Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid 19 Part XXVII- 62,002 ROI (1,915 deaths) 39,609 NI (724 deaths) (02/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

Could we put 20b into protecting the nursing homes instead of locking up healthy people? At some stage we will have to just consider doing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭quokula

Strumms wrote: »

If I give my Hyundai dealer 50,000 for a Santa Fe..l I expect to be able to collect it, drive it and own it. Not given away to someone else. Same principle when WE spend OUR money training doctors .

Pretty sure paying for and owning human beings as if they're objects has been frowned upon for a few hundred years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭redmgar

There are a lot of people literally waiting for the minute the hub thing updates. I'm assuming as you are in lockdown you don't have a lot to do.

Turtwig wrote: »
    Why up?
    Tests of close contacts are presumably more likely to have positive tests. If these are omitted then if everything else remains more or less the same are you not introducing a bias to tests being less positive than previously?

The more likely contacts to test positive are household contacts however, who, all things being equal, know they are contacts, and the most likely to have a positive test are contacts who have symptoms. Given the issue occurred with results processed at the weekend, these should be showing up independently already as would have been exposed mid to late last week. If the downward trend continues, the contract tracing issue will have had no appreciable impact on the rate, if it jumps back in the next few days, its quite possible it did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,634 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Beanybabog wrote: »
    I got a call from the contact tracers today to tell me I'm a contact, my husbands test was Monday. They just ask him who his contacts are and what their numbers are. It was actually much more efficent to do it ourselves, me, my kids and friend are already isolated and tested. He was also waiting until today to get his code to upload to the app which is a very long time in my opinion
    Must be a backlog with the app. Checking daily and it's usually around 100-150 people a day uploading their contact IDs. There were 374 uploading their IDs over the past 24hrs.
    Really is no excuse for delays on that front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Turtwig wrote: »
    Why up?
    Tests of close contacts are presumably more likely to have positive tests. If these are omitted then if everything else remains more or less the same are you not introducing a bias to tests being less positive than previously?
    Because outside of close contacts the only other random people being tested are symptomatic. Who are way more likely to test positive.

So, for example, tomorrow you have 10,000 people who turn up for a test they're a close contact. 1,000 of them test positive (I think 1 in 10 is the official statistic).

You also have 5,000 people turn up because they're symptomatic. 750 of them test positive.

Positivity for the day = 1,750 = 11.7%

If the 10,000 close contacts don't turn up, then your positivity for the day is 750/5000 = 15%

But like I say, mass testing can fluff this. Replace those 5,000 symptomatic with 5,000 in a mass test, and perhaps 200 of them will test positive.

Now without your close contacts, your positivity rate is 4%

Every day is a mixture of symptomatic referrals, close contacts and mass tests.

So on balance we shouldn't really see a major impact from one isolated set of close contacts being missed, especially when we're testing 120,000 people in a week.

manniot2 wrote: »
    Could we put 20b into protecting the nursing homes instead of locking up healthy people? At some stage we will have to just consider doing this.

Who looks after all the sick people in hospital when all the people who work in hospital are off sick with covid/long covid or self isolating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,752 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1319293607015108610?s=20

And are they gonna do something about it?

Who looks after all the sick people in hospital when all the people who work in hospital are off sick with covid/long covid or self isolating?

Well the 20b would go towards that also. Protect the vulnerable/front line.

What if you have a sports shop that always sold PPE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,775 ✭✭✭circadian

Has a prominent football club and sports chain owner written all over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,775 ✭✭✭circadian

Well the 20b would go towards that also. Protect the vulnerable/front line.

Amazing detailed plan, off ye go to the Oireachtas with that.

Retail should never have closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

A preemptive strongly worded email?

circadian wrote: »
    Amazing detailed plan, off ye go to the Oireachtas with that.

christ, when the alternative is closing the country, I cant see how you can be so flippant.

Unfortunately, it looks like the last two weeks were critical and we should have listened to NPHET.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Beanybabog

fits wrote: »
    Is he very sick?. Hope you all get over it quickly.

He's actually not. Couple days of a cough and headache and is fine. I can see why people miss it - if there was no test done we would have said no way was it Covid. People keep saying oh week 2 is terrible but right now he feels great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭boetstark

Locked up my ass. Lockdown in name only

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,521 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Absolutely nothing.

Don't blame places trying to stay open either, a joke that retail was given the restrictions its been given

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

can't blame someone trying to save their business and jobs tbh. there is little risk with retail stores anyway. not a fan of naming and shaming them either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,334 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

France, Netherlands, Belgium all in a bad way. Might be glad of these restrictions yet.

Absolutely nothing.

Don't blame places trying to stay open either, a joke that retail was given the restrictions its been given

I don't either, but its very unfair on businesses that are complying while also trying to stay afloat when bigger stores just don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,260 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

quokula wrote: »
    Pretty sure paying for and owning human beings as if they're objects has been frowned upon for a few hundred years now.

No..I’m pretty sure that contracts that enable an agreement between two parties to be binding has NOT been frowned upon for, well forever.

I sign for Manchester United tomorrow, have a row with the boss on Monday, hate my teammates... I can’t walk, I’m under contract. Same should apply in medical terms here, especially when circa 300,000 grand is being shelled out for you by the public... you ‘can’ go but you owe the investment in you back to who paid for it, the people of this country.

Be in a lot healthier state re: covid if we had this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Strumms wrote: »
    No..I’m pretty sure that contracts that enable an agreement between two parties to be binding has NOT been frowned upon for, well forever.

I sign for Manchester United tomorrow, have a row with the boss on Monday, hate my teammates... I can’t walk, I’m under contract. Same should apply in medical terms here, especially when circa 300,000 grand is being shelled out for you by the public... you ‘can’ go but you owe the investment in you back to who paid for it, the people of this country.

Be in a lot healthier state re: covid if we had this.

No we wouldn't. We would have hired a lot of Irish doctors and not hired a lot of foreign doctors but I believe the total doctor number would be similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Eod100 wrote: »
    France, Netherlands, Belgium all in a bad way. Might be glad of these restrictions yet.

Let me guess, their hospitals are 2 weeks from getting overwhelmed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Taoiseach says he is opposed to curfews as a way of controlling Covid-19 (via @IrishTimes) https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/taoiseach-says-he-is-opposed-to-curfews-as-a-way-of-controlling-covid-19-1.4388352

He's "not really a curfew type" of Taoiseach.

It's a shame he's not really a "support the airport in your home county staying open" type, seeing as there are a staggering number of job losses taking place there in the coming days. I only know one person working there, he's been there over a decade and his job is gone. He said it's being decimated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,256 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

niallo27 wrote: »
    Let me guess, their hospitals are 2 weeks from getting overwhelmed.

The next two weeks are critical in France, The Netherlands and Belgium.

https://twitter.com/NaomiOhReally/status/1319221942797373445?s=20

Hopefully she will make a full recovery. Looks like she is stable according to the article, but 1 in 4 in Brussels test positive. Bad situation there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,603 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Thats good.... Right?

Lower % positive because more tests are done

But more actual positives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

What if you have a sports shop that always sold PPE?

Yeah, shin pads we're PPE even before we knew what PPE was!

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.