Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVIII- 71,942 ROI(2,050 deaths) 51,824 NI (983 deaths) (28/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,881 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

It's pretty mad how the hospital in Limerick has singlehandedly caused a community outbreak. That sounds like mass staff infection to me.

S01E02-PN20FeHh-subtitled.jpg

dCGV13AQRCQw.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    The numbers dropped and then have stayed predominantly between 350 and 550 for a couple of weeks now. The trend has been steady, the two sub 300 days are outliers.
    No. Even ignoring the fact they were in keeping with a downward trend and acting as though they were randomly sorted, they are still not outliers.

An outlier is usually defined as a value 1.5 times the interquartile range below the first quartile or above the third quartile. (So looking at data from Oct 31st to yesterday, that would be below 157 or above 693). That 1.5 would have to change to less than 0.7 to pick up both your alleged "outliers".

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Ah here NPHET have lost the plot, see the quote from the Irish Times this morning where Ronan Glynn said if people travel home for Christmas it will result in "Hundreds of thousands of cases in January" The IT actually checked with the DoH that this was what he said and they confirmed it.

Calling on people to avoid non-essential travel over Christmas, Dr Glynn said: “We don’t want asymptomatic people, who are feeling completely well, coming home to this country to meet loved ones, to interact with their extended families across generations; younger people, older people and people with medical conditions.

“We don’t want thousands of people doing that, resulting in hundreds of thousands of cases in January and deaths and morbidity and mortality following on in January and February.”

* The Irish Times is satisfied that this quote is correct. A spokeswoman for the Department of Health said Dr Glynn said "hundreds or thousands".

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/covid-resurgence-outdoor-drinkers-in-groups-to-face-80-fines-1.4411027

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Hundreds of thousands of cases in January.... ah ffs

niallo27 wrote: »
    We would have no crime in this country if everyone was a good citizen, we would very little road deaths if everyone acted like a good citizen,
    Some would have you believe the crime and road deaths are the police's fault..

So herd immunity then by February. Happy days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,231 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

It's pretty mad how the hospital in Limerick has singlehandedly caused a community outbreak. That sounds like mass staff infection to me.

Weren’t there something like 180 staff sent home to self isolate?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Weren’t there something like 180 staff sent home to self isolate?

160 were self isolating last week, probably more now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭brookers

Stheno wrote: »
    Ah here NPHET have lost the plot, see the quote from the Irish Times this morning where Ronan Glynn said if people travel home for Christmas it will result in "Hundreds of thousands of cases in January" The IT actually checked with the DoH that this was what he said and they confirmed it.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/covid-resurgence-outdoor-drinkers-in-groups-to-face-80-fines-1.4411027

Im sure he means 100s or 1000 plus cases in january, it probably slip of the tongue, there is no way there would be hundreds of thousands of cases.....hard going for people to perfect all the time time, he young with a family working around the clock i would say. I would say TH is a slave driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,191 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

He said it at briefing last evening alright. Seemed a bit mad alright

Hunreds or thousands, will happen, but, pessimistic and all as I am about the whole business, I reckon we'd have to put in a serious concerted effort to try hit hundreds of thousands... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,231 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

160 were self isolating last week, probably more now

188 Staff self isolating now according to the examiner this morning

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/munster/arid-40083740.html

brookers wrote: »
    Im sure he means 100s or 1000 plus cases in january, it probably slip of the tongue, there is no way there would be hundreds of thousands of cases.....hard going for people to perfect all the time time, he young with a family working around the clock i would say. I would say TH is a slave driver.

Well he should be more careful with what he says.

Smacks of complete scaremongering

I'm firmly of the view that the communications NPHET and to some extent the government have employed are completely inept - there is nothing in the messaging to encourage people to get on board with what they are saying

This hundreds of thousands of cases nonsense will just make people ask what planet he is on.

Actually does the quote from DOH not dispute it? Could have been poorly worded at time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

188 Staff self isolating now according to the examiner this morning

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/munster/arid-40083740.html

That's some amount of staff to be without

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,212 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Eod100 wrote: »
    Actually does the quote from DOH not dispute it? Could have been poorly worded at time

Yes, it does. It completely changes the meaning. I imagine he said hundreds or thousands. It is possible he misspoke and said hundred of thousands but meant hundreds or thousands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Yes, it does. It completely changes the meaning. I imagine he said hundreds or thousands. It is possible he misspoke and said hundred of thousands but meant hundreds or thousands.

Yeah I'd say he was talking about his favourite ice cream topping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I've come to the exact same conclusion after looking at the figures. Every county has decreasing incidence except for the ones listed plus maybe 1/2.
    It's worth saying of course, based on what we know now, that it's not OK in general to say, "The rest of us are grand, these four lads are fvcked" and bull on.

We know that infection spreads to surrounding counties. And these four are distributed widely enough to be of concern to the whole country.

In other words, that we all *do* need to exercise extra caution even if we're not in these areas.

However, in this case, we appear to have a tight grip on these outbreaks. They're big, but they're not uncontrolled community transmission yet. They should fall back into line in the next few days if things are working as they should.

That's me being optimistic, but guarded. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

I'm starting to dread the media coverage when people inevitably start coming home for Christmas and the numbers start rising. It will be like the Dubs going on holidays to Kerry and the Yanks flying in to Shannon all over again, except this time it'll be darker outside and they'll have organised more finger-pointing and shock and blame, to compensate for how tedious the coverage is.

I'd watched it at time and heard hundreds of thousands but looking back think it was or alright. (37:08 mark) https://www.facebook.com/rtenews/videos/687212561932107

Would think 1 of the journalists in room including Paul could have picked him up on it if they were still in the room at that stage. Even still, could easily have been slip of the tongue either way. Mistakes happen.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,212 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Yeah I'd say he was talking about his favourite ice cream topping

It's completely reckless of NPHET to recommend that topping, it's a potential spreader of covid. They should be recommending raspberry syrup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

I see Slovakia which has a similar population to us is reporting over 1,300 new cases along with 31 deaths today. Were they not the ones who claimed that they had tested half the country in one day a few weeks back? What exactly did that exercise achieve given today's numbers?

It's completely reckless of NPHET to recommend that topping, it's a potential spreader of covid.
    Tbf, he did say it was something we wanted to avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Eivor

s1ippy wrote: »
    I'm starting to dread the media coverage when people inevitably start coming home for Christmas and the numbers start rising. It will be like the Dubs going on holidays to Kerry and the Yanks flying in to Shannon all over again, except this time it'll be darker outside and they'll have organised more finger-pointing and shock and blame, to compensate for how tedious the coverage is.

Someone will point their camera phone through your window to film you socialising with your family and post it on Twitter to show the world what a despicable person you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Glynn said hundreds OR thousands. Christ on a bike whatever you think of NPHET they and you know the difference between a likely post Chrimbo surge and a total wipe out Tsunami!
    We do not want people asymptomatic people who feel completely well coming home to this country to meet their loved ones, to interact with their extended families across generations, older people, younger people people with medical conditions, we don’t want thousands of people doing that, resulting in hundreds or thousands of cases in January, and deaths and morbidity and mortality in January in February,”

Glynn said hundreds OR thousands. Christ on a bike whatever you think of NPHET they and you know the difference between a likely post Chrimbo surge and a total wipe out Tsunami!

Well that's better tbh.
    Pity the DoH aren't even able to confirm what was stated

Well that's better tbh.

They did confirm it. You quoted this in one of your posts.
    * The Irish Times is satisfied that this quote is correct. A spokeswoman for the Department of Health said Dr Glynn said "hundreds or thousands".

Well that's better tbh.

Looked like they had from this: ''A spokeswoman for the Department of Health said Dr Glynn said "hundreds or thousands.''Guess Cullen can always clarify at next briefing I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

The government have withdrawn plans to do anything about take away pints.

The government have never been serious about enforcement.

They did confirm it. You quoted this in one of your posts.

DUH must pay closer attention :)