Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXX-113,332 ROI(2,282 deaths) 81,251 NI (1,384 deaths) (05/01) Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Ace2007 wrote: »
    That's why we have a lockdown - with everything closed people won't be out and about spreading it. If everyone in the country acted as if they had it, less people would actually get it.

Any updates on the schools at all? Surely they can't get back on track with them open?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    * for the next sprint

Project managers don’t understand the concept of Agile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

So this not testing business...

Is the testing system over capacity already?
    Should we have no confidence in the case numbers?

Essentially, what happened today?

Essentially we should just follow the swab numbers?

Cases seem to be doubling every 2-3 days, this is being optimistic.

Very possible we'll hit 6-8k positive swabs daily by early next week. Let's hope not though, as I do think people changed their behavior from around 22nd December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

A large number of people didn't go for tests over xmas - for selfish reasons.

Now they have and due to the large numbers of close contacts - if they were all referred for testing it would be approx. 52k people. Obviously you can see that the system can't cope with that many people, especially over one day.

If you test positive today for the virus - you should know who your close contacts are and tell them, If everyone was keeping their contacts small, then you won't have to go telling 10+. However the reality over xmas was different.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

The reported positive swabs are too great in number to be entered in the HPSC system so they cannot be confirmed-backlog of 4000 on the way over the next.week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Dublin was absolutely eerie this evening, felt reminiscent of March last year.Not a sinner about. Was spooky to think it was NYE. Everyone certainly taking this Level 5 seriously by the looks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

GPs are overwhelmed with the amount of referrals their getting. Their phones ring off the hook all day.

The swabbing centres dont seem to be overwhelmed and the turnaround time for lab testing to result is still ok.

The HPSC are having issues getting through what swabs are new cases and reporting them fast enough to the DOH.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I miss the buzz of it all. Have been out of work since May :(

Ah. Sorry to hear that

Yes the madness of the chaos can be a.bit addictive :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Dublin was absolutely eerie this evening, felt reminiscent of March last year.Not a sinner about. Was spooky to think it was NYE. Everyone certainly taking this Level 5 seriously by the looks of it.

They have been given no choice but good to hear nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Or because half of them have the virus or are isolating!!

snotboogie wrote: »
    You fool, zero covid obviously only works in remote Pacific Islands like New Zealand and er.. Wuhan

Wut??

https://www.dw.com/en/africas-hurdles-toward-a-covid-vaccine/a-55904651

As the rest of the western world plug on with the vaccine - Africa as is the usual case lags behind, and people here are giving out about Ireland being slow...

Or because half of them have the virus or are isolating!!

Its raining

Can't drink pints outside in the rain, though riun a good pint of Guiness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

I miss the buzz of it all. Have been out of work since May :(

In what area did you work?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

GPs are overwhelmed with the amount of referrals their getting. Their phones ring off the hook all day.

The swabbing centres dont seem to be overwhelmed and the turnaround time for lab testing to result is still ok.

The HPSC are having issues getting through what swabs are new cases and reporting them fast enough to the DOH.

Thanks. Ok, so the swab data at least is reliable for now?

Good on you all biomedical scientists. A career that I was trained in but could not hack. Bless you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭snotboogie

Ace2007 wrote: »
    https://www.dw.com/en/africas-hurdles-toward-a-covid-vaccine/a-55904651

As the rest of the western world plug on with the vaccine - Africa as is the usual case lags behind, and people here are giving out about Ireland being slow...

I was asking what "it will be mid 2021 before African gets vaccine" means?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

They have been given no choice but good to hear nonetheless.

Even popular outdoor gathering spots like Grand canal dock or along the canals were completely quiet though which I was kind of shocked to see on NYE. Fairly cold out though tbf, was snowing and all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 725 ✭✭✭ElJeffe

Nothing is open of course it's quiet. Should of been like that the last few weeks tbh. Our local off licence had a queue outside it earlier so I'm guessing there could be house parties galore this evening.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

In what area did you work?

Dot net dev.
    Used to build a product for the NHS.
    Well that was years ago.

Contracting since. Mostly fintech.

Miss working in the health area.
    Good on Shane for building the swab data site.

https://covid19.shanehastings.eu/api/swabs/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 199 ✭✭Morries Wigs

swabbing centres and hospitals not overwhelmed weird that considering the messages from the cronies on rte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

People who are planning a pregnancy are being advised to wait at least 3 months after being vaccinated.

People advised to hold off on trying for a baby for a period of time after getting Covid-19 vaccination

It's more to do with not having enough clinical data to hand rather than any specific risk being known. It's a cautious, risk preventative move. Admittedly though I don't think people are aware that this advice is out there regarding pregnancies.

Does that go for both male & female?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭landofthetree

More than 3.1 million Americans have received their first dose of the COVID-19 vaccine, up from 2.6 million on Wednesday

swabbing centres and hospitals not overwhelmed weird that considering the messages from the cronies on rte

Do you want hospitals to be overwhelmed before we act?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

Thanks. Ok, so the swab data at least is reliable for now?

Good on you all biomedical scientists. A career that I was trained in but could not hack. Bless you all.

Cheers igCorcaigh :)

The news of not testing asymptomatic close contacts has come as good news to many on social media. Some think they falsely inflate the situation if they're not "sick".

Any symptom will still warrant a test.
    Close contacts will still be informed they are contacts but just not get a test.
    Close contacts should be restricting their movements anyway regardless of a test, so hopefully it shouldn't play too much part in the more significant statistics of hospitalizations and icu admissions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

ElJeffe wrote: »
    Nothing is open of course it's quiet. Should of been like that the last few weeks tbh. Our local off licence had a queue outside it earlier so I'm guessing there could be house parties galore this evening.

You manage to take the worst from every situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

Dot net dev.
    Used to build a product for the NHS.
    Well that was years ago.

Contracting since. Mostly fintech.

Miss working in the health area.
    Good on Shane for building the swab data site.

https://covid19.shanehastings.eu/api/swabs/

I'll second that. Fair play to Shane Hastings.

What's your excuse, igCorcaigh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭Sammy2012

I was in my local town earlier and came home! The place was crazy busy! Way too busy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Happy New Year one and all.

We may be facing a bleak Q1 and in all likelihood Q2 but I really think that as the weather improves, we will have a summer somewhat approaching normality.

Try to avoid the news for the next few weeks, believe me there'll be nothing good there for you and there's nothing you can do to change it, it's certainly my New year's resolution to focus on myself and forget about the madness going on around us.

Keep you and your loved ones safe, it's all you can do and we now have a real and genuine reason to hold firm. By Easter I believe the landscape will be a lot better.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 725 ✭✭✭ElJeffe

niallo27 wrote: »
    You manage to take the worst from every situation.

I'm a realist pal.

If you don't like it you can always ignore

Happy New Year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭WhiteMemento9

RTE - Hospitals in Northern Ireland reach full capacity
    Overall bed occupancy is at 100%, with only six beds still empty, latest official figures show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

One thing I’ve learned about humanity in 2020 is that we are fcuked as a species if/when something a lot more fatal comes along.

That’s a fact.

doesn't bode well for what's coming with climate change.