Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVIII- 71,942 ROI(2,050 deaths) 51,824 NI (983 deaths) (28/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭harr

Not at hope of going anywhere near level two at beginning of December now, with daily cares hovering between 400 and 500.
    Level 5 certainly not working like it should.
    Looking like it will probably be level 3 for the Christmas which is a depressing taught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Maxpfizer

mcburns07 wrote: »
    It's fairly depressing that given the level of restrictions we're under now, we're no longer seeing reductions in the no. of cases.

Where you do go from here?

Actually enforcing the restrictions would be a start, in my opinion.

The restrictions are a waste of time if people are just going to ignore them.

At the shop this morning none of the three women in the queue in front of me were wearing masks. Loudly talking to each other and then standing around at the exit of the shop. No masks.

This is not the first time and I don't expect it to be the last.

So we have a "restriction" where you are supposed to wear a mask in shops etc. People are not bothering though so unless the restriction can be enforced it's a waste of time.

The reason we even ended up at Level 5 is down to a failure to enforce the restrictions of Level 3.

"We didn't bother to enforce the Level 3 restrictions folks so we're moving to Level 5. Doubt we'll enforce those either."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Agree .
    I remember discussing this re Dame Lane , Berlin, and yesterday we were back here again .
    Totally unfair on businesses that are closed as well as others who have not met their friends in weeks .
    Not to mention that the gardaí have the legislation already in place to deal with this, amicably , no arrests or extreme measures needed .
    Leaving it build for a couple of weeks because that's what happens if news gets around " hey the guards are not stopping us ", is not on when numbers are not going down.
    Is there a reason do you think that the gardaí were not taking more concerted action?
    Are they feeling under pressure ?

I've a good friend who's Garda based in Dublin not in the catchment for South William Street now but basically what he's said to me all along is theres other calls that are higher priority, comes down to resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,623 ✭✭✭timmyntc

mcburns07 wrote: »
    Do you mean since March?

No, instead of the current level 5.

So when they brought in level 3+ (the restrictions on visitors to private homes), we could have stayed around that, or even relaxed restrictions on pubs & restaurants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

timmyntc wrote: »
    House gatherings - because people have no other social outlet and people are fed up of hiding at home when the risk to themselves is so low.

Midterm break had lots of families & friends coming together, halloween "parties" for children etc. It's hardly a surprise.

Take away people's social outlets, sports, restaurants, pubs etc. What else do you have to do with your time other than go for a walk (when its rarely dry) or go to someones house?

We would have lower rates of infection if we kept the ban on house visits in place, but opened pubs & restaurants with table service only. Even when pubs were open earlier in the year, they weren't the big source of infection - it was always gatherings at private houses.

If you say so.

https://twitter.com/irishexaminer/status/1310672765477765120?s=20

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Yes that makes sense

Getting hard to see 100 cases a day in two weeks time

I bet NPHET will recommend an extension to level 5

And I bet government don't do it. They're hell bent on reopening retail on 1st December, realistically nothing changes on that date except that, you'll still have travel restrictions etc as part of level 3 for example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Cork cases came from mostly cafes. They're not pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Ok, here's a more up to date video (last weekend) that's even worse.

Why are you posting videos we have seen ?
    What does it add here ?
    Some of us work in the city and have seen this for ourselves .

seamus wrote: »
    Yep, I'm 100% with you on this, I think it's the biggest mistake they've made.

If you take away all of the options for controlled public gathering, people will gathering in an uncontrolled manner.

Yup. It's like damming a river - if you don't let the water out in a controlled release, it will begin to leak and burst in ways you can't control.

Cork cases came from mostly cafes. If you want establishment names I can PM them to you. They're not pubs.

PM the Examiner and tell them to correct their headline. I'm sure they'll oblige once you provide them with the list you have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

And I bet government don't do it. They're hell bent on reopening retail on 1st December, realistically nothing changes on that date except that, you'll still have travel restrictions etc as part of level 3 for example

Yes it's going to be interesting

Retail is important in December

Assuming this isn't just specific to cork - what about the other 4/5ths of cases?
    I'd bet more than 20% were from private houses

I have a few times, Saturday evening order dinner from the local, up and collect it, few pints with it and home.

Easy way to ensure the local is still there when they're allowed to reopen by spending a few quid every now and then

Wouldn't it be gone flat by the time you're drinking it ?
    Just amused as pints are not my choice of tipple ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

PM the Examiner and tell them to correct their headline. I'm sure they'll oblige once you provide them with the list you have.
    I've better things to be doing than complaining on the internet like others, but thanks for the suggestion.

timmyntc wrote: »
    Assuming this isn't just specific to cork - what about the other 4/5ths of cases?
    I'd bet more than 20% were from private houses

Considering that contact tracing doesn't go back more than 48 hours and that the incubation period is on average 5-6 days the answer is we don't know.

We do know that the move to level 3 (closing indoor pubs & restaurants) did little to slow spread of the virus. When the restrictions on household visitations was brought in on top of this, number of new cases fell very quickly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 105 ✭✭lemonTrees

Absolute scum. These eejits ruin it for everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,188 ✭✭✭✭Stark

There are weekly reports on clusters here: https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/covid-19outbreaksclustersinireland/

It's pretty clear that private home outbreaks are the big problem.

Wouldn't it be gone flat by the time you're drinking it ?
    Just amused as pints are not my choice of tipple ;)

luckily I'm a few minutes from the pub, lads in the bar put a cap on them, like the ones you've get a milkshake or a slushie in, keep the lid on and pop it into the fridge when home, still just as good as it would have been in the pub.

Can't say how long before it goes flat though, max I've ever brought home is 3 so wouldn't have them sitting around in the fridge all that long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,733 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

except donegal which will drive more people to the north and keep the numbers high

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I thought large gatherings was, not mixing with more than 2 from outside your home and family :confused: I also thought street drinking of alcohol was illegal :confused:

Absolutely.
    But nobody seriously expects either the gardaí to do more than break it up and move it along , or the revellers to do much more than head somewhere else or just go home .
    That op is trying to imply that people justly calling for these scenes to be broken up, are looking for people to be arrested for fined .
    It is the threat of such that moves most normal people along .

Of course you could get the odd antirestrictions antifacemask freedom fighter who might not accept the " move along there now "from the guard ,but sure they are thankfully in the minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

looks like level 5 until june unless the young people suddenly cop on which is unlikely.

ya ya i know, poor young people, they've been so good and isn't it so hard for them etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,231 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I have a few times, Saturday evening order dinner from the local, up and collect it, few pints with it and home.

Easy way to ensure the local is still there when they're allowed to reopen by spending a few quid every now and then

Yes that's a good way to support and get your pints

With the weather so bad how were so many people outside drinking

Off licence sales don't help people running/working in bars to be fair.

Some offies are attached to bars , but yes, I get your point .
    Not going to help bars much either if we can't get numbers down to a level NPHET find acceptable .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

I've better things to be doing than complaining on the internet like others, but thanks for the suggestion.

you've been complaining about restrictions on here for months now though.

froog wrote: »

Let's see can we spot any of our regular posters here ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭growleaves

Absolutely.
    But nobody seriously expects either the gardaí to do more than break it up and move it along , or the revellers to do much more than head somewhere else or just go home .
    That op is trying to imply that people justly calling for these scenes to be broken up, are looking for people to be arrested for fined .
    It is the threat of such that moves most normal people along .

Of course you could get the odd antirestrictions antifacemask freedom fighter who might not accept the " move along there now "from the guard ,but sure they are thankfully in the minority.

I was replying to JP Liz 1's comment where she asked about fines.

Also I don't think anyone has mentioned it but the Guards are very conscious of their image as firm but fair and flexible among ordinary people. Its easy for randomers with Twitter profiles to call for heavy-handed enforcement and for leniency to be thrown out the window cause it'll never come back on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭I see sheep

looks like level 5 until june

:pac: I want whatever drugs you're on!

Can't wait for a nice creamy pint in December.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Cork2021

looks like level 5 until june unless the young people suddenly cop on which is unlikely.

ya ya i know, poor young people, they've been so good and isn't it so hard for them etc etc

Your having a laugh!! Level 5 until June!!! You must be suckling the teat of holahan!!

That's great fair play for getting in the time machine, going down there and retroactively confirming that it was all above board.

Maybe he is speaking from personal experience .