Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dominance of Dublin GAA *Mod warning post#1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,052 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Gaa man from the cradle but couldn’t give a damn watching this charade

Dublin have absolutely crazy population advantages and disgusting “financial doping” on their side

Shame on the gaa HQ for allowing this circus which has completely RUINED a once great sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Dublin have absolutely crazy population advantages and disgusting “financial doping” on their side

Shame on the gaa HQ for allowing this circus which has completely RUINED a once great sport
    Dublin have pretty much never not had a crazy population advantage over all counties. Gaelic hasnt and isnt being ruined.

I guarantee you that you are from dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

It has doubled over the last 100 years, per 1911 and 2016 census. Gone from 10% of total island population to over 20%. Add funding imbalance to that and outcome of domination almost inevitable.

I guarantee you that you are from dublin
    Im not at all actually. Lived there for a short while as a kid but not from the county. and plenty from here know im far from a dub..

Look at the stats. Dublin have always had a very substantial advantage in terms of population.

ClanofLams wrote: »
    It has doubled over the last 100 years, per 1911 and 2016 census. Gone from 10% of total island population to over 20%. Add funding imbalance to that and outcome of domination almost inevitable.

The “financial doping” really makes a mockery of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭theguzman

Same with this, I have actually withdrawn entirely from the GAA over it, I no longer pay local club membership, I got two tickets for Kerry V Dublin last year and gave them away and was a nice gift for those who wanted it. Our sport and part of our culture gone, until the funding inequality is sorted, the paying of players and the bribery of referees and all the myriad of advantages Dublin enjoys are sorted then I have no interest in it anymore.

The GAA has always been about money and this charade will actually get far worse and Dublin will win 10 in a row, Rural counties are decimated economically, there will be mass emigration again, young lads are not interested in playing football because of this farce.

theguzman wrote: »
    Same with this, I have actually withdrawn entirely from the GAA over it, I no longer pay local club membership, I got two tickets for Kerry V Dublin last year and gave them away and was a nice gift for those who wanted it. Our sport and part of our culture gone, until the funding inequality is sorted, the paying of players and the bribery of referees and all the myriad of advantages Dublin enjoys are sorted then I have no interest in it anymore.

The GAA has always been about money and this charade will actually get far worse and Dublin will win 10 in a row, Rural counties are decimated economically, there will be mass emigration again, young lads are not interested in playing football because of this farce.
    Well thats a bit extreme and how is that the answer to anything?
    Why are you depriving your club money and support because of this?
    The sport/culture isnt gone at all.
    Alleging officials of bribery is extremely low! Cop on!

Lost sheep how is that extreme ??

Do you know the details of the advantages dublin have over the rest ???

Respectfully I would ask you Educate yourself before you start attacking other posters - cop on!! As you say

It is just the tip of the iceberg in what has happened and what is going on, I no longer support the GAA due to their corruption, I would actually favour a split between Hurling and Football now, let the Hurling teams and counties do their thing and the same with Football. The fact the Government gave €35m to the GAA this year yet refused to pay student nurses was the final nail for me. The GAA is a corporation and not some voluntary charity any-more, they should be taxed, pay commercial rates etc. Pay for Play professionalism is here by stealth, tens of millions of Euro are involved, mega sponsorship deals with AIG, Huawei etc. If the GAA wanted to retain any semblance of their amateur organisation then Dublin should be stripped of their funding, stripped of their illegally won titles (Yes!) and the county broken up. Will it happen like hell no! So I will continue to no longer have anything other than a minor interest in this corrupt sport.

Lost sheep how is that extreme ??

Do you know the details of the advantages dublin have over the rest ???

Respectfully I would ask you Educate yourself before you start attacking other posters - cop on!! As you say
    Withdrawing completely from the sport/association because of this is very extreme. Why would/should this have to
    affect your enjoyment of the sport as a whole? I dont get why it would.

And alleging referees being bought is very sad and rather pathetic.

Withdrawing completely from the sport/association because of this is very extreme. Why would/should this have to

The dog in streets know what is going on, most people around Ireland know what is happening, the game is in total disrepute. The GAA are seen as untouchable but the reality is that money can and does buy titles Dublin has demonstrated and Limerick are doing now in Hurling too.

You’re completely naive about what’s been going on the last 10 years

theguzman wrote: »
    It is just the tip of the iceberg in what has happened and what is going on, I no longer support the GAA due to their corruption, I would actually favour a split between Hurling and Football now, let the Hurling teams and counties do their thing and the same with Football. The fact the Government gave €35m to the GAA this year yet refused to pay student nurses was the final nail for me. The GAA is a corporation and not some voluntary charity any-more, they should be taxed, pay commercial rates etc. Pay for Play professionalism is here by stealth, tens of millions of Euro are involved, mega sponsorship deals with AIG, Huawei etc. If the GAA wanted to retain any semblance of their amateur organisation then Dublin should be stripped of their funding, stripped of their illegally won titles (Yes!) and the county broken up. Will it happen like hell no! So I will continue to no longer have anything other than a minor interest in this corrupt sport.
    The sport isnt corrupt. A split between hurling and football isnt good for anyone. It means in many counties the weaker sport would struggle even more. That the GAA got that money and student nurses didnt get anything is irrelevant. Its not the case that the money from X can be taken away and immediately go to Y.
    The top teams do a lot well but theyre still a fair bit from pro teams. Kerry, Tipp with Teneo, Limerick and many of the other top sides are on mega sponsorship deals.
    Most of the funding in dublin is to get kids playing, be active. Stripping that funding away means less kids active, less kids outside. Why is that good for anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Extraordinary achievement for Dublin to win six in a row with a measly 1.4 million pick and multi million budget against the might of 130k population Mayo. Don’t rule out 27 in a row.😂

Extraordinary achievement for Dublin to win six in a row with a measly 1.4 million pick and multi million budget against the might of 130k population Mayo. Don’t rule out 27 in a row.��

It would be like the US celebrating total victory over Nauru in a war.

Speaks volumes about how little interest there is in this anymore

Shame on the GAA for ruining this by the “financial doping” of dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Shame on the GAA for ruining this by the “financial doping” of dublin

So ye watched it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭touts

Congratulations to Mayo. By far the best real County team in the country. They just couldn't compete with the Dublin Regional team made up of the best players from four counties. Mayo would beat any of those individual counties in a fair contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭max life

It's official.. GAA Football is dead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭Coybig_

Dublin just volunteer more than Mayo, those mayo lads are fierce lazy.

• Subscribers Posts: 3,705 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

6 in a row baby 6 in a row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭touts

max life wrote: »
    It's official.. GAA Football is dead

The only thing that will stop 25 in a row now is if the championship dies before Dublin reach that target which is looking increasingly likely.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    So ye watched it?

No. Why would i??? At least admit you agree with Jim Gavin when he said the championship is a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,908 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

What speaks volumes? The Poor attendance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

TCP/IP wrote: »
    6 in a row baby 6 in a row

Yeah 6million in a row, well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Can't wait for the 7 in a row in about 7 months.

Congrats mayo the best county in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭max life

What speaks volumes? The Poor attendance?

The lack of interest outside Dublin speaks volumes about the state of gaa football at the moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭Coybig_

When do Dublin fans question this nonsense ? 7? 8? 10? 15 in a row? A complete disgrace whats been done to the game.

That would be an admission that those All Irelands were not won on a level playing field. Not going to happen.

They just volunteer the best.

Extraordinary achievement for Dublin to win six in a row with a measly 1.4 million pick and multi million budget against the might of 130k population Mayo. Don’t rule out 27 in a row.��
    Dublin have always had multitudes than Mayo. Nothing different now than any other time.
    Mayo hardly peasants putting few resources into their side.

touts wrote: »
    Congratulations to Mayo. By far the best real County team in the country. They just couldn't compete with the Dublin Regional team made up of the best players from four counties. Mayo would beat any of those individual counties in a fair contest.
    Saying Dublin are multiple counties bla bla bla looks petty. Dublin has got much bigger in recent times but has always had far more. Its an inter county competition and the county is Dublin. If you want to split Dublin then you have to split/join a lot of other counties on top of that.