R Kings and other car raffles

mfceiling wrote: »
    Lad I've been working with the last 5 years took a call today and it was his 19 year old son telling him he'd won a 2016 vw golf and 2 grand!! Lovely looking car (white).

Is he the lad from Meath all over what’s app with the car now in 5000 pieces?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,155 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

worded wrote: »
    Are there new duties / tarrifs for UK imports in Jan to the south in Jan and will it impact on these UK draws?

How much extra will have to be paid ?

Possibly VAT to be added.
    But most silk just take the cash alternative then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Mayo_fan wrote: »
    Is he the lad from Meath all over what’s app with the car now in 5000 pieces?

Saw that on facebook. Car in absolute bits, easy come, easy go though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,092 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

At least he has €2k to put towards rebuilding that wall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,674 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Another R Kings winner ( and Loser ) :D
    Cahir Gardai observed a vehicle fishtailing conducting a dangerous manoeuvre outside the town in front of one of our patrol cars. The driver was subsequently arrested on suspicion of Dangerous Driving and has been charged to court

126507092_672022110028480_300633875090561649_o.jpg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=2&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=uJx93KFpEiMAX9jndvb&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=5378da6824ca918bca13c596a7018e4b&oe=5FE1054C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Saw that on facebook. Car in absolute bits, easy come, easy go though.

Was it a Golf R to begin with? It didn't look like one. A savage smash either way :eek:

126943165_1831241447029762_6622653382319001979_o.jpg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=2&_nc_sid=dbeb18&_nc_ohc=C-C1QsPJQ98AX_9AlwR&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=9a8e7b19ce8cf77e638b4a7992dc1582&oe=5FDF1FDE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    Was it a Golf R to begin with? It didn't look like one. A savage smash either way :eek:

126943165_1831241447029762_6622653382319001979_o.jpg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=2&_nc_sid=dbeb18&_nc_ohc=C-C1QsPJQ98AX_9AlwR&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=9a8e7b19ce8cf77e638b4a7992dc1582&oe=5FDF1FDE

Was an R-Line diesel. Lucky boyo that fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭rizzee

Was an R-Line diesel. Lucky boyo that fella.

And the 3 others that were in the car with him. Clown.

Alright I'm gonna say it, letting youngfellas win high performance motors is a recepie for disaster, these lottery style competition companies need to be more responsible. There's a reason it costs a fortune to insure a youngfella on a corsa/micra/fiesta - it's because their brains are full of rocks. You may as well be raffling off a shotgun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭maddness

Alright I'm gonna say it, letting youngfellas win high performance motors is a recepie for disaster, these lottery style competition companies need to be more responsible. There's a reason it costs a fortune to insure a youngfella on a corsa/micra/fiesta - it's because their brains are full of rocks. You may as well be raffling off a shotgun.

It’s a diesel golf...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qMcbIOcsLAM

A very lucky young bunch of lads

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qMcbIOcsLAM

A very lucky young bunch of lads

That’s some crash and damage, they much have been going seriously fast. Luck to be alive.

maddness wrote: »
    It’s a diesel golf...

It's an rkings diesel golf. Probably around 200bhp, it didn't crash doing the speed limit. The engine landed a whole garden away.

No just the standard 1.6 diesel with about half that. I get it if they were driving a Golf R or something like but I don’t think you can blame R Kings for a bunch of young lads driving like idiots.

How do you know that?

vectra wrote: »
    How do you know that?

I remember the particular competition as it was recently. I was going to enter as they said it was a Golf R but then changed it to a R line TDi.
    Perhaps it had 130bhp or whatever and I understand the point about not giving young lads fast cars and was just pointing out that I really don’t think this was the case here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Sneaky if that's what they did because it still says golf r on the winners page if I'm looking at the right one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

Screen grab doing the rounds says Golf R too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

It’s a diesel golf...

Extremely HIGh powered golf..... Well no not really but the insurance and journalists thinks so

Seriously lads, it’s no Golf R. How would a kid get insurance on a real R?

Which is this an r or r line

444a4cfa-78ee-44ac-a8cf-2aafecd1f160.jpeg

Seriously lads, it’s no Golf R. How would a kid get insurance on a real R?

Depends on what their parents do for a living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

https://www.rkingscompetitions.com/winners?page=2

According to their site it was a golf R, its the 3rd on listed on page two of the winners list

I remember the particular competition as it was recently. I was going to enter as they said it was a Golf R but then changed it to a R line TDi.
    Perhaps it had 130bhp or whatever and I understand the point about not giving young lads fast cars and was just pointing out that I really don’t think this was the case here.

No, it was a golf R.

Some middle aged lad won the white tdi golf r-line.

Which is this an r or r line

444a4cfa-78ee-44ac-a8cf-2aafecd1f160.jpeg

That’s a bog standard diesel golf with upgraded wheels.

No, it was a golf R.

Some middle aged lad won the white tdi golf r-line.

Have a look at the picture of the crashed car, it’s not a Golf R.
    If you believe different that’s fine.

The brakes look tiny in that pic but I dont know anything about golfs. I'd believe its just a normal r line based on that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭Murt102

Definitely a standard Golf (well, R-Line spec).

Dont the mk7.5 Golf R’s have the fog lights built into the headlights? Fairly sure I can see them in the bumper in the above picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Golf R is totally different and stand out a mile.....

Have a look at the picture of the crashed car, it’s not a Golf R.
    If you believe different that’s fine.

I had to go look again, fair enough!