Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭tanko

Interesting machinery programme on BBC4 now.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,677 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

whelan2 wrote: »
    Cleaning out a room that we dont use, found this under a pool table on top of an old mahogany table. Brothers spent ages playing with it

Wow - very like the one I had as a child!!. I feel sad for children today in this high tech world who have lost touch with such simple pleasures

• Registered Users Posts: 29,261 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Wow - very like the one I had as a child!!. I feel sad for children today in this high tech world who have lost touch with such simple pleasures

I remember the smell of the trains on the tracks, if that makes sense and the odd spark that would fly out

• Registered Users Posts: 9,677 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

whelan2 wrote: »
    I remember the smell of the trains on the tracks, if that makes sense and the odd spark that would fly out

Yeah - for me it was the making of so many golden Christmases as child in my Grand mothers big farmhouse. Remember distinctly too the year I got my first model farm, handmade by a local artisan now long passed away

• Registered Users Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭dzer2

Have a hornby set from 72 had some off the most simplest and best Christmases with little.or nothing. Can remember everyone of them with mam and dad. Left home in 84 came home to wham and just my sister and parents, as older brother thought Christmas was for drink and his mates. Not long after he was at home on Christmas day really upset seeing what we never lost. Till this day my sister and me celebrate the day with something even though we are miles apart. I am blessed that the family here are so close

• Registered Users Posts: 18,522 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Sat down with the kids and watched Attenborough’s latest “a life on our planet”.
    Thought it was really interesting to watch and certainly brings into focus how things have changed in such a short time.
    There was as expected reference to animal farming but it was brief and about consuming less meat and not no meat, I had thought from what I’d seen online that anti farming was a much bigger portion of the program.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,980 Mod ✭✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Birdnuts wrote: »

We boil the small spuds from the garden this time of the year for the turkeys.
    I mash the up in the pot outside with a thin post.
    I never do it but the smell reminds me of doing it as a child nearly 50 years ago!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,188 ✭✭✭✭Base price

We boil the small spuds from the garden this time of the year for the turkeys.
    I mash the up in the pot outside with a thin post.
    I never do it but the smell reminds me of doing it as a child nearly 50 years ago!
    I remember as a young child (50 years ago) helping Grandad digging spuds. Granny would cook the small ones in a large pot on the range for the hens and piglets. We'd pick out some before they were mashed, smother them in butter and salt and fill our belly's :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,254 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

It has to be acknowledged and it can't go without comment.
    Frankly mods do what you want to me.

But Yosemitesam if you're reading this you will be deeply missed on this forum.

You were always led by logic.
    You had a great science based approach to farming and all. And your opinion was held with great weighting.
    And you never from what I could see got personal with anyone on replies to debate.

I hope you'll be back in some shape or form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

It has to be acknowledged and it can't go without comment.
    Frankly mods do what you want to me.

But Yosemitesam if you're reading this you will be deeply missed on this forum.

You were always led by logic.
    You had a great science based approach to farming and all. And your opinion was held with great weighting.
    And you never from what I could see got personal with anyone on replies to debate.

I hope you'll be back in some shape or form.

That's on me, not the rest of the mods.
    I accidentally forum banned Yosemitesam1 last night in error while dealing with a troll. He sent me a PM and I explained my mistake and asked him to contact me if the reversal hadn't gone through.

Has it not been reversed?

I accidentally forum banned Yosemitesam1 last night in error while dealing with a troll. He sent me a PM and I explained my mistake and asked him to contact me if the reversal hadn't gone through.

Ah Janey!

Mods can read other private messages too.

Delete the above then before he gets a big head! :p

Edit: I've cancelled the hitman Buford. You're ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

For the record, it was in place for 5 minutes, about the same time it took me to find and screen shot the record.
    AAkuSSg.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭148multi

Any chance of bringing back fungie while you're at it

• Registered Users Posts: 10,720 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

148multi wrote: »
    Any chance of bringing back fungie while you're at it

Ah, Fungie is just self-isolating.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

So is Yosemite gone or not?

• Registered Users Posts: 758 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Definitely a year I'll be glad to see the back of.
    2 months after burying my father we buried my wife's mother yesterday. So in 2020 we've buried a first cousin 45, an uncle in law, my father, my first cousin's husband 49 and my mother in law. And still 2 months left in the year.
    Sitting down last night I said to my wife it's not that long ago we had a year with 5 weddings and here we are with 5 funerals.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

CHOPS01 wrote: »
    2 months after burying my father we buried my wife's mother yesterday. So in 2020 we've buried a first cousin 45, an uncle in law, my father, my first cousin's husband 49 and my mother in law. And still 2 months left in the year.
    Sitting down last night I said to my wife it's not that long ago we had a year with 5 weddings and here we are with 5 funerals.

Fair few deaths in this family this year aswell especially on the wife's side. We had booked and canceled 3 holidays over funerals and we were meant to be heading to Lanzo this week with the kids but covid canceled that one. Herself is nearly afraid to book another one with the way they have been going!

• Registered Users Posts: 758 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Bullocks wrote: »
    Fair few deaths in this family this year aswell especially on the wife's side. We had booked and canceled 3 holidays over funerals and we were meant to be heading to Lanzo this week with the kids but covid canceled that one. Herself is nearly afraid to book another one with the way they have been going!

Similar. With Covid and funerals we have missed a weekend in Nevin Maguires place, a trip to Zurich over to the wife's sister and a week in Donegal which was booked instead of a week abroad.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,104 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

CHOPS01 wrote: »

https://imgflip.com/i/40cu3g

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,635 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

So is Yosemite gone or not?

Accident by one of us when dealing with a persistent troll on Sat night, should be ok by now.

Is anyone else confused about dinner time today or is it just me?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

Always amazes me when lads fill in part of a ditch around a field not thinking of the consequences of said action and then complain when it is waterlogged at this time of the year.

Standing in a field in muck waiting for individual to arrive with jcb to undo what he done earlier in year.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,261 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

blue5000 wrote: »
    Accident by one of us when dealing with a persistent troll on Sat night, should be ok by now.

Is anyone else confused about dinner time today or is it just me?

I think after this morning here I should be eligible for the hardship grant

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

NcdJd wrote: »
    Always amazes me when lads fill in part of a ditch around a field not thinking of the consequences of said action and then complain when it is waterlogged at this time of the year.

Standing in a field in muck waiting for individual to arrive with jcb to undo what he done earlier in year.

Seen that a fair bit. Around here the ditch (as in drain) belonging to one farm is often on the wrong side of the bank iykwim. The logic in old days that you dug your drain and thew the spoil back on your own land to make a good bank.

I've seen sites been sold and the new house owners 'reclaim' these ditches by filling them in and wondering why the area around them are now flooding ...

NcdJd wrote: »

Mid - end Feb is a good time to make decisions about land, it get's August notions out of lads heads

• Registered Users Posts: 8,145 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Fncking hell!

Maybe the chitchat is not the best thread, but 3 dead over a 150ac farm:

https://www.rte.ie/news/munster/2020/1026/1173965-cork-shooting/

Very sad for all involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭Mrs cockett

God help that poor mother.
    I wouldn't have thought lads in their twenties would be that exercised over land.

Fncking hell!

Maybe the chitchat is not the best thread, but 3 dead over a 150ac farm:

https://www.rte.ie/news/munster/2020/1026/1173965-cork-shooting/

Very sad for all involved.

Read that earlier on, I know of a place where two died over land before. Hard to get perspective sometimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,145 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

God help that poor mother.
    I wouldn't have thought lads in their twenties would be that exercised over land.

Yes, I thought they would have been older too. Awful story for anyone at any time.
    It's sad what the land can do to some folk.

Something for ye to look at.

Maybe you can spot your house!

All thanks to NASA.

https://eyes.nasa.gov/apps/earth/#/

• Registered Users Posts: 5,074 ✭✭✭zetecescort

I think somebody mentioned it a few days ago but Tricked out Tractors on BBC 1 Northern Ireland at 7:35