Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

There is a generation that has not grown up with .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,336 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Deodorant ads where theyd show a semi naked girl spraying herself and a tantalising glimpse of side boob.

Ambre solaire ads - the ladies in bikinis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,934 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

A cool ad from the nineties, up Leftfield. :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Nice one :)

Milk in school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,350 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Don't forget the 1 toilet.

My nephew is horrified at the idea that three brothers would share the one bathroom in the mornings, rotating between the shower / sh1te / shave positions in turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,427 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

My nephew is horrified at the idea that three brothers would share the one bathroom in the mornings, rotating between the shower / sh1te / shave positions in turn.

fatherstone.jpg

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

Diego Maradona, the hand of God. May he rest in peace

They don't make horror monster movies like this anymore unless you count Lake Placid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,701 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Old style CRT TVs.
    Raleigh Choppers.
    The video Cassette.
    Vesta curries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,107 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

Old style CRT TVs.
    Raleigh Choppers.
    The video Cassette.
    Vesta curries.

Feckin loved the Vesta curries, beautiful after a clatter of pints on grant day, you've brought back a few memories there:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,114 ✭✭✭✭neris

Bosco

Hard as nails soccer players who punched the heads off each other after a tackle

Been left outside a pub on Sunday afternoon with a big bottle of lemonade and a pack of crisps

Eurotrash on channel 4 on a friday night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

branie2 wrote: »
    King Crisps

You still get them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

?width=605

Did we mention these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

...affordable housing.

branie2 wrote: »
    Milk in school

amd warm with it.

Our milk arrived around 11am but it was then left to sit there until 2pm on a counter- no fridge.

When the weather warmed it was undrinkable. Basically room temperature/warm milk at 2pm- it was revolting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭filbert the fox

amd warm with it.

Our milk arrived around 11am but it was then left to sit there until 2pm on a counter- no fridge.

When the weather warmed it was undrinkable. Basically room temperature/warm milk at 2pm- it was revolting.

you musta had centerdal Hatin' - lucky duck

Steyr 556 wrote: »
    ?width=605

Did we mention these?

Jaysus...we had war over those in national school. Lads would be stealing them off the wheels. The more you had the better.

We were then told that they weaken the integrity of the wheel so we went right off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,062 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Its probably been mentioned but pay phones , British army checkpoints on the border, life without social media or even internet, punts,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Raleigh Choppers.

Never understood the love for these things.

Must have taken an eternity to cycle anywhere not to mention the gear change in a strategic position in the event of a crash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,963 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

cj maxx wrote: »
    Its probably been mentioned but pay phones , British army checkpoints on the border, life without social media or even internet, punts,

not just pay phones but the really old ones with A and B buttons and the use thereof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,096 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Jimson wrote: »
    HAIRY BUSHES - Their all shaved or lasered or hair removal cream now.

Bring back the bush, not a jungle bush but a nice trimmed bush. :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,430 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Jaysus...we had war over those in national school. Lads would be stealing them off the wheels. The more you had the better.

We were then told that they weaken the integrity of the wheel so we went right off them.

Remember Spokey Dokeys?

8jRRd7OXw1jmnjzusf231.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,180 ✭✭✭✭L1011

No delivery from the take aways.

And when delivery started it was only pizza. Nothing else.

Local decent Indian had about ten seats and did 90% of its business take out, all people driving up (frequently pissed) to collect it.

Now in a new site it has 100 seats and can't use any of them! But has a fleet of drivers every night.

Ger Roe wrote: »

Don't get me started on the TV licence detector van that prowled slowly down the road with a rotating detection antenna on it's roof.

A prop - while detecting flyback on CRT TVs is in theory possible, they did not do so in the vans - there was absolutely no way they could tell it was coming from a specific house; and the second home computer monitors started they were goosed anyway as they aren't licenced.. There is no way to detect any form of non CRT display

People were as easily diddled then as they are now by psedoscience. Just these days its aunties on Facebook spreading stuff, not RTE driving around with a giant rotating prop on van.

Then like now they had lists of houses without licences and they looked for aerials, external cable hookups etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,506 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

L1011 wrote: »
    A prop - while detecting flyback on CRT TVs is in theory possible, they did not do so in the vans - there was absolutely no way they could tell it was coming from a specific house; and the second home computer monitors started they were goosed anyway as they aren't licenced.. There is no way to detect any form of non CRT display

People were as easily diddled then as they are now by psedoscience. Just these days its aunties on Facebook spreading stuff, not RTE driving around with a giant rotating prop on van.

Then like now they had lists of houses without licences and they looked for aerials, external cable hookups etc.

Some interesting reading https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TV_detector_van

Wake me up when it's all over.

Lots of theory, none of which was every actually used. It simply wasn't practical to put in a mobile unit; it didn't give enough guarantee that what you were detecting was in a specific house and later on, it detected any and every CRT going even if it was on a Spectrum or C64.

I'm a broadcast engineer, not someone just randomly stating they didn't exist. I know it wasn't possible.

The most important part of the kit list is the "list of valid and recently expired licences" - they just went and knocked on the doors without licences and had aerials (or that had recently expired, cause its very likely they hadn't got rid of their TV). The rest was there to scare people. The FOI request finding that nobody had ever been prosecuted based on evidence from a van is probably the most telling bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

We weren't allowed to hear Gerry Adams speaking in his own voice.

This should have been done instead tbh

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MR6jGJ1lq2U