Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,351 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

SB71 wrote: »
    Our wonderful Garda on the front line fighting crime , lock these criminals up who open their business without serving the €9 covid meal.:rolleyes:...is it any wonder so many detest the Garda.

If you hate the gardai for doing their job, perhaps the gardai aren't the issue.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭SB71

I wonder are there many Garda on this thread im sure there are a few anyway, im intrigued how they feel spending weekends going around checking on pubs instead of out ridding the scum from our streets,surely a percentage of them anyway must be highly embarrassed doing this , is this really what you done your training for, harassing pub owners for not selling food ,asking pubs to turn down the volume on the TV, visiting certain pubs every single day, etc,etc.:eek:

hynesie08 wrote: »
    If you hate the gardai for doing their job, perhaps the gardai aren't the issue.......

"doing their job" is out catching criminals not harassing pubs..scarlet for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

"doing your job" or "following orders" has to be the most pathetic excuse a person can give ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

brisan wrote: »
    If they are to open and trade normally I can see a lot of pubs following suit
    I can also see Tony’s concernmeter and worrymeter going off the scale
    Expect Tony to push for emergency legislation to counter this

Doesn't need emergency legislation. It's already illegal. Place will be shut before closing time tonight. Rightly so too.

"doing their job" is out catching criminals not harassing pubs..scarlet for them

Which is what's happening now, luckily in this country we go by actual laws, not dara o Brian's taking the piss scale?

At what level do you consider someone a real criminal?

paw patrol wrote: »
    "doing your job" or "following orders" has to be the most pathetic excuse a person can give ,

Interesting, please give me your better model?

Which is what's happening now, luckily in this country we go by actual laws, not dara o Brian's taking the piss scale?

At what level do you consider someone a real criminal?

stop embarrassing yourself ffs, you call Garda harassing pubs "doing their jobs"

No wonder a large percentage of the Irish population detest the Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Some amount of bleedin aul wans and curtain twitchers on here, i bet you go to mass every day and believe everything that the giovernment and NPHET tell you, pubs are dangerous, travel is dangerous . schools are safe :eek::rolleyes:

To be honest the ones on here would be calling the guards on the priests that were conducting mass during the restrictions. Very sad individuals.

stop embarrassing yourself ffs, you call Garda harassing pubs "doing their jobs"

No wonder a large percentage of the Irish population detest the Garda.

I'm not the one embarrassing myself here, what part of it isn't their job?

Doesn't need emergency legislation. It's already illegal. Place will be shut before closing time tonight. Rightly so too.

Id suggest you change your username, poor auld Paddy would be turning in his grave with the likes of you and your anti pub sentiments.

Are you a supporter of FFG and NPHET too?

I'm not the one embarrassing myself here, what part of it isn't their job?

so you actually believe that the garda should not bother patrolling the streets at all and just do the rounds in pubs, which is pretty much what they are doing at weekends, a simple yes or no will suffice?

That's just a lie

So, when patrolling the streets, they shouldn't be investigating whether or not there are laws being broken? They should just walk around in a circle hoping someone is stupid enough to commit a crime in front of them?

A simple yes or no will suffice?

I’d be embarrassed if I was a guard doing the checkpoints, prob would go out on sick leave... if I was asked to do it. I’d feel like a fool harassing law abiding citizens.

That's just a lie

So, when patrolling the streets, they shouldn't be investigating whether or not there are laws being broken? They should just walk around in a circle hoping someone is stupid enough to commit a crime in front of them?

A simple yes or no will suffice?

How is it a lie, they are doing the rounds in every single pub spending time which could be spent patrolling the streets , how many gangs of feral youths are running amok every day of the week and nothing is done about it,muggings,stabbings,shootings,robberies,etc,etc do you seriously think the garda should prioritise going around every single pub hoping to find something wrong so they can take note and recommend they lose their licence:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,467 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Do you pick and choose what laws you follow?

Heres a hint Gardai don't pick and choose which ones they've to enforce. Its called legislation.

That pub in mayo won't last past lunch time, like the one in Limerick before it. I'll go into a pub serving food no problem and just a normal pub when they open but like it or not (which i don't) these are the current rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Ashbourne hoop

Whether you agree or not, that pub will be gone by tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭boombang

I think the attitude of many here failing to accept that constraints on liberty might be necessary for a short while longer during a pandemic for the common good is childish.

I like going to the pub. I like the company of others. I like to see others enjoying themselves, with or without a drink. I'm looking forward to getting back to normal. I also think there's a risk that opening pubs contributes unnecessarily to our successful control of COVID being jeopardised. I don't think my (I believe rational) concern about that makes me a dry shíte curtain twitcher.

Heres a hint Gardai don't pick and choose which ones they've to enforce. Its called legislation.

That pub in mayo won't last past lunch time, like the one in Limerick before it.

People who think that soundness should supercede the law will never admit they're wrong...

That pub in mayo won't last past lunch time, like the one in Limerick before it.
    Actually they do pick and choose and turn a blind eye when suits, how come I never see a guard pull over an yellow ref Irish car which is illegal and there is a hefty fine for it but never see it enforced , if it was enforced I should never see yellow reg Irish cars driving around the place.

How is it a lie, they are doing the rounds in every single pub spending time which could be spent patrolling the streets , how many gangs of feral youths are running amok every day of the week and nothing is done about it,muggings,stabbings,shootings,robberies,etc,etc do you seriously think the garda should prioritise going around every single pub hoping to find something wrong so they can take note and recommend they lose their licence:rolleyes:

I was in a couple of pubs over the weekend, not a sniff of a gardai. Maybe where you were drinking has a reputation for flouting the law?

That pub in mayo won't last past lunch time, like the one in Limerick before it. I'll go into a pub serving food no problem and just a normal pub when they open but like it or not (which i don't) these are the current rules

My jaysus we've tuned into a nation of holier than hou, :rolleyes: those nasty people who dare to make a living close them down, never mind the scumbag criminals roaming the streets and getting away with murder.

The attitude of some on here is nothing short of pathetic,rules,rules,rules :rolleyes:

People who think that soundness should supercede the law will never admit they're wrong...

My best mate is a Garda in Dublin. He doesn't want to be standing on the side of the road at a checkpoint, he doesn't want to take an hour or two out of his shift walking around Dame Street doing spot checks but for the moment thats how it is.

Contrary to what most think if they spot breaches they aren't shutting places down on the spot and telling them they won't get a licence, for example my mate walked into a Dublin pub last weekend at about midnight and there was the guts of 50 people or so still in there. Did he threaten to take away their licence ? Nope, gave them 20 mins to finish up and that was it. Wasn't a prick about it, just said to the owner its out by 11.30 not last orders at 11.30 and left it at that. Nothing else will come of it.

fin12 wrote: »
    Actually they do pick and choose and turn a blind eye when suits, how come I never see a guard pull over an yellow ref Irish car which is illegal and there is a hefty fine for it but never see it enforced , if it was enforced I should never see yellow reg Irish cars driving around the place.

This is about pubs but driving a yellow reg isn't an offence. Don't know where you came up with that.

Checked that out with my own local station when I was importing my car from the North.

I was in a couple of pubs over the weekend, not a sniff of a gardai. Maybe where you were drinking has a reputation for flouting the law?

every pub i was in they came in, one pub they stayed for ages walking around almost sneering at people enjoying their pints, another pub they were in and out, maybe thats because some of their colleagues might have been drinking there.

My jaysus we've tuned into a nation of holier than hou, :rolleyes: those nasty people who dare to make a living close them down, never mind the scumbag criminals roaming the streets and getting away with murder.

The attitude of some on here is nothing short of pathetic,rules,rules,rules :rolleyes:

Ah give it a rest, its how it is for the moment.

The rules on pubs and restaurants are simple enough to follow. Nobody likes them just get on with it until the vaccine is rolled out.

You just seem to have an issue with the Gardai in general.

every pub i was in they came in, one pub they stayed for ages walking around almost sneering at people enjoying their pints, another pub they were in and out, maybe thats because some of their colleagues might have been drinking there.

Comments like this come across like you have the issue...... How long is ages? 5 minutes? 45 minutes?

This is about pubs but driving a yellow reg isn't an offence. Don't know where you came up with that.

Checked that out with my own local station when I was importing my car from the North.

Read my post again , driving a yellow plate with an Irish registeration is illegal

Irish registered car, white plates back and front. .

Comments like this come across like you have the issue...... How long is ages? 5 minutes? 45 minutes?

From reading the posts they just seem to have an issue with Gardai in general.

If your not being an arse to them they'll be fine with you.

Its not a chore to order a few chicken wings with a pint. Do I like having to order food, nope can't wait for pubs to reopen as pubs but just have to get on with it for the moment.

Ah give it a rest, its how it is for the moment.

The rules on pubs and restaurants are simple enough to follow. Nobody likes them just get on with it until the vaccine is rolled out

Give it a rest, a typical cop out, no absolutely will not give it a rest, it's nothing short of pathetic what is happening on a grand scale, the garda should be spending weekends patrolling the streets and council estates, it's outrageous they are being told to patrol pubs,gangs of feral youths roaming the streets, how many videos doing the rounds gang fights,etc and not a garda to be seen.

The vast majority of pubs are well capable of running their business accordingly, having garda come in every single night only serves to antagonise people, there is no need whatsoever for it.