Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVIII- 71,942 ROI(2,050 deaths) 51,824 NI (983 deaths) (28/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,581 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Russman wrote:
    I think its plateaued because we have little or no capacity to actually enforce L5 tbh. Almost everywhere I see is buzzing with people these days. I totally get that not all retail situations would have been to blame but this govt were hardly going to go through each retail unit in the country and make a call on them. They simply don't want people mixing as that facilitates spread, whether it be in retail, pubs, gyms, whatever. They decided schools were sacrosanct so the slack had to be taken up elsewhere.

Well the retailers could have had a bit of cop on and set up a booking system to control the numbers in shops.

maebee wrote: »
    My cousin in Adelaide phoned me last night in an awful panic about the very strict 6 day lockdown they are facing into.
    Their freezer is full. They have a huge back garden and the temperature is in the late 20s. I said stay at home and you'll be fine. She was asking for the dates/areas etc of our lockdowns since March. I was brain fogged post surgery this summer and am struggling to give an accurate chronology. Can someone with time on their hands fill in the blanks for me please? TIA.

March 12th - Nationwide lockdown until June 29th

We never really had a lockdown like elsewhere in the world. Retail being shut doesn’t count as a lockdown. Sure, there was a 2km rule for a while but it was never really enforced, and we could be out of our homes for as long as we wanted. A lockdown in an Irish context has always been a misnomer. Your friend is experiencing a lockdown in a way that we never have

mandrake04 wrote: »
    Look at daily cases in Germany, Italy and France a shining success in beating covid... lol.
    Blanket testing means infected will be found. Why would you complain about that. It is a cornerstone of their strategy. Root out the infection and news from Germany today is positive with numbers plateauing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Akabusi

eagle eye wrote: »
    Well the retailers could have had a bit of cop on and set up a booking system to control the numbers in shops.

Many did control the numbers in their premises, others didn't. I don't think NPHET used that as a basis for going to level 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Akabusi

We never really had a lockdown like elsewhere in the world. Retail being shut doesn’t count as a lockdown. Sure, there was a 2km rule for a while but it was never really enforced, and we could be out of our homes for as long as we wanted. A lockdown in an Irish context has always been a misnomer. Your friend is experiencing a lockdown in a way that we never have

I remember in the first lockdown, I would go for my daily jog and when I reached 2K from my house, I turned around I then jogged 500m in the other direction of my house to hit my 5K target. Oh how innocent I was back then.

Akabusi wrote:
    Many did control the numbers in their premises, others didn't. I don't think NPHET used that as a basis for going to level 5.
    NPHET didn't decide to go to level 5. They advised the government of what they believed was necessary to stop the massive growth of infections. The government didn't listen and then a couple of weeks later when it got much worse they did listen and implemented a lockdown.
    The government went to level 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,686 ✭✭✭✭rob316

And we all saw just that... when the politicians turned what could have been a 4 week lockdown into a 6 week lockdown, by ignoring scientific advice on Oct 4th.

They sat back and watched the case numbers double before getting their fingers out.

No wonder they are trying to muzzle the scientists.

NPHET met on a Thursday briefed the government no need to go to L3, 48 hours later the country was in a panic as TH walked back in the door and said we had to go to L5. What expert knowledge could a GP bring to the table that the rest of NPHET couldn't see?
    The government were absolutely right to question that, it would have negligent if they hadn't. They owed it to every business to work through the levels, which still weren't given any chance to take effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,686 ✭✭✭✭rob316

eagle eye wrote: »
    NPHET didn't decide to go to level 5. They advised the government of what they believed was necessary to stop the massive growth of infections. The government didn't listen and then a couple of weeks later when it got much worse they did listen and implemented a lockdown.
    The government went to level 5.

They as good as did through a relentless media campaign and public grand standing.

rob316 wrote:
    They as good as did through a relentless media campaign and public grand standing.
    The government leaked everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

rob316 wrote: »
    NPHET met on a Thursday briefed the government no need to go to L3, 48 hours later the country was in a panic as TH walked back in the door and said we had to go to L5. What expert knowledge could a GP bring to the table that the rest of NPHET couldn't see?
    The government were absolutely right to question that, it would have negligent if they hadn't. They owed it to every business to work through the levels, which still weren't given any chance to take effect.

Who is this GP you're downplaying? Tony Holohan? You're aware he is on the specialist register as a GP and in Public Health medicine through postgraduate training - yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Mr 70%/30% from the HSE is on RTE News channel right now.

How does laying telephone cables, working for Trocaire or Fingal County Council qualify one to give public health advice ?

Or use their private twitter account to undermine expert public health advice about the level of restrictions we need to contain the virus ?

Mr 70%/30% from the HSE is on RTE News channel right now.

How does laying telephone cables, working for Trocaire or Fingal County Council qualify one to give public health advice ?

Or use their private twitter account to undermine expert public health advice about the level of restrictions we need to contain the virus ?

I don't tend to agree with witch hunts and pitch forking but you've hit the nail on the head with this one. He made a very, very stupid statement last week on national television about the scope and operation of the Derogation of Healthcare Workers and COVID19. He misquoted a policy that the HSE has and said the exact opposite of its purpose and scope. For want of a better word, he is a prize prick and has no place in the health service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Antares35 wrote: »
    Teachers want to be prioritised when the vaccine is available apparently, which makes sense since schools are not high risk areas...

That's nonsense. Surely there's risk for the virus infection in many other workplaces too. Teachers can't be pushing themselves to the top of the vulnerable list like that. I would consider all of use to be vulnerable to this virus because it's a novel Coronavirus and it's novel and new to many of our immune systems. There won't be enough vaccines for us all so governments and health authorities will have a hard job deciding who gets it first and who gets pushed to the end of the line. There's many other professions who have to attend to work and get on with it and deal with risks of contracting the virus at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

https://www.rt.com/op-ed/502795-boris-johnson-uk-great-reset/

hmmm, not even trying anymore ..
    “Many of us are pondering when things will return to normal. The short response is never.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Reading that nonsense actually hurt my head.

What a load of rubbish that article is.

RT News. You might as well make up the headlines your self when you get out of bed, they'd probably be more accurate.

Reading that nonsense actually hurt my head.

What a load of rubbish that article is.

I hope so !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭growleaves

Miike wrote: »
    RT News. You might as well make up the headlines your self when you get out of bed, they'd probably be more accurate.

Perhaps. But there is nothing stopping any of these world leaders from reassuring people that 'things will be back to normal soon'.

Instead they want to waffle about building a new society and since so few people trust them it doesn't go over well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,151 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

100,000 monk to be slaughtered in the next few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Gael23 wrote: »

Not the monk !! What did religion do

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

:eek: I hope you mean mink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭growleaves

I hope not. I'm against religious persecution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Confiscate the Vatican also!

Australia in a blind panic over 30 cases in Adelaide

533428.JPG

And look at this sycophant ...

533427.JPG

"Good work, stay safe too" - PLEASE DESTROY ME LAST!!!!
    WTAF ??? imagine the little rat .... the very type that would have been calling stasi police ..

One thing this pandemic has taught me - some people are LOVING it ... lauding it over others, thinking it makes them superior ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,251 ✭✭✭✭kippy

533428.JPG

533427.JPG

WTAF ??? imagine the little rat .... the very type that would have been calling stasi police ..

One thing this pandemic has taught me - some people are LOVING it ... lauding it over others, thinking it makes them superior ...
    No one is "Loving this".

kippy wrote: »
    No one is "Loving this".

Believe me people are, some people were jobless losers before this.
    Now they are given a high vis yellow vest with COVID 19 COMPLIANCE OFFICER or COVID19 INFECTION BLOCKER SPECIALIST on the back and can walk around feeling vindicated and helpful.

Throwing their little bit of authority about - it is in their interest for this to never end.

Types that failed to be police or security guards in donaghmede shopping centre - dangerous dangerous people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,207 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

533428.JPG

533427.JPG

It's also taught me that some people are behaving like man babies, crying and needing protection (or a safe space at least) from medical experts.

You should stop being so angry. No one is out to get you.

It's also taught me that some people are behaving like man babies, crying and needing protection (or a safe space at least) from medical experts.

You should stop being so angry. No one is out to get you.

Plenty of medical experts think this is a total overreaction ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭Sconsey

Sounds more like you who has the problem than the people you are giving-out about.