Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXX-113,332 ROI(2,282 deaths) 81,251 NI (1,384 deaths) (05/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

screamer wrote: »
    Here we go, the Nphet ramp before the rant..... we’ll be in level 6 soon lads, with a lockdown worse than last spring. FVCK YOU COVID

Ramp up?
    That’s less then the swabs this isn’t NPHET this is reality

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,398 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Is that 444 in Dublin?
    Can't quite see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

EqbKw2RXMAg32UU?format=jpg&name=900x900

• screamer wrote: »
    Here we go, the Nphet ramp before the rant..... we’ll be in level 6 soon lads, with a lockdown worse than last spring. FVCK YOU COVID

You think they just make it up for the craic?

The amount of people in this train of thought is staggering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

Is there actually a level 6? I ask as I thought the highest the UK could go was tier 4, but apparently there’s a fifth that they may now go into

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Is that 444 in Dublin?
    Can't quite see it.

Tis

Louth and Donegal in bad shape still

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭BobbyMalone

Jim Gazebo wrote: »
    Why. I agree with restrictions but the 5km rule does not help anyone at this time of year.

If you are confined within a smaller space, you mix with less people: mixing with less people means that the virus has less of a chance of spreading. That's what all the restrictions are about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Lollipop95 wrote: »
    Is there actually a level 6? I ask as I thought the highest the UK could go was tier 4, but apparently there’s a fifth that they may now go into

It involves welding doors shut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

We're not in a true Level 5 - go to school, go to work, go shopping. Tis grand! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,099 ✭✭✭prunudo

Given the numbers/testing was a bit inconsistent over Christmas day and the weekend what is our 7 day average now. Might give a better idea of where we actually are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭BobbyMalone

There are two levels: Level 3 and Level 5, but with lots of pluses and minuses depending on whatever the government are reacting to at the time.

If the further restrictions that have been leaked come in, we will move from level 5 to level 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Cork2021

You’ve half the cases in the Dublin region! Overflow happening there. Cork highest case count. It’s not good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

47 hospitalisations in 24 hours

Those of ye making a joke and saying “well those restrictions are stupid”

Take a hard look in the mirror and a big bottle of cop on! This is getting bad quickly

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

And neither does you going for a drive. But it could potentially harm someone.

Literally the only bit of sanity I have is going for a drive. Radio on. Just to get out of the apartment for a bit. Is it the end of the world if I don't get out? Absolutely not. Would it benefit me if I did, yes absolutely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭Lashes28

Border counties are in bad shape. Louth is in a bad way.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

prunudo wrote: »
    Given the numbers/testing was a bit inconsistent over Christmas day and the weekend what is our 7 day average now. Might give a better idea of where we actually are.

https://twitter.com/FergalBowers/status/1343985088367771649?s=09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭bettyoleary

3112 cases in Ireland today and 20 deaths. Its all one country dont forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,187 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

It involves welding doors shut

And having your postman read your letters to you down the phone each morning :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭screamer

You think they just make it up for the craic?

The amount of people in this train of thought is staggering.

No, I don’t think it’s made up, but the release of the numbers is well managed to backup Nphets strops, I mean advice.....
    It’s like woah the numbers are huge, yes we must do what Nphet says. We’re not all idiots and can see this numerical management for what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Normal One

It doesn't really matter if we go to level 6, or 5+, or enhanced 3++ since it isn't enforced and unless we're putting troops on the streets, highways and byways, it's unenforceable. A half-arsed checkpoint in a motorway is pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,024 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

bennyl10 wrote: »

Take a hard look in the mirror and a big bottle of cop on! This is getting bad quickly

They'll never learn. The responsible ones just have to suffer through and try to be careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

Things aren’t looking good and I might have the virus. 2020 does it again. Surely retail will have to close now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Did you raise your cane while posting this?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭aziz

Limerick high again today,is this from the all Ireland,our homecoming cousins or something else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,099 ✭✭✭prunudo

Stheno wrote: »

Thanks for that, as a matter of interest why do they use a 5 day rolling average and not a 7 day one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭bettyoleary

3112 cases in Ireland today and 20 deaths. Its all one country dont forget it.
    And the 3112 are just those that came for testing prob double that walking around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,391 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Is this the catch up phase or is this really real lock down for the next 8 weeks would be my guess very silly and scary situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

robbiezero wrote: »
    Same. Its nonsense.

If the limit was one metre, it wouldn’t spread at all. If people were travelling everywhere, it would spread much more. Obviously one metre is unworkable, but there’s plenty that the vast majority can do to exercise within 5km. Does it work for everyone? No. But the more people that stick to it, the less spread.

It’s not really that difficult to understand tbh. But sure ignore it if you don’t understand it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,187 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

The people who got the virus and the people who have it to them need to take a longer look in the mirror, we are 9 months in to this and some idiots don't know the basics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭screamer

prunudo wrote: »
    Thanks for that, as a matter of interest why do they use a 5 day rolling average and not a 7 day one?

Probably because the 5 day roll number is worse for now.