Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PlayStation 5 - Now with FAQ in OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Cotts72 wrote: »
    "PlayStation 4 games are not region locked, but downloadable content (DLC) and service entitlements (including in-game currencies) are locked to their PlayStation Store region. If the region of the PS Store which sold the DLC does not match the region of the game disc, the downloaded content will not be compatible. As a result, it is recommended that you only purchase games from reputable retailers in your country."

Found this on playstation site

As mentioned previously I've preordered the ps5 through a relative in dubai.i haven't owned a PlayStation in years so I don't have an account.

So my query is if I buy miles morales ultimate here in smyths for example will I be able to download the dlc or will it be deemed incompatible. Or once I setup the ps5 and my account as Irish will I be set to the Irish ps store

The account is completely separate from the physical location you purchase the console. Once you get it and set up an irish account, you'll be able to redeem irish codes, i.e. anything from smyths here will work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭notahappycamper

I’m just checking the box/package dimensions and putting them into the Parcel Motel calculator and it looks like this will be an oversize item. So €7 to collect and if you want it home delivered another €7.95 on top of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭og2k7

I’m just checking the box/package dimensions and putting them into the Parcel Motel calculator and it looks like this will be an oversize item. So €7 to collect and if you want it home delivered another €7.95 on top of that.

Are there any special measures when picking up oversized items these days? Haven't had anything that big since last year. Are there queues outside at all? Gather there would be for the PS5 launch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Evilbart

If you ordered from Amazon you can now just change the delivery address to your Irish one! That’s what I did. Also they have started using their own Amazon delivery vans and drivers in Ireland from last week so delivery’s should be a lot quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭recyclops

og2k7 wrote: »
    Are there any special measures when picking up oversized items these days? Haven't had anything that big since last year. Are there queues outside at all? Gather there would be for the PS5 launch?

It's normal they text to say when it's available. When you get there they have the mobile no of whoever is working on the door you call that and give relevant details like pmID and code you were sent.

They then get parcel,the day I was there lots arrived at same time. Luckily most just stood there queueing not realising you had to call first so I was quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭jones

What game or games are people thinking of getting with the new system? Demon souls miles Morales? Want to pick up one of them just not sure I'm theory would love both but new baby means playing time will be a lot lower than normal ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭thebiglad

Evilbart wrote: »
    If you ordered from Amazon you can now just change the delivery address to your Irish one! That’s what I did. Also they have started using their own Amazon delivery vans and drivers in Ireland from last week so delivery’s should be a lot quicker.

Just tried and it is telling me not possible to deliver as it contains items not possible to deliver to my destination.

Have many others successfully changed? If so I may get on to Amazon CS and get them to change it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

I can’t seem to change Amazon address from parcel motel to my own address in Cork. Is it only for Dublin if Amazon are using their own delivery vans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,571 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Are ye logged in on the PC? It won't change on the app.

String wrote: »
    I can’t seem to change Amazon address from parcel motel to my own address in Cork. Is it only for Dublin if Amazon are using their own delivery vans?

I live within walking distance of the Amazon warehouse and it won't let me change either so its not a Dublin thing

TitianGerm wrote: »

Yep, on PC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

TitianGerm wrote: »

Yes on the PC

"Important Messages
    We're sorry. Your order contains items that may not be dispatched to the selected destination. Please select another address."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Paul MCM

jones wrote: »
    What game or games are people thinking of getting with the new system? Demon souls miles Morales? Want to pick up one of them just not sure I'm theory would love both but new baby means playing time will be a lot lower than normal ha

Get both, new babies just sleep all day. Wait until it’s a toddler, then you wont have a second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭Wing126

thebiglad wrote: »
    I live within walking distance of the Amazon warehouse and it won't let me change either so its not a Dublin thing

Gaming things in general have weird rules when shipping to Ireland.

I have to get Cyberpunk 2077 sent to Parcel Motel because it comes with a Steelbook :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Wuff Wuff

It's only the digital ones that can be delivered here from amazon isn't it?

The disc ones need to go via parcel motel I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭Wing126

Again, weird rules. I can get a lot of disc games shipped here and then every once and a while there's one game they won't ship for no explainable reason.

Wuff Wuff wrote: »

That would probably explain it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭jones

Paul MCM wrote: »
    Get both, new babies just sleep all day. Wait until it’s a toddler, then you wont have a second.

If only, my fella has decided sleep is for the weak. Anyway I'm sure I'm sneak in some quality gaming 😜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,214 ✭✭✭maximoose

It won't let me change my digital version to Dublin address either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Kremin

jones wrote: »
    If only, my fella has decided sleep is for the weak. Anyway I'm sure I'm sneak in some quality gaming 😜

Yeah where do I get one of these sleepy babies? Mind e has decided he has serious FOMO and refuses to sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Evilbart

No mine is a disc version and I changed from parcel motel to my Irish address no problem although that was about 2 weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Farrelk

As someone who never had PS4, is it recommended to play Spiderman first before I play MM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Farrelk wrote: »
    As someone who never had PS4, is it recommended to play Spiderman first before I play MM?

I think the recommendation there in general is to buy the ultimate edition to get the remastered version of spiderman to play with instead of trying to squeeze in the spiderman ps4 game between now and launch

Amazon have been very hit & miss about shipping things to Ireland in the last couple of years.

They used to be grand, "sold and fulfilled by Amazon" stuff would usually ship here. Now it's almost random, no real logic to it that I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭The Raging Bile Duct

If you tried to play all of Spiderman before MM is reckon you'd be severely burnt out on all things Spiderman before you'd get to play MM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,177 ✭✭✭✭Berty

When I tried to order the controller to my irish address it didn't allow it, recently though it now does. I didn't order it as I'm waiting on the charger station together as one.

So seems it's changed , no reason for it not coming here. Other than it being marked as a battery. Sometimes Amazon doesn't allow shipping of batteries.

Like when I had a kindle issue an post wouldn't take it back because it was a battery so Amazon just refunded it in full. Managed to fix it mind you, so free kindle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Kanney

Spiderman was the first game I played on PS4 Pro. Was blown away by it instantly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Farrelk

Thanks for the replies lads re Spiderman. Will be buying the ultimate edition so, looking forward to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Kamu

Thanks for the replies lads re Spiderman. Will be buying the ultimate edition so, looking forward to it

I went with the Ultimate Edition too. I feel nearly bad that I will be experiencing it on a 6 Year old maybe HD tv. :o:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Destruction All-Stars delayed til Feb 2021, free on PlayStation Plus. Any pre-orders will be refunded.

https://blog.playstation.com/2020/10/26/destruction-allstars-coming-to-playstation-plus-in-february/