Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVIII- 71,942 ROI(2,050 deaths) 51,824 NI (983 deaths) (28/11) Read OP

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

I'm in the camp if "we need to live with covid" for a bit. Relax restrictions for a little while in pubs/restaurants/hotels (subject to restrictions on numbers per gathering) and let people plan a bit. No point in telling people a day or 2 before that they can book a couple of nights away in a hotel. You need to know earlier.

Figures didn't come down because Harvey Norman cordoned off its furniture eve though you could browse all day looking at televisions.

We can relax a bit and ramp back up as necessary afterwards. Carrot and stick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,212 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Stheno wrote: »
    I actually think its a complete personality clash between himself and Tony, he was much more cordial with Roland Glynn and even Professor Nolan this evening when he asked him how he could be confident level five was needed

Look at the difference in how Nolan responded compared to Tony, he acknowledged it was a reasonable question and gave some detail

Soon as Paul asked the Finland question, Tony got mad and responded angeily

To be honest, I think he was looking for some kind of reaction in how he asked the question - it was a bit of trick question to be honest. I think Tony got briefly a bit thick, because it was obvious what he was at - and then the weirdly informal language he used - "diss" - his criticism seemed very personalised, I think that's why Tony was a bit frostier

I think there is a personality clash there alright. He's always asked those leading questions, but maybe in a less overt way when it was Ronan Glynn answering them.

I know I'm microanalysing here to the point of ridiculousness, but I honestly thought that withering look Nolan gave when he started out to answer the question about travel was pretty condescending, before he became all nicey-nicey.

Tony was back to being Mr. Sound again at the end: " yeah, we'll get that to you Paul."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭3xh

Arghus wrote: »
    Paul Cullen, from The Irish Times, was following on from Tony's earlier responses about the danger of international travel and contrasting that with his apparent reluctance to say much about the risks posed by people travelling from Northern Ireland.

"You don't have a bad word to say about Belfast, but you'll everywhere else..."

Tony got a bit testy. For a bit.

Nice. Paul is right.

And doesn’t a member of NHPET have a spouse from NI? I’d hope that’s not playing into their guidance on NI-ROI travel.

Whatever about closing the boarder or not, NPHET could still recommend that travel from NI into ROI is followed by quarantine. Nothing stopping them.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

3xh wrote: »
    Nice. Paul is right.

And doesn’t a member of NHPET have a spouse from NI? I’d hope that’s not playing into their guidance on NI-ROI travel.

Whatever about closing the boarder or not, NPHET could still recommend that travel from NI into ROI is followed by quarantine. Nothing stopping them.

Think the issue with NI is that their CMO works closely with NPHET so it might fracture the relationship were there to be public commentary on the state of NI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

You can get an idea of the contempt Northerners are showing towards restrictions if a major city centre bar in the capital believes it has enough support that a stunt like this would not affect business
    https://twitter.com/TheDirtyOnion/status/1326859381649104897

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

12-11-2020-p1.jpg
    12-11-2020-p2.jpg
    12-11-2020-p3.jpg
    12-11-2020-p4.jpg
    12-11-2020-p5.jpg
    12-11-2020-p6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭3xh

Think the issue with NI is that their CMO works closely with NPHET so it might fracture the relationship were there to be public commentary on the state of NI

Yep no doubt. Neither wants to criticise the other but cases are cases and Covid is science. You just can’t argue with that?!

And you’d hope our NPHET team with only our health as their remit will do whatever is required to protect our health, surely? If recommending quarantine upon entering the ROI from NI is required, it should be recommended.

Metal installations aren’t needed. Just a matching recommendation like that given to travellers from outside the island of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I actually think its a complete personality clash between himself and Tony, he was much more cordial with Roland Glynn and even Professor Nolan this evening when he asked him how he could be confident level five was needed

Look at the difference in how Nolan responded compared to Tony, he acknowledged it was a reasonable question and gave some detail

Soon as Paul asked the Finland question, Tony got mad and responded angeily
    That goes back to the beginning when Paul Cullen was banging on about the testing every day and anything else really. He has a very curt manner about him when he asks questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,301 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

1000 fans at the NIRL v' Slovakia game in Belfast tonight, very well spaced out, hard to know if it's a good idea given the infection rate up there at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Akabusi wrote: »
    That is quite a nuts post, worst case you wait until next sprng/summer.

These are permanent new rules .

Permanent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Permanent

The great reset of the rules?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

1000 fans at the NIRL v' Slovakia game in Belfast tonight, very well spaced out, hard to know if it's a good idea given the infection rate up there at the moment.

And no supporters in attendance at Wembley. As ever the six counties has their own set of rules and aren't following the ROI or Englands current restrictions.

Remember they said that as soon as R number is below 1 it is essentially under control ?

I do.

So plan is slight lift of restrictions for Christmas and then back to LVL 5 in January ?
    And then what ? LVL 5 till April, and yoyoing between levels for the next xxxx years ???

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Remember they said that as soon as R number is below 1 it is essentially under control ?

I do.

So plan is slight lift of restrictions for Christmas and then back to LVL 5 in January ?
    And then what ? LVL 5 till April, and yoyoing between levels for the next xxxx years ???

Actually, yes, I do recall that. They do seem to be more conservative than they originally told us they would be when Leo and others said we would have to live with Covid. Now they are frantically running from it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Actually, yes, I do recall that. They do seem to be more conservative than they originally told us they would be when Leo and others said we would have to live with Covid. Now they are frantically running from it.

Remember they told us there would be a review after four weeks too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

I hope all this messing around by Tony and Mehole doesn't prevent people from coming home and spending Christmas with their families.

People have sacrificed enough at this stage, lost time spent with loved ones cannot be replaced. C'mon away home I say.

I never thought I would see the day when the government of Ireland would tell our children not to come home at Christmas. They should be utterly ashamed of themselves.

Permanent

What are these new rules in Spain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,129 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I do.

When the R number is below 1 it's decreasing exponentially and you could indeed argue that is under control. The problem with letting off the gas now is that there is a high reserve of the disease in the community and R will rise above 1 shortly after they are lifted.

If we know daily cases double every two weeks and we really only have capacity for 1200 daily cases then you need the daily cases numbers to fall to very small numbers if you want to avoid the third lockdown for a couple of months at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Arghus wrote: »
    Paul Cullen's articles in the Times are always quite fair and balanced, but he always comes across as a passive aggressive inquisitor in these briefings.

Do you mean he acts like a journalist rather than a mouthpiece?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,766 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

polesheep wrote: »
    I never thought I would see the day when the government of Ireland would tell our children not to come home at Christmas. They should be utterly ashamed of themselves.

Jack Lynch. 1967. Foot and Mouth crisis.
    There is precedence.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

I do.

Vaccine! We'll be grand. Maybe one or two more lockdowns to get through but that'll be it.

What are these new rules in Spain?

PCR tests for flying in....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

owlbethere wrote: »
    https://www.thejournal.ie/hse-to-undertake-enhanced-contact-tracing-14-days-before-symptoms-by-december-5262855-Nov2020/

This is a very good move. It's enhanced contact tracing where contact tracers will track 14 days to try and establish how infections/community transmissions are occurring.

I'm disappointed they are taking it in so late but better late than never.

On this point, wonder would it be a good idea to release a list of high level tracing questions that positive cases will be asked. Then those who need to trace contacts can be thinking about it while waiting for the tracers to contact them.

It's basic stuff, and most will guess what they might be asked, but it might concentrate the mind in someone who is worried that they are positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭niamh247

Does anyone have daily case data or links for Dublin only? The datahub shows only at national level. Thanks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,464 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Those damned mink have the countryside ruined.
    The escaped from farms year ago and have killed so much birdlife especially in the wetlands.
    They are vicious little bastards.

http://www.wildlifemanagement.ie/mink/
    The mink readily adapted to their new environment and spread rapidly, establishing themselves at the top of the food chain. Their typical habitat includes stream, river, pond, marsh, swamp, or lake. Mink will attack animals up to the size of a chicken, duck, rabbit, or new born lamb. Like some other members of the weasel family, mink can exhibit “surplus killing” behaviour.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,180 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

niamh247 wrote: »
    Does anyone have daily case data or links for Dublin only? The datahub shows only at national level. Thanks!!

Dublin numbers since the introduction of Level 5

Day Month Date Dublin Weekly 7 Day Av 7 Day % 14 Day Av 14 Day %
    Thursday October 22nd 244 1,885 269.29 20.22% 246.64 52.38%
    Friday October 23rd 182 1,813 259.00 6.71% 250.86 57.00%
    Saturday October 24th 192 1,727 246.71 -0.52% 247.36 45.87%
    Sunday October 25th 255 1,574 224.86 -17.94% 249.43 46.23%
    Monday October 26th 262 1,601 228.71 -15.69% 250.00 43.86%
    Tuesday October 27th 228 1,626 232.29 -14.96% 252.71 43.30%
    Wednesday October 28th 199 1,562 223.14 -19.03% 249.36 38.20%
    Thursday October 29th 242 1,560 222.86 -17.24% 246.07 30.30%
    Friday October 30th 228 1,606 229.43 -11.42% 244.21 26.63%
    Saturday October 31st 87 1,501 214.43 -13.09% 230.57 17.21%
    Sunday November 1st 173 1,419 202.71 -9.85% 213.79 -2.25%
    Monday November 2nd 321 1,478 211.14 -7.68% 219.93 -2.66%
    Tuesday November 3rd 96 1,346 192.29 -17.22% 212.29 -8.69%
    Wednesday November 4th 158 1,305 186.43 -16.45% 204.79 -13.12%
    Thursday November 5th 120 1,183 169.00 -24.17% 195.93 -20.56%
    Friday November 6th 175 1,130 161.43 -29.64% 195.43 -22.10%
    Saturday November 7th 72 1,115 159.29 -25.72% 186.86 -24.46%
    Sunday November 8th 181 1,123 160.43 -20.86% 181.57 -27.21%
    Monday November 9th 103 905 129.29 -38.77% 170.21 -31.91%
    Tuesday November 10th 82 891 127.29 -33.80% 159.79 -36.77%
    Wednesday November 11th 90 823 117.57 -36.93% 152.00 -39.04%
    Thursday November 12th 132 835 119.29 -29.42% 144.14 -41.42%

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Those damned mink have the countryside ruined.
    The escaped from farms year ago and have killed so much birdlife especially in the wetlands.
    They are vicious little bastards.

I had heard that they were helped in their escape by some well meaning but ecologically naive activists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,766 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

At the risk of being accused of back seat minking, please take all mink talk to the minks thread... there ye can mink away to your hearts content.
    https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2058129018/6/#post115241412

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)