Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVIII- 71,942 ROI(2,050 deaths) 51,824 NI (983 deaths) (28/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Downlinz

mcburns07 wrote: »
    It's fairly depressing that given the level of restrictions we're under now, we're no longer seeing reductions in the no. of cases.

Where you do go from here?

I suppose we can't lose sight of the fact that it was put in place to prevent the healthcare system from falling over and in that respect it's working. The issue is 500 cases can become 1000 so quickly.

We either stay in level 5 until a vaccine is rolled out or we close the schools and bounce between an open / closed society every 3 months.

The whole low restriction christmas plan is toast at this stage anyway, there's no hope of NPHET recommending an easing of restrictions when they're consistently around the 400-500 mark daily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,231 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

seamus wrote: »
    That's 4 days of growth now in the positivity rate. The level of growth is small, but it could accelerate.

Schools reopening could be a potential cause, but the dates don't match up. Schools returned two weeks ago yesterday. The increase started too early. And we didn't see an upswing like this when the schools originally opened.

What does match up here is mid-term break & Halloween weekend. House parties, field parties, other social gatherings, maybe?

That was also the week that we started to see numbers properly tumbling. It's possible that people lifted their guard, thinking, "We're past this wave, let's enjoy mid term".

Let's see this week out but if we don't see it slow and begin to drop again this time next week, then it may be level 3 or 4 all through December.

There's a decline in GP referrals and less community testing so it has nothing to do with schools or community spread..

I reckon the higher positivity rate is because of a greater proportion of the tests being carried out in high risk environments and because of clusters and outbreaks- i.e. hospital and nursing home outbreaks, factory outbreaks etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

froog wrote: »
    looks like level 5 until june unless the young people suddenly cop on which is unlikely.

ya ya i know, poor young people, they've been so good and isn't it so hard for them etc etc

Ah yes we're back to blaming the young again.

Last week everyone was full of praise, they're doing such a great job, cases down in young, incidence continuing to reduce in the young, all still happening.

This week the blame game yet again get the big stick out , last night a debate about older people, this afternoon younger people, its all age groups you know, this let's blame one group nonsense needs to be cut out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

timmyntc wrote: »
    House gatherings - because people have no other social outlet and people are fed up of hiding at home when the risk to themselves is so low.

Midterm break had lots of families & friends coming together, halloween "parties" for children etc. It's hardly a surprise.

Take away people's social outlets, sports, restaurants, pubs etc. What else do you have to do with your time other than go for a walk (when its rarely dry) or go to someones house?

We would have lower rates of infection if we kept the ban on house visits in place, but opened pubs & restaurants with table service only. Even when pubs were open earlier in the year, they weren't the big source of infection - it was always gatherings at private houses.

We are all fed up with only outlet being work or going to do shopping or a walk.
    It's why so many of us are on these threads ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

There's a decline in GP referrals and less community testing so it has nothing to do with schools or community spread..

I reckon the higher positivity rate is because of a greater proportion of the tests being carried out in high risk environments and because of clusters and outbreaks- i.e. hospital and nursing home outbreaks, factory outbreaks etc.

Stop looking for cases = Lower numbers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

16/11/2020 Positive Swabs 491 Tests 11,106 Positivity Rate 4.4%
    15/11/2020 Positive Swabs 374 Tests 9,184 Positivity Rate 4.1%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Agree .
    I remember discussing this re Dame Lane , Berlin, and yesterday we were back here again .
    Totally unfair on businesses that are closed as well as others who have not met their friends in weeks .
    Not to mention that the gardaí have the legislation already in place to deal with this, amicably , no arrests or extreme measures needed .
    Leaving it build for a couple of weeks because that's what happens if news gets around " hey the guards are not stopping us ", is not on when numbers are not going down.
    Is there a reason do you think that the gardaí were not taking more concerted action?
    Are they feeling under pressure ?

I think there is a disconnect between the Gardai and the Gov. It has been widely reported that the Gardai have said that no laws were broken in the South William Street situation.

They have whacked the ball back into the Government's court - the Gardai obviously feel they do not have enough powers to enforce recommendations and guidelines and sure the laws that were passed, were never intended to be used - as stated by various gov ministers, we police by consent, softly softly will do.

It will be the same with Christmas travel..... leave it too late to do anything to clarify the situation and you are in for a hiding one way or another. No one is going to wait until two weeks before Christmas to decide if to travel home, or not. The decision has to be made for them and made now - whatever way it has to fall.

The government hasn't the balls to call it and will fudge around with suggestions, recommendations and pleas, until it is a total last minute mess.

I'd say Joe Duffy is beside himself anticipating the oncoming angerfest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Not good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,030 ✭✭✭eigrod

Something really strange about the fact that Prof Philip Nolan was saying that the R0 rate was well below 1 on Thursday evening last, but the numbers over the following days clearly don’t back that up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,405 ✭✭✭mcburns07

That's not it at all. The point the poster is making is that the demand for tests from the general community is reducing in line with the community spread of the virus. It's nothing to do with not looking for cases, in fact if they have the capacity to carry out more targeted testing of hospitals etc. then it's the exact opposite to your assertion.

I've a good friend who's Garda based in Dublin not in the catchment for South William Street now but basically what he's said to me all along is theres other calls that are higher priority, comes down to resources.

Yes I get that .
    This needs to be front and centre of AGS and government discussions .
    More gardaí needed to police restrictions or help from the army , but the optics there are not good !
    Might be moot point hopefully if we get the vaccinations going .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

eigrod wrote: »
    Something really strange about the fact that Prof Philip Nolan was saying that the R0 rate was well below 1 on Thursday evening last, but the numbers over the following days clearly don’t back that up.
    Contact tracing data and testing requests, as well as what GPs are saying, suggest that there has been no increase in cases in the slightest. Something strange is going on.

Yeah thats not whats going on.

HSE data & GP data all still showing reduced demand for testing services.

It was always said if there were issues in the community GPs would be the first to start sounding the alarm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭NunianVonFuch

He did stress their calculation of the R0 rate was dated about one week or so prior as they were always about that far behind the current R0 rate.

https://twitter.com/President_MU/status/1325424509705449472?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Contact tracing data and testing requests, as well as what GPs are saying, suggest that there has been no increase in cases in the slightest. Something strange is going on.
    We're due a weekly report on outbreaks from the HSPC tomorrow.

That may assist, though they usually don't publish the number of actual cases coming from outbreaks.

We're due a weekly report on outbreaks from the HSPC tomorrow.

That may assist, though they usually don't publish the number of actual cases coming from outbreaks.

Heres the report for last week, just published today

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/covid-19outbreaksclustersinireland/

timmyntc wrote: »
    Assuming this isn't just specific to cork - what about the other 4/5ths of cases?
    I'd bet more than 20% were from private houses

Clusters in Cork were from school special needs , hospital , a couple of workplaces and private homes .
    A scenario replicated around the country I would say ( Cork is no different)
    The point being , cases do arise from pubs and restaurants same as other areas of congregation indoors, and regulation only mitigates it .
    When cases were rising in October it was the right decision to stop all areas .
    Except they didn't close schools . That was a deliberate choice .
    It's just a fact whether we like it or not .
    Personally I would love restaurants and shops to be open , but I can see the reason why they are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

It may well be in the community while the numbers are more in line with cluster outbreaks?

Be interesting to see what case number will be reported this evening, at a guess anywhere between 350 to 550?

Certainly won't be lower than last Monday but should be lower than the other previous Mondays

09/11 270
    02/11 767
    26/10 939
    19/10 1031
    12/10 825
    05/10 518

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

Can the journalists ask some pertinent questions today?

1) Can we have numbers for origins of outbreaks, how many occurring in health care settings / schools etc...breakdown please.

2) Can we have breakdown of number of tests occurring per county, to enable us to have county-based positivity rating
    - i reckon the way tests are carried out it is penalizing Dublin, i would estimate it has a lower positivity rate than other regions.

3) Can we live stream the upcoming NEPHET meeting to ensure transparency

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

1) Can we have numbers for origins of outbreaks, how many occurring in health care settings / schools etc...breakdown please.

2) Can we have breakdown of number of tests occurring per county, to enable us to have county-based positivity rating
    - i reckon the way tests are carried out it is penalizing Dublin, i would estimate it has a lower positivity rate than other regions.

More likely "what did you make of the scenes on South William Street on sat night"....bla bla bla, next 2 weeks crucial.

Ger Roe wrote: »
    I think there is a disconnect between the Gardai and the Gov. It has been widely reported that the Gardai have said that no laws were broken in the South William Street situation.

They have whacked the ball back into the Government's court - the Gardai obviously feel they do not have enough powers to enforce recommendations and guidelines and sure the laws that were passed, were never intended to be used - as stated by various gov ministers, we police by consent, softly softly will do.

It will be the same with Christmas travel..... leave it too late to do anything to clarify the situation and you are in for a hiding one way or another. No one is going to wait until two weeks before Christmas to decide if to travel home, or not. The decision has to be made for them and made now - whatever way it has to fall.

The government hasn't the balls to call it and will fudge around with suggestions, recommendations and pleas, until it is a total last minute mess.

I'd say Joe Duffy is beside himself anticipating the oncoming angerfest.

Not a fan of Joe Duffy , switch the channel at the mention of his name !
    But all I am seeing now reading this is The Savage Eye representation of him ;(

Yes the government have been behind the curve on this and they need to be saying to the gardaí what do you need to make this happen and getting it done.
    It's going to be here until vaccinations are well in to the community.
    Can't understand why they are dragging their heels with everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭Flow Motion

Is this Q.1 on Paper#1 on a LC Applied Maths paper?? :confused:

No, I did not think so. Too many numbers there egghead. Why do you bother?
    Surely you can spend your free time more pleasantly? Would you have engaged in such a "past time" @ this point last year? (Highly unlikely IMO!) Enjoy yourself. Park the Coviditiy awhile. Step away from the screens. Bin the percentages. Open your door. Breathe in some fresh air. Relax :cool:

Seems Covid is causing an epidemic of epidemiology here in Ireland :pac:

If these are more than funerals and community but are hospital and factory related clusters the GPs would not be seeing a rise in cases , yet anyway .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

That's 4 days of growth now in the positivity rate. The level of growth is small, but it will accelerate.
    FYP :(

Is this Q.1 on Paper#1 on a LC Applied Maths paper?? :confused:
    More like a foundation maths JC q, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'm only seeing the previous week? Published on the 11th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,832 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Every age group is decreasing except older people, I'd love to see you criticise them. Doubt that'll happen though.

I already have. Keep up. Several times. :). Anyone who isn’t behaving and adhering to restrictions is part of the problem...

1 . Yes .
    2. Maybe .
    3. No way ! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭growleaves

The virus doesn't care if Waterford beat Clare
    But if Cork lose to Tipp the virus will f***ing flip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,577 ✭✭✭JTMan

Are restrictions scheduled to get lifted on 1 December or 2 December? I have seen both mentioned. Thanks.

I'm only seeing the previous week? Published on the 11th?

Interesting was definitely there earlier I thought , I didnt get a screenshot unfortunately