Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tyrone GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

A truly brilliant manager and brought the game into a more strategic manner. I think he set the template for football over the last 18 years and this has been tweaked by other managers who have gone on to win all irelands but this was all built on his template. He was the one manager I wanted to come to Mayo after our 2004/2006 losses.

I hear he is a total gent of a guy from a friend that met him and I wish him well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,929 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Cant argue with his managerial record but as a man? Defending a sex attacker, using the GAA to promote his anti women ****e and standing side by side with the Quinns? Nah, good riddance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Rolo2010

Cant argue with his managerial record but as a man? Defending a sex attacker, using the GAA to promote his anti women ****e and standing side by side with the Quinns? Nah, good riddance

Take the political talk elsewhere and keep it solely to football. It's a GAA thread.

Rolo2010 wrote: »
    Take the political talk elsewhere and keep it solely to football. It's a GAA thread.

Sorry? Are you a mod? No. Im not disputing his achievements on the field, but surely we are allowed discuss him in his entirety? An interesting and complex figure certainly.

I'm not modding. Just a bit of advice.

Gee thanks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

His character reference in that case was certainly ill advised.Ditto his standing by the Quinns was hard to comprehend.

What is the anti women angle?His views on abortion.

He is indeed a very complex man but I'm prepared to give him some element of leeway given the awful personal tragedy he suffered.

I've heard many stories of what a decent man he is on a one to one level yet it's equally reported he is not one to forget sleights suffered easily.Some of the reported fallout with those great servants of Tyrone ( The Cavanagh brothers ) would leave a sour taste in the mouth.

As a matter of fact you are backseat moderating.

seligehgit wrote: »
    His character reference in that case was certainly ill advised.Ditto his standing by the Quinns was hard to comprehend.

He is indeed a very complex man but I'm prepared to give him some element of leeway given the awful personal tragedy he suffered.

I've heard many stories of what a decent man he is on a one to one level yet it's equally reported he is not one to forget sleights suffered easily.Some of the reported fallout with those great servants of Tyrone ( The Cavanagh brothers ) would leave the sour taste in the mouth.

I think your definition of backseat moderating is quite broad. Their comment wasn't in any way an attempt to have a reasonable discussion but go ahead and have a political discussion on a GAA thread if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭KIB4Life

What a distasteful comment to make, look maybe he has made a few mistakes, but the man has suffered more tragedies since he has been involved in Tyrone football, then most people have in a lifetime. What ever anyone says he has left Tyrone in a much better position then when he took them over 3 All Ireland’s for a county that had never won one before he took over is unbelievable and he doesn’t get enough credit for what he done with Tyrone they are constantly there are there about every year getting to Semi finals most years.

KIB4Life wrote: »
    What a distasteful comment to make, look maybe he has made a few mistakes, but the man has suffered more tragedies since he has been involved in Tyrone football, then most people have in a lifetime. What ever anyone says he has left Tyrone in a much better position then when he took them over 3 All Ireland’s for a county that had never won one before he took over is unbelievable and he doesn’t get enough credit for what he done with Tyrone they are constantly there are there about every year getting to Semi finals most years.

Hey i take nothing away from his managerial record, credit where its due but i dont particularly like the man, granted i dont know him personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

seligehgit wrote: »

I've heard many stories of what a decent man he is on a one to one level yet it's equally reported he is not one to forget sleights suffered easily.Some of the reported fallout with those great servants of Tyrone ( The Cavanagh brothers ) would leave a sour taste in the mouth.

Ok I wasn't aware on the character reference but like you that's what I heard. Bad judgement by him!! Never met him personally either but I think the good managers take no prisoners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭thesultan

Fantastic for ten years but has suffocated Tyrone in negative football and mannerisms for a while.
    Donegal troubled him more than most..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,837 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Ok I wasn't aware on the character reference but like you that's what I heard. Bad judgement by him!! Never met him personally either but I think the good managers take no prisoners.

Let me start off with stating that he as a manager has an exceptional record, although, like Sean Boylan, I think he's overstayed his welcome. Tyrone haven't looked like realistic AI contenders for the past 4/5 years at this stage.
    Also, on a human level you couldn't but emphatise with the man after what happened to his daughter.

But, and it's a massive but, has plenty of form with 'bad judgement' that seems to be let slide by his cheerleaders

- Sexually assualt a woman and throw her out of a van?
    A judge took character references on board, including one provided by Tyrone GAA manager Mickey Harte, when deciding to jail a sex offender for just half the maximum sentence.

Commit fraud? :
    Mickey Harte came to my assistance. He gave me a character reference which helped my case.

Murder your father? Guess who's along with a character reference? :

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/tyrone-gaa-footballer-sean-hackett-given-life-sentence-for-shooting-his-father-dead-30229031.html

"Tyrone GAA boss Mickey Harte has told the trial of a former minor football star accused of murdering his father he was “a very quiet, unassuming, lovely young gentleman”.

Recklessly gamble with your business, endangering the livelihood of thousands of employees? Well guess who's at your side?
    https://www.independent.ie/business/irish/sean-quinn-prominent-figures-who-rallied-to-support-bankrupt-tycoon-duck-for-cover-26881762.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Murphy14

Tyrone begin life after Mickey Harte and for some of their followers be careful what you wish for after all he done for his county he surely would have deserved one year particularly after this unusual season and having a fully fit Cathal Mc Shane . While many choose to be critical of Mickey’s choices away from the football field I have to say he came across has a man of principle & stood by his beliefs that if someone required support or help he was there for them. He didn’t seek popularity for those choices. Anyway has a Donegal man I wish him well in retirement and hopefully he remains involved in the Gaa at some level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,241 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Making his squad say prayers and go to mass isn't on, whatever about the "character reference" stuff which at least involves only himself.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Let me start off with stating that he as a manager has an exceptional record, although, like Sean Boylan, I think he's overstayed his welcome. Tyrone haven't looked like realistic AI contenders for the past 4/5 years at this stage.
    Also, on a human level you couldn't but emphatise with the man after what happened to his daughter.

But, and it's a massive but, has plenty of form with 'bad judgement' that seems to be let slide by his cheerleaders

- Sexually assualt a woman and throw her out of a van?
    A judge took character references on board, including one provided by Tyrone GAA manager Mickey Harte, when deciding to jail a sex offender for just half the maximum sentence.

Commit fraud? :
    Mickey Harte came to my assistance. He gave me a character reference which helped my case.

Murder your father? Guess who's along with a character reference? :

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/tyrone-gaa-footballer-sean-hackett-given-life-sentence-for-shooting-his-father-dead-30229031.html

"Tyrone GAA boss Mickey Harte has told the trial of a former minor football star accused of murdering his father he was “a very quiet, unassuming, lovely young gentleman”.

Recklessly gamble with your business, endangering the livelihood of thousands of employees? Well guess who's at your side?
    https://www.independent.ie/business/irish/sean-quinn-prominent-figures-who-rallied-to-support-bankrupt-tycoon-duck-for-cover-26881762.html

if their is an Art McCoroy one of these as well let me know , he always looked like a sinister character i was convinced he was P O'Niell for many years back in the mid 2000s :D

look whatever about cheerleading he took tyrone to a level they previouly could not reach so in terms of gaa he deserves huge credit , tyrone now have a huge platform to work off now in his absence and also with the belief that they can win all irelands , which is somthing they always doubted before mikey harte arrived

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭dobman88

]

They played in the all Ireland final just 2 years ago. If that's not a realistic contender, I dont know what is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭muddle84

dobman88 wrote: »
    They played in the all Ireland final just 2 years ago. If that's not a realistic contender, I dont know what is.

In fairness to them they scored 1-14 against probably the best team to ever play the game. To be honest i think they had the talent to do it then as well. But i don't think they had the tactics to realistically beat Dublin. From what i remember, the previous year Dublin walked over them in the semi final, then the following year in the final they set up the same way again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,774 ✭✭✭✭maccored

jaysus lads, you'd never think tyrone were in this years AI final with this thread. it'd be great to see them take home the Sam - though even getting this far reflects well on Feargal Logan, Brian Dooher and the lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

It's real shame the Tyrone thread is so quiet.

Unfortunately I think there was a perception amongst posters of the Red Hand county that there was an anti Tyrone bias on the forum.

There were a few posters that I can recall.

Jayop was a big loss to the forum.

theres an anti Tyrone bias everywhere - lets be honest. Tyrone seem to prefer that

Tyrone team:

1. Niall Morgan

2. Michael McKernan

3. Ronan McNamee

4. Padraig Hampsey

5. Frank Burns

6. Peter Harte

7. Kieran McGeary

8. Brian Kennedy

9. Conn Kilpatrick

10. Conor Meyler

11. Michael O’Neill

12. Niall Sludden

13. Darren McCurry

14. Matthew Donnelly

15. Conor McKenna

16. Lorcan Quinn. 17. Mark Bradley. 18 Darragh Canavan. 19 Paul Donaghy. 20 Niall Kelly. 21.Tiernan McCann. 22. Ben McDonnell. 23. HP McGeary. 24. Cathal McShane. 25 Jonathan Munroe. 26. Conor Shields/Cormac Munroe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Fiyatoe

Not a ticket to be found. Have tried every contact around the country this week, was in hope of one right up until this evening and it fell through just now.

Got one for myself for the club but it’s for my dad who hasn’t missed any of the 3 Tyrone final wins yet. He gave his club one to my brother.

will head to croke park in hope! Might even embarrass myself and hold up a sign saying tickets :)

im glad our bench is still strong, I think they can have just as great an impact as against Kerry. I think Matty Donnelly is brewing up a monster performance, he turns it on when he wants to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 longballer

Hoping for a belter of a game. Hopefully, we get a reasonable share at midfield and our defensive options off the bench aren’t our downfall. Really excited that we could actually do it but in fairness I wouldn’t really begrudge Mayo a win... next year!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 bosshugo

Dummy team...Cathal Mcshane Starting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Fiyatoe

I did not want to do this, and I’m sure selighit the mod will remove it - that’s fine. But I’m desperate to get a ticket for my dad with me.

I have one lower hogan ticket for tomorrow 327 for myself.

as idiotic as this request is - I will swap it for 2x hill/Nally of lesser value or anywhere, and pay the difference for the extra ticket.

now I’m aware the chances that someone who has 2 tickets hasn’t already gave the other one away that they don’t need are very slim, but if I don’t say it I’ll never know.

im in Kildare tonight and Dublin early tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,051 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Congrats lads... If there are one or two of you on here looking in, especially Jayop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Congrats to Tyrone from a Donegal man. You were the much better team.

Also , sorry about that lad in the Donegal jersey there......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭Stewball

Fair play to the Tyrone lads. Absolutely delighted with the result.

Regards, a Galwegian! 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭What.Now

Anybody here, anybody....

Just popped in to say congrats.

Shows what a team can do in all but a few months if the foundations have already been established.