Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar story in The Village??? - Mod Notes and banned Users in OP updated 16/05

• Registered Users Posts: 28,735 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Really? I would have thought you could rely on him to keep his head down and wait for his turn as taoiseach

Which is what he's been at since Varadkar was installed ahead of him I think. He already has (or had at last count) the grass-roots support, and they weren't happy about being overruled.

But he's a lot more beholden to Europe and its politics - something which I don't necessarily think is in Ireland's long term best interests.

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭Goldrickssan

smurgen wrote: »

Leo is ****ed here. This absolutely stinks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Didn't take long for the aggrieved FF backbenchers to stick the boot in.

Maybe we're about to see some old-school Fianna Fáil magic. After the last 8 months there must be enough material floating around government offices to bury FG in history. If only CJH was still around...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

joemurt wrote: »
    Was that you talking about snark earlier?

My point is also factual.

Duhhhhh, the evidence has been provided, his close personal friend, confidant and possible business partner (?) stating to a group of GP's Varadkar told him he doesn't give a f+ck about refugees. DP is Flanagans gig.

Or do you think Varadkars mate who he leaked government documents to is lying? Surely that would be another defamation case for Varadkar?

I dont know what sort of agenda you are on, but my point stands. There is no evidence Varadkar said anything about refugees. We start to go down a dangerous path if we start to pin thoughts on people because of what something someone they know said.

That other poster apologised for their snark by the way, I don't think it's fair on them to bring it up again after the issue was closed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

sabat wrote: »
    Maybe we're about to see some old-school Fianna Fáil magic. After the last 8 months there must be enough material floating around government offices to bury FG in history. If only CJH was still around...

Yeah, what we need now is a thief

• Registered Users Posts: 19,615 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I mean, it seems a bit out of date to keep harking back to Village when RTÉ etc have now taken it up.

Its always the same with the party hacks on here, if there is a negative story against their party then they refuse to deal with the allegations but instead attack the source. Deflect and shoot the messenger, its the oldest trick in the book of party hackery.

Village Magazine was started and edited by Vincent Browne, they were instrumental in revealing Berties dig outs which led to him claiming he had no bank account while he was Minister for Finance. They're a tiny publication based on Ormond Quay and a single defamation case would sink them. They are not in the habit of publishing information that is false yet the party hacks on here would try to convince you that they made the whole thing up :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,846 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Leo is ****ed here. This absolutely stinks.

Nope, nothing to see here :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭stockshares

I know Dooley is being opportunistic but if it's found that other Doc's have been leaked in this way then it's surely not just a resigning matter but a criminal prosecution.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,486 ✭✭✭jackboy

I know Dooley is being opportunistic but if it's found that other Doc's have been leaked in this way then it's surely not just a resigning matter but a criminal prosecution.

FF and FG have been extremely corrupt organisations for decades so he is not in a good place for throwing stones, especially with his dodgy actions in the Dail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭joemurt

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    I dont know what sort of agenda you are on, but my point stands. There is no evidence Varadkar said anything about refugees. We start to go down a dangerous path if we start to pin thoughts on people because of what something someone they know said.

That other poster apologised for their snark by the way, I don't think it's fair on them to bring it up again after the issue was closed.

I don't care what you think is fair, I'll raise what ever point I want to raise. And it was your snark I was addressing, not theirs. Suck it up.

My agenda is clear son, a close friend of Varadkar has relayed (evidence) a message that Varadkar doesn't give a f+ck about refugees. When Varadkar acknowledges and addresses this point - to either accept he said it or regards it also as defamation - no-one can say without doubt if he literally said it himself or not.

But given his record of ****ting on the most vulnerable in society time and again, I'm leaning toward he did say he doesn't give a f+ck about refugees. His actions have been loud and clear for the past few years.

Why has he not addressed this yet? It's a simple 'I never said such a thing'. Is he afraid someone has it in text form?

Carry on.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,910 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Its always the same with the party hacks on here, if there is a negative story against their party then they refuse to deal with the allegations but instead attack the source. Deflect and shoot the messenger, its the oldest trick in the book of party hackery.

Village Magazine was started and edited by Vincent Browne, they were instrumental in revealing Berties dig outs which led to him claiming he had no bank account while he was Minister for Finance. They're a tiny publication based on Ormond Quay and a single defamation case would sink them. They are not in the habit of publishing information that is false yet the party hacks on here would try to convince you that they made the whole thing up :rolleyes:

True, but that says more about the ability to litigate and sue for any reason doesn't it.

• Registered Users Posts: 67,141 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

These things could unleash a few more whistleblowers. Always the danger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Strictly is much more entertaining than interacting with juvenile hurlers.

I feel like I should pay a subscription to this government, like Netflix. All the drama and comedy ;)

jackboy wrote: »
    FF and FG have been extremely corrupt organisations for decades so he is not in a good place for throwing stones, especially with his dodgy actions in the Dail.

Your correct but he feels safe in saying what he said because compared to what Leo has done it shows him in a good light

I don't care what you think is fair, I'll raise what ever point I want to raise. And it was your snark I was addressing, not theirs. Suck it up.

My agenda is clear son, a close friend of Varadkar has relayed (evidence) a message that Varadkar doesn't give a f+ck about refugees. When Varadkar acknowledges and addresses this point - to either accept he said it or regards it also as defamation - no-one can say without doubt if he literally said it himself or not.

But given his record of ****ting on the most vulnerable in society time and again, I'm leaning toward he did say he doesn't give a f+ck about refugees. His actions have been loud and clear for the past few years.

Why has he not addressed this yet? It's a simple 'I never said such a thing'. Is he afraid someone has it in text form?

Carry on.

Brand new account today I see. Welcome.

Well done Columbo.

That all you have?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭jpfahy

Varadkar praying for some unrelated big news story to break tomorrow to deflect from this, I wonder will he get lucky?

Carry on.

Speaking of ****ting on the most vulnerable, when did Regina Doherty become a member of the board of Pieta House?
    https://www.pieta.ie/about/pieta-board/

Speaking of ****ting on the most vulnerable, when did Regina Doherty become a member of the board of Pieta House?

I wonder did that appointment have anything to do with government funding?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Hubertj

I’d never even heard of the Village until today. Read about it on examiner. Then I dipped in here. Dregs of society on boards. Mad stuff altogether. Between the bombers stealing money, FF and FG making a balls of it, anti maskers/COVID deniers marching, poxy socialists, there is no hope for this country. And we have audacity to laugh at the state of the US. Trump or Biden are a better option than what we have here

Well done Columbo.

That all you have?

I was just welcoming you.

I don't think there is any point having a back and forth over your post, given we clearly disagree. So I decided to just welcome you as a brand new and first time user today of boards.ie.

Hubertj wrote: »
    Then I dipped in here. Dregs of society on boards. Mad stuff altogether.

Projection is never a good look son. Cheer up.

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭Goldrickssan

jpfahy wrote: »
    Varadkar praying for some unrelated big news story to break tomorrow to deflect from this, I wonder will he get lucky?

If he makes it till Wednesday the American Civil War will take the headlines.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

Dregs of society on boards.

Did you ever think of joining yourself

If he makes it till Wednesday the American Civil War will take the headlines.

Nah, something else will happen. Minister for agriculture is due a change. Or another 1 of the bombers will get caught for something.

I was just welcoming you.

I don't think there is any point having a back and forth over your post, given we clearly disagree. So I decided to just welcome you as a brand new and first time user today of boards.ie.

Ah.....very good Bubbaclaus, I mistook it for more of your snark. Thanks for pointing out to everyone I'm new here for some random reason. Your a gentleman. And still wrong.

Cute Hoor wrote: »

I don’t exclude myself from that description. I know the company I’m in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Bye Bye Leo.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

On a serious note, how likely is it he'll have to walk over this?

Im thinking nothing will happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Cute Hoor wrote: »

Post of the day... brilliant !! :D
    Nah, something else will happen. Minister for agriculture is due a change. Or another 1 of the bombers will get caught for something.

I heard that one of 'them Shinners' didn't wash their hands for over two hours one day last week.