Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,056 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

yop wrote: »
    Ok I was much the same. BUT we are in a final. It's a one off game that anything y can happen.
    In 2006 we weren't as well to turn up. Against cork we are as well not to turn up. We were gone this year.
    We need a stroke of luck.we can't have two own goal's. We can't have silly black cards. We need to score almost every chance.

If your no in you can't win. So fk it. Why not. I do t expect us to win. But neither did cork, cavan or tipp. Do we just not bother?

Well no, of course we bother and of course we have a chance. I just think that chance is less now than it has been in some time.

It might be a day when the new players truly announce themselves, hopefully it is.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

PressRun wrote: »
    I wouldn't say that Keegan's legs are totally gone, but I think his hip injury took a bit out of him and now Horan is trying to mould him into a player that he isn't. Corner back is a stickier position than what he's used to playing. It's a position that requires way more discipline and patience than half back. Keegan is used to bombing up the pitch at will, leaving his man behind, and being allowed a bit of freedom to be creative. He wants to be let off the leash and maybe is feeling a bit shackled in that corner, would be my impression of it.

Either way, putting him on Con the next day has the potential to be a disaster, imo. Would prefer to see him on Kilkenny. He's done that job before and handled it well.

The biggest part of a FB bus staying in the position, reading nthe ball into the man showing them away from the shot on goal.
    Today for the first he went for that ball and over shot.
    For the sweeney chance he went again and got caught. For the black the same thing.

We could have coughed up 3 goals from those three decisions.

It's not his fault btw. Age and injury have not helped at all.
    But we have no other direct replacement. Coen went in to shield him from 20 on.
    Brickenden too new.

Barret and himself into the 30s could work well or kill us. Today it killed us.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

PARlance wrote: »
    Well no, of course we bother and of course we have a chance. I just think that chance is less now than it has been in some time.

It might be a day when the new players truly announce themselves, hopefully it is.

So for years we had the best defense and the pundits reckon no forwards.
    Now we have a **** defense and forwards.
    We can't win 😊

But we can.

Let's see. Its still a final we were outsider's to get to.
    Can we win, of course we can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,838 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

The biggest part of a FB bus staying in the position, reading nthe ball into the man showing them away from the shot on goal.
    Today for the first he went for that ball and over shot.
    For the sweeney chance he went again and got caught. For the black the same thing.

We could have coughed up 3 goals from those three decisions.

It's not his fault btw. Age and injury have not helped at all.
    But we have no other direct replacement.

Higgins no longer a viable option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Absolutely not, imo.

Against Galway he was way off. Surprised he didn't get game time today. He needs it. Parsons got it.
    Zippy is 34?

Have we no other backs though?
    Where are the 20s from last year. Against Derry and kildare who had we in the FB line? None of those 6 backs are in the panel. That's a concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Against Galway he was way off. Surprised he didn't get game time today. He needs it. Parsons got it.
    Zippy is 34?

Have we no other backs though?
    Where are the 20s from last year. Against Derry and kildare who had we in the FB line? None of those 6 backs are in the panel. That's a concern.

Eoin O Donoghue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Two players limped off today too. Injury concerns are really the last thing we need on top of everything else tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

With Lee there are a number of factors, age and injuries have taken half a hard of pace of off him. He no longer can bomb up and down the pitch. Looks like both Horan and himself have accepted this and his job has changed accordingly. However he still has the mindset of a halfback which leads him to sometimes play from the front. This is very dangerous as a corner back. You end up as either a hero or a zero, no room for error in there.

Mullin also needs to learn when to go and when to stay. He has the legs but the head is very lax. Think he switches off at times.

Paddy and Eoghan have the license to attack, Coen then has to man the centre. No further than halfway needs to be drilled into him. Watching the highlights in the first half he seemed to be drifting forward quite a bit. Totally at sea when the subs came on. Not sure did he go to wing back when Plunkett came on.

As an aside, thought Durcan was very subdued today. Augers well for the final as he rarely has two quiet games in a row.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Eoin O Donoghue.

Didn't start against kildare. Can't remember if he did against Derry.

His cameo against Galways suggests not.

We need Eoghan McLaughlin fit. That knee was a worry.

Off to bed. Great to be in another ai final. These lads have serious resilience. The odds are stacked higher than any ai final.
    But if you don't have hope you've nothing.

PressRun wrote: »
    Two players limped off today too. Injury concerns are really the last thing we need on top of everything else tbh.

Eoghanseemdd to grab his knee. Anything of consequence and he won't be fully fit on the 19th. He has become very important to us this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

Very harsh comments about Keegan here. He kept MQ scoreless from play. The goal chance early on was unlucky, on another day he punches that clear. In 2016 he kept him scoreless from play but conceded several scored frees & got yellow carded and that is considered peak Keegan? Also Chris Barrett kept Sweeney scoreless from play, he got 1-1 when O'Hora went on him.

Finally, the way we played today was always going to leave our full back line exposed. Whether we'll get away with it on the 19th is for another day.

Thanks for following me around the threads.

Calm down and grow up.

Anything to add of value?

I thought Eoghan McLaughlin went down with cramp? Seemed to be holding his calf anyway.

Well done today. Men against boys for most parts. When the game started, i thought this has the makings of a thriller. It was end to end and very open, but then you hit form and we unfortunately panicked and collapsed. Mayo have played in big games against the might of Dublin and this stood to them. Also the physical conditioning was noticable. O'Connor blew Alan Campbell out of the way for the 2nd goal.

if Cillian O'Connor can hit that type of form next day out, id give ye a good chance. He's really taken the mantle from Andy Moran this year. The concern id have for you is that we had 10 goal chances. On another day we might have put a few away. Dublin would have filleted you today with those chances. You have 13 days to plug those holes. I hope you do, and all the very best of luck. Im sure you'll leave nothing out there. Go and take that cup!

RedDevil55 wrote: »
    I thought Eoghan McLaughlin went down with cramp? Seemed to be holding his calf anyway.

Was at the right knee. It's hard to know. We won't know.
    We always seem to pick up an injury to a key player. Moran, coc and hopefully this is not another.

Anything to add of value?

You are like an over exited child blurting out anything that comes into your head.
    Take a breath, relax, lay off the coke and crisps and get a good nights sleep.

Goodnight Yop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

You are like an over exited child blurting out anything that comes into your head.
    Take a breath, relax, lay off the coke and crisps and get a good nights sleep.

Goodnight Yop.

Going by your last few posts, maybe you should follow your own advice?

On the more important subject of this weekends match, delighted with the showing but just hope McLaughlin is not injured for the final. Really need his athleticism from the half back line. He's been a revelation this year.

Disappointed to be coughing up those chances in the second half though, even with us out of sight. But that can be worked on.

At least we are back in the final, and who knows what may lie ahead.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,553 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Mod: TimeLadsPlease and yop, please give the tit for tat a rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭muddle84

Didn't start against kildare. Can't remember if he did against Derry.

Eoin OD is from the U21 2016 team, not the under 20's last year.

I really can't figure out his absence, i have always been impressed by him. There is obviously something missing in Horans eyes.

muddle84 wrote: »
    Eoin OD is from the U21 2016 team, not the under 20's last year.

I really can't figure out his absence, i have always been impressed by him. There is obviously something missing in Horans eyes.

I thought lambert and oisin McLaughlin were both terrier defenders and suited our style if play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Legs are gone??
    Nonsense . He's not as good as 2 years ago but still a solid player and well deserving of his starting place.

Best not to post random rubbish like this with two weeks lead up to the all Ireland final.

Keegan hasn’t played well for Mayo since 2017, he’s been way off his own standard and this year he’s been our worst starting back. We keep thinking he’ll pull it out of the bag but I can’t see it now. If I was Mayo manager and saw his reaction to losing that first ball he’d have been sitting beside me in the Hogan stand. Absolute disgraceful
    seligehgit wrote: »
    Eoin O Donoghue.

Issue is we don’t have anyone to replace him. At least not anyone in the 26. We do have someone but Horan doesn’t seem to like him

Do people honestly think Eoin O'Donoghue would have done a better job on Michael Quinlivan? No chance IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

PARlance wrote: »
    I'm trying to enjoy a 13 point semi-final victory but I'm too worried about other things tbh. I don't think we're anywhere near the levels we have been going into recent finals.

Kickouts are exaggerated by a weaker midfield.
    Keegan too loose for FB line and struggling.
    Mullins still has question marks for me defensively, he will be very good but is he at present vs Dublin.
    McLaughlin is some athlete but runs into trouble / distribution isn't great.
    Midfield is weaker in general, a young pairing that will take time. A pairing I like, in what both bring can bring to the table, but this final comes a couple of years too soon imo.
    O'Donoghue a bit hot and cold I feel.

Our biggest hope lies in the FF line I feel. If all three are firing and supported by some great performances by Kev Mc, DO'C and Durcan then maybe we've a chance. But if Tipp can score 3-13, and should have been more... then I can't see how we're stopping Dublin.

A change of tact is needed for the Final. We're not as strong as we were and going toe to toe could be carnage. I don't think Horan will be changing too much though.

Would love to be more optimistic and I generally am but heading to bed with more questions than answers after a 13 point win, it's nuts.

Clarke kicked 4 out that directly led to a one v one goal chance in the second half. Not only are they poor kicks they suit the opposition to attack them and drive forward such in the trajectory on it. The Dubs wiped us in 10 minutes and that was with Hennelly in goal. The big fear is we are going to get pinned in with no exit strategy. I could see Dairmuid going into the middle and Loftus into wing forward but it may still not be enough.

Mullin will hold Paddy Small. I think honestly it is hard to judge the full-back line because of how we were set-up, they had acres in front of them. Alot of criticism of Keegan I find extremely harsh. He did the necessary yesterday to hold Quinlivan. He was excellent against Roscommon also. Full back is not his natural position and with Harrison out he has been re-assisgned to the position. People here saying his legs are gone is nonsense. He's a hands on defender which doesn't really suit the full back-line but his pace is required there

I think Horan set-up yesterday as he did against Galway in the league. Lets bring it to these and blow them away. We had a more tailored approach against Roscommon and it worked well. It will be back to this for the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

RedDevil55 wrote: »
    Do people honestly think Eoin O'Donoghue would have done a better job on Michael Quinlivan? No chance IMO.

EOD has been outstanding for Mayo anytime I’ve seen him. I think he’s have been ideal for Quinlevan, harry the f**k out of him

Edit: Keegan was excellent in the second half V Roscommon because he was allowed off the lease ans we saw him moving up the field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭FarmerBrowne

Wow, you are actually judging players by their performance against Roscommon, we were abysmal, it was the worst and flatest performance since Cunningham took over. Putting weight to players performance that day is crazy. The dubs will win the final at a canter on their terms, they will have most of Roscommon behind them. Up the dubs.

Quinlivan is one of the top footballers in the country. It's hard to handle him, even Leroy.

Report the posts and ignore the trolls. We will see plenty of them over the next 3 weeks. Hopefully they might get banned.