Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXX-113,332 ROI(2,282 deaths) 81,251 NI (1,384 deaths) (05/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

majcos wrote: »
    Are you asking if they are early post Christmas Day?

Restrictions were relaxed on December 18th and Christmas social events started from then so now 11 days later. Incubation period is up to 14 days but average of 5 days to onset of symptoms in those who become symptomatic.

People who get very sick tend to be from day 5 to 10.

Fair to presume that the Christmas day rise in transmission has not been seen, or largely seen yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,032 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I think I am more worried and scared now as the new variants are spreading faster and some folks just don't care anyone, everyone take care and stay safe

Thats why likely everything needs to shut and stay shut for weeks now.

They cant be trusted to behave so everyone has to suffer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I think I am more worried and scared now as the new variants are spreading faster and some folks just don't care anyone, everyone take care and stay safe

What are you actually scared of, more lockdowns are coming, unless your in a nursing home, you are putting yourself under more risk driving to the shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭John.Icy

Thanks. I guess.

Again I repeat from last night, these high hospitalisation numbers seem quite early. No?

I think the rate would be slightly higher than October, based on a more even age distribution of cases the last few weeks. Back then it was big skew towards younger but most of December it's quite an even spread. More older people in the cases, more people with higher risks of hospitalisations.

Also, the likes of Beaumont - 69 cases at present. There has been a large outbreak there since mid December. They also swab every admission (any cause). We don't know the real scope of how sick any of these 69 are, how many are solely connected to the ward outbreaks vs genuine COVID admission etc. Could have dramatic discharge numbers from the likes of Beaumont soon which might assist deciphering things here.

Mayo has also confirmed multi-ward outbreak. They have climbed all the way to 30 cases, they only had 6 on Christmas eve! Of course not every case may be linked to the outbreak but again, hard to get this data on that.

There are likely several factors behind the current climb. Very hard to tell what is happening in the community - hospitals with a gradual increase tend to be reflective of community admission rates. When hospitals jump big numbers in 1-3 days, it's likely a mix of admissions and a ward outbreak - though Dublin may be different here as a lot more people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Your PM inbox is full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

heard this stat recently but then you are reminded that 1 in 85 people in America die every year (of all causes)

Some people forget, life = death, it's coming folks, don't get too obsessed with covid or anything, your day will arrive, sooner than you think

Jaysus Mick, don’t think I’d be bringing you back for a party anytime soon... and not because of Covid :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

The teachers unions looking to get schools closed now while the front line health workers get what?
    A round of applause,a 100 euro retention fee bill, and a nomination to be one of the first to take a vaccine with very little research into its side effects.
    Hang tight lads.
    We might get another round of applause and a lord of the rings poem from the leak yet.
    A fcukin jokeshop of a setup if there was ever one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

The teachers unions looking to get schools closed now while the front line health workers get what?
    A round of applause,a 100 euro retention fee bill, and a nomination to be one of the first to take a vaccine with very little research into its side effects.
    Hang tight lads.
    We might get another round of applause and a lord of the rings poem from the leak yet.

Glass half empty.
    ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,123 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Hang tight lads.
    And not one teacher has died from covid.

Shut the supermarkets next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,280 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I mean when you read some of the replies in this thread it's absolutely no wonder why we're not containing this very well at the moment.
    So you want to be able to drive 10k or whatever to go for a walk. If we don't have a 5km restriction, people will drive wherever they like, from badly infected areas, and further spread the disease.

Do you think they can come out and say you may go further than 5km but only if you're going to a deserted beach or forest, that's fine. And if you're stopped by a checkpoint just tell them you're going hiking alone in a deserted place and they won't have a problem with that. Yeah great idea.

It has to be a blanket ban or people will take all kinds of liberties.
    A lot of people don't comply anyway, but the more lax you make it the more people aren't going to take heed.

Bloody hell...

• JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Plus the vaccine rollout and good news is giving a false sense of security to people that it is all but over.

It's a dangerous cocktail of things happening at once that may lead us to our worst moments yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,074 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Your PM inbox is full.

Sorry now ok ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Let's do this right or we will be stuck in an endless loop. Close the schools and go with these restrictions from April for a few weeks. We know this works. We had our fun over Christmas, now it's time to pay the piper.
    Last night, people in Ireland were told to stay at home in all circumstances until 12 April, except in the following situations:

To travel to and from work in circumstances where the work is in an essential health, social care and other essential service and the work cannot be done from home.

To shop for essential food and household goods or collect a meal .

To attend medical appointments and collect medicines and other health products.

For vital family reasons, such as providing care to children, elderly or vulnerable people, but excluding social family visits.

To take brief individual physical exercise within your locality, which may include children from the household (e.g for a run or walk with/without dog) within 2km of the home (i.e within half an hour from the home) adhering to strict 2 metre social distancing measures.

For farming purposes – i.e. food production and/or care of animals.

The government yesterday evening published the list of essential retail outlets that can remain open from now until 12 April.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Once you follow the guidelines, you keep you safe

It sucks that not everyone does but the power to control you.getting this is down to you

Equally it sucks having to follow the guidelines, its lonely and unnatural

I get that people are sick to death of this crap, and maybe through a combination of mixed messaging and a "it will never happen to me" mindset took risks this Christmas

Thats now coming to fruition

I was looking forward to lots of things this Christmas which got cancelled. There will be another time

For now, stay home, limit your contacts and if you don't feel safe in an environment, leave

Thats all you can do.

This is hopefully the last really crappy stage of this.

Things will get better

and a nomination to be one of the first to take a vaccine with very little research into its side effects.

Yawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

niallo27 wrote: »
    Half their deaths are from care homes, how can you say 33k is nothing.

Strawman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

Hang tight lads.

Did you read the letter or just jump on an anti teacher bandwagon. The union is look for a 3 day delay in opening to implement extra measures.

Try speaking to the IMO or INMO if you have an issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

pjohnson wrote: »
    Well look where its got us.

I disagree. Most of London has been in Tier 4 since well before Christmas and it seems to have utterly failed at controlling this new outbreak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Yawn

Great contribution.
    Would you be first in the queue yourself with your sleeve rolled up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Jaded Walker

Hang tight lads.
    I don't understand why you are comparing front line healthcare workers to teachers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,074 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

niallo27 wrote: »
    What are you actually scared of, more lockdowns are coming, unless your in a nursing home, you are putting yourself under more risk driving to the shop.

I am scared of myself or family or friends catching a virus that could kill which is spreading rampant, lockdowns restrictions enforcements is needed asap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,032 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Great contribution.
    Would you be first in the queue yourself with your sleeve rolled up?

I do forget this country actually has anti-vax now. Depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭blowitupref

majcos wrote: »
    Big jump in numbers in Mayo Hospital, Castlebar. Went from 10 on 27th to 19 on 28th to 30 on 29th. Increases in other hospitals seem more in line with community numbers and size of catchment area but this rate of increase in Castlebar is unexpected.
    An outbreak there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

GooglePlus wrote: »
    Two accounts?

He wouldn’t be the first here if that is the case. Although I suspect he’s messing with someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

He wouldn’t be the first here if that is the case. Although I suspect he’s messing with someone else.

Sure we're both the same person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭alentejo

In fairness to the INTO proposal to extend Xmas break, it does so extend the Xmas break by three days to Jan 11th.

Just need to lance the increase of cases. Leaving cert students should be at school at all costs however

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭MOR316

Wombatman wrote: »
    Let's do this right or we will be stuck in an endless loop.

As opposed to what we are now? In an endless loop?

Because the same thing will happen again once restrictions are eased. They said they are hopeful of a summer time target of things going back to some form of normality... Key word is hopeful. More than likely will be August

Unless you want a full lockdown for 6-7 months? If so, off you go into the basement. I'm not doing that and millions with me

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

He was messing with TonyMaloney who had replied to himself (for context) so Niall27 did the same thing as a joke. Missed by all who thanked Googleplus's post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I disagree. Most of London has been in Tier 4 since well before Christmas and it seems to have utterly failed at controlling this new outbreak.

Lockdown only works if people obey it. Loads of pics of London thronged with people and no social distancing.

https://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/uk-news/arrests-mayhem-huge-crowds-gather-19409782

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-london-55385130