unnecessary social contact.

Just to provide an update - I tested negative. Major relief considering I have an underlying respiratory condition. That was some of the worst few days of my life.

Stay safe everyone. Avoid unnecessary socialising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Strumms wrote: »
    Suitable people would need to be invited to apply, applications screened.. be interviewed, trained... ok it wouldn’t take too long for training but you’d be probably looking at 4 weeks minimum from advertising to somebody in front on a pc and phone working.

If only we had requested people to apply to help at the very start of it, we could have got 70 or 80 thousand people to apply.

So your argument is to show that even a huge retailer like SuperValu can't keep on top of their inventory?

Interesting, though it would appear thats supporting my argument more then yours...?

Wow ok. You asked for evidence to counter your argument.

I'll ask another genuine question, can you provide details of the cost to the state for having extra capacity versus the cost to the state not having this capacity? Because that's your arguement is it not? The cost implication doesn't justify paying for it.