Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dominance of Dublin GAA *Mod warning post#1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

kilns wrote: »
    Do you honestly think that if you put the same structures into Leitrim and gave them a million a year it would change anything and have them more competitive in Connaught.

The answer is no

Population is an issue when it comes to Dublin but it's also an issue when it comes to places like Mayo v Leitrim/Roscommon

Throwing money at them won't solve anything if needs a complete overhaul with a centralised development plan as rural counties have very different needs to urban counties

I’m not quite sure how you took that from what I wrote. I agree with you it wouldn’t make any difference as last paragraph about all the structures you want wouldn’t make any impact on the competitiveness of the all Ireland.

Dublin are going to win 80-90% of football All Irelands going forward. It’s not even the fault of anyone really, Dublin obviously have a responsibility to maximise their resources, ensure player participation is as high as possible, etc the GAA decision to invest disproportionately in Dublin looks foolish now but was maybe justifiable at the time from a certain perspective.

The only question left is when the GAA takes action which will happen as interest and crowds continue to decline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

threeball wrote: »
    No, instead the mayo county board are selling tiles for 250 quid to get your name on them as supporters of the county. How many tiles did Dublin sell last year to get their funding together. How many houses did they raffle to balance the books?

Possibly still trying to get that quarter of a million off the rich supporter they pissed off. Not a good idea to bite the hand that feeds you. Every penny counts when your team has one of the highest expenditures in the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

tritium wrote: »
    Possibly still trying to get that quarter of a million off the rich supporter they pissed off. Not a good idea to bite the hand that feeds you. Every penny counts when your team has one of the highest expenditures in the country

If you knew the slightest bit about that man, you'd know why they want nothing to do with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

tritium wrote: »
    The blinkers are strong on this one

30 odd years no no questions asked funding, back to when no one in the country had a pot to piss in. And micko’s hoho tales of cash gifts before that.

It really is like Chelsea whinging that Man City have money

2019 commercial revenue

Dublin 2.3m
    Kerry 786k
    Cork 639.5k

(I'll help you with the maths, that's 3x)

and we've not even gotten to the aul 17m gaa money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭ooter

The money Kerry get from Kerry group is performance based, they'll be lucky if they get a nifty off them next year. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,387 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

ooter wrote: »
    Does anyone know how big the Dublin senior hurling backroom team is?
    Thieving a wage them lads are.

There is a slight difference between hurling and football. The basic skills in hurling need to be on place by 8-10 years of age. After this it very hard to bring players through. Players can adapt to football from other sports to a certain extent.

It took Limerick 10 years to bring up there standard of hurling. This in a county that is a traditional hurling county with basic skills in place.

Dublin could well if it went the same path as Limerick win All Ireland titles. You have to remember though the better young athlete will still see football as a better option. So the top 50+ underage will opt for football. Only as they fail to make minor Football panels will these player with adequate skill look at Hurling. However you only have to look at the way players that may be above no 30 on the football panel still not opting for hurling

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,874 ✭✭✭threeball

I've already said the gaa should stop funding Dublin senior hurling, it has been an abject failure.

Its your county board thats failing hurling. They couldn't give a damn about it and you're still progressing at underage in spite of this. All the CB care about is the footballers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

2019 commercial revenue

Dublin 2.3m
    Kerry 786k
    Cork 639.5k

(I'll help you with the maths, that's 3x)

and we've not even gotten to the aul 17m gaa money.

In 2019 the at the time 5in a row current champions were a more attractive prospect to sponsors that an up and coming young Kerry team...

In other news water is wet.....

Why don’t you give us the figures for the last 28 years, including when Kerry were top of the pile?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭munster87

Two golden generation teams. Chances of that must have been slim to nil surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

The money Kerry get from Kerry group is performance based, they'll be lucky if they get a nifty off them next year. :)

Large part of other counties' revenue is gate receipts so covid will make the gap even bigger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,572 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Men do 6 in a row, women do 4 in a row. Starting to see a correlation here. Next to start winning will be the hurlers then finally the camogie team.

munster87 wrote: »
    Two golden generation teams. Chances of that must have been slim to nil surely?

You can't move in Dublin without tripping over a once in a lifetime golden generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

RoyalCelt wrote: »
    Men do 6 in a row, women do 4 in a row. Starting to see a correlation here. Next to start winning will be the hurlers then finally the camogie team.

Youse had a bit of a win yourselves today also. Maybe time for Louth to annex parts of Meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭munster87

You can't move in Dublin without tripping over a once in a lifetime golden generation.

It’ll happen in Sligo next, I hear they are flat out volunteering in preparation

munster87 wrote: »
    It’ll happen in Sligo next, I hear they are flat out volunteering in preparation

They beat Mayo at minor today. I hear the current Dublin minors are terrified they'll never be able to beat them at senior!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭IRE60

If you knew the slightest bit about that man, you'd know why they want nothing to do with him.

Except taking his money - really went out of the way to piss him off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭jay1988

They wanted plenty to do with him when they were getting plenty of cash thrown at them for years from him, all of a sudden now he's an awful man because the cash dried up :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,324 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

the hall mark of a once in a generation team is that after 5-7 years you hear about the end of a generation. no such talk here as this isnt one 'team' that dominate and retire together. this is a machine that shows no sign of stopping as the next cab comes off the rank.

nada can be done about the population advantage. distributing funds on a per capita basis seems reasonable. however the gulf will continue to increase. so what seemed reasonable now becomes unsustainable, so fund distribution on another basis is the only way forward.

is there anything to be said for dublin based camps? that way the travel argument and S & C argument are no longer a factor. as in, cavan and laois players can have access to the same facilities and coaches at the same time? that is those living and working in dublin.

having the same structures as dublin across each county the travel argument will still come into play.

i dunno, population advantage aint changing. try to affect the things that you can control.

Wait til they start interbreeding. The once in a century offspring won't need to train at all such will be the genetic quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Wait til they start interbreeding. The once in a century offspring won't need to train at all such will be the genetic quality.

Superior seed indeed😂

jay1988 wrote: »
    They wanted plenty to do with him when they were getting plenty of cash thrown at them for years from him, all of a sudden now he's an awful man because the cash dried up :pac:

Oh, he's still offering cash, just with strings attached.

Again, it would seem you don't know much about the situation.

I'd wonder, if Mayo's keeper hadn't have thrown it away a few years ago, or Brady hadn't gotten himself stupidly sent off in another game or if Cillian O'Connor had the balls of Dean Rock and could actually score a late free to win an All Ireland, would the money be such a problem then?

Kerry left it behind in the drawn game last year, Mayo a few times have passed up a good opportunity to beat them, would you all still be moaning like ye are now? The money would still be the same, or is it because none of those teams have had the mentality to actually go out and finish off Dublin when the opportunity arose that people have such a big problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,572 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Youse had a bit of a win yourselves today also. Maybe time for Louth to annex parts of Meath.

Nah sure Louth are going to amalgamate with ourselves and Westmeath. At least we'll only lose to dublin by 10 points then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Nah sure Louth are going to amalgamate with ourselves and Westmeath. At least we'll only lose to dublin by 10 points then.

True.

I'd wonder, if Mayo's keeper hadn't have thrown it away a few years ago, or Brady hadn't gotten himself stupidly sent off in another game or if Cillian O'Connor had the balls of Dean Rock and could actually score a late free to win an All Ireland, would the money be such a problem then?

Kerry left it behind in the drawn game last year, Mayo a few times have passed up a good opportunity to beat them, would you all still be moaning like ye are now? The money would still be the same, or is it because none of those teams have had the mentality to actually go out and finish off Dublin when the opportunity arose that people have such a big problem?

Are you thinking of Vaughan?

Incidentally, Mayo only got to a replay in 2016 because O'Connor scored a great point to draw the game. He's shown balls plenty of times and gets criticised by dopes who wouldn't kick snow off a rope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭ooter

In fairness the free he missed in 2016 was a handy one by his standards.

Sorry you're right Vaughan, O'Connor has shown balls up until it really mattered, when he could've finally got them over the line and fluffed, unlike our Deano, balls of steel that man (even when he has absoute scumbags throwing GPS trackers at him) but its alright cos COC will get 2-8 against leitrim or sligo :pac:

Bit rich of Dubs to talk about racking up scores against weak opponents.

Or maybe Dublin lose or aren't even in those finals without the funding. Like I said earlier, if the money makes no difference then you won't mind if its withdrawn. Its obviously wasted on ye if its making no difference so it could go to worthwhile projects in other counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Or maybe Dublin lose or aren't even in those finals without the funding. Like I said earlier, if the money makes no difference then you won't mind if its withdrawn. Its obviously wasted on ye if its making no difference so it could go to worthwhile projects in other counties.

What funding are you referring to. The current level of funding is below the average. From 2007 to 2017 there was a project to ensure GAA survived in the capital, Rugby going professional had an adverse affect. So the funding “issue was addressed 3 years ago. Now Dubli receive less.

I'd have no problem with the funding going anywhere, it wouldn't stop those players being top players overnight, it'd still be the best panel in the country for the next few years at least.

Should we reduce Kerry's funding and dish it out to the rest of Munster? Kerry have 15 of the last 20 Munster championships, surely they should be stripped of their money and it should be distributed to the rest of the teams going by your logic?