Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVIII- 71,942 ROI(2,050 deaths) 51,824 NI (983 deaths) (28/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

Lol I knew when I came on here people would be shooting there load over the Pfizer announcement while welcome theres still a long way to go before one needle goes into an arm.

https://www.newsweek.com/covid-vaccine-pfizer-scientists-cautious-questions-1546018
    Scientists say Pfizer's announcement that its coronavirus vaccine is over 90 percent effective should be treated with caution. The news was announced via a press release and no data has been made available to substantiate the company's claims, raising questions about how effective it might actually be among the wider public.

Shin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,231 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Stheno wrote: »
    Who is the 12 year old giving the update?

Dr Boring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

is_that_so wrote: »
    Think the UK has the highest risk group and healthcare workers together. I agree on flu' uptake but COVID is very different and they might be more likely to go for it.

It's just anecdotal evidence, we'll see how it goes when the vaccine is available. I think myself that the priority for healthcare workers should be for those working directly with the most vulnerable groups, assuming that it is a sterilising vaccine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

We could definitely a achieve under 100 by December 1st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

shinzon wrote: »
    Lol I knew when I came on here people would be shooting there load over the Pfizer announcement while welcome there still a long way to go before one needle goes into an arm.

https://www.newsweek.com/covid-vaccine-pfizer-scientists-cautious-questions-1546018

Shin
    Maybe you should look up when they expect that data?
    Spoiler: It's next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

seamus wrote: »
    In general?
    [detailed explanation]
    No, I get the general idea - apologies for being unclear, and thanks for the detailed explanation.

I was hoping for more info on numbers like this, and how they were drawing their conclusions therefrom.

"The interim analysis looks at how many of those who got infected with Covid-19 had had the new vaccine and how many had the placebo. So far, 94 people have become infected with Covid-19 – this is three times more than the company originally planned, but since the analysis shows that 90% had not received the vaccine, it implies that no more than eight people had received it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

43% reduction in the 14 day rate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭harr

Great to see numbers down . Level 5 till December and fingers crossed we can see level two for at least a month.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

lemonTrees wrote: »
    Trump won't be happy when he wakes up. Would be the ultimate triggering if they started vaccinating people on Biden's inauguration day.

I wonder had they been in a position to announce this a couple of weeks earlier, would it have helped Trump over the line. (Not saying they held it back or anything, that's for conspiracy thread :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Dublin......what the hell????

Numbers done - so vaccine and mink questions - as it should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Lol I knew when I came on here people would be shooting there load over the Pfizer announcement while welcome there still a long way to go before one needle goes into an arm.

Shin

Ah give it a rest will you, its positive news for once but everyone needs to continue to follow the advice

Pfizer mentioned it in their press release, full data to follow estimated next week in terms of safety and initial effencicy data then it'll be published and peer reviewed along with submission to the various regulatory bodies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,617 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

harr wrote: »
    Great to see numbers down . Level 5 till December and fingers crossed we can see level two for at least a month.

I don't think it will be level 2 on a nationwide basis if Tony has his way, some regions like Dublin maybe staying at level 3

Not a time for celebration - nice cheery note from CMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Jimson

US2 wrote: »
    We could definitely a achieve under 100 by December 1st

Let's see how the schools affect it now. Next four weeks will be interesting.

is_that_so wrote: »
    Not a time for celebration - nice cheery note from CMO.

He has to say it really though, some people need to be told to continue with what their doing now.

Tony saying that work is on going on rollout plans.

Isn't really expanding on that.

Jimson wrote: »
    Let's see how the schools affect it now. Next four weeks will be interesting.
    Probably not much. If it's falling in the community it's not going to spread in schools.

Tony is so negative and pessimistic. Putting a dampener on the vaccine and saying it is not a cause for celebration. Avoiding questions on plans for rollouts.

Meanwhile in the UK presser Van tam is already detailing plans for a roll out and calling this a big breakthrough.

He has to say it really though, some people need to be told to continue with what their doing now.
    Sure, but the turn of phrase amused me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

Ah give it a rest will you, its positive news for once but everyone needs to continue to follow the advice

Pfizer mentioned it in their press release, full data to follow estimated next week in terms of safety and initial effencicy data then it'll be published and peer reviewed along with submission to the various regulatory bodies

Shin

Tony is so negative and pessimistic. Putting a dampener on the vaccine and saying it is not a cause for celebration. Avoiding questions on plans for rollouts.

Meanwhile in the UK presser Van tam is already detailing plans for a roll out and calling this a big breakthrough.

Its basically telling people not to ease up, some are thick enough to change their behaviour after todays news. Basically saying don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

Love to see the number of tests performed in Dublin per capita as elsewhere.

I guess the numbers be slow to go down in Dublin are related to the huge testing numbers, be interesting to see a positivity rate/ testing number for Dublin.

Can a journo get this data?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Eh I thought there was to be a review after four weeks, so why are they saying 1st December now?

Shin

Oh look when you've nothing worth while to reply with just throw in a stupid emoji. Fair play.

Ste

Its basically telling people not to ease up, some are thick enough to change their behaviour after todays news. Basically saying don't.

He could give a bit of positivity. I'm just sick of his negative demeanour at this point.

Don't expect anything different at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,800 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Stheno wrote: »
    Eh I thought there was to be a review after four weeks, so why are they saying 1st December now?

According to The Irish Times, the Taoiseach addressed a weekly Fianna Fáil parliamentary party meeting and stated that the full six weeks would be needed to ensure low cases for December, particularly the Christmas period where people would be mixing with family

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

I hope to feck be aren't pulling teeth over 50-100 odd cases nationwide come late November and been asked to hang tight, level 3+ etc etc.